Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Funny/Embarrassing thing that happened to you while playing live

• 18-09-2008 9:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭

Not sure if this is the right fourm...........if ye want to move it, move it!

basicly things that made you laugh, or made people laugh at you during a gig.

Il get the ball rolling, playing a gig with the band over the summer, near the end of the night the crowd was very enegric, our singer was jumping around with the crowd. one such jump, he landed on my effects pedal turning on some wierd effect which made my guitar sound like a cat being strangled!, also he turned one of the knobs which changed my footswitch controls, so i couldnt turn it off! in the near darkness took me a few seconds to find out what the problem was, and to get back to normal, meanwhile, our singer, "**** frank, sorry bout that", forgetting he had the mic to his mouth!

im sure the people of boards have better stories than that though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Probably the best place for this would be "Bands and Musicians"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Hmm, so many incidents...

1) Our singer's headbaging sent his glasses flying into the moshpit. He got them back, unscratched

2) A moshpit got a pit frantic and someone was sent flying into two celestion speaker towers that fell on stage. Our guitarist was almost crushed

3) Played a house party, and these two hot goth chicks started doing some weird lesbian dancing in front of me, and one of them started pouring absinthe ( i think) into my mouth. I thought I was in there, but then they left their horrible friend there who wouldn't leave me alone. Guards came and stopped it 3 songs later, luckily enough

Meh, can't think of more right now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭darrenw5094

I hit a wrong note......nuff said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Got a rolo in my eye.....nuff said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭fish-head

Playing Johnny B Goode at a party, didn't realise my cable was tangled up in my mic-stand. I was giving it loads for the duck-walk and suddenly SMASHBOOMCRASH! guitar cable comes out, mic stand goes flying and I'm left there like an eejit!

The crowd thought it was hilarious..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭68 lost souls

Guitarist in a band playing after us broke three e strings in a row on the intro to the same song. That was kinda funny.

Guitar players strap came off mid solo followed soon after by my bass strap in the same song. Although a homemade ducttape strap was never going to stick was it?

People were throwing a ball around during another band at a gig and the ball flattened the singers face by accident.

Thats about all I can think of right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭yevveh

I was doing the bass outro to our 'epic finale' in Voodoo (RIP) and I stood on one of the monitors with both feet - bad move. Really clumsily fell backwards. Still managed to do the outro without anything more than the bass equivalent of "oh SHI- oh never mind"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭gotBass

Playing the rock garden ( yes I said it ,showing my age :-)
    a lovely and small silky thong landed at my feet, so I hung it on the headstock. and carried on. Felt like Tom Jones but looked like a donkey in the photos taken with a stupid smile on me face..

Oh yeah then I slipped on the way into and out of the backstage room.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

In no particular order...

...our singer got into a fist fight with the singer from the headline band onstage in front of a full house on a Saturday night in the Rock Garden, security had to break it up...

...this was after a fella, in the dressing room before the gig and wet from head to toe, claiming he had fallen into the Liffey earlier on, removed an iron bar from his coat and said "Anybody messes with me and they get this" and started whacking it off the wall. Really set the mood, that did, though ge did lighten up when he found out our singer played harmonica, "I play harmonica too!" he said. Deadly...

...I once slipped in a puddle of beer kindly left on stage by the support band and slammed into the bass amp, a big heavy Trace 4x10 combo, which was on top of a tea chest, as I lay on the ground it teetered back and forth above me but, thankfully, didn't come down on top of me...

...a gong solo...

...some banter with a few punters developed into animosity over the course of a few tunes, causing our singer to walk off the stage and straight out the door mid-song and mid -set, but we were too sedated to notice until a while later...

...after doing a cover of Paranoid one time, we got the best put-down ever "Play War Pigs yiz oul ones!" from a particularily loud punter...

...an accordion solo...

...during a gig in the Baggot Inn, which had a stage all of 6" high, one punter got right in the face of our singer, signing "dickhead" at him. At the end of that gig, a drunken mate of ours literally crawled onstage and dragged himself up using the singer for support, to sing Paranoid with him about two seconds behind the rest of us...

...a gig where the guitarist, whose crap guitar broke during the gig, whacked it off the ground and threw it into a pile of stunned Japanese tourists who, for whatever reason, had showed up at the wrong gig. Realising what he had done, he jumped in to get it back...

We seemed to have a disaster every time we took to the stage. It's all at http://homepage.eircom.net/~oldscratch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Zangetsu

Playin voodoo (yay) a few years ago a huge head/cab fell off whatever stand it was on and landed on the drummer, he hadn't a clue what happened and tried to keep playing while 2 lads were lifting it off him!

Last gig we played was a battle of the bands, we drew straws for what times we played. We were supposed to go on second but the first guy (a solo acoustic act) was "getting sick" and couldn't go on. Later that night a pair of sh!tty boxers were found in the jacks.

Needless to say we haven't seen him since :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 lavasoft

A friend of mine once played before aslan an they where looking for some sort of dodgy gear began with an d and ended with an e he sold some muck (dirt and water not just some s!$t gear) my god they where carp but they did admit it.:P

come on the town:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 sharona!!!

was at a friends gig in voodoo, when the band had finished their set the drummer threw the drum sticks to the crowd. The drum stick hit my mate in the head...... kinda funny :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

Doctor J wrote: »

...our singer got into a fist fight with the singer from the headline band onstage in front of a full house on a Saturday night in the Rock Garden, security had to break it up...

...this was after a fella, in the dressing room before the gig and wet from head to toe, claiming he had fallen into the Liffey earlier on, removed an iron bar from his coat and said "Anybody messes with me and they get this" and started whacking it off the wall. Really set the mood, that did, though ge did lighten up when he found out our singer played harmonica, "I play harmonica too!" he said. Deadly...

...I once slipped in a puddle of beer kindly left on stage by the support band and slammed into the bass amp, a big heavy Trace 4x10 combo, which was on top of a tea chest, as I lay on the ground it teetered back and forth above me but, thankfully, didn't come down on top of me...

...a gong solo...

...some banter with a few punters developed into animosity over the course of a few tunes, causing our singer to walk off the stage and straight out the door mid-song and mid -set, but we were too sedated to notice until a while later...

...after doing a cover of Paranoid one time, we got the best put-down ever "Play War Pigs yiz oul ones!" from a particularily loud punter...

...an accordion solo...

...during a gig in the Baggot Inn, which had a stage all of 6" high, one punter got right in the face of our singer, signing "dickhead" at him. At the end of that gig, a drunken mate of ours literally crawled onstage and dragged himself up using the singer for support, to sing Paranoid with him about two seconds behind the rest of us...

...a gig where the guitarist, whose crap guitar broke during the gig, whacked it off the ground and threw it into a pile of stunned Japanese tourists who, for whatever reason, had showed up at the wrong gig. Realising what he had done, he jumped in to get it back...

We seemed to have a disaster every time we took to the stage. It's all at http://homepage.eircom.net/~oldscratch

That deserved a bit of thanks. Made me laugh at least. Hopefully I'll be gigging in a few weeks. I suspect a lot of bad, and maybe some laughs thrown in. You never know what will happen. Anyway, best stories of the thread! Especially the gong solo! Rock on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

Cheers, a lot of it wasn't that funny to be a part of at the time though :o

And it was an 8" gong :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭NeMiSiS

Hmm..

Once at a gig a string broke on my guitar.. lucky enough it was a part of song.. that I could just grab my backup, so I went to grab it.. and the other guitar players Floyd Rose goes.. so we had no guitars.. just bass, drums, and vocals. Singer turns round and asks "Where the **** are the guitars?" .. I'd imagine the chances of two guitars going within 20 - 30 seconds of one another are quite slim.

Charity gig - drank two much - started puking behind the backline - no one noticed until the end.

"How the **** are ya Wexford?!" - I was in Mullingar . (Very Spinal Tap..)
    Now I just say it pretty much everywhere..

Having to stop a gig because I need to take a piss so badly.

Song got introduced.. walked out onto a podium.. I've to play the intro.. all eyes on me ..played the wrong song.

I'm sure there is more I've just blocked out.

TK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,044 ✭✭✭Gaspode

In Charlies (I know a long time ago) we were supporting another band so I got to use his lovely new Trace Elliot Bass stack. Near the end of our first song several people charged up onto the stage towards me, but I just kept playing. When they ran past me I turned to see the bass head disappear behind the stack just as the lads tried to catch it. Apparently it started wobbling towards the end of the song. The owner was not very amused and wanted us to get off stage but, fcek it I didn't set up the stack. Not embarrasing for me, but yer man was losing it so it was more mebarrasing for him.

In a Baggot Inn gig, a drunken audience member who had come to see the support act fired his shoe at our singer. He flung it back with venom (as you do) and managed to clear 2 tables of drink in one shot. In the ensuing kerfuffle the owner of the shoe was ejected and never got his shoe back.

In another band we had a new singer and in his first gig he regaled the audience with his ability to burp tunes into the mike. It was when he tried farting into the mike that the drummer lost it and got up and slapped him on the head with the drumsticks.
    That was his last gig with us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

Doctor J wrote: »

...a gong solo...

...an accordion solo...

[/url]
    class!!

we were sound checking once, we were waiting for our bass player and other guitarist to get set up. our drummer and myself played the eastenders intro.... to the horror of the other guys! lot of people laughed though