Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GLASVEGAS

• 17-09-2008 11:30am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23

Im sure there is a thread about this already but ths band are amazing.

The self titled album is brilliant, i have never been so excited about a band at least not since GNR but I was in the car the other night and heard "My own cheating heart" on the radio and went home and looked them up immediately on tinternet which I have never done before.

The songs Daddys Gone and the afore mentioned Cheating heat are unreal and I havent been able to stop singing them all week.

They sound like a croos between the Ramones and the Proclaimers except their good. (as i dont realy like either)

Scottish accent is so deep yet you can tell hes a great singer.

Any way thats my two cents.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 701 ✭✭✭BarryCreed

I'm not buying into the hype. They're not bad, but could turn out to be like Franz Ferdinand. Where are they now?

Not gone on yer wan just tapping a floor tom....

I like the song "geraldine" (??)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Fcuk the hype! Bottom line is it's a really really good debut album. Who knows if they'll turn out to be one album wonders. If they do well at least they will have left us one of the best debut albums you're ever likely to hear. That "whitey" song is magnificent in it's simplicity. "Red wine, white wine, i'm whitey all the time" Top notch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Good god these guys are fabulous! Yet more brilliance from Scotland...

Nah, Franz Ferdinand were gimmicky from day one (if purveyors of extreme catchiness). These guys seem the real deal.

Shoegazing meets Arcade Fire with a bit of their Glasgow (well East Kilbride - nearly in Glasgow) forefathers The Jesus & Mary Chain thrown in. What could be wrong with that...? :)

Dudess wrote: »
    Shoegazing meets Arcade Fire with a bit of their Glasgow (well East Kilbride - nearly in Glasgow) forefathers The Jesus & Mary Chain thrown in. What could be wrong with that...? :)
    Absolutely nothing! And each song sung in an unashamedly full on Scottish accent. Breath of fresh air.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

"Geraldine" is one of my favourite songs of the year - absolutely love it. "Daddy's Gone" I've only heard once - it was pretty good.
    I'll probably get the album at some point. I love Scottish accents! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭judas101

if pighead says so............. *downloads*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭smackbunnybaby

BarryCreed wrote: »
    I'm not buying into the hype.

buy into the hype! i wasnt going to! but am i glad i did

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Climate Expert

I really like the album but you can bet its going to be another sound of the moment one album wonder like all these bands. Plus their drummer is complete ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 701 ✭✭✭BarryCreed

....Plus their drummer is complete ****.

that's what's putting me off!! I like that their singer sings in his own accent though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

Thumbs firmly in the middle from me. Really not sure about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Aspiration

Love the album and their videos. Then I saw them support Muse and I wasn't really impressed with their live set.

I'm with MikeHoncho. Thumbs firmly in the middle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭Neo#

Had a listen to the album and I dont like it. I like the general sound of it but I cant stand the guy's voice. Its not his accent its just the way he sings I think. Daddy's gone is excellent though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Jesus, i absolutely love this album! Forget the hype (sure it's right now and again).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

I like them,good album...saw them play.
    We even got talking to James Allan (lead singer ), came across like a alrite lad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 551 ✭✭✭funktastic

'Geraldine', 'Daddy's Gone' and 'Go Set Go' are really good tunes. It's nice to hear a band not feeling the need to put on an American accent. Essentially it's nothing new. It's the The Ronettes and Jesus and Mary Chain for people too young to have bought 'Psychocandy' - but with better lyrics. 'Stabbed' on the album is pure melodramatic ****e though. It's going on a thing the Marvelettes did which wasn't really great the first time round by adding a classical melody underneath.
    Yer one is a terrible drummer - I've seen live videos where she's ****ing up but does it really matter in that type of music? It's just to add to the image of garagey/shoegazey sound. It's like Bobby Gillespie and Mo Tucker on the drums. I have never read anything of people moaning about JAMC or Velvets drumming. And you can't even tell the drums are **** on the album because it's produced out of it. Also the instruments are a bit low in the mix. This is probably just to let listeners try to get their ear around the singers heavy Glasgow brogue. The lyrics are sincere and a snapshot of modern Britain.

All in all, i think they're a really good new band.

funktastic wrote: »
    'Geraldine', 'Daddy's Gone' and 'Go Set Go' are really good tunes. It's nice to hear a band not feeling the need to put on an American accent. Essentially it's nothing new. It's the The Ronettes and Jesus and Mary Chain for people too young to have bought 'Psychocandy' - but with better lyrics. 'Stabbed' on the album is pure melodramatic ****e though. It's going on a thing the Marvelettes did which wasn't really great the first time round by adding a classical melody underneath.
    Yer one is a terrible drummer - I've seen live videos where she's ****ing up but does it really matter in that type of music? It's just to add to the image of garagey/shoegazey sound. It's like Bobby Gillespie and Mo Tucker on the drums. I have never read anything of people moaning about JAMC or Velvets drumming. And you can't even tell the drums are **** on the album because it's produced out of it. Also the instruments are a bit low in the mix. This is probably just to let listeners try to get their ear around the singers heavy Glasgow brogue. The lyrics are sincere and a snapshot of modern Britain.

All in all, i think they're a really good new band.
    If I hadn't already been listening to them, by god would you have sold them to me with that post... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭A-Trak

Went to see Metallica lately and saw them live as support. Had heard Daddys Gone and Stabbed before the gig.

Have to say it was god awful. Sound was atrocious, shoe gazing didn't lend it's self to the crowd and they hated it.
    Drumming was awful and at times seemed like a machine gone wonky.
    All in all a terrible gig for them and the audience that were there to see something else.

Was quite reluctant to buy the album after that.
    But I bought into the hype and now listening to it at full blast I'm glad I did.

As funktastic points out much more eloquently below, the really are the J&MC for a new generation, but that hasn't stopped me listening and loving other recent bands that have followed in their way like BRMC.

A brilliant debut, and I won't worry will they follow it up, I'm happy listening to this now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭ball ox

bought this album today and I'm really hoping that either
    a) its a grower, or
    b) itunes do refunds......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Howard the Duck

Really good band. There's a great acoustic version of "Geraldine" on YouTube.
    Definitely some Jesus and Mary chain in there. The subject matter is different to what you normally get.. thats what i like about "Geradline" it starts off like a love song then the chorus kicks in and you find out it's about a social worker.. thats what i like about the band they are something a bit different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭red_ice

I really dislike the band, allot.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,382 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

Not gone on them at all, think they were oversold maybe. I heard Daddy's gone an Geraldine and think they are way too long. How many times does he sing the refrain at the end of Daddy's gone?

Also to the person who asked where are Franz Ferdinand, i think they have at least two new songs on the radio at the moment. And an album on the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 merc

A-Trak wrote: »
    Went to see Metallica lately and saw them live as support. Had heard Daddys Gone and Stabbed before the gig.

Have to say it was god awful. Sound was atrocious, shoe gazing didn't lend it's self to the crowd and they hated it.
    Drumming was awful and at times seemed like a machine gone wonky.
    All in all a terrible gig for them and the audience that were there to see something else.

Was quite reluctant to buy the album after that.
    But I bought into the hype and now listening to it at full blast I'm glad I did.

As funktastic points out much more eloquently below, the really are the J&MC for a new generation, but that hasn't stopped me listening and loving other recent bands that have followed in their way like BRMC.

A brilliant debut, and I won't worry will they follow it up, I'm happy listening to this now.

Definetaly not a band you want to warm up for Metalica and now I have listened to the album 50 times I have to admit there are some dud notes stabbed and lomeseome swan are pants ,BUT listen to the lyerics in any of the other songs and the way they are sung. My Own cheating heart is a fantastic snap shot of loads of people I know.
    What ever about the drummer and the rest of the band for at matter the singer songwritter could be on his tod and kick ass.

Now who do I have to kill to get tickets to their gig in December

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

red_ice wrote: »
    I really dislike the band, allot.
    i wouldn't go this far, but i just don't see the fuss.

for the person who said it's nice to hear a recent band singing in a scottish accent, well you obviously didn't hear of Idlewild, Sucioperro and Biffy Clyro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭kittex

The band are totally overplaying the Glasgow/EK accent.
    It's like what 'Far and Away' did to Irish accents. Ooh, this'll sell more to the yanks, play it up lads.

I think the band sound far too much like Deacon Blue for me to like them, albeit much, much whinier. yes, Daddy's gone, get over it mate. You're an adult now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Go Square Go was #1 in my Top 50 of 2006 but I fear it may be downhill since then.

Or are there better songs on the LP?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,382 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

kittex wrote: »
    It's like what 'Far and Away' did to Irish accents. Ooh, this'll sell more to the yanks, play it up lads.

I think the band sound far too much like Deacon Blue for me to like them, albeit much, much whinier. yes, Daddy's gone, get over it mate. You're an adult now.

Too frickin right!

I agree with that - despite how it might seem so "authentic" to sing in a really strong local accent, I think there's something kinda pretentious about overdoing it.
    I think the band sound far too much like Deacon Blue for me to like them
    On the other hand, I'd have to strongly disagree with that... :)

Cremo wrote: »
    i wouldn't go this far, but i just don't see the fuss.

for the person who said it's nice to hear a recent band singing in a scottish accent, well you obviously didn't hear of Idlewild, Sucioperro and Biffy Clyro.

I've given a few of their tracks a listen to today.. just to solidify my view on them. Total crap. The music is terrible, the vocals are very dull and dry. Theres absolutly no energy in the band at all imo. The percussion is utter drivel, the guitars dont have any thought, and the bass is just playing the same as the guitars. What a terrible band! I suppose theres no grey area with me, its good or its bad.

Biffy Clyro! woo! I've got my ticket, do you cremo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

red_ice wrote: »
    I've given a few of their tracks a listen to today.. just to solidify my view on them. Total crap. The music is terrible, the vocals are very dull and dry. Theres absolutly no energy in the band at all imo. The percussion is utter drivel, the guitars dont have any thought, and the bass is just playing the same as the guitars. What a terrible band! I suppose theres no grey area with me, its good or its bad.

Biffy Clyro! woo! I've got my ticket, do you cremo?
    not yet, i'm hoping to go over to Scotland to see them.

hopefully for a non puzzle heavy set, though i know it won't happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Not overly impressed. His accent has that 'Damien Dempsey' feel for me so I can't get into it.

Some very average songs and some alright ones. That one 'Stabbed' is fairly **** though.

Cremo wrote: »
    not yet, i'm hoping to go over to Scotland to see them.

hopefully for a non puzzle heavy set, though i know it won't happen.

I dunno about that, i think they are done gigging that set now... there site isnt promoting it anymore - they've moved onto mountains. Should be a class gig in dublin!

It's nothing like that! In Far and Away it was non Irish people putting on an Irish accent. In Glasvegas it's a Scottish bloke putting on a Scottish accent.

Contrived is Irishman Ronan Keating singing in an American accent or posh Lily Allen hamming up a mockney accent. A Scottish bloke who speaks in a heavy Scottish accent singing in a heavy Scottish accent is none of the above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭Punchbowl

They should be paying royalties to these guys, the Twilight Sad.

Seriously, if you like your music with a Scottish growl, them's your boyos..

Punchbowl wrote: »
    They should be paying royalties to these guys, the Twilight Sad.

Seriously, if you like your music with a Scottish growl, them's your boyos..
    As much as I like Twilight Sad you are being a bit narrow minded. All they really have in common with each other are their strong Scottish singing accents.

Spot on. He may as well have thrown up a link to an Arab Strap song. Can't see any similarities there whatsoever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

I've only listened to a bit of their stuff but I quite like them.

Just watched their BBC session videos on Youtube. My ex-girlfriend is playing keyboards with them on it. That means I'm famous now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

Im still not sure about Glasvegas but one Scottish band I would recomend are Frightened Rabbit: http://www.myspace.com/frightenedrabbit

Check out the song Fast Blood on there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭brown-dog

I didn't like them at first but really like them now. I seen them at Marley Park and liked them

http://www.muzu.tv/glasvegas/Making-of-Daddys-Gone/38694

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭spaceboy

I did'nt like them at first either, but my brother got the album & its growing on me. Does anyone else think that the singer looks a bit like Joe Strummer or is it just me ??

Yeah he looks like Strummer alright. The dark glasses and slicked back hair sets it off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭qwertplaywert

Loved the Geraldine single. But saw them supporting Muse, and they were simply awful.
    Albums not bad, but hardly anything to get excited over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Finally got the album, it is a bit hit and miss but there's definitely potential for greater things. "Geraldine" is definitely one of my favourite songs of the year. "It's My Own Cheating Heart...." is one of the most fantastically over-wrought, overdrqmatic songs I've heard in years! :D

Also, am I the only one who likes the minimalist drumming? I've never seen them live so it may well be awful live, but on record I think it sounds grand. :)

I like the drumming as well. It works with their sound.

But it sounds that way because she's not very talented more than artistic choice.

'Flowers and Football Tops' was really, really growing on me until it gets to the part with the feckin 'You are my sunshine....' crap. Ruins what coulda been a fantastic opening to the album.

Loved the Geraldine single. But saw them supporting Muse, and they were simply awful.
    Albums not bad, but hardly anything to get excited over.

i thought their set was just one long song. total sh1te imo

The drumming is an artistic choice following their influences (The Velvet Underground and Mary Chain) with stand-up, non-technical drummers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,113 ✭✭✭mada999

I like the song Geraldine...the rest is utter crap...all hype tbh..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,113 ✭✭✭mada999

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Not overly impressed. His accent has that 'Damien Dempsey' feel for me so I can't get into it.

Damien Dempsey blows these chumps out of the water if you ask me..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Gotta agree with the Marlay Park gig. Maybe I was just completely hyper for Muse at the time, but I thought they were complete crap.

mada999 wrote: »
    Damien Dempsey blows

I agree