If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Journalism

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭Paddy-Megans-Lo

cviewarts wrote: »
    All you newbie journos should get involved with the DCU newspaper!
    Its called The College View, and is independently run by students.

You'll be hearing more from us in the first couple of weeks hopefully..

Spread the word....

:o

p.s. your timetable could change over the next week, so just keep checkin it. from what i remember the work and hours in 1st and 2nd semester was pretty similar, but 2nd semester was more interesting..

Yeah I was wondering how/who to ask to get involved in any college publications..?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭Sindy1990

Yeah I was wondering how/who to ask to get involved in any college publications..?

Yeah.....should be good experience for, gulp, real life! Shhhh!:eek:

Sindy1990 wrote: »
    Yeah.....should be good experience for, gulp, real life! Shhhh!:eek:

Yeaaa...I already have experience wit a local paper but nothin major at all :(
    What you wanna do wit journalism after your degree?

Uh, lucky you. I have no experience just a few connections.

Umm, well, ideally fashion but I'm sure every girl says that and strives for it so no matter how much I'd like it it may not be feasible. Anything really maybe bar sport and politics!

You?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 mickmickh

d gud oul journos!!!....i bettr keep on your good sides i dont want ne bad publicity goin out in d papers like!!:D

Uh, lucky you. I have no experience just a few connections.

Umm, well, ideally fashion but I'm sure every girl says that and strives for it so no matter how much I'd like it it may not be feasible. Anything really maybe bar sport and politics!

You?

Thats deadly im gonna do fashion journalism afterwards. Like you ever read like Wonderland or POP? POP is my ideal magazine to work for cause its deadly. Dont wanna work for any of that teen vogue and the like crap.
    But i kinda wanna get into photography too...
    One of my sisters is doing a fashion design course in Limerick and my little sister is gonna do the same in a few years lol ...
    so ideally, fashion or music journalism, or both! :)
    Think i'm gonna do a masters in London after DCU :)

Yeah music would actually be good too. Or anything in the entertainment industry!
    Yeah for a millisecond I toyed with applying to colleges in London but there was far too much here to leave behind and it was more important. I'm happy with my decision not too.

Yeah music would actually be good too. Or anything in the entertainment industry!
    Yeah for a millisecond I toyed with applying to colleges in London but there was far too much here to leave behind and it was more important. I'm happy with my decision not too.

Yeah, entertainment basically :)
    Except the following useless pieces of paper stapled together:
    OK!
    Hello!
    Heat!

Or anything celeb-crazed and papparazi orientated.
    And pretty much anythin with an exclamation mark

.....;)

Ha yeah I couldn't agree more.
    Gossip is fine, if you are writing a gossip column, but not in an entire magazine.
    Vogue wouldn't be bad! ha, here's hoping!!!!

Ha yeah I couldn't agree more.
    Gossip is fine, if you are writing a gossip column, but not in an entire magazine.
    Vogue wouldn't be bad! ha, here's hoping!!!!

Yeah i'd love to work for a really top class magazine like that, even if i would end up havin no life..
    *did u see the devil wears prada? lol*
    Im just afraid i'll end up working for an ok! knock off or something....

...scary....

Yeah but sure we can cross that bridge when we come to it! lol!
    Havn't even started yet and we're already stressing about the future!lol!
    Our 2nd orientation day is quite long aint it.

Yeah i was just lookin at that earlier on actually!! The wednesday is grand like, off at 1pm or so!

Thursday, Its a jam packed full day, but we get student card and meet tutors and stuff so im sure it will be grand! Hopefully get to know the other journo's well :)
    You commuting? I gotta commute from drogheda all year :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭Rosstafarian

It's sport journalism for me hopefully.... I love music too much to make it my work..don't know if that makes sense.. I find it easy to talk about sport so I think I'd enjoy it....

It's a pretty broad area too....plenty work i hope...:o

yeah well off earlier on the wednesday if we don't hang around for lunch.
    Nope I live in Clontarf, about a 40 minute bus journey away on a bad day. 20 on a good.
    You poor thing. I know a girl from Drogheda who's going to UCD but she moved down here.

It's sport journalism for me hopefully.... I love music too much to make it my work..don't know if that makes sense.. I find it easy to talk about sport so I think I'd enjoy it....

It's a pretty broad area too....plenty work i hope...:o

Yeah that makes sense. I love fashion and everything that it encompasses but I think that with music you would have to be quite broadminded and couldn't just enjoy something you wanted to enjoy for the sake of it whereas with fashion writing it dosn't require the same openmindedness as music does since the clothes are there in front of you and nobody can dispute what you say so long as it's obviously the truth!

Fair point... I haven't ruled out Music journalism completely though...I just don't think I would pursue it right away.... But if an opportunity arose....I would totally take it... As would anyone I guess.

Ye living in Larkfield yes?

What's Larkfield?

Sorry don't mind me I'm an idiot I hadn't read ye're other posts when I said that....Larkfield is On-Campus accommodation but as I just found out you are both commuters...:rolleyes:

Yup! Luckily I'm nowhere near as far as Drogheda! Where are you from?

Lismore, Co. Waterford.....I'll be a long way from home but I'll live...:)

yeah I'm sure you'll settle in no bother haha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Lismore, Co. Waterford.....I'll be a long way from home but I'll live...:)

:eek: Woo, another Waterfordian! I'll see ya up there :cool:

deise59 wrote: »
    :eek: Woo, another Waterfordian! I'll see ya up there :cool:

A boy the Dan!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 cviewarts

Basically the fact you're doing journalism you should definitely be hearing from us within the first couple of weeks - we'll pop up somewhere!

We'll have a stand set up on Clubs and Socs day where you can sign up and ask any other questions you like. Also you'll probably get a few emails from the editor as well filling you all in. He'll also email when there are news meetings taking place where stories are handed out. These meetings will be every 3 weeks or so, with the first due to take place in week 1 [on the wednesday I think].

The College View will have news, arts, sports, features, health and comment & analysis sections, so there's something for everyone..
    Arts alone is very broad and can contain a great mixture of stuff.

no excuses now lads...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 cviewarts

Also sorry I forgot to add,
    The College View is the student run newspaper which comes out every 3-4 weeks, but there are 2 other publications as well.

Campus is the Students Union magazine which comes out every week. and you'll usually see them around the place. Im not sure how you'd go about writing for Campus, contact the editor probably?

Flashback is an arts based magazine that comes out once a semester. Usually article ideas/interview setups are emailed out to students and you just have to reply if you are interested in doing the stories

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭Choc123

cviewarts wrote: »
    Also sorry I forgot to add,
    The College View is the student run newspaper which comes out every 3-4 weeks, but there are 2 other publications as well.

Campus is the Students Union magazine which comes out every week. and you'll usually see them around the place. Im not sure how you'd go about writing for Campus, contact the editor probably?

Flashback is an arts based magazine that comes out once a semester. Usually article ideas/interview setups are emailed out to students and you just have to reply if you are interested in doing the stories

yeah im meeting with Stan/Stephen tonight for a drink as hes a friend of a friend,think hes the editor not sure so I'll definiely be roped in ha.

I chose american politics as a module,clearly ill be the only one in class ha.

So Paddys doing fashion,Sinead music,Ross sport and ill take politics..sure the Irish Times will hire us all in 3 years time!!:D

Choc123 wrote: »
    yeah im meeting with Stan/Stephen tonight for a drink as hes a friend of a friend,think hes the editor not sure so I'll definiely be roped in ha.

I chose american politics as a module,clearly ill be the only one in class ha.

So Paddys doing fashion,Sinead music,Ross sport and ill take politics..sure the Irish Times will hire us all in 3 years time!!:D

Nooo I'm fashion too! But if I couldn't get that something music-y!

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,122 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

POP QUIZ: Are all of you doing the BA? And are you just coming from the leaving cert? And do you have any experience already? (don't be afraid if you don't, you're only starting off)

I'm entering the course as a mature student (in my case, read: my leaving cert points were a lot lower than yours :o) just after completing the journalism HND at BCFE.
    I love music too much to make it my work..don't know if that makes sense..

I know exactly what you mean, I could never see my self reviewing music or film full time. But, then again, I don't like writing reviews of any kind much.

Yeah we have all, or at least th majority of us, just finished the leaving and yeah the BA!

Emm well I don't have any legitimate experience as such. I tended to opt for the articles and reviews (Ugh!) in leaving cert english just as practice as my teacher knew a lot about format etc and was very particular but that's about it!

Well i kinda wanna write fashion and music and like kinda comtemporary culture.....its hard to expain...
    Ill show u the kinda magazines i wanna work for! :)

Yup i have two years experience with the drogheda independant, writing articles which were published weekly and stuff. Mainly about youth and school stuff , but thats the only experience i have so far...
    Many magazines/papers aren't very motivated to publish articles from outsiders so its hard to find experience :(

...so excited about meetin ya all on Wednesday! Gonna be a laugh!