Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sylvanian Families

• 17-09-2008 9:25am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭

Any girl born in the 80's will remember these I think! I wanted them when I was a kid but they were tooo expensive!
    http://www.sylvanianfamilies.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Yeah I remember a girl living down the street from me used to collect them.

Worked in a toy shop there a few years ago and they still had a stand full of them and the accessories etc. Couldn't get over the price of them. Unsurprisingly I don't recall any of them ever selling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

starflake wrote: »
    Any girl born in the 80's will remember these I think! I wanted them when I was a kid but they were tooo expensive!
    http://www.sylvanianfamilies.com/
    Or late 70s. I (born in '78 :)) got the mouse family and a rabbit they "adopted" (she came free with other stuff in Argos in Bristol!) when I was nine, and I got the kitchen, some bedroom furniture and a forest picnic set (with benches, picnic tables, fences etc). In fact I still have them. Utterly beautiful stuff and superbly crafted with amazing attention to detail. My favourites are the picnic tables (they're those "half tree-trunk" dealies), a Welsh dresser and a little black stove. Oh they're so gorgeous and in perfect condition over 20 years later. Definite keepers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭MayMay

And the Caravan!! Ah great toys:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭starflake

Yeah! I'm seriously thinking of buying some myself now and collecting lil bits perhaps keep them for my own kids in a few years time! I like the simplicith of them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,062 ✭✭✭✭tk123

I had a cheaper rip off version from Roches - a family of rabbits. They later 'adopted' a chipmunk/beaver family who came with tokens off Persil :D
    EDIT - that woodcutter guy's voice was creepy imo : http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=BaWJf2o2-g8

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Forest Families - my next-door neighbour had those. None of us could spot the difference tbh and I was jealous of her ones just like she was jealous of mine. Grass is always greener and all that... :)

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

tk123 wrote: »
    They later 'adopted' a chipmunk/beaver family who came with tokens off Persil :D
    My mum had to keep buying Persil so my sister could get more Sylvanian Families gear.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

I absolutely LOVED Sylvanians when I was younger! I had two of the houses and several of the families - I had cats, beavers, badgers and rabbits. One Christmas my parents got me the windmill, the caravan and loads of accessories - I think they got them second-hand but I didn't care, they were brilliant! I even had a miniature sewing machine, you could make the needle go up and down and the drawers opened on it, and there was a tiny pair of working scissors that belonged in one of the drawers. The detail was amazing! I don't know what my mother did with all the stuff. I also got a Sylvanians board game one birthday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Redpunto

yep loved them, especially the babies, but was born in 70s!!!! got the penguin family for my ickle one, feckin cost a bomb, will have to ask me ma is there any of my old ones lying round!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

My sister loved them and when she got the Smyths catalogue yesterday she told us that if she ever has kids she expects us all to buy them Sylvanian Families stuff. She really wants them for herself though.

I remember we used to go to the video shop every Saturday and rent Sylvanian Families videos. (And Care Bears and My Little Pony!)

Some of the stuff they sell now is pretty cool! My sister was mesmerised!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭uoluol

I remember a work colleague of mine, saying that she was going to buy some "Slovakian Family" figures for her grand daughters!! Had bizarre images of tiny figures from Eastern Europe, dressed in stereotypical 80's clothing - stone washed denim, leather jackets and sparkles:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭gogo

These are very much back in vogue I believe, my niece are all her frinds asked santa for them last year. Selling like hot cakes again apparently. She got the hotel, guest house and four families, i was secretly jealous, always wanted loads of these, but only used to get one family at a time, they are still bloody expensive, got the niece two families for christmas, forty quid, and they are so small, I felt mean at only giving two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

My sister and I had these. They were not a girls toy, boys could play with them as well. The way you know they are not solely for girls is because everything was not pink.

Anyway, my sister got the canal boat which was really cool, and I got the caravan. My sister really wanted the Mansion, but it was very expensive, so My dad bought a second hand wooden dolls house, and refurbished it, and gave it electrics, with light fittings in each room which could be turned on. And carpets, and wallpaper. And moved the families into it.

I always wanted the lock keepers cottage, but never got it. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Not interested in buying them, but Id love to see some pictures for the nostalgia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

This website's not for a-selling.