Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Assistant Live Updater Required For Killarney Festival

• 16-09-2008 3:23am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭

Having spearheaded the live coverage of the Bodog Waterford Poker Open just gone, I've been asked to cover the live updating for this years Killarney Poker Festival. Given the sheer size of the event, it will be impossible to cover on my own so I'm searching for someone who's interested in helping cover the event with me. It promises to be a great weekend of poker and a fantastic opportunity to experience the allegedly famous hospitality of Killarney as well as getting your foot in the door of the poker industry.

"Live Updating? What would I have to do?"
    As a live updater, you'll be expected to contribute to frequent reports related to the tournament action in Killarney. This will involve travelling through the tournament complex in search of noteworthy hands and interesting stories from the tables. All hands and stories will then be posted onto the official Live Update website along with photos wherever possible.

"Sounds Good, Any Particular Skills Needed?"
    Ideally, you'll have a good knowledge of the Irish poker scene and be able to pick out the faces of players and not be afraid to approach them. Also, a flare for writing wouldn't go astray as I hope to make the blog as entertaining and informative as possible. You don't need any previous live updating experience as I'll go through everything prior to the tournament starting but a certain degree of computer literacy is expected!

"Ahh, But What Do I Get?"
    Whilst various details are still being ironed out, I can say that the live updating team will enjoy paid-for shared accommodation within the grounds of the I.N.E.C. Meals are also paid for and there's a daily wage of €100. So, to summarise, you get accommodation, meals and money... as well as the experience.

So, if you're interested or have any other comments or queries, feel free to reply. You're also more than welcome to PM me with any questions you don't want to ask publicly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

I purpose Mdwexford he did a super job in Tramore

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Back on topic lads.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

free accom, food and a hundred quid a day? when i was a student i would have killed people for a job like that!

1. ensure that journo has enough cop on to be discrete when asking for chip counts, especially after bad beats.

2. ensure journo has sense of humour that humans understand and is not just full of piss and savage indignation.

3. ensure journo has savage indignation.

willie i give u 4and a half for piece above, taking away half a star for missing the game on saturday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭jbravado

Lol at ripping the piss-this would be a great experience and I would love to do it. 100 euros is 20 pints. More than acceptable. Broomfield you mess this may be your only out for the dvd monies!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

AdMMM wrote: »
    Ideally, you'll have a good knowledge of the Irish poker scene and be able to pick out the faces of players and not be afraid to approach them.
    Why not put stickers on the "famous" players who are willing to give chip counts / commentary on hands? (something discreet like the gold stars given out to children for good homework). This would make it (1) easier to identify players for comments (2) avoid players who don't want to be disturbed.

OK, now the pisstakers can put up some Photoshop examples.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

Just use a player card system. No need to know players names off hand then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

hotspur wrote: »
    I remember the days when if Dev said "back on topic" it meant something :) He's obviously been away too long, rookie error for any tyrant imo.

He just meant Mellor , going off topic for a mod is extra bad . I expect there will be wage deduction this week...
    OP...I've asked a nephew, he is interested but he doesn't know the poker community very well , although he is a very good and creative writer.
    He is 17 but defys that by listening to his elders and accepts that he is Irish and not American. ( ie a very unusal kid) .., an excellent apprentice I would think..
    Shall I rule him out on lack of poker knowledge.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

A load of off topic crap deleted.

Adam good luck with this, the updates from Tramore were very good to read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

When you say that he doesn't know it very well, do you mean he doesn't know it at all? If that's the case, I couldn't possibly consider him but I'd encourage him to get some of his material online for the world to see!

As for everyone else, I've received a number of PM's and emails so I shall be pouring through blogs and previous forum posts to help me choose the ideal person.

Finally, a few notes about the pay. I know that some of you who post on here can boast an hourly winrate greater than what we can offer per day but at the same time, what we're offering will work out at above minimum wage and considering we're also paying for accommodation and food, I don't think that's a bad deal. I'll also ensure that you'll get regular breaks. Personally, I found myself booking the weekend off work because I'll earn more there than I would at home, and it's a free weekend away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

When you say that he doesn't know it very well, do you mean he doesn't know it at all? If that's the case, I couldn't possibly consider him but I'd encourage him to get some of his material online for the world to see!

As for everyone else, I've received a number of PM's and emails so I shall be pouring through blogs and previous forum posts to help me choose the ideal person.

Finally, a few notes about the pay. I know that some of you who post on here can boast an hourly winrate greater than what we can offer per day but at the same time, what we're offering will work out at above minimum wage and considering we're also paying for accommodation and food, I don't think that's a bad deal. I'll also ensure that you'll get regular breaks. Personally, I found myself booking the weekend off work because I'll earn more there than I would at home, and it's a free weekend away.

I actually did some one man blogging on here at the IO and found it to be a great laugh (not getting paid at all :) ).

Tbh if you have the right gear so you can blog whilst watching the tables (i.e. a mobile broadband modem and a tablet or a pda with a data package) it is easy to be very up-to-date and not miss any action.

BUT you would definitely need to be someone who enjoys the poker scene and knows a lot of people within it as otherwise I'm sure its akin to watching paint dry.

good luck finding the right person AdMM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

ollyk1 wrote: »
    I actually did some one man blogging on here at the IO and found it to be a great laugh (not getting paid at all :) ).

Tbh if you have the right gear so you can blog whilst watching the tables (i.e. a mobile broadband modem and a tablet or a pda with a data package) it is easy to be very up-to-date and not miss any action.

BUT you would definitely need to be someone who enjoys the poker scene and knows a lot of people within it as otherwise I'm sure its akin to watching paint dry.

good luck finding the right person AdMM
    Or an ipod touch (hopefully getting one soon)

Whoever gets this could do worse than spend a while on the hendon mob, with a list of names just putting faces to each (even as a refresh to a perso who knows most).

As for pay, don't mind the begrudgers.
    Two nights accom = €200
    2 extra meals for 3 days = €90
    Wage = €100, or 10 pints friday, 10 pints saturday.

So it totals a poker weekend for free, total breakeven.
    Who ever does this will come out of the weekend alot better off than most of the players. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Four of a kind

so are any big name pro's heading to this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

fwiw I don't think that's a bad wage at all for the job that's in it, a lot less stressful than dealing for example. I've done worse jobs for less pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

I agree, if I was broke I would do it. Pretty good deal imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭Conbro

if I was broke I would do it.

So how you would get to Killarney if you were broke?

yet more off topic nonsense deleted.

Please dont keep trying to divert the thread off the topic folks.

I thought the last post you deleted was very relevant to this thread and was a pretty reasonable question. If you were to delete every post that you perceived as slightly off topic there wouldnt be much left to this forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

How many hours work does it involve? I think a lot of the off topic posts are actually expressions that the job should be better paid, and so not really off topic

I think a lot of the off topic posts are actually expressions that the job should be better paid, and so not really off topic

They're only off topic and hence erased if they question the renumertion package rather than endorse it

yeah it's weird, my post is still there but people who disagreed with me got deleted?

Conbro wrote: »
    They're only off topic and hence erased if they question the renumertion package rather than endorse it
    How many hours work does it involve? I think a lot of the off topic posts are actually expressions that the job should be better paid, and so not really off topic

My "student" job so to speak is in a hotel bar, earning less than €10 per hour. In fact, my employer has found some legal loophole to justify paying me under minimum wage unless I meet a certain number of conditions each week. Bar work can be extremely hard work and unenjoyable at times so when an opportunity to go to Killarney for a weekend where I get to follow a great passion of mine arises, I jump at it.

As for the hours involved, there should be under 10 hours of work each day and I'll see to it that generous breaks are allowed for. I'm not a little Hitler, so I'm not going to be cracking the whip asking unreasonable things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Id definitely do updates at 100 a day ahead of dealing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

How much is the going rate for dealing at something like this? (including and excluding tips)

Conbro wrote: »
    I thought the last post you deleted was very relevant to this thread and was a pretty reasonable question.

The last post was a smartish reply about how to get to killarney if you are broke and not really relevant. I guess it has some connection, and will stick it back up now
    If you were to delete every post that you perceived as slightly off topic there wouldnt be much left to this forum.

Very true. This forum thrives on the banter and sometimes off the wall input from its users in fact some of the best threads have come from off the wall comments. As we know though, a balance has to be struck. This thread on two occasions has been dragged seriously off topic and possibly could have resulted in users viewing the thread not taking it seriously. Live updates are something which the vast majority enjoyed by most, so lets give Adamm a chance to get his assistant and then enjoy the updates in a couple of weeks

Nonsense. The posts removed have been about speeches at a wedding, encoding vinyl to MP3's and Annette15. Humourous as they might have been, they were dragging the thread off topic.

Thats my explanation Conbro, to avoid things being dragged OT even more on this thread, please drop myself or any of the other poker mods a PM if you want.

KevIRL wrote: »
    Nonsense. The posts removed have been about speeches at a wedding, encoding vinyl to MP3's and Annette15. Humourous as they might have been, .

yeah sorry bout my wedding speech input, it was more or less taking the Pi$$ out of Conbro for his questioning the 100 per day wage.....In it though was a statement sayiing the experience was better than the money for a young un.*I have no problem with it being deleted, even though it took me several hours to compose and longer to concieve. I had to csancel several projects to create that post.. I have to say though I think I would jump at the chance to do this if I were a studenty type or stuck for money, it's gotta be some crack at least writing these .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭[nicK]

yuletired wrote:
    have to say though I think I would jump at the chance to do this if I were a studenty type or stuck for money, it's gotta be some crack at least writing these .[/SIZE][/FONT]

+1.. on any other forum, I could only imagine a shot at a bit of work experience in a field you're intersted in with expenses paid and a few extra dollahs to boot would be jumped at..

not everything has to be +ev in the literal sense peeps..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

bohsman wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

YULETIRED wrote: »
    yeah sorry bout my wedding speech input, it was more or less taking the Pi$$ out of Conbro for his questioning the 100 per day wage.....In it though was a statement sayiing the experience was better than the money for a young un.*I have no problem with it being deleted, even though it took me several hours to compose and longer to concieve. I had to csancel several projects to create that post.. I have to say though I think I would jump at the chance to do this if I were a studenty type or stuck for money, it's gotta be some crack at least writing these .
    If I wasn't playing I would jump at it too.
    I was 100% going down to it, would of most likely blogged a little.
    And for free accom and food (plus €100), I could wait till breaks adn after tourney for cash action.

Tip:Talk to the cash game manager on day one, explain you are blogging and wouldn't mind a cash game on the breaks. He shouldn't have a problem with you "skipping" the queue during the weekend, although its not really skipping as you putting your name down early and letting the rest skip you until you are ready.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭Mr check raise

i'll do it if u want. I was goin to play but recently ive been all about depositing cash in blazin aces . I'll pm you with details

How much is the going rate for dealing at something like this? (including and excluding tips)

think they usually claim to pay about 1.5 times minimum wage plus tips and actually end up making you work more hours than they pay you for so it works out to about 1.25x minimum wage + €1 an hour.

connie has a better reputation than certain other organisers so maybe you would end up with €13 or €15 an hour plus your expenses? It's a long time since I did this, someone who knows better could contribute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

RoundTower wrote: »
    It's a long time since I did this, someone who knows better could contribute.
    While interesting and all, it's not the topic of this thread, dealing cards and writing are completely different professions.

So back on topic please people, which just to be clear, is comments or queries about this position, not comparing the wages offered to the that of the Lounge Staff, dealers, TD's or anyone else involved in Poker or this tournament. It's also not a discussion about the mods and their decisions, if people want to discuss the mods or the modding of this thread, take it to PM to any of us, or to an smod/ Admin, or take it to feedback/Helpdesk.

If people don't care about this topic, or the position offered by AdMMM, then don't post in here. If you want to discuss dealers wages or whatever, start a new thread or use the BBV thread.

Ste05

P.S. No more warnings, next off topic post gets a ban.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Four of a kind

bohsman wrote: »

+2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

Having done plenty of both I'd prefer dealing. It's a lot easier and you get longer breaks. It's very difficult to take any kind of a significant break when you're doing live reporting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

I think we need someone like those women who hold up the round number cards at heavyweight prize fights.

See you next week

kincsem wrote: »

1 week ban

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭tipp86

I thought my post was a great suggestion then deleted:mad: !! This thread is been run like a dictatorship recently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

It sure is, take a week to think about it.

Seriously people, if you want a ban post something off topic, if you don't want a ban, don't post off topic.

We're not here for show.

Ste05

EDIT: Following complaints I've also banned Conbro for a week for off topic posting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

I think its a great opportunity for someone to do the updates and feel part of the event. For anyone thats interested, talk to the likes of rag2gar, ionapaul, nickyod and others that have done updates in the past get a view on how much work is invloved, how tired you get, how interesting it is etc.

You also get a chance to walk around and take pictures of the pretty girlies and ask them their names while counting their stacks...i mean this job has some real perks!

€100 a day plus free accom and food is a great deal IMO.

Thanks very much everyone for the interest. I've found someone whose blog is one of the most entertaining poker-related blog I have read in quite some time and should be a familiar face around the Dublin area especially! I'll let him introduce himself if he'd like, otherwise I'll out him later :).

As for everyone else, I just wish I was allowed have more people to cover the event. There were some blogs and applications that were extremely impressive and for any future events, you'll be the first that I'll approach!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

I've found someone whose blog is one of the most entertaining poker-related blog I have read in quite some time and should be a familiar face around the Dublin area especially! I'll let him introduce himself if he'd like, otherwise I'll out him later :).

Ooooooohh....it's a (temporary) mystery! :) I'm gonna be doing the blogging on the PPP site for our Irish Winter Festival in late October, fun fun fun! Good luck to whomever snagged the job.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Rounders? I demand outage!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭thechamp87

ionapaul wrote: »
    Ooooooohh....it's a (temporary) mystery! :) I'm gonna be doing the blogging on the PPP site for our Irish Winter Festival in late October, fun fun fun! Good luck to whomever snagged the job.

sorry to spoil the surprise, but it's dagunman.

thechamp87 wrote: »
    sorry to spoil the surprise, but it's dagunman.

lol running over the tables to get updates I can see it now!!!

Personally I'd love if it was jbravado. The boy can write and it would certainly give a more "Tao of poker" feel to the updates.

Is it that Sam jbravado chappie....I'll stick a fiver it's him......

he was a defendor of the task.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

YULETIRED wrote: »
    Is it that Sam jbravado chappie....I'll stick a fiver it's him......

he was a defendor of the task.

I was kinda hoping it was you Willie

They just couldn't afford him Richie!!!

I shall be one of the excited players, eagerly waiting AK or KK so I can start playing...Apparantly I'm now a rock (according to CLAMPER)
    I do think it will be fun for someone like Sam as he I read something he wrote once blog of some descript I think....and it was good.

Rounders would be interesting but he would bend the truth too much, I'd expect his reports to read like this...

Nicnicnic raises from the button on the feature table, he looks over at sideshow bob, Bob calls and coils his back ready to pounce as soon as the flop is dealt, but Connie has also called..the flop is dealt.....not a sound, they stare each other out...suddenly Nicnicnic takes out his musical time piece and a tune plays , Bob smiles and takes out his timepiece, exactly the same.....both watches playing the same tune....just then they hear a 3rd tune and connie throws his timepiece on the table, they've all got the same picture of their sweetheart in the cover of their watches....yes it's flipper...(Valor shrieks in the background) ..........they wait for Bobs move, eyes squinted and shifty...

the music stops....

So rounders will not be the blogger...I think my guess is correct.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭jbravado

I was delighted to be given the nod to do this. Hopefully I can do a decent job. Ive taken a step away from the action of late (forced redundancy I guess you would call it lol) but am really looking forward to being involved in what Im sure will prove to be a super tournament and weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭thechamp87

jbravado wrote: »
    I was delighted to be given the nod to do this. Hopefully I can do a decent job. Ive taken a step away from the action of late (forced redundancy I guess you would call it lol) but am really looking forward to being involved in what Im sure will prove to be a super tournament and weekend.

Best of luck with it Sam. See you down there.