Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Investigation: Blarney Castle 01/11/08

• 15-09-2008 2:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭

Ok looks like the PIGs are doing an Investigation down in Blarney Castle on 1st November. They called us and said they wanted to do something over the halloween season where it will be the 5 pigs plus about 20 people.

We've asked for 10 of the spots and there will be a charge as with all investigations - but we'll be keeping it as low as possible and the folks at the Castle understand that.

Obviously its a fair bit out of Dublin and we'll be going from 8pm Saturday night til about 3am Sunday morning. The castle doesnt have accommodation so its a case of jump in the car or grab one of the location hotels/B&Bs (I'm trying to sort out a discount with 1 spot).

I'm not 100 who many people we can take but anyone who is interest throw your name on this thread and please bare in mind that you have to make your own way there and back!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭kshiel

Now you know you can count on me. Kim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

kshiel wrote: »
    Now you know you can count on me. Kim.

I didnt doubt it for a second!

Update:

As I said there is no accommodation but Blarney CAstle Hotel will do double rooms for €110. You'll be getting to bed after 3m so might be better than a drive home.

The fee for the investigation should be about €60 with tea and snacks provided.

Questions?

Some photos:

bc003.jpg

bc002.jpg

BC001.jpg

bc004.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 322 ✭✭LCDeelite

That sounds great. I'm in Cork myself and I'd be interested in giving it a whirl, but I'm not sure how I'm fixed on that date yet.

I'm doing something else for Halloween but I have to get the exact date for that first. But, if it won't clash with the Blarney Castle investigation, I'll count myself in for it. Watch this space.. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Temporarily book me and himself in. I will let you know if it's not possible though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

6th wrote: »
    The fee for the investigation should be about €60 with tea and snacks provided.

I'll personally supply everyone with Animal Bars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Lou D wants in.
    I know someone else (Peter) who wants to go.

• Subscribers Posts: 19,421 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Can I throw my name in as well? I like Blarney. Will check if my oh is interested too.

Ok so thats:

1. Kim
    2. Lou
    3. Peter
    4. Oryx
    5. Oryx OH
    6. Windsock
    7. Windsock OH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭ryoishin

What goes on at an investigation?

They are usually flexable enough but the format with this would be a taking time to introduce everyone. A brief talk on the place, introduction to and explaination of the equipment and then split into groups.

The groups then head off with 1 set monitoring the cameras and taking reports back from the other groups, the every so often each group switches so that everyone gets to investigate each part of a location and gets to use all the equipment.

A huge part of an investigation actually takes part after the night is over when the group has to go through all the audio, video and still photography.

On the night its vigils, audio recording, video and monitoring the enviroment. A huge part of it is people being as open with subjective experiences as possible and that comes down feeling comfortable enough with people to be able to say if you hear, feel or experience anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

This one will consist of a pretty in depth history of the place.About 30 minutes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

Sounds cool...really wish I was at home so I could do this.
    Will be back in London though :(
    Best of luck with it all....will keep track.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭OK-Cancel-Apply

Really sounds like fun! I'd love to go, but I'm not sure if I should put my name down yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭demakinz

hi 6th is there any room left on your investagation for me and my girlfriend? we have been looking for ages and would love the chance to tag along to one.we have transport and willing to help in any way..

thanks DEMAKINZ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 bigmack

Hi I just signed up recently to "The Pigs" if there is a slot available could you PLEASE count me in??? Ah go on!

I'll update this soon and see who we can fit in. Its turned out pretty popular so we might do another one very soon after so no one misses out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Can't go to this one :( i'm sure there are plenty more to take our places though :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭Poltergoose

If any room id like to put my name + 1 forward.Looks a great location,especially that tunnel area.Been on my travels recently and have'nt been near anywhere ghostly and would love to get a fix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,633 ✭✭✭stormkeeper

I'll prolly do the next one, as I need to organise myself for stuff over the next couple of months.

Kim has dropped out, she has something else on that day and has no internet access ATM

Yeah got word this morning. Anyway obviously its crazy at the moment but will contact people and post updates next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,991 ✭✭✭Ziycon

Ah i'm a bit late :(, keep me in mind for the next investigation 6th if you don't mind!

demakinz wrote: »
    hi 6th is there any room left on your investagation for me and my girlfriend? we have been looking for ages and would love the chance to tag along to one.we have transport and willing to help in any way..

thanks DEMAKINZ

You were next in line.
    bigmack wrote: »
    Hi I just signed up recently to "The Pigs" if there is a slot available could you PLEASE count me in??? Ah go on!

Then you.
    If any room id like to put my name + 1 forward.Looks a great location,especially that tunnel area.Been on my travels recently and have'nt been near anywhere ghostly and would love to get a fix
    Ziycon wrote: »
    Ah i'm a bit late :(, keep me in mind for the next investigation 6th if you don't mind!

There is a space there.

Ok here is the list but if there is a cancellation then next person gets it. I'll be PMing people soon to confirm.

1. Lou
    2. Oryx
    3. Oryx OH
    4. demakinz
    5. demakinz OH
    6. bigmack
    7. Poltergoose
    8. Poltergoose OH
    9. Ziycon
    10. Non Boardsie

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,661 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Am i too late to put myself in the hat? Im off around then so i dont need to worry about work! :)

You're name is in the hate and if past experience has thought me anything its that someone will drop out!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,661 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

You're name is in the hate and if past experience has thought me anything its that someone will drop out!

Freudian slip - cyber bullying! report post, report post! :D

ok so we have no kim, but Lou is bringing a spare Kim (one of the girls who went to charleville last year)

also Peter is not going, he is playing Elvis that night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭demakinz

Stoner wrote: »
    ok so we have no kim, but Lou is bringing a spare Kim (one of the girls who went to charleville last year)

also Peter is not going, he is playing Elvis that night

ELVIS!!! bring him as elvis would be cool he might be able to contact elvis and get a sing along goin....6th ,me and the misus are deff goin.can you let us know the details about the price and directions what we need to bring as its our first time doin anything like the.
    we live only a few miles from charleville in offaly and would of loved to go to the last investigation we could of put ye up for the night..been there a few times just noesing around..did ye find anything?

:DDEMAKINZ:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭kshiel

Thanks for putting that up for me stoner. Sorry about dropping out but as I see there is plenty to replace, I am sure this trip will be a great one as all them are lol. Sorry again,

kim

1. faceman
    2. Oryx
    3. Oryx OH
    4. demakinz
    5. demakinz OH
    6. bigmack
    7. Poltergoose
    8. Poltergoose OH
    9. Ziycon
    10. Non-Boardsie

Ok folks expect a Pm about this but here are some points:

• Its €60 (can be paid on arrival)
    • You have to get to Blarney Castle for 7.30pm
    • There will be you 10 guys, 5 PIGs and 15 people who are dealing directly with Blarney and some radio station.
    • It finishes up at 3am so its up to the individuals to sort accommodation etc - The Blarney Castle Hotel is good, ask for Ian.

OK,

Just to stress this again.
    You will need food/snacks
    Warm clothes that can stand up to rain
    A torch (there are caves here)
    Possible a flask if you want tea etc.
    Water.

We will be getting people to sign some documents indicating that they are responsible for themselves etc because it will be dark, possible wet and people will need to take care of themselves.
    We will need to know about any illness or medical conditions in case somthing happens to people.

Poltergoose, have you changed your mobile number or can we reach you on the old one?

kshiel wrote: »
    Thanks for putting that up for me stoner. Sorry about dropping out but as I see there is plenty to replace, I am sure this trip will be a great one as all them are lol. Sorry again,

kim

no probs Kimbo, it will still be there when we are finished

hard luck on your recent MMA loss by the way

Stoner wrote: »
    A torch (there are caves here)

People never bring their own torches.... this fills me with rage!

Looking forward to this, how far from Dublin is it?

About 260 km.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,205 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Other stuff on that night that I can't get out of

Have a good one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

Well its about 5kms from Cork City center

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭Poltergoose

Cant find anything on the net in relation to hauntings there? does anybody know if and where I could find some info? or even better if you have a bit of knowledge yourself about the supposed hauntings at Blarney castle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

Funny, I grew up in the village next to Blarney and never once heard of hauntings in the castle? Sounds like ye have a good night planned though, hope it goes well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭scubasteve

Forgive my ignorance, but what are PIGs?

PIGs are the Paranormal Investigation Guys - a group formed through this forum and made up of 5 Dublin based lads who enjoy running around in the dark.

As for hauntings in/around Blarney, theres actually a fair bit but its all word of mouth and folklore - every now and then you've got to get off the net and talk to real people ... hell, I even picked up the odd book! :D

1. faceman
    2. Oryx
    3. Oryx OH
    4. demakinz
    5. demakinz OH
    6. bigmack

7. Poltergoose
    8. Poltergoose OH
    9. Ziycon
    10. faceman +1

Ok folks expect a Pm about this but here are some points:

• Its €60 (can be paid on arrival)
    • You have to get to Blarney Castle for 7.30pm
    • There will be you 10 guys, 5 PIGs and 15 people who are dealing directly with Blarney and some radio station.
    • It finishes up at 3am so its up to the individuals to sort accommodation etc - The Blarney Castle Hotel is good, ask for Ian.

Ok no reply to PMs sent to the folk in red so some spaces up for grabs. Anyone interested reply to this thread ASAP - please read the details etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

PIGs are the Paranormal Investigation Guys - a group formed through this forum and made up of 5 Dublin based lads who enjoy running around in the dark.

As for hauntings in/around Blarney, theres actually a fair bit but its all word of mouth and folklore - every now and then you've got to get off the net and talk to real people ... hell, I even picked up the odd book! :D

I've heard plenty around the area (too many, I was scared sh1tless growing up!) but none from the actual castle so would be interested to know more. Hope it all goes well for ye down there.

Hi 6th can you put me down for another spot for the investigation.

Ok the list is:

1. faceman
    2. faceman 2
    3. Oryx
    4. Oryx OH
    5. Poltergoose
    6. Poltergoose OH
    7. Ziycon
    8. Ziycon 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭scubasteve

That is the coolest thing ever. Do they wear overalls and diver around in a converted herse?:eek:

I have 2 more people taking 9 and 10 place. Will get the names later.

I think Stoner drives a Hyundai.

Ok the list is:

1. faceman
    3. Oryx
    4. Oryx OH
    5. Poltergoose
    6. Poltergoose OH
    7. Ziycon
    8. Ziycon 2
    9. Colum 1
    10.Colum 2

Ok thats 1 space left. C'mon folks .... this is gonna rawk!
    scubasteve wrote: »

That is the coolest thing ever. Do they wear overalls and diver around in a converted herse?:eek:

We would but it was too hard to find overalls that fit Stoner >_>