Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Threatening phonecalls

• 14-09-2008 10:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Hi all

I'm just wondering if somebody could me advice about the above. A friend of mine is receiving threatening phonecalls and she is getting very freaked out.
    I told her to go to the Gardai and she says she will. The number comes up as private so I don't think they are trackable but her house phone has been rang as well so maybe they didnt use private for that. Does anyone know if private numbers can be tracked?

I know this is quite a technical point so not sure what forum to put it in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭chickenhawk

Tell her to contact the guards and write down the times of the phonecalls and what was said etc.

Also contact the telephone provider. They can find the number as far as I know.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

The Gardai can have the number traced. The network provider can't disclose the number to her, but the Gardai can get it from them AFAIK. She needs to take note of the times and dates of the calls. Also of what's being said. Then go to the Gardai and make a report.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Eircom have a malicious calls unit. The number is 1800 689 689

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭IRISH RAIL

OK you got my strong point the dept of justice has 2 compuers each have been brought in from a manufacturer in saudia arabia, each one is a very special computer because they can moniter three phone calls and 10 sms messages at a time they can take the numbers, and point to what cell mast they came to. so in answer to your question yes they can find out who sent them and within 8 meters of where they were when they sent it .

but

in all realistic reality do you think the gaurds would waste thier time dealing with some threatining texts ?

no is the answer

Im being honest with you here and very harsh.

people dont need a very good reason to do that crap thats a fact you can combat them in two very simple ways.

1 change your number
    2 change the house number

case closed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,706 ✭✭✭craichoe

IRISH RAIL wrote: »
    OK you got my strong point the dept of justice has 2 compuers each have been brought in from a manufacturer in saudia arabia, each one is a very special computer because they can moniter three phone calls and 10 sms messages at a time they can take the numbers, and point to what cell mast they came to. so in answer to your question yes they can find out who sent them and within 8 meters of where they were when they sent it .

but

in all realistic reality do you think the gaurds would waste thier time dealing with some threatining texts ?

no is the answer

Im being honest with you here and very harsh.

people dont need a very good reason to do that crap thats a fact you can combat them in two very simple ways.

1 change your number
    2 change the house number

case closed.

Thats not the case i don't know who told you this but there are not "2 computers from Saudi arabia" tracking calls and sms for the whole country.

Caller Line identification is sent regardless of whether the person has blocked their caller ID or not.

Eircom have records of every call recieved at your number, I.E. they have the number but its just blocked when it reaches your phone by Eircom. A court order is required to get this information from Eircom due to data protection.

SMS's are tracked AT the SMSC by whatever provider owns it.

So OP, contact the Gardai and make them aware of the situation.

I did have an experience once where the Gardai couldn't be bothered sorting the problem out so i put the phone on divert to phone in their station and the problem sorted itself out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 StockCube

I have a friend who had a similar problem. She was advised by vodafone that she could change her number or contact the gardai for assistance. If you inform the guards, then log the time that each one of the calls comes in, you can then give this info to the gardai who are authorised to get the data from the network. They will not give you this info (unless possibly you'd like to press charges *not sure about that) but they will call the number on your behalf and have a word with the person responsible - which i know was enough to make it stop for my friend.

The thing is - the culprit may be using a dedicated prepay phone to do this so they would know there is only somuch they will get away with.

Worth a try though in my opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

Theres this horn thing that you can get that you just blow down the phone for cases like this. Deafens the assailont.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

Unreg12321 wrote: »
    A friend of mine is receiving threatening phonecalls and she is getting very freaked out.

In what way are these calls threatening? What exactly is being said? Does she suspect who they are from?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Theres this horn thing that you can get that you just blow down the phone for cases like this. Deafens the assailont.

Class :D
    Definately take logs of what time the calls are coming in at. The gardai are able to track these calls with enough evidance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Buy a whistle.
    Keep it by the phone.

When they call again, blow the whistle.
    It'll take there ear off and they'll soon stop.

Make note of the time of the call, and inform the Guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,688 ✭✭✭kerash

Hi op,
    I know someone who was in a similar situation to your friend - receiving threatening phone calls.
    These guys eventually left a voicemail message when the calls went unanswered. She went to the guards, who took the issue very seriously.
    Do not hesitate in encouraging your friend to contact them and hopefully she will feel reassured, it's better to act now than regret not doing so later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭vasch_ro

ok if you go the guards, your friend will have to give permission for her line to be monitored from that date forward, the guards will request a monitor on the line from thedifferent service providers ,some do it some don't, it takes about two months to get info back which is like a itemised bill in reverse ,your friend and that garda go thru it together looking for the times that the calls have been received and to see if the number is recognised , its as low process as it is low priority due to the volume of requests and more serious crimes taking precedce, the best way to stop it is change your number,although i quite like the idea of diverting the phone to the garda station

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

You do know that the phone has a certain volume and frequency range? Whistles and horns are stupid ideas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Mountjoy Mugger

IRISH RAIL wrote: »

I can't see where the OP said threatening texts. Can you point it out? OP mentioned phonecalls.

So much for the Saudi computers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭auerillo

Surely the best thing to do is to ignore the calls, and very soon the caller will get bored.

What he wants is to get a response, or at least to know that he is having an effect, so to just ignore the calls, in most cases, means he will eventually stop.

You do know that the phone has a certain volume and frequency range?
    The speaker on the phone? Naturally.
    Whistles and horns are stupid ideas.
    To suggest that the volume and frequency of a whistle would exceed the range of a phone and thus be rendered ineffectual for it's intended purpose is so stupid, it's moronic. Bravo. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭corribdude

Go to the guards op and they'll likely phone whoever is calling you for a quick chat. Should put a stop to it fairly quickly.
    Zulu wrote: »
    To suggest that the volume and frequency of a whistle would exceed the range of a phone and thus be rendered ineffectual for it's intended purpose is so stupid, it's moronic. Bravo. :rolleyes:

Emm... you said a whistle will 'take there ear off' but the guy who said it was a stupid idea is correct in that a whistle through a phone is completely different than if you blew it right next to someone. It'll hardly take the guy's ear off.

corribdude wrote: »
    Emm... you said a whistle will 'take there ear off' but the guy who said it was a stupid idea is correct in that a whistle through a phone is completely different than if you blew it right next to someone. It'll hardly take the guy's ear off.
    So you've never been on the phone to someone when an ambulance drove past them?

It won't be as loud/clear as blowing the whistle in their actual ear, however, it'll still be loud & unpleasant (unless they are deaf), and it'll stop them from calling.

So, is it a stupid idea?
    Will it not work?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

craichoe wrote: »

I did have an experience once where the Gardai couldn't be bothered sorting the problem out so i put the phone on divert to phone in their station and the problem sorted itself out.

genius

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

sam34 "genius" is not on topic.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

The mobile can be identified using the IMSI (international Mobile Subscriber Identity) of the SIM card. Its unique to each mobile. The general location of the mobile can also be identified using the Radio Frequency Indication messages used by each antenna (its normally used for call handover when the subscriber is on the move to neighbouring antennas).

It was used in the rachel o reilly murder case to track her husbands movements on that day as well as call activity.

The information is quiet privileged so proper channels have to be gone through and they wont release it to everyone.

Ive actually had 2 nusiance calls made to the parents land line reported it to the gardai but was told that 3 or more calls had to be made. I think it was a load of s*it but id say the member of the gardai didnt want to do the neccessary legwork as well as authorisation neccessary to gain this info.

Id suggest you keep record of calls date/time. Content and press the issue with the gardai as well as speaking to his seargent. As a mates parents did this and the abusive call stopped soon after.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 dinner's ready!

had a similar problem a few years back with the house phone, we went to the guards etc but very little was done. In the end our only option was to change the landline number, I suggest your friend does the same. It's awkward I know but it certainly made life a lot easier.
    Just be very careful who you give the number out to afterwards though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

My advice would be to just put the phone down (not hang up) and just walk away, they'll quickly get tired of talking to themselves, these "people" feed on your reaction.

I'd definitely have a chat with the Guards who really are the best people to deal with this together with the phone operator. It may be that a call or a visit from the Guards is enough to mark their card and get them to cop on. Even if they're using a pre-paid phone maybe the network operator can disable it for abuse of terms & conditions (just guessing).

If you do report it then I'd make this person aware you have and that they can expect a call or visit from the Guards in the near future and just leave it at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

One of my friends had a similar problem 4 years ago - someone was calling her up almost every evening, and heavy-breathing on the phone.
    We waited until they phoned again, and as soon as the heavy-breathing started, I stood a bit away from the phone and said
    "We're monitoring the call now Mrs O'Reilly, just keep them on the phone for another 2 minutes"
    Whoever it was immediately hung up and never called again.
    If it continues after this, report it to the Gardai and Eircom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

clever :)