Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best and Worst Moment in a Marathon

• 12-09-2008 11:51am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭

Doing some reminiscing about my best and worst marathon moments.

My Best moment, was finishing the Dublin marathon and hopping on my bike to cycle home thinking that’s no big deal………………..looking back I think wtf! :)

Worst moment, the connemarathon it was cold wet and windy and we had just turned for home by the Lough,
    blows a gale by the Lough and it dawn on me that I was finished, limped (not literally) the 11 miles home………..could of cried, longest 11 miles of my life!

So what where/are yours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭Peckham

Worst moment: My first marathon. Went out far too quickly and was feeling pretty bad around the 17-mile mark. Was a struggle to continue putting one foot in front of the other. Didn't see how I was going to finish and slowed down to walk.

Best moment: In hindsight, it was about three seconds after the above moment when another runner slapped me on the back and shouted "Don't walk, keep running". So I picked up the pace again. First experience of the camaraderie that goes with marathon running. If it wasn't for that person, I would have had to walk in from 17-miles and may even have abandoned. Doubt I ever would have tried a marathon again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

Been there! Since that kind of moment I've always tried to speak to runners who are struggling but it can be tough without sounding like a smug git!

Worst moment was probably either my first when I really ran out of steam after 18 or 19 miles and was very, very close to jacking it all in or in Berlin last year when - after 17 miles - my Garmin suddenly went awol. First the distance froze and then it actually began to "unwind", counting back the miles I'd run! As a result I lost track of the distance run and - worse again - my spilt times were in miles and the course was marked in kms so I had no idea of the pace I was running. I was like a headless chicken for a mile or two while I worked out wtf was going on and I settled down to pace by HR. I was on track for a 3:15 up to then and ended up 3:25. I probably would have missed 3:15 anyway but I'm sure I would have been closer to my target than I was.

Best moment was at about 21 miles into the Rotterdam race. I was (again) aiming for 3:15 and was on track but slowing. I was convinced I was running as hard as I could when - from nowhere a 3:15 pacer went past me like I was standing still. It was one of those moments - I knew if I kept up my pace I would watch my target time literally running away from me so (without conciously thinking about it) I picked up my pace and dropped behind the pacers shoulder. Turned out that he - like me - had lost some time in the first 5k's and was picking it up at the end. He paced me and one other runner to the 26 mile mark and yelled at us to "sprint like crazy!" (he was Dutch after all) so we did and I crossed the line in 3:15:06. No way I would have done it solo - the last full mile was run in something like 6:45 - but it was quite a feeling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭911sc

Never really thought about it until i read this thread...thanks

Worse:
    mile 22 of the 3 marathons i have done...and mile 22 of the next one:o

Best
    Probably passing the finish line of my first marathon ,and see wife, kids & friends there. I was filled with such a high level of satisfaction & achievement that i only had contemplated in dreams til 29th October 2007. Took me a week to go over it!

I had the exact same experience as Peckham...and that was just in front of the main gate of Trinity...1/2mile or so to the finish.. I ran like a lunatic to the finish!!

Since that kind of moment I've always tried to speak to runners who are struggling but it can be tough without sounding like a smug git!

I've often wondered about this in races when you go past someone you know is struggling. Never fully sure of the best thing to say, or whether it's just best to let them fight their own inner battle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Racing Flat

Best - At mile 18 of first marathon, thinking, this is so easy, what was all the fuss about. After all the training and sacrifice, I was terrified beforehand that I might not be able to finish, as it still felt comfortable at 18, I knew (maybe prematurely) I was going to finish. When the hard miles came at 23-26, I only lost 90secs a mile so wasn't too bad, finishing in 3.15.

Worst - following year, 2nd marathon, after doing a half in 84 and 2 in 85 I was going for sub-3. At 4 miles I knew it wasn't going to happen - worst moment ever, and a very long, depressing last 22, finishing in 3.06.

Great idea for thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Stupid_Private

Worst: By far and away Rotterdam in 2007. Stupid poxy weather. They warned at the start not to go for pbs but I thought I'd be fine as I'd been training in the south of france. The race started at 11 o'clock and the temp was in the high 20s. I was struggling by 10km, in bits by half way and the only reason I didn't drop out was because I had no idea what you do in a foreign country when you drop out! Never been so dehydrated in all my life. I took on far too much fluid during and afterwards and was in some state that evening.

Best: Thankfully the bests out weigh the worsts, so there's many I could pick. The best was probably the first marathon back after 9 months off with an ankle injury. One physio in that time told me to quit runnning. Ran a massive PB at the time (3.25 to 3.01) on very unstructured training with no speedwork.

Worst - following year, 2nd marathon, after doing a half in 84 and 2 in 85 I was going for sub-3. At 4 miles I knew it wasn't going to happen - worst moment ever, and a very long, depressing last 22, finishing in 3.06.

Sorry to dwell on a negative, but you've got me wondering with this one. I'm in a similar situation - a 84 half and going for sub-3. How did you know so early in the race that it wasn't going to happen, given that you only missed it by 6 mins. You couldn't have been too far off pace after only 4 miles. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

Great thread for first timers here:D

Thats a tremendous time for a first marathon Racing Flat and thats tremednous stuff after the injury Stupid Private. Good stuff fella's:pac:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

Worst
    Longford 2002, wasn't prepared and didn't know what pace to be running, went out too fast and was crawling at one stage, finished in 4:36 and was so dehydrated
    Best
    Longford 2008
    Prepared properly and although I had a sore calf, I finished comfortably and with a smile in 3:55

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭geld

Best was when I completed my first marathon in Dublin. At the time we ran through Abbey Street and finished after we turned up O'Connell Street. When I went around the corner the announcer called out my name and I felt that the whole crowd was cheering me home.

Honourable mention - after finishing another marathon a Cork women turned to me and because it was her first marathon and she needed a hug. Was happy to oblige!:D

Worst was again in Dublin when the route went the opposite way to what it goes now. At the top of the Upper Glen Road (up from the Chapelizod gate) in the Phoenix Park at approx the 20 mile mark I got cramps on both my legs at the same time. Some saint stopped to help me stretch but the last six miles were agony and ended up fighting buses and pedestrians going down O'Connell Street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭SUNGOD

worst was in my first marathon in connemara this year.
    having to walk at mile 25 ,only for a minute but the frustration of been so close but yet so far was unreal followed by the pain of trying to run again after stopping.

best was from same marathon , going on holidays directly afterwards and finding out on holidays i had actually finished 10th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Racing Flat

Peckham wrote: »
    Sorry to dwell on a negative, but you've got me wondering with this one. I'm in a similar situation - a 84 half and going for sub-3. How did you know so early in the race that it wasn't going to happen, given that you only missed it by 6 mins. You couldn't have been too far off pace after only 4 miles. :confused:

When you know, you know :). Basically, going at 6.52 pace for 4 miles was too hard. It should be easy and I was struggling, breathing was laboured, was sweating too much, so I knew at 4 miles there was no way I could keep it up for 26.2miles. Went through halfway in 91, and true, I only lost 6 mins in total, but 6.52 should be easy until at least halfway I'd say, for sub-3 to be on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

I think, on balance, the bests outweigh the worses and thats why we do it.

A couple of ties for best...
    1. 1st time to get over the finish line in a marathon. An emotional experience even if it was one of the slowest times I've run at 3.50
    2. Cork this year. 3.06. PB. Can I bottle that feeling please?
    3. Conn this year. Despite the elements, I ran 3.17, which was a PB before I ran Cork.

Worses:
    1. Dublin last year. Turning onto N11 at UCD. I had nothing left and 5 miles left... My own fault having run in Amsterdam not a week before.
    2. Various marathons. Cramp, cramp and more cramp.
    3. Various marathons. The outset of cold after the event. Can't stay warm to save my life for hours after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭A P

Best moment - passing under the Brandenburg gate knowing that sub 3 hours was within reach.
    Worst moment - being passed by 2 guys dressed as clowns in Amsterdam as I was hitting the wall. I was very dehydrated and wasn't sure if I was hallucinating.The two of them broke 3hrs and I missed out by 17 seconds. Grr!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

A P wrote: »
    Best moment - passing under the Brandenburg gate knowing that sub 3 hours was within reach.
    Worst moment - being passed by 2 guys dressed as clowns in Amsterdam as I was hitting the wall. I was very dehydrated and wasn't sure if I was hallucinating.
    The two of them broke 3hrs and I missed out by 17 seconds. Grr!

:D That is hilarious.

3 hour marathon in a clown suit:eek:Are you sure you were'nt hallucinating:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

great thread. I could post a top 10 for both best and worst though

Worst: Mile 22 of Boston marathon, weather was unreal had been running into a constant head wind from the start. I had hit the wall legs were buckled and I was pretty close to dropping out. Didn't really know where I was.

Best: Mile 22.5 of same Boston marathon. A kid in the crowd called out my number and told me she loved me. Really corny but it actually made me laugh. Helped me get out of my rut. I popped some glucose took on some water and ran a pb. Probably the only time I have cried from exhaustion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭A P

Babybing wrote: »
    :D That is hilarious.

3 hour marathon in a clown suit:eek:Are you sure you were'nt hallucinating:D

I may well have been, I was so dehydrated. They had painted faces and were wearing coloured wigs, but as far as I can remember they weren't wearing baggy pants or funny shoes. If they had been, I would have kicked their asses!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,549 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

I've only done the one, but it's very fresh in my mind....

Worst: Mile 25. Head-down, knuckled-in. Tucked in behind another runner, basically following in his footsteps until the finish line. Sorry and thank you, stranger!
    Worst2: iPod goes skidding across the road at mile 22. No more music!

Best: 8 year old daughter grabs my hand as I sprint over the finish line.
    Best2: Old man reaches hand out window of his car and gives me a high-five. Re-motivates me for miles 23 and 24!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,472 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

That's me fvkced then.
    My first one is in 5 weeks in New York and my prep has been crap for it..
    Started training way too early back in Jan and was sick of it by May..tore my achilles and tweaked hamstring and out for 8 weeks so there's no way I'll be running the whole lot.
    Decided that for my first no time whatsoever just the finish whatever it takes.
    Next year 4 other lads are joining me for the Dublin one so I'll do a time for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

Slight slant...

My most insperational moment came in my first. I had gone past the RDS at a walk and had been taking longer and longer walk breaks for several miles. I had stopped to "stretch" (rest) and the first trecherous thoughts had skittered across my head - "sure you can't quite, how will you get to the finish line" was followed by the shadow of "well there has to be *some* way"

As I miserabbly started to limp along again every joint in my legs felt like it was lubricated with broken glass. I felt miserable, I was soaked to the skin and I had pretty much had enough. And then some great big hairy Ars*ed Jackeen on a pushbike stands up on his pedals at the side of teh road. He looked right at me and shouted "Come on, if it was easy everyone would do it now pick up your f*cking feet and RUN!" At the time I felt like decking him, but I did pick up my feet and I did run - no way is some fat muppet on a bike goine to see me fail! A few hundred yards on and running was actualy getting easier as I warmed my muscles back up again and I saw a banner with teh famous Lance Armstrong quote - "Pain fades, Glory doesn't" - that was it, I had enough to keep my going (slowly!) to the finish line.

Had it not been for that random stranger on the bike I probably would have quit. Every time training is tough I think of him and I pick up my feet and get going. I bet if I could find him he probably wouldn't even remember seeing the marathon in 2005, let alone shouting at some skinny knackered looking runner. But I owe that man a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭MCOS

Who will ever forget their first marathon and the euphoria of it all. The best moment is surely when you complete your first marathon! Dublin last year was my first marathon and it was all good, even the pain at the end, however the best and worst feelings came in my second marathon this year at Connemara.

Best feeling: Running alone for a few of the early miles, feeling good and taking in the superb scenery. Running bliss!

Worst feeling: Waiting at the finish chute. I was not feeling great the week before the marathon and I had not done enough long runs so I squashed junk runs in when I should have tapered. 2 factors that should have made me see sense and stay at home. My stubborness and running bliss got me to about 18 miles ok and then the wheels came off, cramps in the quads and Flu! The next 8 miles was a mixture of punishing myself for showing up and using the genuine encouragement of the locals to push through it. The cramps only got worse as I was reduced to a painful walk. I can't remember much about the finish as I couldn't see it through tears. At the finish chute I had to lean embarassingly on a guy who had finished the ultra just to stand up. A lovely half marathon woman gave me some water and glucose tablets to prevent me passing out. They were nattering pleasantly about their experiences while I was in hell and realising that I should not have done it. The harsh realisation that I was not prepared and not healthy. 2 huge reasons not to do a marathon. For the next week in work and out of work everyone commented on how run down and sick I looked. I put the body through a marathon when it wasn't fit to jog down to the shop. So from the worst feeling I ever want to feel at any event... a lesson learned

Get to the start line fit, fresh and most of all healthy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Izoard

Best Moment (1): 2000 - London. Passing Frank Bruno at mile 22 and watching everyone giving him a "light" punch as they ran past...the guy was destroyed...no wonder he had issues soon after.

Best Moment (2): 2004 - London. P*ssing wet day, but as George Hincapie (one of Lance's trusted henchmen) used to say, it was a "no chain day". Felt great all the way around. No wall, cramps, weak moments and a PB, that I'll never see again:-)

Worst Moment: 2003 - NYC. Myself and a mate had the smart idea of doing Dublin on the bank holiday Monday, then flying to NY to bang out another on the Sunday. Dublin was great, and 13 miles of NY was fine, until I hit the Queensboro bridge..BANG!, everything stopped. A 13 mile shuffle/walk/stumble on a very hot day...torture! Still finished ahead of P.Diddy, though:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭crubean

Best and Worst moment all in the one marathon .
    Dublin 1990 first ever marathon for me ,I was only 19 the furthest i had run before that was a half in Cork.
    Worst : After 9 miles a water blister on the sole of my foot ,20 mins before i got it treated and back running again, When i started running the pain was unbearable so i banged my foot on the ground to get the pain over and done with.

Best :finishing that same marathon in 3hrs 40 mins, Coming around stephens green having everyone cheering and the annoucer call out your name what a great feeling.

2 Worst: I put in such a sprint finish that my legs cramped up I colapsed on the ground when the first aid got to me as they picked me up in the stretcher they dropped me, but i couldn't feel any pain.

crubean wrote: »
    Best and Worst moment all in the one marathon .
    Dublin 1990 first ever marathon for me ,I was only 19 the furthest i had run before that was a half in Cork.
    Worst : After 9 miles a water blister on the sole of my foot ,20 mins before i got it treated and back running again, When i started running the pain was unbearable so i banged my foot on the ground to get the pain over and done with.

Best :finishing that same marathon in 3hrs 40 mins, Coming around stephens green having everyone cheering and the annoucer call out your name what a great feeling.

2 Worst: I put in such a sprint finish that my legs cramped up I colapsed on the ground when the first aid got to me as they picked me up in the stretcher they dropped me, but i couldn't feel any pain.

It was hardcore back in the early-90s! None of these fancy gels and technical running shoes! ;)