Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Minger's Manifesto

• 11-09-2008 1:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭

"Negative Body Image" is a common "Women's Issue."

This appears to be a syndrome whereby women believe that they are unattractive.

My understanding is that the women afflicted with this believe that they would feel more attractive if they weren't confronted with images of really attractive women in the magazines that they read, the TV shows and movies that they watch, and the billboards that, for some reason, they are unable to tear their eyes from while going about their daily lives.
    In short, the celebration of really beautiful women causes ordinary women to feel inadequate.

The solution being requested is for "the media" to stop celebrating really beautiful women and start celebrating ordinary, everyday women. Effectively, putting this on a scale of one to ten, the fours, fives and sixes want the eights, nines, and tens to be hidden away, so that they can take their place.

This strikes me as the same as a mediocre 100m sprinter who wants to be the Olympic champion. Rather than doing all the work required to get to the requisite standard, they want all the faster runners in the world to be excluded from the competition.

The satisfaction they would get from standing on the podium and receiving fake praise and forced applause is something that I can't understand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

It's like school sports in the UK where there's no losers...everyone's a winner for taking part.
    Of course now the Gov seem to realize that this was a disaster and have created a lazy bunch of cvnts who won't make an effort.

But then again I'd class Kate Moss as a minger...without the photoshop upgrades she's an ugly bitch.
    I see a huge amount of naturally beautiful women each day and all would beat her hands down.
    Christ..even I'd look good with photoshop..might take a few hours though :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

Did you not post this already today ??

noting but a troll

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Rehash of thread that failed in the ladies lounge and was moved to the recycle bin.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055375679

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

My understanding is that the women afflicted with this believe that they would feel more attractive if they weren't confronted with images of really attractive women in the magazines that they read, the TV shows and movies that they watch, and the billboards that, for some reason, they are unable to tear their eyes from when going about their daily lives.
    In short, the celebration of really beautiful women causes ordinary women to feel inadequate.

The solution being requested is for "the media" to stop celebrating really beautiful women and start celebrating ordinary, everyday women. Effectively, putting this on a scale of one to ten, the fours, fives and sixes want the eights, nines, and tens to be hidden away, so that they can take their place.

This strikes me as the same as a mediocre 100m sprinter who wants to be the Olympic champion. Rather than doing all the work required to get to the requisite standard, they want all the faster runners in the world to be excluded from the competition.

The satisfaction they would get from standing on the podium and receiving fake praise and forced applause is something that I can't understand

Are you a dark man too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

U
    G
    L
    Y

You ain't got no alibi you UGLY , eh eh, YOU UGLY, oh oh.

Oh yeah, didn't you already epically fail with this earlier?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Beauty, or the perception of beauty as put out by magazines is there to be exploited just like anything else.One mans vision of beauty is anothers ugliness.Naomi cambell gets paid loads of £ and $ for strutting her stuff and is considered beautiful but her personality sucks big time .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭Twitching Anus

Dragan wrote: »
    U
    G
    L
    Y

You ain't got no alibi you UGLY , eh eh, YOU UGLY, oh oh.

Oh yeah, didn't you already epically fail with this earlier?

It was shut down by one of the mods in the ladies lounge. The other mod had offered to move it and requested it to be kept open.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Some user names simply don't encourage closer investigation.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

mike65 wrote: »
    Some user names simply don't encourage closer investigation.

Mike.
    Nobody likes a twitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,070 ✭✭✭Placebo

some minger called madonna put glitter all over me last night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

It was shut down by one of the mods in the ladies lounge. The other mod had offered to move it and requested it to be kept open.

Coolers. Should have waited for that to happen though, also, nice one on getting the quotes down.

Also, this is AH so not all replies ( and especially not mine ) will be serious.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

When women think they are ugly and they are clearly not, Its easy prey for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

OP, ask these people, that's your best bet

http://www.mingers.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 stehigg

My understanding is that the women afflicted with this believe that they would feel more attractive if they weren't confronted with images of really attractive women in the magazines that they read, the TV shows and movies that they watch, and the billboards that, for some reason, they are unable to tear their eyes from when going about their daily lives.

well focking said

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Whats the chances that twitching anus and stehigg have the same IP address?

ejmaztec wrote: »
    OP, ask these people, that's your best bet

http://www.mingers.com/

Ha that site is blocked form my work place, its classed as "tasteless". OP ask them whoever they are:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Daithi McGee

If this turns into another thread about fat chicks again I fear for the world. It's becoming like the Godwins Law.

We should called it the Dudess Law. Any threads about looks will inevitably end with Dudess posting about hugz for fatties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

GTFO
    Such a fcuking hippy.

emo!! wrote: »
    Ha that site is blocked form my work place, its classed as "tasteless". OP ask them whoever they are:eek:

I expect it means that your employer's photo has been entered in the "Minger of the week" category and doesn't want anyone to find out.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

The seemingly clever analogy of the OP was put under my microscope and it was found to fail on the following grounds:

Beauty is relative. Speed is absolute.

To illustrate, much of the 'beauty' standard established by today's media focuses on blonde hair, orange skin, slender figure. None of these really appeal much to me as a male. I've become awfully bored with the narrowness of it all (no pun intended).

In fact, blonde hair and orange skin seem like some kind strange positioning of Saxon looks as the 'correct' way to be physically attractive and makes me feel as comformtable as I do watching German youths raising their hands in the air to some moustacheiod man screaming on a stage.

Girls that don't look so great or have clear weight issues should think about an improvement yes. But being bombarded with a narrow image of female beauty does nobody any good.

topper75 wrote: »
    The seemingly clever analogy of the OP was put under my microscope and it was found to fail on the following grounds:

Beauty is relative. Speed is absolute.

To illustrate, much of the 'beauty' standard established by today's media focuses on blonde hair, orange skin, slender figure. None of these really appeal much to me as a male. I've become awfully bored with the narrowness of it all (no pun intended).

In fact, blonde hair and orange skin seem like some kind strange positioning of Saxon looks as the 'correct' way to be physically attractive and makes me feel as comformtable as I do watching German youths raising their hands in the air to some moustacheiod man screaming on a stage.

Girls that don't look so great or have clear weight issues should think about an improvement yes. But being bombarded with a narrow image of female beauty does nobody any good.

Are you sure that's not sunstroke, you're talking about?

Jeez this is all a bit serious for AH.
    Could it not be fcuked over to Fashion and Appearance.
    I thought it was spammy troll shiite.

I expect it means that your employer's photo has been entered in the "Minger of the week" category and doesn't want anyone to find out.:eek:

shhh who said that now :P , maybe i or one of his employers where and he is trying to save over feelings! :P nice boss eh

emo!! wrote: »
    shhh who said that now :P , maybe i or one of his employers where and he is trying to save over feelings! :P nice boss eh

It's gotta be the boss, because most of them are ugly, especially when you ask them for a rise.

Amen to that brother!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 757 ✭✭✭milod

Quite, and I suppose in the same, er, vein, we could expect a wave of porn featuring stars with small or average mickeys trying to diddywank with flat-chested, hairy wimmins... etc etc.

Actually, come to think of it that could be quite interesting, phwoar... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭seraphimvc

now i feel cheated after i tried to help abit on OP's a*se on the other thread.OP you failed me:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

If this turns into another thread about fat chicks again I fear for the world. It's becoming like the Godwins Law.

We should called it the Dudess Law. Any threads about looks will inevitably end with Dudess posting about hugz for fatties.

... but also being firm with them doncha know! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭nobodythere

It's all relative.

Someone has to be the minger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 950 ✭✭✭EamonnKeane

MikeySligo wrote: »
    GTFO
    Such a fcuking hippy.
    Is "hippy" defined as "any bad person" in Sligo?
    Supporters of Aryan supremacy advocate pale skin, not tanned skin. And they would not want members of inferior races to disguise themselves as "Nordics". But again "Nazis = bad", therefore you win the argument.

All this moaning about "the meedja" - you have a choice. No-one compels you to watch mindless trashy TV & films or read gutter magazines/newspapers. If you don't like their message, stop paying to receive it then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

MikeySligo wrote: »
    Jeez this is all a bit serious for AH.
    Could it not be fcuked over to Fashion and Appearance.
    I thought it was spammy troll shiite.

I would have thought it was a bit to deep for Fashion and Appearance. :D.

Is "hippy" defined as "any bad person" in Sligo?

Er, I dunno.:confused:
    Why is a hippy bad at all?
    I thought hippies were "hip"???

kowloon wrote: »
    I would have thought it was a bit to deep for Fashion and Appearance. :D.

:D Ha, good point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Stop celebrating good looking wimmin? are you mad? I'd rather stop celebrating Christmas tbh.

You'll be asking me to "Admire" my make colleagues looks next.

Its wrong I tells ye, wrong.

But again "Nazis = bad", therefore you win the argument.

Well said.

Here is a quote from a poster called Thaedydal on this topic. Due to censorship, I am unable to quote it properly:

It is not avoiding relatity it is that men and women communicate in different ways and while for men arguing and confrontational style debate and discussion are the norm that is not how women communicate.

Philosophical exchanges and the debating style that has formed out of that came from a bunch of old dead Greek guys sitting out arguing each other seeing how could score the most points and change the other person's mind and score the most points.

All of the triats and behaviours that needs are seen as being unlady like,
    so girls a reared to express themselves in a different way and so women communicate differently.
    If you took some time to understand women and the differenece between them and men instead of chasing such young women you may not be as frustrated.

Of course, nothing of value came out of those debates. The human race would have been much better off building civilisation on the foundations of the discussions that the women were having back then - and still are now.

Sitting around telling each other comforting lies and throwing anyone out of the room who tells the plain truth about anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Objecting to your ridiculous generalisations is not the same as covering things up with comforting lies... and you know it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭Wurly

Oh FFS, not ANOTHER thread from t'anus..

*tries desperately to stop eyes from closing*

Its no use - zzzzzzzz

Everyone must know by now that when your anus is twitching, it means it's full of sh1t and it's time to go to the jacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Supporters of Aryan supremacy advocate pale skin, not tanned skin.

Dunno about that, unless this poster was for an Uber-hols destination?

http://i142.photobucket.com/albums/r96/jfallows/IMG_4072A.jpg

Sorry to stray OT - back on topic: I am bored with the media's mono view of beauty. Health of a species lies in diversity - don't have to be a biologist to recognise that. I'd like to see different kinds of 'models' used in mags TV etc. There is no correct way to look. The blonde tanned look may be fine in Germany but using such colourings in ads aimed at Irish people is plain silly.

Dudess wrote: »
    Objecting to your ridiculous generalisations is not the same as covering things up with comforting lies... and you know it.

A lot of people think that pointing out a generalisation automatically wins them an argument. Well, I have news for them. Everything we know is a generalisation. The whole notion of cause and effect is a generalisation.

They go: "Have you seen x happen in every single place all around the world to every person that has ever existed? No? Then you are just making generalisations."

And we all know what's coming next. Oh yes, a comparison to Hitler, as we've already seen above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

I can't believe that this is thread of the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Is anyone else starting to really like him? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

nope

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭Wurly

Wagon wrote: »
    Is anyone else starting to really like him? :D

LOL!!!

wait...

You're joking,,right??
    :pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Dr P Bear

"Let every eye negotiate for itself
    And trust no agent; for beauty is a witch
    Against whose charms faith melteth in blood."

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Dr P Bear wrote: »
    "Let every eye negotiate for itself
    And trust no agent; for beauty is a witch
    Against whose charms faith melteth in blood."

So, does the "P" stand for shakesPeare? Or what? :confused:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 6,376 Mod ✭✭✭✭Macha

T'anus, you don't happen to have a brother called Casey...by any chance?

I have a friend who says outrageous things just to get attention. It's funny in the beginning but quickly gets boring, descending rapidly into annoying. He makes me think of that boy in school who would stick pencils up his nose just so everyone would look at him. You remind me of him for some reason..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭RuailleBuaille

My understanding is that the women afflicted with this believe that they would feel more attractive if they weren't confronted with images of really attractive women in the magazines that they read, the TV shows and movies that they watch, and the billboards that, for some reason, they are unable to tear their eyes from while going about their daily lives.

I would love to meet the woman/ women who made you as bitter as you are and shake their hands.
    You're hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

The analogy fails because the issue is not about winning, it's about glorification of manufactured beauty and it's affecting young girls and boys in a bad way, causing rampant anorexia and megarexia, but then I don't think OP can appreciate that. It's an interesting topic in any case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

At the end of the day isint this what it's all about ?

http://www.pussydrinks.com/images/pussy-can.gif