Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Taking shots above your level???

• 10-09-2008 9:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12

Would it be recommended to take like 1 shot so in the long term you can grind at a higher stake?
    Prob not but omgclayaiken said he took 1 shot and look where it got him!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

if you think u are good enough to win consistently at a higher level
    and
    if you don't need the bankroll u have now to live on
    and
    if you can easily rebuild your bankroll when u lose it
    then

the time is right now.

i can't see how u won't lose ur bankroll a few times before u hit say 50-60 grand but if you have no responsibilites then give it a shot.

(grinding isn't much fun, is it?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

If you want to gamble go ahead, but just know that is what you're doing, it doesn't matter how good you are, taking a shot is gambling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 ScreenName

Ste05 wrote: »
    If you want to gamble go ahead, but just know that is what you're doing, it doesn't matter how good you are, taking a shot is gambling.

I know this but it could be a good long term risk as i feel i can beat a higher stake but dont have the time to grind and losing the money in my acc would not hurt me financcially at all
    Im looking to play bout 5hrs above my level and see how I get on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭meathman 007

ScreenName wrote: »
    Im looking to play bout 5hrs above my level and see how I get on

This is the wrong attitude, if you decide you want to take a shot, it should be based on x amount of buyins for that level and not x amount of hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 ScreenName

This is the wrong attitude, if you decide you want to take a shot, it should be based on x amount of buyins for that level and not x amount of hours.

I konw but thats bout the only contious free time I can spare these days and I dont feel like turning into a degen:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

If you are sufficiently rolled you can take a shot every now and then without really damaging your ability to play your current level. If you play 100nl then a shot at 600nl once in a while is ok you can always buy in a little short as it always takes a little getting used to having the extra money on the table!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭a-k-47

dbc back again.

Yup, he's banned...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Headspace

I,m almost broke again from taking shots not worth it moving back down sucks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Dougalinho10

Omg ill never post another another thread again is that ok!!!
    What did i do wrong, was i posting to many threads?
    I never gave ne1 abuse SO WHAT!!!???
    Tell me and ill never come on boards again

7868c9eaa99d.gif

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

I take shots.

Its not wrong to take a shot if your rolled for it but if you win or do well you still wont exactly be rich after unless you put your whole roll on the line and do well.

Taking shots and doing ok still leaves you where you were before just a little better off.

This doesnt help and i will read threads in future and give advice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

depends what way u do it, i mean if you're a winning reg at a certain level, by being nitty about moving up you're only gonna cost yourself money in the long run, as long as u have 30/40 buyins for the level you're grinding after having a ~3buyin shot at the next level then i think it's gonna be fine.

but if you're gonna go and try and "spin up" (lol) half your roll or w/e then i don't think you should really be playing poker in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭hotspur

How can people not tell straight away that it's another alias of that poor disturbed guy? It really couldn't be more obvious. He really must be a very very lonely and emotionally problematic young guy, I feel sorry for him. He really does have a need to have anonymous strangers interact with him, that's why he continuously posts these very simple broad questions. That his interactions invariably become negative because of his ambivalence towards interaction and his problem relating to others is worrying as these days our online interactions broadly reflect the character of our real world interactions.

Simply put I think he is a disturbed young man, and the Brandi references were probably closer to home than we thought. I think his trolling is partly acting out and partly justifying the failure and ultimate negativity of his attempts at non-problematic interactions. That is to say part 'f**k you world' and part 'lol I was only trolling that's why you all think I'm an idiot and dislike me, because I'm a troll and I meant it that way'.

He really needs to sit down and look at himself and realise that this need to continuously reenact negative interactions with others is profoundly negative and self-defeating, this isn't about online fora, who cares about that, it's about the fundamental nature of his relationship with the outside world.

You need to sort yourself out a bit DBC if this behaviour in any way reflects who you are, which I'm sure it does. I don't know you so I can't say whether you need to cultivate more positive real life relationships, or find a more constructive way to occupy yourself, or you need to talk to a psychologist or counsellor, but it isn't right. Do yourself a favour and stop engaging in this pointless, negative, and self defeating cycle. It's a lot more negative for you than it is for any of us. try to do something positive next time you feel the need to create an alias and interact with people who you know don't want to have anything to do with you. Or go stalk someone :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Wow, thats deep hotspur.

Im booking you if i ever need therapy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 meagain2007

ste this is a goodbye so i think you should leave this here. this obv was not me posting in this thread as i was in fitz all last night which sick puupy can back me up on. so after talking to him. yea its goodbye. see you all laters and i wont be posting again. dougliano and then other ones in the online forum were not me obv as i have better class than that.

seeya

ps the reason i am stopping is after i met sickpuppy i realised that the rest of u guys are prob sound and dead on like he is and not bastards ha. so yea gud luck

Whatever... banned

I'll leave it here just because maybe Sickpuppy will confirm that you were in the Fitz and then I'll relook at these guys and decide what to do...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭OutOfPosition

ste this is another load of crap im trying to stuff you all with. this obv was me posting in this thread as i was not near the fitz all last night which sick puupy can back me up on. dougliano and then other ones in the online forum were me obv as i have no class
    Till later

FYP

wheres sick puppy :D suspected DBC account

• Closed Accounts Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Daithi McGee

This is all very emotional. Where do be a box of tissues when you need them?

:*(

^Crying Game Smilie.

Still reckon it is one of you lot taking the p1ss. One day the poker ego urge to reap the fame of it all will out you....

duh...duh....duuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

for every crazy action there is an equally crazy reaction (SIC)
    Internet = serious business.

I bet not one of you have a release paper signed by several emminent doctors indicating that you are now officially SANE. Until you do I consider you all INSANE.
    I met DBC once before at the annual trolls convention and he has a cert just like mine. SANE .
    He still had the collar on though.......painful yoke.
    He has met Mick (sickpuppy) now, this will drive him back inside.....I get the twitches myself every time I see that Irish Jersey with the bacon and cabbage stains on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,477 ✭✭✭newbie2

How many accounts are banned now as suspected DBC's? I've a feeling that the poker forum could be harmed if every new member who posts something stupid is banned for being a suspected DBC. No new members will join and then all it'll be here, is a couple of regulars either slapping each other on the back or slagging each other off.
    BTW I'm not DBC although I'll probably be banned as a suspected DBC. Does this not have connotations of the way the US treats terror suspects? Lock them up in Gitmo untill they can prove ther innocence.
    WOW that's a pretty big analogy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

newbie2 wrote: »
    How many accounts are banned now as suspected DBC's? I've a feeling that the poker forum could be harmed if every new member who posts something stupid is banned for being a suspected DBC.
    Probably pushing 30 DBC accounts banned to date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

newbie2 wrote: »
    How many accounts are banned now as suspected DBC's?

Not too many at all

I've a feeling that the poker forum could be harmed if every new member who posts something stupid is banned for being a suspected DBC. No new members will join and then all it'll be here, is a couple of regulars either slapping each other on the back or slagging each other off.

Dont worry we arent complete thicks, the DBC accounts can usually be spotted pretty quickly and only if we are very sure does a ban happen, also there are higher powers that can do a more complete check and if this comes back that the user isnt DBC, then we can lift the ban.
    BTW I'm not DBC although I'll probably be banned as a suspected DBC.

I wouldnt think for a second that you are.
    Does this not have connotations of the way the US treats terror suspects? Lock them up in Gitmo untill they can prove ther innocence.
    WOW that's a pretty big analogy.

LOL. Over dramatise much?

All in all, new posters will be fine, its only when a trend develops over a number of posts that action may be taken. Please remember that DBC is troll and pain in the arse for everyone on the forum, if its him or someone pretending to be him then the account/user will be no loss.

KevIRL wrote: »
    Please remember that DBC is troll and pain in the arse for everyone on the forum, if its him or someone pretending to be him then the account/user will be no loss.
    I think this is what really matters here, TBH we should really be more strict on people that look like trolls, DBC or not.

There's nothing hugely wrong with new posters getting overly excited and posting loads of new threads (it's annoying alright, but usually they calm down after a short time), but if those threads look like DBC a brief pause for breath for that new poster will probably do them the world of good if they are cleared, I've been PM'ing with the 2 guys that we think are DBC, and TBH one of them has made me even more convinced he is DBC the other maybe not so much, but I'm dealing with them as though they are not DBC and explaining what is going on, so hopefully they'll be able to forgive us if they are cleared and continue to join in the community of the forum.