Protest in Ballina to prevent traveller family moving in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

which family are we talking about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

So clearly there's no leaders of the travellers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

sorry ?

of course there are leaders

which family ? there are factions and politics like any group

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,090 ✭✭✭Shelflife

brian each of the main families have a leader, everyone knows that,

are you going to answer the question or continue phaffing??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Epic Tissue

fcuk them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,026 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Tony Broke wrote: »
    Are you a wannabe traveller or something?

I havent met a decent one and when I have its been short lived.

Your a teacher or something?

Oh yes, purely because I have encountered decent travellers, I must want to be one. Why would I want to be one?
    You've never encountered a decent traveller. I have, therefore there must be both good and bad travellers.

I work in a bookshop selling school books.

Shelflife wrote: »
    Yes i have, why wouldnt i base my theory on what i know, i can also base it on the fact that in the school where my children go the attendance of the travelling children is poor.

i also know some decent travellers as well but my question is and it hasnt being answered yet is...

What do the travelling community as a whole bring to the community table?

Because you're basing your theory on two families.
    Let me repeat that.
    Two.

I also went to school where the attendance of a bunch of rich kids was poor.

My ma teaches in a school where the majority of the kids are either travellers or immigrants. They are largely grand with rough elements in both groups.

What do the travelling community bring as a whole to the community table?
    What an odd question. What do the French contribute, what do the Jews?
    There are those that work and those that don't. Yes there is presumably a higher proportion of unemployment etc among the Travellers but other than that, I fail to see your point.

I think its funny how many people here probably didn't have a problem with a traveller or two representing them at the olympics, but when they need help from the state..that's a bit much.
    (this also answers shelflife's question, you whiny so and so. My ignore function doesn't work, but rest assured I am not answering any more of your posts).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭JangoFett

Glowing wrote: »
    Hi, did anyone see this on the news yesterday?

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/well-continue-house-picket-to-prevent-traveller-family-moving-in-say-residents-1472138.html

It made me sick. Talk about out and out discrimination - they're protesting before the family have even moved in. Some of the interviewee's tried to cover up and say that they were protesting at the way the property was bought by the co. co. but it's just pure NIMBY.

Fair enough, protest if they move in and turn the yard into a halting site, but why not give them the benefit of the doubt?

What would you do in their situation?

I understand why these people are reacting this way. In the past travellers have moved into estates and the place becomes a dumping ground and crime goes up in the area.

Too many bleeding hearts out there, I wouldn't want them moving near me because of all the crap that comes with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

I really just don't understand travellers or their 'way of life'. The likes of Pavee Point always jump on any 'discrimination' against them. I wouldn't honestly have a problem if they conformed to some of soceitys norms such as- contribributing to the economy ect.

A few questions I have for travellers and their support groups if they really want intergration of sorts with society;

1) Do travellers want to settle, and by settle I mean really do so? If so, whats their plan for doing so, I'm sure the Govt and wider society wouldn't mind helping contribute to this.

2)If not fair enough I guess, but are they willing to conitribute to their chosen lifestyle and give back to society by paying taxes ect. If you choose a course in life you must be willing to pay for it, not expect handouts and sympathy.

3)How do they plan to have their children educated(a fundamental human right)?

4) Can travellers stand up and accept certain problems that the rest of society has with certain sections and btw aren't urban myths such as litter, fights ect?

Personally I can't see the answers for some of these questions on our island certaintly. There are of course certain nomadic people in the world but by and large it has died out in countries such as ours. How can such a lifestyle reconcile with wider culture?

ok so my research base is poor, but that still doesnt alter the fact that classroom attendance amongst the travelling community is very poor, and the only ones to blame are themselves.

no education makes it very hard to get a job , so im saying that they help themselves.

the jews and the french generally go to school become educated get a job and pay taxes they dont go around wanting to wander around the country getting handouts and not even bothering to clean around where they live.

I think its funny how many people here probably didn't have a problem with a traveller or two representing them at the olympics, but when they need help from the state..that's a bit much.
    (this also answers shelflife's question, you whiny so and so. My ignore function doesn't work, but rest assured I am not answering any more of your posts).

it doesnt answer anything brian, and i dont have any problem with travellers continueing their nomadic ways and being true to their heritage as long as they pay their own way and treat others and the environment in a fair way.

you skirt around the question brian because in the main they bring nothing to the table but expect to be fed every day.

ok so my research base is poor, but that still doesnt alter the fact that classroom attendance amongst the travelling community is very poor, and the only ones to blame are themselves.
    And you know this based on the two traveller families?
    Yeah they must all be the same.

the jews and the french generally go to school become educated get a job and pay taxes they dont go around wanting to wander around the country getting handouts and not even bothering to clean around where they live.
    Ah yeah, as we all know that they are one single entity.

Look, I dobut anyone would dispute that Travellers are likely to have a higher rate of crime and lower income etc than the community at large, but I am consistently amazed at how people meet a few scumbags and assume that they are all the same.

you skirt around the question brian because in the main they bring nothing to the table but expect to be fed every day.

Seriously, what is with the "table" analogy.
    There are those who work and pay taxes, and then those who scrounge and lay idle. Same as the rest of us.

Travellers have often represented us at the Olympics (Galway is very proud of Francie Barrett), I rarely see people complaining about them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

Come across many many travellers.

Any that are settled are ok, scumbaggy but ok.
    all else..nothing but trouble. A plague.

It's the same all over the world, Roma/Gypsies/Travellers

ok then what do they give back to society, they want to continue their nomadic ways but how will they fund this or do they expect society to pay for it all?

Yet again, you are lumping all travellers together.

Do you not realize that despite certain traits running in groups (such as drunkeness being rampant in the emmigrated Irish) that this doesn't mean they are all like that?

Individual travellers give to society what the rest of us do, taxes, a general job etc.

Others scrounge, cheat, lie and rob. Again, like some of the rest of us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭eddiehead

ClioV6 wrote: »
    Come across many many travellers.

Any that are settled are ok, scumbaggy but ok.
    all else..nothing but trouble. A plague.

Thats a trend with them tbh, In my experience they tend not to $hit on their own doorstep. There are a few traveller families in my town, most of them are ok, the problem arises when their relations from out of town show up for a wedding or funeral or whatever. The whole town HAS TO shut down(this is a necessity, I'll gladly explain to anybody who cares to question it) and people cant go to any of the pubs or anywhere for the entire weekend/however long they decide to stay.
    I have no problem with travellers who make an effort to integrate into a community, there just arent many of them interested in doing so.

kick out im not saying that they are all the same im well aware that they are not, what im saying is they dont do themselves any favours by not attending school as much as they could and blaming everyone else.

i meet have met alot of travellers in my line of work and i have to say that most of them cause me trouble, shoplifting , abusing staff , threatening staff and causing trouble.

i deal with them on a daily basis and being honest they break my heart this isnt just one or two families but many.

i know they are not all bad because i play cards with one every week and we get on grand but by and large in my experience they are in the main trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

Right first off I have jsut read all this thread and it makes for interesting reading

1) The council payed way over the odds for the house
    The residents usedthis as their argurment why they were protesting.

2)I heard them on the radio and they were unorganised and sounded very sloppy, if they had just came out and said the area was unsuitable for travelers it would have been beter.

I live in a town that is a burial ground for either the Wards or the McDonaghs, couldnt be arsed even remembering which.
    Everytime there is a funeral the town gets shut down, we have armed Gardai manning check points on evry approach road to the town.
    Despite this they still manage to fight and even shot and killed a man at a burial link

Thes estate I have bought my house in had an empty house and the numpty that had it let it to a brother and sister who were travelers. They wrecked the joint and refused to move out. They did in the end but I'm not going into that here.

I work in a commercial vehicle garage and for years they used to come in and try sell us tools.
    I got on with one of them quite well, have his number and now if I am looking for a certain tool I will ring him and offer him the buisness.

My point is all these lads are drawing the dole, but they come into us with new jeeps and Sprinter vans.

CAB should be involved.
    If they cannot prove where they got the money for these vehicles they should have them taken off them.

They moved into and took over a car park in a prime (if such a thing exists?) location in Sligo. The stupid fcuking council didnt get up off their collective arses and run them. They now have squatters rights and even have residents passes. Unreal>?

Ha you live in Sligo! I don't any more :p
    The graveyard in Ballymote is used by both families, Ward's and McDonagh's.
    Some background squatters rights being used wrt to the carpark, there were halting sites provided, which were then blocked off by the council, to stop the travellers using them. They took up residence elsewhere, partly in protest, partly in necessity.

Aye and the graveyard is like a must see for bad taste and money no object graves.

One of their hideous marble fcuking things towers over my grandfathers grave

My granduncle is buried beside other Wards there. I don't know why people have to make every little aspect of traveller culture annoy them though-they want to mourn and celebrate their deceased, is that such a big deal.

I know you are defending them here, but they bring it on themselves.

They get let into a pub for a few pints and next thing you know there is a whole gang landing. There is only gonna be one outcome, they are gonne get rowdy and bate the heads of each other.

Even the ones that work always have to be pulling a stroke, buying cheap tarmac, watering down the paint etc etc

kick out im not saying that they are all the same im well aware that they are not, what im saying is they dont do themselves any favours by not attending school as much as they could and blaming everyone else.
    Noone does themselves any favors by missing out education but I'd hardly say this is unique to them. My old man used to teach in Dublin in an area of around 80% unemployment, terrible attendance there too. Probably the issue is poverty here, not being a traveller.
    i meet have met alot of travellers in my line of work and i have to say that most of them cause me trouble, shoplifting , abusing staff , threatening staff and causing trouble.
    Me too, there have been the odd knobheads but I've been fairly pissed with the fine upstanding members of the community at large too.

I've had identical problems in the shop with those who aren't travellers but are still scumbags.
    i deal with them on a daily basis and being honest they break my heart this isnt just one or two families but many.
    In which case, why did you just mention the two families you know?
    i know they are not all bad because i play cards with one every week and we get on grand but by and large in my experience they are in the main trouble.
    See, that's just in your experience. In my friend's experience, all Italians are trouble, in my ex girlfriend's experience, all girls from Oxford were trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,495 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

I understand why people would object. What if you need to sell your house next door?

I would object to anyone being given a free house next door to me who made no contribution or effort to make a contribution to the state or society.

Does anyone know what tax contribution the traveller community makes to the state relative to what they take out?

If they are travellers why do they need a permanent address?

If they are a seperate culture perhaps they should be semi autonomous - give them a reservation (Roscommon perhaps) and let them do what they like there!

And I don't buy this "I have dealt with travellers in the past and found them to be the salt of the earth" profession. The ones you dealt with were the minority exception.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Captain Ginger

Makes me sick to the stomach to see this.

I worked for a short time in a school for travelers where they did wood work and what not and some of them where the nicest people I have ever met.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,495 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

I worked for a short time in a school for travelers where they did wood work and what not and some of them where the nicest people I have ever met.

Yes, I'm sure they were, but the point is that they make up a tiny minority. The school is funded by the taxes of the settled community, no? Did any of the students go on to jobs where they paid income tax?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Orange69

In fairness its the council that are to blame in this situation.. Its completely unacceptable to put these people into a house amongst people who worked for paid for their own house.. (Yet another example of the astounding incompetence pervading the Irish government at all levels). These people should have come out directly and said that they don't want knacker scum living in their neighborhood.. and to hell with the hypocrites on the PC bus...

I bet some of the posters on here would change their tune if they had a gang of free loading knacker scum arriving in next door..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Orange69 wrote: »
    I bet some of the posters on here would change their tune if they had a gang of free loading knacker scum arriving in next door..

Of course they would, but you can't just assume people are 'free loading knacker scum' before they move in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

you can if they are "travellers"