Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Protest in Ballina to prevent traveller family moving in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

You should hear the abuse the family who sold the house to the council are getting. Its digusting tbh.

The "travellers" have been living about 1/2 a mile away from that house for the last 7 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Pretty disgusting behaviour, but I also understand some people's fear's re. the travelling community.

If it was near me, I'd give them a chance.

But I'll just had too.

We'd a family move into our estate (house bought by the corpo) because they were evicted from a Corpo estate for anti-social behaviour and trying to get rid of them from a private housing estate is proving almost impossible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

How do people expect travellers to act as productive elements in society if they are treated as sub human all the time, and never given a chance? The worst thing is that even if this family were quite nice, they would still get the same abuse, and there would be no incentive to be nice to their neighbours. And so the cycle continues...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Glowing wrote: »
    Hi, did anyone see this on the news yesterday?

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/well-continue-house-picket-to-prevent-traveller-family-moving-in-say-residents-1472138.html

It made me sick. Talk about out and out discrimination - they're protesting before the family have even moved in. Some of the interviewee's tried to cover up and say that they were protesting at the way the property was bought by the co. co. but it's just pure NIMBY.

Fair enough, protest if they move in and turn the yard into a halting site, but why not give them the benefit of the doubt?

What would you do in their situation?

I'd fight tooth and nail to keep them out.

Why the fcuk should I have to put up with dirt and filth, after spending big buck to get away from that.
    I wouldn't invest in a property to be treated like that.
    If I want to live in squalor ,I'll live in a halting site.

Pure common sense .'

I'd fight tooth and nail to keep them out.

Why the fcuk should I have to put up with dirt and filth, after spending big buck to get away from that.
    I wouldn't invest in a property to be treated like that.
    If I want to live in squalor ,I'll live in a halting site.

Pure common sense .'

you dirty troll you :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

How do people expect travellers to act as productive elements in society if they are treated as sub human all the time, and never given a chance?
    Chicken or egg though?
    The worst thing is that even if this family were quite nice, they would still get the same abuse, and there would be no incentive to be nice to their neighbours. And so the cycle continues...
    Agreed. When I worked in the council I met some fantastic people who were travellers/settled travellers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

If I'd worked my arse off and worked my way up to living in a nice house in a nice area, I'd be pretty pissed off if the council bought my neighbours house to stick a family in just because they don't know what birth control is, Travellers or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

That is completely disgusting. How in God's name can the county council justify spending that much money on a free house for someone?

Hell, why don't we all just go live on the side of the road and procreate like rabbits in the hope that we'll eventually get a luxury home from the Government? Ridiculous.

The group have expressly stated that they have no quarrel with the travellers themselves or the fact that they're moving in. Their quarrel is with the council's conduct.

I'm all for giving a hand to people who ask for it, but giving them a little boost to get themselves going, not giving them everything they want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Thats absolutely terrible, I've never experienced any problems with travellers. Just last week I was in Heathrow and I have to say the travellers there were the best spoken, best dressed I've come across in a long time.

Vegeta wrote: »
    you dirty troll you :D

Well call it what you like!!

new definition of "troll" =someone who's opinion is different from yours.

I know you are just joshing, but those are my views and I'm quite sure 85-90% of people would agree.

There are always exceptions, but taken in the round... well you know the answer to that, and I will not take that frikken chance.

Dudess wrote: »
    Chicken or egg though?
    Well if you want I could talk a bit about the traveller community in the past and how society has changed to exclude them, force them into a position of poverty and lack of opportunities...But for now lets just say that what you said below shows that its not a community wide problem. Travellers need to be given a chance if they are to be a useful part of society.
    Agreed. When I worked in the council I met some fantastic people who were travellers/settled travellers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

If I'd worked my arse off and worked my way up to living in a nice house in a nice area, I'd be pretty pissed off if the council bought my neighbours house to stick a family in just because they don't know what birth control is, Travellers or not.

Ever thought of becoming a social-worker? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Glowing

Well from the interviews on TV, it was very apparent that it was the travellers that they had the problem with. One lad said that his mother would have to lock the front door from now on because "she'd be afraid of what'd come in", then he tried to cover it up when he was questioned further.

Why are they picketing in front of the house rather than the County Council offices?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Ever thought of becoming a social-worker? :P

I have actually. I used to work in the youth service and I met a lot of kids from impoverished back grounds, some good, some bad. When you actually take the time to meet with these kids and their parents, you come to realise that the best way of solving society's current problems is, in fact, castration.:D

Time to cut out the horseshít.

I'm not paying large money to buy a house and have the council move in people beside me.

We can beat around the bush all day and all night, but Its not going to happen to this baby.

Why? because I have seen the results.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ass

I wouldn't want them living near me either and I'm not trolling. Sure it's a feirce generalisation that they are all scum bags, but for the most part in my experience with travellers it's a generalisation that fits. Thankfully I live in an area where the houses are too expensive for the council to be buying them to give them up as council houses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Well from the interviews on TV, it was very apparent that it was the travellers that they had the problem with. One lad said that his mother would have to lock the front door from now on because "she'd be afraid of what'd come in", then he tried to cover it up when he was questioned further.

Why are they picketing in front of the house rather than the County Council offices?

I saw that and I thought it was absolutely disgusting. They were listing off what their problems are, yet the only problem I could see was that these protesters have no concept of social justice. They were clearly the type of people who tar everyone with the same brush. If a foreign family moved in they'd probably have to same reaction.

I've taught travellers, and they were polite and hard working. What the protesters don't seem to realise is that there are bad people in every part of society. Would these people protest outside the house if a non-traveller family were moving in? No, because they would presume that the non-traveller family are perfect citizens. Just like they presume the traveller family are not.

Disgraceful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Place a couple of headstones around the garden, the travellers will not want to move in then and all will be happy. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Travellers moved in next door to me for a few months. There wasn't one ounce of trouble from them. I live in a private housing estate (the owner rented it out to them), and nobody had a problem with them. Sure, there'd be around 50 cars outside the house for family get-togethers, but it was grand. I found the students who lived there previously to be louder and more troublesome. My cousins lived next door to travellers in New Ross all their life, and never had an ounce of trouble with them. The two lads were both sound out.

I would certainly want ANY family screened for previous trouble before moving in, travellers or settled people. There is alot of fear about the travelling community, and here in Waterford - it's probably even more warranted at the moment - But there isn't much being done to educate the communities or bring them closer to each other for community events.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

I'd be pretty pissed off if I had paid good money for a house in a decent area only to have blackie connors and co. move in beside (knowing they got the house for nothing). Sure, they *might* be nice people and "not all of them are bad". But there's a pretty good chance they're going to be trouble isn't there?

What happens if someone dies in the house? Will they try and burn it down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Glowing

SheroN wrote: »
    I'd be pretty pissed off if I had paid good money for a house in a decent area only to have blackie connors and co. move in beside (knowing they got the house for nothing). Sure, they *might* be nice people and "not all of them are bad". But there's a pretty good chance they're going to be trouble isn't there?

So travellers should only be moved into 'bad areas'? Thats a very snobby attitude.

seamus wrote: »
    The group have expressly stated that they have no quarrel with the travellers themselves or the fact that they're moving in. Their quarrel is with the council's conduct.

Ya see I don't believe that for one second. Council spend nearly 500k on a house for 10 people is it. It would have been more expensive if they bought 2 houses putting 5 people in each. Also if the council put a family of 10 in a 3 bed semi they'd be accused of all sorts.

So the council wasting tax payers money is a red herring becuase even the shallowest investigation shows that it was a smart thing to do financially buying one big house rather than 2 medium sized houses.
    Well call it what you like!!

new definition of "troll" =someone who's opinion is different from yours.

I know you are just joshing, but those are my views and I'm quite sure 85-90% of people would agree.

There are always exceptions, but taken in the round... well you know the answer to that, and I will not take that frikken chance.

I was only messing with ya :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

Of course there is a nimby factor. Drive through Rathkeale sometime if you want to see why.

Yes, this attitude is frankly a racist one. Of course lots of travellers, and maybe even the majority are ok. I will start to worry about treating 'the travelling community' equally when they stop protecting the scum amongst them with.

That aside, WTF? Four hundred and sixty five THOUSAND euros? For TEN people? Why not just scrap social housing altogether and put everyone up in hotels?

So travellers should only be moved into 'bad areas'? Thats a very snobby attitude.

Yes it is.

Ass Face wrote: »
    What happens if someone dies in the house? Will they try and burn it down?

Just how ignorant do you have to be to make a statement like that?

That aside, WTF? Four hundred and sixty five THOUSAND euros? For TEN people? Why not just scrap social housing altogether and put everyone up in hotels?

Eh what? Do you know how much houses cost these days? My house sleeps 5 and would sell for a hell of a lot more than that. See Vegeta's post for more on why it isn't a huge amount.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Reality check lads, no one in their right mind would want a free loading Traveller family moving in next door when they're struggling to pay for their family home.

KTRIC wrote: »
    Reality check lads, no one in their right mind would want a free loading Traveller family moving in next door when they're struggling to pay for their family home.

Imagine trying to sell your property.

How fair of you. :rolleyes:

Provided the family were screened, and were no trouble to society - I don't see the problem.

In my dealings with settled travellers on a personal level, I did not find one ounce of trouble - either next door to me, or when I was visiting my cousins (who have lived next door to a family for 30 years).

I bet you can see your house from there, up on that high horse of yours.

Just how ignorant do you have to be to make a statement like that?
    I think it's you who is the ignorant one. You are apparently ignorant of the traveller culture. It is tradition to burn the place of residence to the ground if a family member dies in that place and all of the belongings of the deceased.

janeybabe wrote: »
    I've taught travellers, and they were polite and hard working.

LOL I just sprayed tea through my nose after reading that. Mods that post belongs in the Humour forum :D

Ass Face wrote: »
    I think it's you who is the ignorant one. You are apparently ignorant of the traveller culture. It is tradition to burn the place of residence to the ground if a family member dies in that place.

It *was* a tradition to burn a caravan, not a house. Ass face.

Ya see I don't believe that for one second. Council spend nearly 500k on a house for 10 people is it. It would have been more expensive if they bought 2 houses putting 5 people in each. Also if the council put a family of 10 in a 3 bed semi they'd be accused of all sorts.
    Quick search on daft shows plenty of equally-sized and larger houses in the same county for less than half of that price.
    Before someone makes the "local area" argument, it doesn't hold water. Beggars can't be choosers. If you have to move 200 miles away to get a free home, so be it. If you don't like it, go buy your own.
    Yes, this attitude is frankly a racist one.
    Travellers aren't a race. It's discriminatory, not racist.

dlofnep wrote: »
    How fair of you. :rolleyes:

Provided the family were screened, and were no trouble to society - I don't see the problem.

In my dealings with settled travellers on a personal level, I did not find one ounce of trouble - either next door to me, or when I was visiting my cousins (who have lived next door to a family for 30 years).

I bet you can see your house from there, up on that high horse of yours.

So you're saying it's ok to bring them in if they are screened? why screen them? Surely that's discrimination too? Don't they deserve the same chance as everyone else?

Are you suggesting because they're getting social housing they might be more likey to be troublesome and thus need screening?

DonJose wrote: »
    LOL I just sprayed tea through my nose after reading that. Mods that post belongs in the Humour forum :D

Hilarious.

I was being 100% serious though. The travellers I taught were far more polite than other students.

Hilarious.

I was being 100% serious though. The travellers I taught were far more polite than other students.

Will you stop it, my stomach is in bits and theres tears rolling outta me :D

Hilarious.

I'm all broke up here with the dint of the laughter..

Stop it will ya!!!:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

So you're saying it's ok to bring them in if they are screened? why screen them? Surely that's discrimination too? Don't they deserve the same chance as everyone else?

Are you suggesting because they're getting social housing they might be more likey to be troublesome and thus need screening?

LOL @ you pretending to be Lord Moral all of a sudden.

And no - I think every family who moves in should be screened, regardless of their social or economic background. It has nothing to do with them living in social housing or being members of the travelling community. I think everyone has the right to know who they are going to live next to.

Don't try spin this around. You made your bed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Protest in Ballina to prevent traveller family moving in

When I saw the thread title I thought it was about Ballina, Co. Mayo. Then I remembered that travellers are always given the utmost of respect in Mayo so it must be Co. Tipperary.

Quick search on daft shows plenty of equally-sized and larger houses in the same county for less than half of that price.
    Before someone makes the "local area" argument, it doesn't hold water. Beggars can't be choosers. If you have to move 200 miles away to get a free home, so be it. If you don't like it, go buy your own.

Well what exactly is county council policy? If it is a "local area" type policy then it is a valid arguement as they have to obey their own policy.

SO am I getting this right that your only objection is on a waste of money front?

dlofnep wrote: »
    LOL @ you pretending to be Lord Moral all of a sudden.

And no - I think every family who moves in should be screened, regardless of their social or economic background. It has nothing to do with them living in social housing or being members of the travelling community. I think everyone has the right to know who they are going to live next to.

Don't try spin this around. You made your bed.

So were you screened before you moved into your house? Do you had out a questionnaire to prospective neighbours?

Not answering for Seamus, but my only objection is that I don't want an bunch of punters next to me who have two sets of rules.

1.. get as much as you can from the state(us) while contributing nothing.

2.. Contribute as little as possible while taking advantage of any handout.

There's a set of rules out there which most of us abide with.

If you don't abide with them,fcuk off and take care of yourself, with any kind of lifestyle you like.

Just don't ride on my back pilgrim.

SO am I getting this right that your only objection is on a waste of money front?
    Without any further information, then we can only assume that these people are in need and have requested assistance.

So yes my objection is on the fact that it's a complete waste of money when suitable property could be bought or built far cheaper elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

My house sleeps 5 and would sell for a hell of a lot more than that.
    Ok, we won't put them up in your house then. Edit: Unless you're offering a spare bed ofc. I hear that they are polite and hardworking. How about someplace in the country where you can accomodate them for a more reasonable price?

Ok Seamus said it better.
    Travellers aren't a race. It's discriminatory, not racist.
    Why aren't they? Travellers identify themselves as "members of the travelling community", a collective identity which is inherited, and is not dependant on geography or actually travelling anywhere. They have a distinct language and culture, and they are legally recognised and protected as a minority. They practically have their own sovereign soil, given that the gardai daren't enforce Irish law on some halting sites. What other criteria do they need to fulfil?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Dudess wrote: »
    When I worked in the council I met some fantastic people who were travellers/settled travellers.

There is this game I think you'd like. It's called Russian Roulette. See you take a six gun and put five bullets in the chamber, leaving one empty. You spin and ......

When Pavee Point start giving out compensation packages for house value collapses, then we can talk.

Why aren't they? Travellers identify themselves as "members of the travelling community", a collective identity which is inherited, and is not dependant on geography or actually travelling anywhere. They have a distinct language and culture, and they are legally recognised and protected as a minority. They practically have their own sovereign soil, given that the gardai daren't enforce Irish law on some halting sites. What other criteria do they need to fulfil?

Are they not an ethnicity?

Ok, we won't put them up in your house then. How about someplace in the country where you can accomodate them for a more reasonable price?
    This is in the country. Its a big house, that's why it costs a lot of money.

They would have to be racially different to Irish and/or European people, which they are not.

Not answering for Seamus, but my only objection is that I don't want an bunch of punters next to me who have two sets of rules.

1.. get as much as you can from the state(us) while contributing nothing.

2.. Contribute as little as possible while taking advantage of any handout.

There's a set of rules out there which most of us abide with.

If you don't abide with them,fcuk off and take care of yourself, with any kind of lifestyle you like.

Just don't ride on my back pilgrim.

Well that's just your view (which you are perfectly entitled to) on career leeches and is not very case specific tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

I can't afford a nice house like that ...how does one become one of these lucky traveller people ?

To be fair though this is not a traveller issue..This government has a history of punishing people who work and providing for those who don't ...With the new budget coming up I bet taxes will go up again for the higher tax bracket earners and increase the dole.

Sometimes I wonder why I bother workign at all.