Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kraftwerk now playing at Kilmainham Royal Hospital

• 08-09-2008 9:57am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭

Kraftwerk now playing at Kilmainham Royal Hospital due to flooding in wicklow. Still the same massive tent being used though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Still a rip off for a band that are long since past their best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭orchidsrpretty

You are going to get a refund of €20 if you still choose to go. I'm quite undecided. Luggala was going to be brilliant. How long do you have to still claim a refund?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,834 ✭✭✭Toast

Full lineup is:
    Kraftwerk
    Soulwax
    Mehdi & Busy P
    Comtron
    Deaf
    The Jimmy Cake
    D1
    Dark Room Notes
    Box Cutter
    Lucient Dossier circus.

As long as Kraftwerk are playing it as a full Kraftwerk show and not a festival headlining set thats a pretty fair price compared to some other 80s reunion acts who charged 70 quid. Duran Duran last year for example.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Toast wrote: »
    As long as Kraftwerk are playing it as a full Kraftwerk show and not a festival headlining set thats a pretty fair price compared to some other 80s reunion acts who charged 70 quid. Duran Duran last year for example.

According to Pod Kraftwerk will be playing a 2 hour set.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 bertiecrowe

Does anyone know how they plan to refund the €20?

Large bags of 1c coins?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 bertiecrowe

excellent, I can hear the jingle already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭honru

With the way the weather is like at the moment... hmm... probably a good call. Though from the sounds of things it seems like the only option.

Regardless, fair play to POD Concerts for going ahead with the gig and not shafting any of the support acts. €70 is bloody good for what you're getting imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭unionman

With the way the weather is like at the moment... hmm... probably a good call. Though from the sounds of things it seems like the only option.

Regardless, fair play to POD Concerts for going ahead with the gig and not shafting any of the support acts. €70 is bloody good for what you're getting imo.

Agreed. I think POD have handled the whole thing quite well. Lugalla would have been a beautiful venue, but the RHK has proved its worth as a venue this summer, so no complaints there. Plus, I can walk to the gig and I'll have 20 lids to spend on beer!!

Dark Room Notes should be good, they played a blinder at Electric Picnic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

According to Pod Kraftwerk will be playing a 2 hour set.

Two hours sounds like a festival set.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 draiocht23

mcwhirter wrote: »
    Kraftwerk now playing at Kilmainham Royal Hospital due to flooding in wicklow. Still the same massive tent being used though

Well, if the tent is still coming...I suppose it'd be a bit rude to get a refund...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

eth0_ wrote: »

Have faith in the past!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭Waxing the Gaza

70 euro??You'd get nothing for 70 euro these days not to mind a 1 day festival. Bargain of the year if you ask me.

And they're nowhere near past their best imo, the energy in the performance and the production of their recent live shows is as good as they've ever been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭demon83

Does anyone know if its near sold out, tickets still on sale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭dolittle

as far as i know its sold out
    really looking forward to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

dolittle wrote: »
    as far as i know its sold out
    really looking forward to it
    There are still plenty of tickets available.

The post was to inquire if it's nearly sold out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭spiderdan

Hi does anyone know what the setup will be for the gig? Under a big tent, open air?? Never been to Kilmainham before, and what time is it due to finish at?? Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭demon83

as far as I know its a big tent and is finishing up at 11:30

Does anyone know what the set times are?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭klingklang

demon83 wrote: »
    a

Does anyone know what the set times are?

There's a list of times here:
    http://www.state.ie/blog/kraftwerk-a-day-in-the-life-info-and-stage-times/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 Pris

It looks to be the same tent as the ratcellar, yellow and blue stripes with 2 peaks. You'd have at least thought they could have splashed on a bit of red paint like...There's a white dome tent thing too. Looking good from my bedroom window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

I thought it was shambolic organization on behalf of the promotor the que for the bars where totally unacceptable €70 for that i left and was home by 10pm
    and i am a avid fan of Kraftwerk Plod Concerts wont be getting my money again
    and why dont you give the guys cleaning some poles to pic up the paper and rubbish:mad:
    Very disappointed Music Fan:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭welcomeinjam

Hootanany wrote: »
    I thought it was shambolic organization on behalf of the promotor the que for the bars where totally unacceptable €70 for that i left and was home by 10pm
    and why dont you give the guys cleaning some poles to pic up the paper and rubbish:mad:

Wow you really must be an avid kraftwerk fan if you left early because the que's were too long for a pint and there was rubbish and the ground haha what a dry sh*te. I personally had a great time. Yes the que's were too long but who cares it was a great show (other than the problem with the curtains)

i thought the queues were long
    but then again i went to see kraftwerk if i wanted a few pints i would have headed to my local
    avid fan and left because the queues were long? cop on pal

Hootanany wrote: »

Agree with your sentiments, also thought there were too many pissheads and Buckfast junkies, that were all too evident at EP and sadly here at KW. The Organisers should really re-consider all this boozing, because the boozed out brigade are begining to spoil the whole atmosphere at gigs.

I went to see Kraftwerk and not some bunch of Heino assholes.

No effective effort to clean up areas, but that's hardly new, but I blame the 'music lovers'.

KW were awesome.

The Organisers should really re-consider all this boozing, because the boozed out brigade are begining to spoil the whole atmosphere at gigs.

The Promoters couldn't afford to stage events like this without the massive revenues generated by by bar receipts so get used to it guys.

Anyone notice if Florian Schneider performed with Kraftwerk last night? Bald guy, usually furthest on the right if u are facing the stage, I missed the gig unfortunately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭wobzilla

No he wasn't there. apparently he doesn't go on tours anymore.
    some guy called steffan peffe from kling klang took his place

The Promoters couldn't afford to stage events like this without the massive revenues generated by by bar receipts so get used to it guys.

Anyone notice if Florian Schneider performed with Kraftwerk last night? Bald guy, usually furthest on the right if u are facing the stage, I missed the gig unfortunately.

Why does this only apply to Irish promoters? It's a money grabbing swindle!

Schneider does not tour with KW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Bridger12

Hey guys!
    I have to say, the Kraftwerk gig was absolutely amazing! Work every penny I paid for the ticket. OK the drink wasn't easily purchased, but we were all there to see the Godfathers of Electronic musique!

It was a real tour de force, and the supporting acts were super also.

If you'd like to experience the gig again, why not purchase "Maximum Minimum" (Kraftwerk's Live double CD & double DVD box set) which is almost a carbon copy of last night's gig.

If you'd like to experience the gig again, why not purchase "Maximum Minimum" (Kraftwerk's Live double CD & double DVD box set) which is almost a carbon copy of last night's gig.[/QUOTE]

i am planning to do that tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Bridger12

Nice one. You won't be disappointed!

Agree with your sentiments, .....The Organisers should really re-consider all this boozing, because the boozed out brigade are begining to spoil the whole atmosphere at gigs.

Im kinda confused. His sentiments you are agreeing with was that it was too hard to buy drink and then you complain about all the drunk people there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭Jello

What a show... Kraftwerk were truly amazing and Soulwax were amazing too.

And tbh I thought it was organised pretty well. You're gonna have to queue for a beer at most large concerts and the only time I noticed the queue being really long was right before Kraftwerk came on... and I had my fill by that stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

I paid good money for a gig in Wickla part of sentiment Kilmainham no even with €20 back ****e festival badly run youd think after a few of these you would get it right for the fans

Take the money and run methinks

Con me once shame on you con me twice shame on me

Olimpia was sublime
    falling over handbags and bodies in Billy Fossets big top is not who i want to remember Kraftwerk it took me to 10 mins to get to the toilet from where i was standing everyone one smoking no concert presence at all but hey if you stand for it Plod keeps on pouring out this Sh xte

70 bills your affin a laff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭spiderdan

I have to say KW were absolutely amazing, easily one of the best dance gigs I've ever been to, stunning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 adebisi

Fantastic gig, KW were incredibe, I thought, even with their Spinal Tap moment with the curtains!

Soulwax rocked the tent too, really impressed with them.

Missed eveyone else, was so sunny I just sat outside on the woodchips and had a few beers.

Re the queue at the bars, well, it's a concert, there was an hour gap between Soulwax & Kraftwerk (so almost everyone was queueing!), so I spent half of it in the queue for the bar, but met loads of people, and it made the wait go a lot quicker than hanging around doing nothing. No big deal really, shouldn't be made into one either, I think. Its to be expected at this stage. Just factor it into your time management!

Overall tho, class gig, good venue, great line up, and Kraftwerk showed us all how it's done!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 sapp

Kraftwerk were excellent and unique as usual. great show. but otherwise this 'a day in the life fest' was a shambolic disaster. POD seriously underestimated the amount of people wanting a drink and to have to queue up for 45 minutes for a drink is a disgrace when paying so much.

Also what was going on with the curtains for 'the robots' they didnt open or close properly and someome had to physically drag them on the stage, like a carry on movie only in ireland !

at electric picnic this year there were also alot of queues for toilets etc..pod promoter guy john reynolds is starting to cut corners, skimp on quality. any more of this shoddy treatment and i for one wont be shelling out for any of their events.

Anyone else think it's odd that all the dissenting voices are from new accounts?

While I thought that there should have been a second beer tent, it didn't really bother me that much - I only queued up twice and neither time did it take me 45 minutes or even anything close to it.

Kraftwerk were fantastic, I didn't think that I was going to get into it as much as I did. Great stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

sapp wrote: »
    Kraftwerk were excellent and unique as usual. great show. but otherwise this 'a day in the life fest' was a shambolic disaster. POD seriously underestimated the amount of people wanting a drink and to have to queue up for 45 minutes for a drink is a disgrace when paying so much.

Also what was going on with the curtains for 'the robots' they didnt open or close properly and someome had to physically drag them on the stage, like a carry on movie only in ireland !

at electric picnic this year there were also alot of queues for toilets etc..pod promoter guy john reynolds is starting to cut corners, skimp on quality. any more of this shoddy treatment and i for one wont be shelling out for any of their events.

to be honest, there's no point complaining about it here, why not send an email/letter to the promoter themselves and see what they have to say for themselves. That's the only way things will improve.

Well Heineken ran the bars right? Maybe write to them. If its not their fault then they should at least be aware that people were wanting to buy their product and couldnt because of bad organisation. Also more chance of getting some freebies out of them. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 sapp

ah thats right, don't bother complaining. Thats why we get shafted in this country.....higher supermarket prices, extra charges from ticketbastard etc..

also while I'm at it the line up and electric picnic was fairly ****e, alot of those interesting sideshows like laundretta were gone, they obviously used up the budget on the sex pistols. The sound for my bloody valentine (in that tent) was also woeful.

if pod want to be taken seriously as a promoter and take on the big boys they should have a serious rethink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Sam Hain

Kraftwerk were awesome and soulwax took that tent by storm, whats the story with all the whingers on here, met some great people on saturday who were well up for it, so glad i didnt meet any of the crying feckers on here, would have ruined what turned out to be a great night, a faulty curtain, queues for the bar, oh no, what a big deal, get over it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭honru

Excellent gig, great setlist and sound. First act I saw was Comtron, whom I enjoyed and a great way to start the proceedings. I wasn't too mad about Soulwax, though I did miss the last half of their set walking to the toilets, grabbing a quick bite to eat, and queuing for booze... took me awhile!

The lines for drink was probably one of the worst I've seen at an Irish gig... we're usually well propped up for fast-serving alcohol, though the queues down the sides went considerably quick so it wasn't too bad for me.

One gripe I had was putting Busy P hidden on the right side of the stage. Surely they could have made space where you can see him while setting up Soulwax's set?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Bridger12 wrote: »

If you'd like to experience the gig again, why not purchase "Maximum Minimum" (Kraftwerk's Live double CD & double DVD box set) which is almost a carbon copy of last night's gig.

Why do you say the gig was amazing if it was just a re-hash of what they did on their last DVD?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

Why do you say the gig was amazing if it was just a re-hash of what they did on their last DVD?

It wasn't though. Setlist was changed around a bit, a good few tracks had new arrangements and were shorter, they played two tracks they didn't play at all in 2004/2005, Hutter sang the vocals on Man-Machine and there were quite a few mistakes during the set too. Throw in the really great atmosphere and it was amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭Tristram

Soulwax were fantastic and Kraftwerk were amazing. Great evening. Wasnt drinking anything other than Coca Cola so didnt find the long queues for the Heineken tent anything other than amusing. The curtain fault was funny, a sign of the recession perhaps :D Look forward to seeing KW again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭Jello

One gripe I had was putting Busy P hidden on the right side of the stage. Surely they could have made space where you can see him while setting up Soulwax's set?

Ahh sh*t I arrived half way through his set and went into the tent hoping to see him and just presumed they were just playing a few tracks in the background before Soulwax came on, didn't see anyone on stage! :(

Did you notice if DJ Mehdi was with him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭mcwhirter

Really enjoyed the gig. I danced through the majority of it and I tell ya, I don't do that much.
    Great atmosphere in the tent, had a good spot in the middle between the tent posts, no pushing or aggression from anyone.
    I lost the missus and all my friends but still had a whale of a time.
    The sound was fantastic too.
    The curtains were hilarious, but why did they have to sell Heineken only, it's the worst lager going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

mcwhirter wrote: »
    but why did they have to sell Heineken only, it's the worst lager going.

Perhaps because it's sponsored by them?

You're not one of these lads who queued and queued and then asked for Miller or Carlsberg or something are ya? :rolleyes:

AnonoBoy wrote: »

You're not one of these lads who queued and queued and then asked for Miller or Carlsberg or something are ya? :rolleyes:

They had Pauliner at EP + that was sponsored by Heineken. Dam tasty it was too.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭mcwhirter

AnonoBoy wrote: »

It's just it always seems to be heineken, its horrible, cheap and nasty.