Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

In your opinion -Give me the Coolest film you've ever seen

• 05-09-2008 10:03am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭

As I said - Its your opinion, as per forum rules please give a reason to justify why. Now tell us what you think the "Coolest" film you've ever seen is! :D

Note: Apologies to the Mods and thanks for pointing that one out to me babybing. Didnt mean to cause hassle and will note this for future!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

would help if you actually named the movie you yourself think is the "coolest"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭Prefabsprouter

Ok, well to kick things off I'd vote for "In the Heat of the Night" starring Sidney Poitier and Rod Steiger. I find that the tension between the two leads is brilliant, the soundtrack is fantastic and there is such a great supporting cast including the incomparable Warren Oates. It was a very contentious subject for a 60's film to tackle, the issue of rascism in the south and it is made excellently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

I may get panned for this but i really liked oceans 11 with clooney and Co, to me it just oozed coolness if you will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Police Academy 6, no wait 4.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

Taxi - En Français

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

ziedth wrote: »
    I may get panned for this but i really liked oceans 11 with clooney and Co, to me it just oozed coolness if you will.

yeah, when i think 'cool' this is the first movie i think of..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭ryoishin

Im gonna get major slammed for this but on pure coolness alone Im going with Miami Vice.

Crazy mustaches,
    Guns,
    Aisian chicks,
    Decent musical score,
    Drug cartels

Take Mann out of the equation and it could have been savager.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 Art Deco

Cool Hand Luke

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

ryoishin wrote: »
    Im gonna get major slammed for this but on pure coolness alone Im going with Miami Vice.

Consider yourself slammed! terrible film! not cool at all.....:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Terminator 2 is very cool - Robert Patrick, Ahnulds shotgun reload, GnR soundtrack etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

La Haine.

Also, Dead Man's Shoes and Tropa De Elite deserve honourable mentions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,955 ✭✭✭rizzla

I'd go with 300, very cool. Style over substance but just very cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Way of the Gun.

"Till that day"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

OK love this idea for the thread but I suggest you edit the op sharpish from "no need to justify" to "essential that you justify" or it will be closed by a mod.

List threads are against the charter.....having said that here are my coolest movies (not that it counts for anything now that I have shown how patently uncool I am by telling someone off for the wording in their post:pac:):

1:Riffifi-The greatest heist movie ever made and also one of the coolest ever made. All the characters are ice cool French thieves, the score is all classic moody noirish jazz and the the song "Riffifi" in the film sung by Magali Noël is so smooth and sexy. Its also got a 20 minute heist sequence where nobody says a thing and the scene is almost in complete silence. If thats not cool I dont know what is.

2. Lady Snowblood-Lady snowblood is a women who was born in prison, daughter of a female inmate who voluntarily whored herself to the prison guards, for the sole purpose to take vengeance on those who killed her brother and father (who died before she was born). She trains all her life and becomes a lethal assassin. She go's around feudal Japan decapitating anybody who crosses her with an umbrella with razor sharp edges. Cool. Fact.

3. Pulp Fiction: The dialogue, the razor sharp suits, the surf music/rockabilly soundtrack, Um Thurman as Mia Wallace, Jack Rabbit Slims,Harvey Keital as "the wolf", that dance scene! Dont try to argue.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Please don't just list a movie here - say why you think it's "cool". BabyBing is spot on about straight out lists not being really welcome - his/her's post is a good example of them saying why they think a movie is cool. No problem with that sort of post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

I would have to say The Wild One. after watching that movie I felt like Marlon Brando for about half an hour and just felt untouchable. he oozed coolness in that film and Lee Marvin was a legend in it too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

Sin City, love the way it's shot, the use of colour, it's just slick

Or else Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels, the way they talk to each other is so funny, it's great. It makes me wanna be a low life gangster

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭Prefabsprouter

ixoy wrote: »
    Please don't just list a movie here - say why you think it's "cool". BabyBing is spot on about straight out lists not being really welcome - his/her's post is a good example of them saying why they think a movie is cool. No problem with that sort of post.
    Ixoy, First post has been amended and apologies for the transgression. It was not intentional I can assure you!! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,443 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I'd say for Cool the Usual Suspects. Really well put together movie and probably the best ending to a movie for me. Super slick.

I'd also pick Batman Begins, its just so cool as well, and the ending of it is classic as well.

I think for it to be 'Cool' the ending has to be slick for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

pulp fiction

on a smaller scale , run lola run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭frag4

As above Pulp Fiction.
    I belive Tarantino was posesed by God/Devil when he made this film . Its 14 years next Oct. when I first saw this film and it still rocks my world...
    I now only go to the cinema like a crackhead looking for that first high. What a motherF**king rush.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Coolest movie.Hard to give 1 definitivly but here are a couple I think ooze cool.

Reservoir Dogs - Dialogue,the black suits,the killer soundtrack,Harvey Keitel,
    Eddie Bunker,everything about this movie is the epitome of cool.

Desperado - Unreal action sequences,Salma Hayek,killer soundtrack,Antonio Banderas at his brooding best.Just an awesome action movie.IMO if you look up lads movie in a dictionary there should be a picture of this.

The Steetfighter - The Sonny Chiba movie,not the Kylie/Van Damme crapfest.Chiba plays the bad ass anti hero sooo well.He just does what he wants,when he wants and how he wants.Awesome fight scenes and a great opening music track.

True Romance - A script from QT,a ridiculously star studded cast,funny,violent,romantic.Totally kick ass.

Things to do in Denver when you're dead - Great cast,Andy Garcia slick as a barrell of oil,Christopher Walken,top notch dialogue,violent,funny and just cool as hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭indough

ziedth wrote: »

i actually liked this movie too but thought oceans 13 was a lot cooler because it had more of a 60's stylized kind of feel to it :) the second one was pants though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Reservoir dogs on my iPhone 3G. Cool. Squared.

The Dialogue, Mr Keitel, Mr Penn et al, esp the "Like a Virgin" discussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,852 ✭✭✭Hugh_C

Ice-Cold in Alex

Actually, in its time Bladerunner was the essence of cool, majorly cool FX and soundtrack and of course Rutger Hauer at his best Diva the same, extraordinarily cool, especially the chase scenes. Pretty much anything with Bogart in it, but The Big Sleep in particular, maybe because nobody knew wtf was going on, not even Chandler. Chinatown was very good, possibly not cool though despite method nose slicing. Being John Malkovich was unspeakably cool on about six levels. Actually I think John Cusack is coolness personified. My wife says True Romance and Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. 12 Angry Men was the antithesis of cool but sheer brilliance, nobody has ever made anything comparable. I could go on ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

Hugh_C wrote: »
    Ice-Cold in Alex

Actually, in its time Bladerunner was the essence of cool, majorly cool FX and soundtrack and of course Rutger Hauer at his best Diva the same, extraordinarily cool, especially the chase scenes. Pretty much anything with Bogart in it, but The Big Sleep in particular, maybe because nobody knew wtf was going on, not even Chandler. Chinatown was very good, possibly not cool though despite method nose slicing. Being John Malkovich was unspeakably cool on about six levels. Actually I think John Cusack is coolness personified. My wife says True Romance and Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. 12 Angry Men was the antithesis of cool but sheer brilliance, nobody has ever made anything comparable. I could go on ...

please do...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

efb wrote: »
    Reservoir dogs on my iPhone 3G. Cool. Squared.

The Dialogue, Mr Keitel, Mr Penn et al, esp the "Like a Virgin" discussion.

The fact that it is on an iPhone means it is no longer cool anymore. Congratulations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

nedtheshed wrote: »
    Coolest movie.Hard to give 1 definitivly but here are a couple I think ooze cool.

Reservoir Dogs - Dialogue,the black suits,the killer soundtrack,Harvey Keitel,
    Eddie Bunker,everything about this movie is the epitome of cool.

Desperado - Unreal action sequences,Salma Hayek,killer soundtrack,Antonio Banderas at his brooding best.Just an awesome action movie.IMO if you look up lads movie in a dictionary there should be a picture of this.

The Steetfighter - The Sonny Chiba movie,not the Kylie/Van Damme crapfest.Chiba plays the bad ass anti hero sooo well.He just does what he wants,when he wants and how he wants.Awesome fight scenes and a great opening music track.

True Romance - A script from QT,a ridiculously star studded cast,funny,violent,romantic.Totally kick ass.

Things to do in Denver when you're dead - Great cast,Andy Garcia slick as a barrell of oil,Christopher Walken,top notch dialogue,violent,funny and just cool as hell.

all fantastic choices , i salute you , you know good cool

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

The Matrix
    Pretty obvious I know but its the only movie that I've gotten up out of my seat in the cinema and thought I could run across walls.
    How everything moves, the clothes everyone wears, how everyone walks with confidence.

The Bourne Identity
    Savagely cool film. Again its about the main character and again the confidence and in how he fights, moves and drives.
    When he is fighting that guy in the apartment and the way he just walks over to him knowing he is going to kick seven shades of **** out of him is the definition of cool.

--Some more will pop into my head later ;)

A bittersweet life
    Just watch it...I couldn't possibly explain.

The Swimming Pool
    Ludivine Sagnier - wow just wow. This is a great great film and Ludivine Sagniers' character is, while incredibly "bold", also incredibly cool

No Country for Old Men
    Javier Bardem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

was waiting for that. it's almost as if I left the trap there deliberately...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Yeah would have to agree on the Matrix. Everything about it oozed cool. It's a good thing they only made the one film though. Sequels would have diluted it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,070 ✭✭✭Placebo

jesus, does anybody watch anything but hollywood?

Delicatessen
    Kidulthood
    City Of God
    Buffalo 66

as 'COOL' as it will EVER get

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭charlie_says

Way of the Gun.

"Till that day"

That is a damn cool movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

Placebo wrote: »
    jesus, does anybody watch anything but hollywood?

Delicatessen
    Kidulthood
    City Of God
    Buffalo 66

as 'COOL' as it will EVER get

City of God would be one of my all time favourites.

Get Carter, definitely the coolest british film of all time.

Dumb and Dumber, what can I say?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭GirlInterrupted

1. Nikita. Anne Partillaud is brilliant as the junkie killer turned assasin.

2. Bullit. For that carchase, and for Steve McQueen, that man was cool itself.

3. Pulp Fiction. Just for Samuel L. Jackson. And John Travolta. And for the watch story....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Second to City of God and Desperado (on opposite sides of the cool scale, but still cool nonetheless).

Leon - I think Nicholas Cage should have looked at this whentrying to make a cool hitman movie.

Memento - If original narrative structure makes a movie cool, this must be up there.

Terminator 2 - They sure don't make 'em like this anymore! The definition of an action movie and the genre at its best. The chase through the drain system still shows that their is only one way - the cool way - to reload a shotgun.

Serenity - Cool space cowboy movie based on a cancelled fox show. Cool points must go for the fan support that got universal to back this movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,699 ✭✭✭ThOnda

Pulp Fiction - "I need you cool. Are you cool?"
    Buying drugs, driving Mustang with Mia, ehm, Uma Thurman. What could be more cool?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,330 ✭✭✭niallon

Cool film can exclude the necessity for the film to be good so I therefore say Coffee & Cigarettes. Got fairly bored half way through but it just oozes cool!

Best "good" cool film, Goodfellas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭PullMyFinger!

ixoy wrote: »
    Please don't just list a movie here - say why you think it's "cool"

Futhermore, isnt this just a re-hash of the recent Coolest Moments In Film thread?

I was one of the ones who moaned long and hard (:)) for Lists to be allowed here but Im not keen on reading everything twice.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzovision

Has to be Easy Rider for me. Makes you wanna get on a motorbike and drive listening to steppenwolf. ( Just remember to avoid the hillbilly's!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Fringe

Definitely have to say Pulp Fiction as well. A really cool cast of characters. Harvey Keitel was the best. Never seen a cooler character before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

my vote goes to BLOW

purley for the court scene:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=csPZ7D8-zTY

spoilerific quote:
    Judge: George Jung, you stand accused of possession of six hundred and sixty pounds of marijuana with intent to distribute. How do you plead?
    George: Your honor, I'd like to say a few words to the court if I may.
    Judge: Well, you're gonna have to stop slouching and stand up to address this court, sir.
    George: [stands] Alright. Well, in all honesty, I don't feel that what I've done is a crime. And I think it's illogical and irresponsible for you to sentence me to prison. Because, when you think about it, what did I really do? I crossed an imaginary line with a bunch of plants. I mean, you say I'm an outlaw, you say I'm a thief, but where's the Christmas dinner for the people on relief? Huh? You say you're looking for someone who's never weak but always strong, to gather flowers constantly whether you are right or wrong, someone to open each and every door, but it ain't me, babe, huh? No, no, no, it ain't me, babe. It ain't me you're looking for, babe. You follow?
    Judge: Yeah... Gosh, you know, your concepts are really interesting, Mister Jung.
    George: Thank you.
    Judge: Unfortunately for you, the line you crossed was real and the plants you brought with you were illegal, so your bail is twenty thousand dollars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

ThOnda wrote: »
    Pulp Fiction - "I need you cool. Are you cool?"

Reservoir Dogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭Reg'stoy

I can't believe no one has mentioned 'To live and die in LA'. It was made in the 80's set in the 80's (which was recently viewed as the coolest decade) and has Willem Dafoe as the bad guy been hunted by William Petersen come on Willem Dafoe!!!! how cool is he.
    So to sum up, cool soundtrack, great car chase, great director and did I forget to mention Willem Dafoe.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,014 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

French New Wave directors like Godard or Truffaut made films that remain as cool today as they did back forty years ago. Stuff like Breathless, Weekend or Jule et Jim have such care-free disregard for rules, spend so much time distorting convention, refuse to get dogged down by emotion and have protagonists who in a lot of cases really do not give a **** about what anyone else thinks. They give off such a great atmosphere that they really do seem as hip and relevant today as they ever did, and tend to be funny, intelligent, wonderfully filmed and unique to films to boot. The ultimate examples of French chic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

bluto63 wrote: »
    Sin City, love the way it's shot, the use of colour, it's just slick

Agreed, don't know why 300 gets all the attention over this movie. It's by far the superior of the two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

yeah but 300 is a true story

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,014 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

MooseJam wrote: »
    yeah but 300 is a true story

But with added monsters, grunting, divine oracles and giant enemy crabs (maybe not the crabs).
    But yeah Sin City is a far slicker film. Shallow, but pleasingly so. Lots of style and one-dimensional characters, which is what you want from a 'cool' film ;)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

French New Wave directors like Godard or Truffaut made films that remain as cool today as they did back forty years ago. Stuff like Breathless, Weekend or Jule et Jim have such care-free disregard for rules, spend so much time distorting convention, refuse to get dogged down by emotion and have protagonists who in a lot of cases really do not give a **** about what anyone else thinks. They give off such a great atmosphere that they really do seem as hip and relevant today as they ever did, and tend to be funny, intelligent, wonderfully filmed and unique to films to boot. The ultimate examples of French chic.
    Agreed 100 percent. The French New Wave embodied true cinematic cool, nothing much in contemporary cinema compares. By far the coolest of them I think is the sometimes forgotten Jean-Pierre Melville, although he was a little older than Godard and co.. For anyone not familiar with him his work would be very similar to Michael Mann. Le Samouraï is the coolest film ever made imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,211 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Yeah it's been said plenty of times already, but Pulp Fiction by a country mile. The dialogue, soundtrack, pretty much everything about the film oozes cool. Apart from Tarantino's appearance that is.