Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pearl Izumi Run Like An Animal 10km

• 04-09-2008 12:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭

Anyone doing this on Saturday? Always partial to another t-shirt!

Anyone know the course? Someone made an attempt to map it here http://www.mapmyrun.com/route/ireland/dublin/27197884

Don't know the area but think it goes two laps around Ballycullen Rd / Firhouse Rd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Dick Darlington

Yep, i'm doin it. No idea of the route, dont even know the area. Should be fun !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

Think I'll do it as its right on my door step, I think they forgot to sign the last 1.2 miles, looks a good course, mile 2 to 2.75 is downhill, 2.75 to 4 is a slight up hill but nothing major.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Stupid_Private

Here's the link to the course route from the online entry page. It's a bit more accurate.

That course map doesnt work for me, does it work for anybody else ?

didn't work for me either

Anybody know where this starts ? Like where to park etc ? Website gives no details

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Wow, that's right beside my house. Don't think I'm up to a 10k though, haven't run for more than about 40mins yet :(
    Start is at the community centre in Firhouse which is the blue building just under where it says Ballycullen Drive on the map here

http://www.mapmyrun.com/route/ireland/dublin/27197884
    I ran this yesterday according to this map, I started and finished at the community centre, it only measures 5 miles, so I don't think the start and finish could possibly be at the cetre, also as you come up ballycullen drive, its a little bit hilly

That course map doesnt work for me, does it work for anybody else ?

For what ever reason the map is no longer on that site. It was there the day before yesterday and linked off the online entry page. It still is linked off that page but doens't work. Ah well... it's 2 laps, so once you do the first you'll know what you have in store for the second!

Woddle wrote: »
    http://www.mapmyrun.com/route/ireland/dublin/27197884
    I ran this yesterday according to this map, I started and finished at the community centre, it only measures 5 miles, so I don't think the start and finish could possibly be at the cetre, also as you come up ballycullen drive, its a little bit hilly

According to the map that's no longer there it starts on Ballycullen Drive (possibly by the community centre), goes onto Ballycullen Road, 2 laps then, and finishes on Ballycullen Road.

Cool, but the start is community centre in Firhouse ? Info on the site is pretty scarce.
    Hopefully the weather improves !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,537 ✭✭✭Downtime

here is the route from the blog - http://www.mapmyrun.com/run/ireland/dublin+16/157556896

Seems to start at Monalee but is definitely not 10K. Can one register in the morning? - can't seem to register online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭Orobhsa

It's a BHAA race so you can register in the morning.

http://bhaa.ie/article.php?story=20080815161839661

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,537 ✭✭✭Downtime

Cheers Orobhsa. I presume I dont have to be a BHAA member?

Ger Kirwan emailed me and said:

Its a perfect 2 lap course leaving Firhouse community centre and turning right on down the Ballycullen road ,Then right up the Firhouse road and left at the Old Mill junction back to the Bally Cullen Road. 2 Laps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭rdunne

Our inaugural Pearl Izumi Run Like An Animal 10K is on September, 6th September at 10.30am sharp.
    This will be run under BHAA rules and with the full support of Rathfarnham Gardai.
    The race HQ is Firhouse Community Centre in Firhouse, Dublin 24.

There will be a limited edition of the Run Like An Animal technical T-shirts for the first 400.

On-line registration can be accessed through www.gersrunning.com

We would love to make this race a huge success and would really love to see you there.

If you can't run in the race maybe you would like to steward at it. If so, please drop us a line and we will get back to you.

Heres the Course: http://www.run.com/showroute.asp?map=895245

Click HERE for the flyer
    See You There...........
    Gerard Kirwan, Dublin 16, Ireland.
    gersrunning@gmail.com
    http://www.bhaa.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭Orobhsa

Downtime wrote: »
    Cheers Orobhsa. I presume I dont have to be a BHAA member?

Ger Kirwan emailed me and said:

Its a perfect 2 lap course leaving Firhouse community centre and turning right on down the Ballycullen road ,Then right up the Firhouse road and left at the Old Mill junction back to the Bally Cullen Road. 2 Laps.

Anyone can run a BHAA race. Usually 10 for a member or 15 for non-member I think.

Orobhsa wrote: »
    Anyone can run a BHAA race. Usually 10 for a member or 15 for non-member I think.

Thats right. If you sign up as a member now you get this year and next year too!

Loooking forward to it, registering in the morning, hope I can find the place cause i'm not familiar with the area, and hope I get a shirt !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭bo-sco

Loooking forward to it, registering in the morning, hope I can find the place cause i'm not familiar with the area, and hope I get a shirt !

Where are you coming from? I can direct you if you like.

Cabra - I can see it on the map, I just mean I haven't driven there before.
    It seems that from Christchurch up the back of Rathmines through Harolds Cross is the best route and it's nearly straight all the way ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

Decided to do this race on a last minute whim, and I'm so glad I did. Hats off to the organizers and the gardai, it was a brilliantly efficient operation. The rain stayed off, and the course had no real hills to speak of. I managed 40:40 by the finish clock, although others who used Garmins told me the course was a little long. A tough training week meant I didn't push too hard, and I'm happy knowing I have a sub-40 coming soon.
    Best bit of 10k racing advice- "if you don't feel like dropping out at half way, you're not going fast enough!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭Manone

Well organised and nice course. Personally my favourite running conditions. My only gripe I didn't give my sprinting kick earlier to fall under the 40 minute mark. 40.01 by the finish clock I think, allthough I was goosed by that stage so I could have been a minute out:)).

Hopefully not too many motorists disrupted at the junctions and roundabouts.

Look forward to doing it again next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭robbicosta

Great race and well done to the organisers. I managed a 41:10, my second fastest 10k. I'm now determined to run a sub 40 in Clondalkin at the end of the month.

"if you don't feel like dropping out at half way, you're not going fast enough!" agree 100% with this. I love running 10k races but not at the halfway stage!

By the way, my Garmin 405 measured 9.9km so near perfect race distance. Never going to be 100% accurate as runners will take a different line in races.

Pearl Izumi "Run like an animal" 10k results and photo's now online . Thanks to Lindie for the Photo's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 powerjh

hey guys,

where online are the results... i cant find the link. I didnt do as well as you guys, I got 46 minutes for my 10k but happy enough with it. Want to see how that stacks up against the field

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭geld

powerjh wrote: »
    hey guys,

where online are the results... i cant find the link.

http://bhaa.ie/images/libraryPearl_Izumi_RESULT_08.pdf for Results and

http://bhaa.ie/mediagallery/album.php?aid=57 for Pictures.

Personally this was a run I want to forget. For some reason I had no kick left in me for the 2nd Lap despite a good first.

Besides this fair play to the organisers. The course was well marshelled, the running surface was brand new and the tee shirt was far superior than the usual cotton variety. Pearl Izumni deserved to have more people take part (They had "only" 190). I hope that they can keep faith with this race in the future as they have shown how to organise one.

geld wrote: »
    http://bhaa.ie/images/libraryPearl_Izumi_RESULT_08.pdf for Results and

http://bhaa.ie/mediagallery/album.php?aid=57 for Pictures.

Personally this was a run I want to forget. For some reason I had no kick left in me for the 2nd Lap despite a good first.

Besides this fair play to the organisers. The course was well marshelled, the running surface was brand new and the tee shirt was far superior than the usual cotton variety. Pearl Izumni deserved to have more people take part (They had "only" 190). I hope that they can keep faith with this race in the future as they have shown how to organise one.

Thanks Geld
    I forgot to put the link in for my post...