Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Free speech outside boards

• 04-09-2008 12:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭

people are forever harping on about free speech on boards but there is
    in fact i believe that there is a lot more free speech on here than there is in a lot of aspects of life

i used to work for a fat bollox, he was a self inulgent and useless cunt yet whenever we were in meetings we all agreed that he was doing the right thing

this fat fuck eventually ran the company into the ground and loads of peeps had to go on the dole for christmas

when i'm stopped by the gardai at a check point i allways have to blow in the bag i always have to put up with their crap
    onec when i was lost i pulled in on my bike and asked a gardai for directions and he asked to seem my lisence and insurance did i use this precious free speechj right there , no i fucking didn't

there is free speech on boards

just there is nepotisim and a fear of *** as well

but there is free speech

to a popint far more lax than lost of other place real and virtual

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TequilaMockingBird

Have you been drinking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭oeb

It's not that this place is more lax or anything like that. It's that this place is the internet, and on the internet you have a handle and an avatar to hide behind. Someone is not going to stab you in the face for telling them their girlfriend is junkie scum on the internet, but they might if you said it to them in person.

There was nothing stopping you telling your boss he was wrong, you were just afraid of the consequences if you did. Ditto when stopped by the guards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 891 ✭✭✭conceited

There's also wanker mods with trigger happy fingers.:D
    But i still like this place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

You seem to want anarchy rather than free speech...?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

sueme wrote: »
    Have you been drinking?

not yet but it is lunchtime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

Where does free speech come into play when you're being asked for your license and insurance details?

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    You seem to want anarchy rather than free speech...?

i do

i aculally think a bit of anarchy is a good thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Tigger wrote: »

Everything in moderation.

robby^5 wrote: »
    Where does free speech come into play when you're being asked for your license and insurance details?

i pulled over to ask for directions
    based on my appearance and prefered mode of transport instead of giving me directions he decided to make me produce my documentation

free speech would suggest that i could tell him that he was a bully and that his middl;e class culchie background made him feel that madmax was in fact real and that i was on my way to kill his family where in fact i'm a respectable and hard working youn g man who is feeling quite frustrated with his behaviour

javaboy wrote: »
    Everything in moderation.

Ya, lets get some anarchy going.

But with like some rules or something!
    That would be rad!

oeb wrote: »
    It's not that this place is more lax or anything like that. It's that this place is the internet, and on the internet you have a handle and an avatar to hide behind. Someone is not going to stab you in the face for telling them their girlfriend is junkie scum on the internet, but they might if you said it to them in person.

There was nothing stopping you telling your boss he was wrong, you were just afraid of the consequences if you did. Ditto when stopped by the guards.

consequence sto free speech is not free speech

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

i do

Well, why the bloody hell didn't you say so?!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

That would be rad!

Exactly. I'm all for anarchy as long as it's controlled and carried out under the supervision of a safety expert.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

i do

And yet you gave out to someone for stiffing the Revenue out of a few quid by not paying the VAT on an internet purchase??? *scratches head*

consequence sto free speech is not free speech

Course it is, it just means that you have the right to seek a legal resolution to the issue.

Just cause you are guarenteed free speech does not mean that you will get it without a fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TequilaMockingBird

i pulled over to ask for directions
    based on my appearance and prefered mode of transport instead of giving me directions he decided to make me produce my documentation

free speech would suggest that i could tell him that he was a bully and that his middl;e class culchie background made him feel that madmax was in fact real and that i was on my way to kill his family where in fact i'm a respectable and hard working youn g man who is feeling quite frustrated with his behaviour

Try it. But maybe lay off the drink a bit eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭captainzapp

That would be rad!

Oh we have an anarchists society in college if you're interested.

It has a president and everything...

I don't get it either.

Oh we have an anarchists society in college if you're interested.

It has a president and everything...

I don't get it either.

I don't go to college, it would probably be against the rules to let me join.

Exactly. I'm all for anarchy as long as it's controlled and carried out under the supervision of a safety expert.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭brosps

how exactly does an anarchist society work??
    i reckon your all douches but whatever

anarcy is without rulers not without rules chaos is without rules

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anarchism

i know no one will read this but it makes me feel better

brosps wrote: »
    how exactly does an anarchist society work??
    i reckon your all douches but whatever

a douche is a shower

we are all showers?

what exactly ahve you got agains showers?

they get me real wet

and sometimes i dont want to be wet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Free speech, free speech for the dumb
    Free fucking speech

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Well that's probably because boards is absolutely insignificant in the real world......

Dave! wrote: »
    Well that's probably because boards is absolutely insignificant in the real world......

i doubt thats true

it couldn't be.....

if its is.....................

Maybe the anarachist society will find it in their hearts to bend the rules just this once and let you join.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

I got pulled up whilst wanderin home pissed, Cops demand ID I told them to shag off, got bundled into the back of the squadcar takento the Station and searched,

Exercised me right to silence after that.

am in court tomorrow, Lawyer will be doinall the speakin, and by Jaysus thats not Free

mabey you should have showed them your id you fool

what are you hiding

Maybe the anarachist society will find it in their hearts to bend the rules just this once and let you join.

They will have to ask the president first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

people are forever harping on about free speech on boards but there is
    in fact i believe that there is a lot more free speech on here than there is in a lot of aspects of life

i used to work for a fat bollox, he was a self inulgent and useless cunt yet whenever we were in meetings we all agreed that he was doing the right thing

this fat fuck eventually ran the company into the ground and loads of peeps had to go on the dole for christmas

when i'm stopped by the gardai at a check point i allways have to blow in the bag i always have to put up with their crap
    onec when i was lost i pulled in on my bike and asked a gardai for directions and he asked to seem my lisence and insurance did i use this precious free speechj right there , no i fucking didn't

there is free speech on boards

just there is nepotisim and a fear of *** as well

but there is free speech

to a popint far more lax than lost of other place real and virtual

sounds like your not the sharpest knife in the drawer,

its not what you say its how you say it, you cant go around saying what you like, thats how you get shot/stabbed/police brutality.

Stay in school kid.... or go back at the Very least.

I got pulled up whilst wanderin home pissed, Cops demand ID I told them to shag off, got bundled into the back of the squadcar takento the Station and searched,

am in court tomorrow, Lawyer will be doinall the speakin, and by Jaysus thats not Free

No that's not free speech. That's a public order offence and failing to follow instructions of a guard.

The sooner they bring in compulsory RFID cards the better I say. Then the Gardai can just scan you from a distance without needing your permission. It would eliminate situations like ever happening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

The sooner they bring in compulsory RFID cards the better I say. Then the Gardai can just scan you from a distance without needing your permission. It would eliminate situations like ever happening.

I for one welcome our RFID...

Oh no, wait...

A mate of mine gets asked for ID from the cops quite regularly just because he has a bit of a dodgy look about him. It's happened in the middle of the day walking through Rathmines.

id cards

rf tags thats whats comming

they lare in the budget then they are gonna toll the footpaths

id cards

rf tags thats whats comming

they lare in the budget then they are gonna toll the footpaths

If they implanted the tags under our skin it would significantly reduce the chances of leaving it at home by accident too.

It's true, my skin is the one thing I nearly always remember to bring with me out the door.

not if when

not if when

I don't know. I wouldn't be too sure with this government. They'll probably screw it up the first time round. The tags won't be properly integrated with the Garda pulse system or something.

I'd say it will be years before we have a decent skin-embedded RFID system in Ireland. Ah well. I live in hope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭LouOB

ALARM BELLS
    I read a book that described the book of revelations by St Peter. This is one of the prophecies. Apocalypse here we come

LouOB wrote: »
    ALARM BELLS
    I read a book that described the book of revelations by St Peter. This is one of the prophecies. Apocalypse here we come

I wish it would just get it over with already.
    It's the waiting I can't stand.

LouOB wrote: »
    ALARM BELLS

You read a book that described another book. Why not just read the original book?

I'm no expert now but I'm nearly certain there was no mention of radio frequency identification tags in any of St. Peter's works, no matter how revelatory they were. Sure they were still only getting used to barcodes back then.

I missed this little pearl of wisdom earlier. A very good point and well made. :confused:

censorship