Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Plugins plugins...

• 03-09-2008 5:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,110 ✭✭✭

I am a bit of a plugins whore. I love the yokes, Thats where most of my cash goes when it should really be on hardware! Anyway, I keep building them up but always feel that im never really getting to grips with them fully. So for the next album im going to restrict myself to my waves. This will FORCE me to get the BEST results out of them plugins, then after that I will move on to URS or something.

Anyone else find they are spoilt for choice in the digital domain?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,277 ✭✭✭DamagedTrax

i wish i could afford to be spoilt for choice :eek:

the good ones certainly aint cheap these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭PaulBrewer

Echoboy's the bucko ....

I agree with the 'too many' idea though, my Abbey Road man reckons if he had the URS Pro chan (I think it's called), Echoboy and TL Space he'd be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭teamdresch

I try not to buy any new plugins until I've properly learned the ones I have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,110 ✭✭✭sei046

I have a nice amount of plugins, too many really. But its hard when you see a cool plugin....Soundtoys...your next.

sei046 wrote: »
    I have a nice amount of plugins, too many really. But its hard when you see a cool plugin....Soundtoys...your next.

Up the quality of you D2A and clocking and your plugins sound better...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

I love the URS stuff, did you get yer paws on the SSL listen mic compressor? It's free apparently!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭teamdresch

URS Neve, API and Saturation.
    Awesome.
    I've got CSPro, but I haven't been disciplined enough in getting to know it - it's too easy to grab the N and A series EQs - I know what they do.
    Soundtoys is just magic.
    Every musician I show Crystalizer to just flips out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭danjokill

The URS is good I agree. (I've used the strip channel a bit and I like it)
    However I think still the the waves SSL 4000 Channel sounds far better and is as close to the real thing as i've heard to date.

Any thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭dav nagle

I am a bit of a plugins whore. I love the yokes, Thats where most of my cash goes when it should really be on hardware! Anyway, I keep building them up but always feel that im never really getting to grips with them fully. So for the next album im going to restrict myself to my waves. This will FORCE me to get the BEST results out of them plugins, then after that I will move on to URS or something.

Anyone else find they are spoilt for choice in the digital domain?

The fundamental problem with 'waves' is the 'update plan' bollix. I am still on v5.9 because I refuse to update ...

dav nagle wrote: »
    The fundamental problem with 'waves' is the 'update plan' bollix. I am still on v5.9 because I refuse to update ...

Explain?

studiorat wrote: »
    I did you get yer paws on the SSL listen mic compressor? It's free apparently!

Free you say? Well I never .....

I just wrote a whole message and it got deleted!
    You read my mind about a2d. I still havent plugged in my logic rig with all the work i have on at the minute on my cubase rig but when I do i want to get a new interface. Posshibly RME.

I use URS comps and EQs ALL THE TIME!
    But im actually really buzzing off the waves REQs for fixing problems.

PaulBrewer wrote: »
    Explain?

I own waves diamond v 5.9. In order for me to install and register the latest waves v6. I must pay €200 for the waves update plan

And what do you get for your Euro 200?

I just wrote a whole message and it got deleted!

That's a Sign ......

And what do you get for your Euro 200?

For 200 euros you get an update of presets.

That's it?

That's it?

a kick in the teeth too!

Well why would anyone pay for that? What's the advantage in upgrading at all?

The latest and greatest myth cash in advantage

Is that really the only update? Thats ridiculous. Presets... THE CHEEK!

Dav, send me a link to that would you? I'll follow it up with Waves, make sure we're not missing something ....

http://www.wavesupport.net/content.aspx?id=4004

'We listen to our customers' and charge them for it!:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭ogy

yeh waves are notorious for there crappy rip off update plan

'V6 is available to all Waves users with current Waves Update Plan coverage at no additional charge.' .........

No?