Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kenmare Lost Sheep Triathlon

• 02-09-2008 4:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭

Hi triathlon oracles,

I'm doing the Lost Sheep triathlon in Kenmare this weekend. Just wondering does anybody have any advice on how to tackle it. I've heard about a very tough climb on the cycle which reduces quite a few people to walking. Is it a bad idea to stay in the saddle if I'm hurting from the climb? Should I swallow my pride and walk up? Will it stand to me in the run?

My main aim (apart from hitting the cut-off times (1h20 for swim I think, 5h30 for end of cycle)) is to run the run.

This will be my second triathlon after the Beast of the East.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

Hi triathlon oracles,

I'm doing the Lost Sheep triathlon in Kenmare this weekend. Just wondering does anybody have any advice on how to tackle it. I've heard about a very tough climb on the cycle which reduces quite a few people to walking. Is it a bad idea to stay in the saddle if I'm hurting from the climb? Should I swallow my pride and walk up? Will it stand to me in the run?

My main aim (apart from hitting the cut-off times (1h20 for swim I think, 5h30 for end of cycle)) is to run the run.

This will be my second triathlon after the Beast of the East.

Hello,

Kenmare is not that tough - don't worry.

The swim is nice, for a swim.

The bike is mainly flat. Two hills. Healy pass and Caha(?) pass.
    Healy pass is gradual and not steep up until the last 100m the its a little steep but certainly not walking steep.
    Caha pass is also gradual and not that steep. Think Wicklow gap from the Laragh direction.
    Seriously they aren't bad at all. The first time I did Kenmare years ago I was dreading this terrible climb up Healy pass. I was waiting and waiting for it to come and only when I saw the descent did I realise that that was it.

The descents are the problem. The switchbacks off the Healy pass are fast and hairy to control. On the Caha pass the descent isn't surfaced completely so thats a pain in the hole.

The bike is also short - 82-83km.

Run is short too 20km last year. Flat too.

Will be down there myself but not sure if I'm going to do it yet. 9 days of food poisoning, no training and feck all food mean I might not be up to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭GoHardOrGoHome

Thanks Tunney!

That's what I needed. Someone to say it's not as hard as it sounds. My "normal" friends just think I've gone a bit mental. Was a bit lazy in years gone by. Skinny - but lazy. So my friends would be of the don't-you-think-you-should-wait-until-next-year-to-do-that variety.

That's good news about the cycle. I reckoned that was going to be the hard part. The swim I'm not worried about - I'll just go slow and steady. Took me 45 minutes to do the 1.5k swim in The Beast and came out feeling very fresh. (I'm new to long distance swimming i.e. anything over 4 lengths of a pool). I'd really like to feel comfortable in the run. Don't know how empty my legs will be after the cycle. I haven't done 83k competitively before.

tunney wrote: »
    Will be down there myself but not sure if I'm going to do it yet. 9 days of food poisoning, no training and feck all food mean I might not be up to it.

Meant to include this...

Damn. Your food poisoning is not quite the best preparation for a long (in my book) race. So are you saying you're over the food poisoning but have been left severely weakened by it? Yikes. I know I wouldn't do it because I'm not sure I'd make it out of the swim.

Meant to include this...

Damn. Your food poisoning is not quite the best preparation for a long (in my book) race. So are you saying you're over the food poisoning but have been left severely weakened by it? Yikes. I know I wouldn't do it because I'm not sure I'd make it out of the swim.

Weaken and can't stray too far from a toilet!

Other things about Kenmare:

* be self sufficient. The aid stations are quite often terrible. Run out of water and have no food/gels. Bring what you need with you on the run and bike. Two or so bottles on the bike and some gels. Some gels for the run

* its an early start and it can be cold. Have a gillet (or jersey) and arm warmers in t1 in case it hasn't heated up by the time you go out on the bike. Tri gear won't keep you warm

* pacing pacing pacing. Don't get caught up in the moment and just stick to your race plan. Its a long day out, go too hard and you'll suffer more than you need too.. plan your race, write it down and then stick to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

I would agree with most of what Tunney said. The race is very different to all the short stuff people have been doing all summer so comes as a shock to some people hence the horror stories. When I did it, I had just been out sick for over 2 months and I got around.

swim
    All I remember is diesel in the water. sighting is easy though and water likely to be very flat

bike
    2 climbs, nothing too hairy but the road surface is awful. My wrists really suffered. Consider gloves, even though it's a race. I hate the descents but if you're gutsy you'll love 'em. I measured it even shorter than Tunney at 80 km.

run
    A hill here too but nothing that will kill you. It was Marshalled and supported (water etc) by non-triathletes so as tunney says be self sufficient.

general
    set up might be in the dark, do all the flaffing you can the night before when you can see your bike.
    enjoy the views on the cycle. I prefer Ireman as a race but you can't beat the Kenmare views.
    good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 jollybean

Go Hard,
    Tunney and hunnymonster advice about kenmare is spot on. I'd add that I did the beast as well this year and was 6 mins slower than usual for 1500m....so I think that swim was either way long or there were some very strange currents going on :eek:. Bike in Kenmare is honestly grand and as tunney said it is the descents that are a worry. Most of all bring all your own food and water or have a car meet you (against the rules but I saw cork tri crowd do it so......)

And even more important is enjoy the scenary!

Pace yourself and you'll be laughing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 shellda1

So if the hills arent 2bad will i get away with my 23/12 on the back? Also is the road surface very bad? I'm thinking of using my tubs and if i get a puncher its game over :eek:

shellda1 wrote: »
    So if the hills arent 2bad will i get away with my 23/12 on the back? Also is the road surface very bad? I'm thinking of using my tubs and if i get a puncher its game over :eek:

I'll be using tubs but will bring a spare. really if you puncture on any tyres the 5-10 minutes to repair already means game over, you're just finishing the bike to get home really!

I'll be using a 25/12 with a standard setup up front. I'll also be on my TT bike. You could get away with a 23 but as i want to stay on the aero bars for the lot I'm going 25 so I can spin up easily.

If you had a 25 I'd put it on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 jollybean

23/12 won't be detrimental but if you use a 25 you'll have a better day out I reckon....i'd defo change it if you can at this stage.

bike
    2 climbs, nothing too hairy but the road surface is awful. My wrists really suffered. Consider gloves, even though it's a race. I hate the descents but if you're gutsy you'll love 'em. I measured it even shorter than Tunney at 80 km.

run
    A hill here too but nothing that will kill you. It was Marshalled and supported (water etc) by non-triathletes so as tunney says be self sufficient.

general
    set up might be in the dark, do all the flaffing you can the night before when you can see your bike.
    good luck.

No I'm not gutsy! I hate sitting on the brakes on descents but I'm also too scared to let fly.

I'm glad that the run doesn't seem to much of a killer. I'd really like to run comfortably, I don't mind how long it takes me to do the cycle.

Might see a couple of you down there. I'll be wearing a green Kathmandu cycling jersey but I'll be changing all my gear for the run (haven't invested in any of that tri-suit business).

Good luck to anyone else doing it.

Tunney, have you managed to distance yourself from the toilet? Imodium works wonders but then again there's a reason your body is trying to get rid of whatever's residing in your gut. If you do decide to do it Imodium might enable you to stay on the road.

How did everybody get on at the weekend? I found it fairly tough but i think it was more to do with the conditions rather than the course. I was a little bit disappointed with my time but i think it was due to the swim current and the wind on the bike so over all fairly happy. And the after party def lived up 2 its reputation :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭trinewbie

I'll be using tubs but will bring a spare. really if you puncture on any tyres the 5-10 minutes to repair already means game over, you're just finishing the bike to get home really!

I'll be using a 25/12 with a standard setup up front. I'll also be on my TT bike. You could get away with a 23 but as i want to stay on the aero bars for the lot I'm going 25 so I can spin up easily.

If you had a 25 I'd put it on.

Tunney , Im caught up in a bit of a dilema at the moment, racing in Groomsport on Saturday, was all set to carry spare tub, but am now considering this instead..... (along with CO2 to top up to 180psi)

http://www.cyclesuperstore.ie/shop/pc/viewPrd.asp?idcategory=0&idproduct=18964

Does anyone have any experience or advice on these instant tub repair cannisters? I assume they are essentially a can of pressurized goo or liquid latex?What are the pros and cons of carrying this vs a spare Tub....

cheers
    Niall

trinewbie wrote: »
    Tunney , Im caught up in a bit of a dilema at the moment, racing in Groomsport on Saturday, was all set to carry spare tub, but am now considering this instead..... (along with CO2 to top up to 180psi)

http://www.cyclesuperstore.ie/shop/pc/viewPrd.asp?idcategory=0&idproduct=18964

Does anyone have any experience or advice on these instant tub repair cannisters? I assume they are essentially a can of pressurized goo or liquid latex?What are the pros and cons of carrying this vs a spare Tub....

cheers
    Niall

I don't see it as an either/or.

I carry both a spare tub and a can of pitt stop. Reasoning being if the puncture is just a small puncture then the pitt stop will fix it and you are on your way in less than a minute. However if the puncture is a gash then the pitt stop will be no good and you'll need to change the tyre.

img_3847.jpg
    Pitt stop no good for this.

Make sure to check your value extenders as well. if you have the ones like http://www.zipp.com/accessories/detail.php?ID=120 then I don't think the pitt stop will work. I know it didn't for Liam Dolan in UK 70.30.

I will be at groomsport (hopefully well and able to race) and will bring a spare tub, a pitt stop and two co2 cartridges with me.

I don't see it as an either/or.

I carry both a spare tub and a can of pitt stop. Reasoning being if the puncture is just a small puncture then the pitt stop will fix it and you are on your way in less than a minute. However if the puncture is a gash then the pitt stop will be no good and you'll need to change the tyre.

img_3847.jpg
    Pitt stop no good for this.

Make sure to check your value extenders as well. if you have the ones like http://www.zipp.com/accessories/detail.php?ID=120 then I don't think the pitt stop will work. I know it didn't for Liam Dolan in UK 70.30.

I will be at groomsport (hopefully well and able to race) and will bring a spare tub, a pitt stop and two co2 cartridges with me.

Cheers Tunney -

I should be ok extenders wise, as I just use the standard victoria ones (removable valve core etc) as I had probelms with sh!tty carbonace ones that are very simliar to the Zipps. TBH what are the chances of getting a slash that bad in Groomsport?I assume your spare tub will be pre-stretched?Road surface meant to be good the whole way in Groomsport no?

Cheers Tunney -

I should be ok extenders wise, as I just use the standard victoria ones (removable valve core etc) as I had probelms with sh!tty carbonace ones that are very simliar to the Zipps. TBH what are the chances of getting a slash that bad in Groomsport?I assume your spare tub will be pre-stretched?Road surface meant to be good the whole way in Groomsport no?

What tyres are you running?

Tub will be pre stretched.

Surface is meant to be good alright.

What tyres are you running?

Tub will be pre stretched.

Surface is meant to be good alright.

Tufo S3's...probably not the best punture protection TBH, Reckon I wil lhave to sort another Tub and get her stretched before heading up on Friday. Will also have at least one can of the Pitt stop methinks....Who knows - with the way the weather has been I might not use the tubs at all (82 front, 101 back - not nice in crosswinds)

I assume youl carry 1 or 2 rim tapes aswel so??

Tufo S3's...probably not the best punture protection TBH, Reckon I wil lhave to sort another Tub and get her stretched before heading up on Friday. Will also have at least one can of the Pitt stop methinks....Who knows - with the way the weather has been I might not use the tubs at all (82 front, 101 back - not nice in crosswinds)

Tufo's are pretty much bomb proof but are very very slow.

Will bring 404s and zipp disc and decide on the day. Weather can be very windy.

Why would I bring rim tapes? Tubs don't need rim tape.
    (unless you are talking about the tufo tape and you use tape rather than glue to mount your tyres. in which case you've been a bold boy. Tufos are slow enough as they are but tufo tape is a disaster)

Tufo's are pretty much bomb proof but are very very slow.

Will bring 404s and zipp disc and decide on the day. Weather can be very windy.

Why would I bring rim tapes? Tubs don't need rim tape.
    (unless you are talking about the tufo tape and you use tape rather than glue to mount your tyres. in which case you've been a bold boy. Tufos are slow enough as they are but tufo tape is a disaster)

Sorry - meant tufo tub tape...Tubs are currently glued but plan would be to use the tub tape for a puncture in race situation...

Whats the school of though behind the slowness of the Tufos - is it the tiny waffle thread pattern??

I used the 82 front, 101 back in Kenmare, not the best idea in the world. Going down the second desent was like trying 2 wrestle a young horse. :rolleyes:

shellda1 wrote: »
    I used the 82 front, 101 back in Kenmare, not the best idea in the world. Going down the second desent was like trying 2 wrestle a young horse. :rolleyes:

Have heard some bad reports alright, something about the corsswind getting you from both sides as it bounced off the cliff face??Fun.:eek:

Sorry - meant tufo tub tape...Tubs are currently glued but plan would be to use the tub tape for a puncture in race situation...

Whats the school of though behind the slowness of the Tufos - is it the tiny waffle thread pattern??

The materials used, construction all give a very high rolling resistance and make it slow. (All their tyres are)

Meant to report back sooner!

First middle distance triathlon over - phew!

I felt very comfortable during the swim but was quite taken aback to exit the water in 1h05. I was hoping to exit between 55 and 60 minutes. A combination of my zig-zagging swimming pattern and swimming against a bit of a current meant that I was a lot slower getting out of the water. Still felt fresh at the end though.

The bike was a lot easier than I expected overall (I was still in the bottom 20% mind you!) and took me about 3 and a half hours. Again I took your advice and just paced myself. I knew I had a long run ahead of me and I was in uncharted territory endurance-wise. Healy pass was grand and the sun shone gloriously on me as I cycled down the other side. The wind just after the Caha pass was awful! A marshal told me to watch out for the wind when I exited the tunnel and he was right. I was glad to read that someone else found that the wind seemed to be blowing from the mountain outward. I was pushed from the left of the road towards the middle. It was a bit unnerving. Managed to eat two Fry's Turkish Delights, 2 bananas, 1 muesli bar and 200ml of Lucozade sport in the first 20 minutes of the cycle. Had another Turkish delight, banana and 600ml of Lucozade Sport/Gatorade over the rest of the cycle. I was afraid of running out of fuel but I had to pee four times on the bike (to clarify: over the duration of the cycle. I dismounted at suitable spots to do my business). So, I'm thinking of reducing the volume of liquid I take and maybe just washing some gels down with a mouthful or two of water. I find the suggested dilutions seem to have me relieving myself too often. I know that if you put too concenctrated a solution down your throat then it can suck water from your gut leaving you more dehydrated.

The first 7k of the run was awful. I think I don't have a good position on the bike. My back was killing me. I haven't gone for any long cycles on the bike in training for this so this obviously is something I have to improve on. It was the same for the Beast of the East. I thought it was just that there was a tough 10k in the Beast but I think it's just that I'm not used to long cycles followed by runs. Need to do some Brick sessions. After the first 7k or so the pain was fading to be replaced by other aches and pains. The water and gatorade stands on the run were perfect for me. I don't drink much on a run but I like to drink a little quite a few times over the run. Caught a few people on the run though I felt my weakest here. I was quite slow on the run but didn't feel I could go any faster. I think I could have continued going for a while longer but could not increase my pace. I finished in just under 2 hours which I was delighted with. Had a bit of a sore left foot from running on the heavily cambered (sp?) road.

Fair play to Batman. He did the entire cycle and run in full Batman regalia. Bit depressing to be (well) beaten by somebody in a fancy dress costume. I think he was Welsh. Does anybody know his name?

I finished under 7 hours which I was happy with. First time and all! It's also nice to know that I can keep going for that long. I'm interested in doing a few Adventure Races next year (an Turas Beag, Total Experience (Wicklow), maybe the Beast of Ballyhoura) so it's a good stepping stone to these. Also would like to do either the IMRA Wicklow Way Trail (22k) or Wicklow Way Ultra (44k) next year. They're on around the same time as the Connemara Marathon.

Transitions were dire but I didn't mind that. Got a hand-me-down Wheelworx tri-suit which might improve my times next year. I've yet to wear it in public. Does not leave a lot to the imagination. Seriously. Chamois is pretty miserable compared to proper bike shorts (I know, it doesn't absorb much water that way, but still!). I can't imagine the chamois on a tri-suit being sufficient for an Ironman. 6-8 hours in the saddle with a miserable piece of chamois to cushion me? Not pleasant.

Any news on Seb Locteau's iron distance triathlon? Still going ahead? I'd have to think long and hard about going double the distance (and more seeing as the cycle is short).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Funkyzeit

Great post GoHard. Hoping to do a 1/2 IM next year myself so found it very entertaining (esp the Batman bit....):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

If batman is the same batman as last year his name is Matt somethingorother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭DK man

Anyone know when registration will open for this event -2014?

Is this a Garth Brooks sell out kinda affair or would I have plenty of time to try to loose a few pounds before committing?

I am a lazy bugger who is fond of food and sometimes beer! And need a target for motivation fuel.

I did im 70.3 in Galway first time it ran and was a bit turned off by the over commercialisation of im so I'd like to try a different promoter/organiser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun