Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you have a spare smoke?

• 01-09-2008 9:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

With the old recession looming, the price of cigarettes rising, I'm wondering do people still give other people free cigarettes?

Me, I do rollies. Used to hand one out, now only to mates. Randomer asks, I say no, or the old "I don't smoke".

Do you have a spare cigarette? 111 votes

Piss off ye free-loading swine!
    0% 0 votes
    Yes (to mates)
    33% 37 votes
    Yes (to everyone)
    45% 51 votes
    Yes (to hot members of the opposite sex at nightclubs)
    20% 23 votes

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Don't smoke so obviously don't give them out but I do plan asking people for some then packaging them up when I have 10 and selling them. I'll be rich I tells ya, rich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Fringe

Randomest time was in Ballyroan with a few friends walking along some quiet street when some guy with a very obvious smoke in his mouth asks us for a smoke. What a scabby ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭RoosterIllusion

When I used to smoke I once asked a guy outside a pub could I buy a cigarette off him, I had €2 to give him. It wasn't a rhetorical offer/request.

He told me to **** off and come out with money in future and threw the cigarette at me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭....shell....

i hate that...especially when your on a night out..i have no bother giving one to friends because it goes without saying that theyd do the same for me if i was stuck...but it annoys me when someone sees you handing your friend one and asks for one..you cant say no cos theyve seen how many you have ahhh :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 iTroll

I always take out my packet, make a quick count and reply Nope. None spare, gonna need them all. Sorry.

The is no such thing as a spare ciggie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

Hot chicks or mates only, sometimes mates get told to f-off if they have a job

Best is skanger teenage birds asking for one "You shouldnt smoke when your pregnant" "Im not fukin pregnant" "yea but its only a matter of time"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

I smoke rollies. They're cheap so I have no problem sparing one. But whoever is bumming the smoke will often see that they're not "real" and will turn his/her nose up at em :rolleyes: If you're scabby enough to be begging smokes you can't afford to be fussy, sheesh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭bythewoods

If I've been drinking I tend to be excessively generous, sometimes I even offer them to people (!), but in general I refuse.

And then i feel bad so i give them ends on mine.

€7.60 a box people! We're in a recession for god's sake :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭celticcutie

Fyr.Fytr wrote: »
    Hot chicks or mates only, sometimes mates get told to f-off if they have a job

Best is skanger teenage birds asking for one "You shouldnt smoke when your pregnant" "Im not fukin pregnant" "yea but its only a matter of time"

Priceless! Have ya actually said that to someone? More balls than brains I'm thinking :P If I tried that I know I'd be the one ending up with a black eye ;)

I always give em away - nothing worse than dying for one and not an open shop in sight!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭celticcutie

bythewoods wrote: »

And then i feel bad so i give them ends on mine.

Sweet - you're a gem :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

So, do people who ask strangers for smokes also ask them for other stuff?

"eh, can I have one of your crisps please?"

"Can I use your phone to text me mate?"

"Giz a sup of your beer"

Like, where do we draw the line? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Asking for a go with someone's gf is usually the line in my experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭LolaLuv

A couple weeks ago I was in a public park and someone asked me for a smoke. I gave him one and he offered me to smoke from his blunt in return. You never know what you might get in return for a cig!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭indough

i think when you realize what it can be like to really need a smoke and not have one then you tend to be more understanding towards someone asking for one...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

when i do smoke cigs its menthols, and nobody likes them, so its win win for me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

yeah I smoke Marlboro Reds so its kinda the same thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

In this recession, we have to economise. I get a day return to Brussels whenever they're cheap (7-15Euro return flight). I buy about 200 cigarettes and 500g of tobacco. It works out about a quarter of the price i'd pay here. :eek: And i get to stroll around Brussels for the day. It's a win win situation :D

Cigarettes in brussels- 3.30Euro
    Cigarettes in Ireland- 7.50Euro

Tobacco 25g in ireland- 7.70Euro
    Tobocco 50g in Brussels-3.30Euro (Twice as much for more than half the price!!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

you cant say no cos theyve seen how many you have ahhh :mad:

Why can't you say no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I don't get asked often so am inclined to share with anyone who asks. Besides I get them when I'm in the states so they're less than 2 euro/pack :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

biko wrote: »
    I don't get asked often so am inclined to share with anyone who asks. Besides I get them when I'm in the states so they're less than 2 euro/pack :)

^^ He does you know (I think I cadged a smoke from you once...)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

dont know bout you ladsbut I live in a City, there are 7-11's located everywhere if someone tries to bum a ciggy of me I will point this out to them

course out in the Bush its kinda diferent tho cos the biggest Marlboro packet is 25 and most of the lads smoke winfields in 50 packs, so I generally tend to run ot first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

Mates - yes
    Hot chicks - yes
    strangers - no
    everyone else - no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,962 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭JaneyMc

I give them to friends no problem because I know they would return the favour if I was stuck.
    Recently though when I'm out having lunch in the park near my job, I get asked at least once, usually twice a day by the Spanish/Italian students that descend upon Dublin during the Summer. After a week or two, I started getting annoyed and started saying no. I feel crap when I say no, but I can't afford to be giving away that many smokes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

mates: yes
    someone I know to see: yes
    hot chicks: yes
    everyone else: go away, you free-loading Canadians!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 777 ✭✭✭boogle

I used to work on Henry Street part-time in college. I was standing outside smoking a cigarette. I only brought one out of the shop with me and my lighter. Anyway, up comes this traveller girl, filthy dirty, coldsores all over her mouth and nose. She was a real mess. She asked me for a fag, I said "sorry, I only brought one with me", and says "gimme a drag of yours then" (EWWWWW!) I laughed and said "no way!". She then lunged at me and grabbed my cigarette lighter out of my hand (my zippo!). I grabbed her wrist wrested the lighter free with my free hand. She ran off down the street shouting all kinds of abuse at me and saying that she'll be back when I'm going home with a few of her brothers.

Couple of minutes later this young garda comes along and says to me "this one is accusing you of assaulting her". I explained to him what happened, and he said "yeah, she's well known anyway". She stood behind him screaming about how I'd just broken her wrist. He told her to get off the street and if he saw her or any of her family in the area today he's arrest them.

So, haven't gotten into any street fights since I quit smoking. Still have that zippo though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Don't smoke, but I seem to give the impression that I do. Plenty of people have remarked to me, "Oh you've given up?", despite me having never actually smoked full time in my life.

Had a guy ask me for a smoke outside a nightclub one night a few years back. I told him I don't smoke. "Alright, fair search?" he says. "Fuck off", I says.

Imagine asking for 20c for the bus and then saying "Fair search"...

For those who don't know what "fair search" means, I used to encounter it in school where if you claimed you had no cigarettes, people thought it was only fair that they were allow to search you to make sure :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭nomorebadtown

PillyPen wrote: »
    A couple weeks ago I was in a public park and someone asked me for a smoke. I gave him one and he offered me a smoke from his blunt in return. You never know what you might get in return for a cig!

that was a metaphor. careful now.

indough wrote: »
    i think when you realize what it can be like to really need a smoke and not have one then you tend to be more understanding towards someone asking for one...

True, I've been so stuck for one in the past that I'll always give one if i have one spare.
    jaffa20 wrote: »
    In this recession, we have to economise. I get a day return to Brussels whenever they're cheap (7-15Euro return flight). I buy about 200 cigarettes and 500g of tobacco. It works out about a quarter of the price i'd pay here. :eek: And i get to stroll around Brussels for the day. It's a win win situation :D

Cigarettes in brussels- 3.30Euro
    Cigarettes in Ireland- 7.50Euro

Tobacco 25g in ireland- 7.70Euro
    Tobocco 50g in Brussels-3.30Euro (Twice as much for more than half the price!!)

When i was over there, I got a green pack of this rolling toboacco called "Belgam" and can't get the fecking stuff anywhere. How often do you go over and is it really that cheap? I'd love to get me hands on some more, nicer than any tobacco i've ever smoked (rollies or filtered).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭allybhoy

Don't smoke so obviously don't give them out but I do plan asking people for some then packaging them up when I have 10 and selling them. I'll be rich I tells ya, rich.

You will have to wait till you scab 20 then sell em, otherwise you'd be breaking the law, because kids these days are so stupid they havnt figured out how to pool their money together to pay a box of 20.

If im in a smoking garden or outside a pub\NC etc, I do give smokes out if people ask for 1, but I expect some manners or even a small bit of light conversation. If im walking down the street and a couple of scobies ask me for a smoke I simply say "no mate dont walk off"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

When i was over there, I got a green pack of this rolling toboacco called "Belgam" and can't get the fecking stuff anywhere. How often do you go over and is it really that cheap? I'd love to get me hands on some more, nicer than any tobacco i've ever smoked (rollies or filtered).

I'll post you some ;)

zuutroy wrote: »
    I'll post you some ;)

Seriously? Drop us a pm.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Seriously? Drop us a pm.....

Jees you've got it bad!...Is it legal to post tobbacage?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

its bad enought when you get scabs (non friends) asking for smokes but they way they ask. if they should decency and reasonable politiness, then maybe have the time i would give them a smoke, as i know what its like without them.

they only need to be approximately a few hundred metres away and you know that they are going to ask or shout "give us a smoke".

thank god i am on the rollies, even the mates are too good to smoke them.

the worst people are the part time smokers who announced they gave them up, and tell you that they are a waste of money, yet seem to have no problem asking for one when they are half pissed. its not that hard, pick money out of pocket, sarcifice one pint or that double vodka... proceed to fag machine and smoke. f*cking scabs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭LolaLuv

biko wrote: »

Where in the states do you get them for so cheap?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

When I used to smoke I once asked a guy outside a pub could I buy a cigarette off him, I had €2 to give him. It wasn't a rhetorical offer/request.

He told me to **** off and come out with money in future and threw the cigarette at me.

Was it me?
    I've told people to do that before.
    If you afford drink, you can afford cigarettes.

when i do smoke cigs its menthols, and nobody likes them, so its win win for me.
    Where do you get them these days?
    I remember the chemists used to sell them, but that's going back to the late 80's.

seamus wrote: »
    Don't smoke, but I seem to give the impression that I do. Plenty of people have remarked to me, "Oh you've given up?", despite me having never actually smoked full time in my life.

Had a guy ask me for a smoke outside a nightclub one night a few years back. I told him I don't smoke. "Alright, fair search?" he says. "Fuck off", I says.

For those who don't know what "fair search" means, I used to encounter it in school where if you claimed you had no cigarettes, people thought it was only fair that they were allow to search you to make sure :rolleyes:
    Fair search. :)
    I haven't heard that in years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I have a friend that is the same, kinda looks like a smoker. I am always offering her smokes even though I know she never touches them. Weird.
    PillyPen wrote: »
    Where in the states do you get them for so cheap?
    Usually Logan airport, Boston. You can pick up 5 cartons (100 boxes) for just over $100. Actually it works out much less than 2 euro... yay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

the_syco wrote: »
    With the old recession looming, the price of cigarettes rising, I'm wondering do people still give other people free cigarettes?

Me, I do rollies. Used to hand one out, now only to mates. Randomer asks, I say no, or the old "I don't smoke".

was this thread started because i had no ciggies on friday ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

You should have given me a shout. I would have sorted you out.

ive a nice pack of B&H here now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Soby

tallaght01 wrote: »
    So, do people who ask strangers for smokes also ask them for other stuff?

"eh, can I have one of your crisps please?"

"Can I use your phone to text me mate?"

"Giz a sup of your beer"

Like, where do we draw the line? :P

kinda off topic but while back some "mad yolk" asks for the use of one of me and my mates phone..we all say the usual "no credit sorry" then he kept asking one my mates go just f off...whats the lad do..takes out his phone and rings his mate to come down to us and "sort us out" :confused::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

He just wanted to cop a feel... Jeez, guys really are blind to flirting... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Zangetsu

I'm shocked at how many scabby ****s there are on this thread :s Its painful to watch...

Always help out a smoker in need! (ex-smoker btw 2 weeks and ccounting ^^)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

was this thread started because i had no ciggies on friday ?
    No. Wasn't smokin' ciggies either :P

=-=

I smoke rollies, so if they ask, I roll one for myself, they see me rollin, (they hatin') and f**k off, and I smoke it. The few who stay around smoke rollies themselves, and we usually talk about different tobaccos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Long way to go before your an ex smoker.....takes more than 2 weeks!

I always thought it was so cheeky to bum cigarettes off people - you wouldn't go up begging for anything else. And cigarettes are so expensive! The person asked always feels put on the spot, and either feel obliged to give away the smoke or look stingy. I hate anyone asking for anything really, a girl in my class today (who I don't know) asked me for a sip of water from my bottle. Like, buy your own bottle, FFS, I don't want to share your spit?! Who in their right mind asks that to someone who isn't at least a friend? And even then only if you're desperate! I just think it's really rude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭RuailleBuaille

If you don't say please, you can fuck right off.
    I can't believe the amount of people (okay, teenagers) who have no problem approaching a stranger, asking for something FOR FREE and not using basic manners! :eek: If you want something, at least say please!

also damn you boards, thanks to AH i have actually driven to tesco , bought a pack of drum and started rolling here now,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭FOGOFUNK

Ive done that before, some sap outside a place on camden street, pure posh **** comes out with a load of change offering me a euro for a smoke, I asked him "Why dont you just buy a pack with all that change?", He says "Im two euro short!", so I plonk a 2 euro in his hand and he looks real dissapointed, he says;"Aw no man, I just want one smoke!"

So I just threw a smoke in his face.

Im usually a nice guy really:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 605 ✭✭✭j1smithy

they only need to be approximately a few hundred metres away and you know that they are going to ask or shout "give us a smoke".

Do you always carry binoculars with you?? :rolleyes: