Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Spiders On Steroids

• 01-09-2008 8:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭

Global warming,mild winters,wet summers,lots of food...say what ya want...but spiders are with out doubt getting to huge sizes in this country.

Out havin a smoke the other night..and spotted this bad boy climbing the fence.

I think its a house spider...but could be wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 662 ✭✭✭LovelyTom

That is a huge spider!

Down in wexford there are about 4 spiders of similar size in my shed! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

jaysus! i thought the one in my living room was bad but thats one huge f***er you have there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

just a house spider, they can grow big but they fall apart like no ones business, just brush off him and legs go flying, I reckon your common or garden spider would kick it's ass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭Clytus

Thing is though...I never ever remember seing spiders that size growing up...so somethings amiss.

Have a decent size garden spider down the back garden...he's havin a ball...everytime I go have a squint he's stuffin his gob on something.
    He was eating an wood louse yeasterday...( How a wood louse gets into a web 2 feet off the ground I dont know...)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭WooPeeA

Spiders are usually cowards and don't bite. Usually...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

Did you give him a name yet, OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

That's not big?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭hiltonhater

WooPeeA wrote: »
    Spiders are usually cowards and don't bite. Usually...

irish spiders dont have the fang facility for such talents!"

you should see the aussie spiders - not only are they huge and ugly but also vicious lil bastids

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭GabiP

He's a bit of a whopper alright
    I have seen bigger ones indoors though
    & one particularly MASSIFFFF one in my Mammy's back garden Uwige he was. Should have taken a pic.

irish spiders dont have the fang facility for such talents!"

you should see the aussie spiders - not only are they huge and ugly but also vicious lil bastids
    You'd be surprised.. I was bitten by standard garden cross-spider few times in life. Hopefully not in Ireland but spiders looked pretty the same.

I heard that Australian spiders are aggressive and can attack first with no reason somewhere..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭mumhaabu

I had one massive fella in a bath recently after the house was unoccupied for about a month, Sweet Jebus he was like 5 inches in diameter I nearly died when I saw him I do think the trend is toward bigger lazier SUV type spiders. The really creep me out but we should all realise that we eat 3 spiders a year when we are asleep they creep into our mouths and get devoured.

Sleep tight my arachnophiles. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,895 ✭✭✭matchthis

Saw this bad boy one day
    Spida.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭mumhaabu

matchthis wrote: »
    Saw this bad boy one day
    Spida.jpg

Damn you now I can't get that rhyme out of my head,

spider pig, spider pig, does whatever a spider pig does! humming merrily to myself in a half sleepy state!

mumhaabu wrote: »
    I had one massive fella in a bath recently after the house was unoccupied for about a month, Sweet Jebus he was like 5 inches in diameter I nearly died when I saw him I do think the trend is toward bigger lazier SUV type spiders. The really creep me out but we should all realise that we eat 3 spiders a year when we are asleep they creep into our mouths and get devoured.

Nothing better than extra proteins for good start of the day! :D

There was one the size of my hand in the bathtub this weekend.
    I hold life sacred, and trees make me feel cuddley and warm inside.
    But I just had to murder that fecker. I was afraid he wasn't as peaceable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Dublin_Chica

I saw the BIGGEST spider i have ever seen on sat, twas at least the size of my hand. I swear to god nearly had a heart attack when i saw it. Ugh they just frek me out!! Even the pic posted by the OP sent shivers up my spine :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Clytus wrote: »
    Global warming,mild winters,wet summers,lots of food...say what ya want...but spiders are with out doubt getting to huge sizes in this country.

Out havin a smoke the other night..and spotted this bad boy climbing the fence.

I think its a house spider...but could be wrong.

Scared to get any closer eh......................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭shoelaceface

PERHAPS....
    they have been hanging around plants that are dosed in miracle grow..... and they take some of this in and wam bam you have a big spider........

ORRRR...... maybe they're not your average spider... maybe they have been sent from another planet... i think they want to take over leitrim..... they just cant find it yet...

ORRRRR...... they might be pigging out in mcdonalds.... the human population isnt getting smaller... either are the spiders... they want to be fat mammas

alternatively they might be just big..... might have something to do with the celtic tiger.... or croke park?

who knows! just some of my opinions! feel free to disagree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Kur4mA

Moonbaby wrote: »
    There was one the size of my hand in the bathtub this weekend.
    I hold life sacred, and trees make me feel cuddley and warm inside.
    But I just had to murder that fecker. I was afraid he wasn't as peaceable.

OMG same! The missus went into the bathroom then started screaming literally about a spider. I got worried immediately as I have quite a major fear of the bastards and she usually handles them no bother. When she started freaking out I knew something was up. She says "OMFG you have to come in and look at this fecker!" So I did... :(

He was HUGE and stuck in the bath trying to run up the sides of it. Luckily the bath was soaked so he had no chance. The missus then put the shower head on to try flush him down the drain while I stood, watching and screaming like a girl but he was having none of it until we put it on full blast.

I'll tell you one thing, ALL of our plugs are now plugged the fook in! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,818 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

Looks piddly small to me tbh. There were 6 of these chaps in my shed on Sunday.

When the weather turns cooler in the next few weeks they'll move into the house. We go through phases of catching up to 5 of these buggers per night from September through to early November.

Mrs Billy killed one one evening & when I got home I couldn't fully cover it with a cigarette packet he was so big.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

we should all realise that we eat 3 spiders a year when we are asleep they creep into our mouths and get devoured.

Wrong! That "fact" was actually totally made up as a deliberate example of something that people will believe just because they read it on the internet/got it in an email.

The ironing, as they say, is delicious...

http://www.snopes.com/science/stats/spiders.asp

i thought we eat 8.... either way nyom nyom.... delicous!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

i thought we eat 8.... either way nyom nyom.... delicous!

maybe you just attract them! 3 for the rest of us. No wonder i have a tickle in my throat today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

You don't eat any! Jeez!

i eat them... and i dont mean during my sleep

nyom nyom

emo!! wrote: »
    maybe you just attract them! 3 for the rest of us. No wonder i have a tickle in my throat today.

il eat you, you ostrich :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭LouOB

My shed has become a nest for some of the most evil spiders going
    Even my cats wont go near the shed now

LouOB wrote: »
    My shed has become a nest for some of the most evil spiders going
    Even my cats wont go near the shed now

more than likely aliens living in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

more than likely aliens living in it

I have a peaceful accord with the Spiders in my shed, there are skirmishes every so often when i catch the odd one trying to infiltrate my house, but in general its peaceful!

Steve_o wrote: »

I have a peaceful accord with the Spiders in my shed, there are skirmishes every so often when i catch the odd one trying to infiltrate my house, but in general its peaceful!

sometimes i think i am a spider..... i like to climb the walls and trap insects.... take the other day for example, i trapped a wasp in a glass and ate it... nyom nyom

can i come live in your shed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭diamondp

My neighbour has 4 cats one of which is more like a lion, about 2 years ago he was sitting on his sofa when he spotted this huge spider runing across the floor, the cat spots him to and gose to chase him and the spider turned went up on his back legs and went to attack the cat. yes the huge half lion cat was getting attack by the spider. the cat turned and ran off and my neighbour was right behind him. he was so big id say he'd stop traffic if he was to cross the road. now that scared me. :eek::eek:

sometimes i think i am a spider..... i like to climb the walls and trap insects.... take the other day for example, i trapped a wasp in a glass and ate it... nyom nyom

can i come live in your shed?

You will have to speak to the benevalent Overlord of the spiders... i'm sure he'll be cool with it though...:pac:

diamondp wrote: »
    My neighbour has 4 cats one of which is more like a lion, about 2 years ago he was sitting on his sofa when he spotted this huge spider runing across the floor, the cat spots him to and gose to chase him and the spider turned went up on his back legs and went to attack the cat. yes the huge half lion cat was getting attack by the spider. the cat turned and ran off and my neighbour was right behind him. he was so big id say he'd stop traffic if he was to cross the road. now that scared me. :eek::eek:

and then elephants fell through the ceiling and landed on grannys carnations and then..... 'to be continued'

Steve_o wrote: »
    You will have to speak to the benevalent Overlord of the spiders... i'm sure he'll be cool with it though...:pac:

where might i find him??? lord berkelys knob??? (a real place in scotland.... apparently everyone wants to go there and sit on top of it!)

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

There was a giant house spidery thing in the house (otherwise its just a giant spidery thing) and I caught in under a pint glass. So off I wander down the stairs to the front door and walked over the other side of the garden. With a big swing I empty the contents of the glass into the bush. *wanders back to house happy*

2 minutes later the house spider was back. The so called "flying spider from the glass" was amis. Instead the little fuqer managed to hang on to me. I sat there and saw this thing crawling up my arm towards my shouler. Hence wild dancing and screaming around the room trying to get it off. It managed to fall off and again I repeated the same feat. (wasnt going to kill him now after being a good survivor). Out to the garden, arms at full stretch and I empty the glass. There was a loud "thud" off the plant then a scuttling noise. Bastird.

antodeco wrote: »
    There was a giant house spidery thing in the house (otherwise its just a giant spidery thing) and I caught in under a pint glass. So off I wander down the stairs to the front door and walked over the other side of the garden. With a big swing I empty the contents of the glass into the bush. *wanders back to house happy*

2 minutes later the house spider was back. The so called "flying spider from the glass" was amis. Instead the little fuqer managed to hang on to me. I sat there and saw this thing crawling up my arm towards my shouler. Hence wild dancing and screaming around the room trying to get it off. It managed to fall off and again I repeated the same feat. (wasnt going to kill him now after being a good survivor). Out to the garden, arms at full stretch and I empty the glass. There was a loud "thud" off the plant then a scuttling noise. Bastird.

it wasnt a spider.... i bet it was an elephant dressed up as a spider... or else a burglar!!

fook it.. it was spiderman.... the loud thud was his fat mcdonalds ass!

it wasnt a spider.... i bet it was an elephant dressed up as a spider... or else a burglar!!

fook it.. it was spiderman.... the loud thud was his fat mcdonalds ass!

I think the thud may have been from the mouse it was carrying in its mouth! :D

yeah sure... my story is more realistic in fairness......

How about an elephant in a spiderman costume?

SpiderPhant

How about an elephant in a spiderman costume?

SpiderPhant

spiderphant it is...... :O

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭Dfens

I sleep with my mouth open the whole time...jaysus....I was wondering why I kept putting on weight...:P

spiderphant it is...... :O

Well i never....
    Dfens wrote: »
    I sleep with my mouth open the whole time...jaysus....I was wondering why I kept putting on weight...:P

Darn spiders are full of calories!! Scuttling heart attacks they are!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

Im quite shocked that you people have encountered arachnids of this size. Ive never seen one more than a couple of inchs big

I don't mind them that much. I used to keep a little fella in my room. He just appeared in the corner one day, making a web. I was about to do the deed, when I thought; "Hmm this guy could kill flys, that would so cool to watch!". So I let him be
    I never saw him kill anything but he was there for a good 6 weeks until....
    Im watching tv one night and this thing scuttles across my chest, "wtf?". Turn the lamp on and im greeted by 4/5 spider babys running about and mostly on my bed. "He" turned out to be a "she"

The small fella's are grand but anything bigger then 3 inchs is gonna make me grab a shotgun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭Warhammer

Krieg wrote: »

The small fella's are grand but anything bigger then 3 inchs is gonna make me grab a shotgun

ha ha ha ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,780 ✭✭✭JohnK

WooPeeA wrote: »
    I heard that Australian spiders are aggressive and can attack first with no reason somewhere..
    I'm recently back from Australia and I've seen bigger spiders here since I returned than I ever saw in Oz :(

JohnK wrote: »
    I'm recently back from Australia and I've seen bigger spiders here since I returned than I ever saw in Oz :(

BET YOU NEVER SAW A SPIDERPHANT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,792 ✭✭✭Mark Hamill

I've never seen a spider on steroids before, although I have seen the effects of other drugs on spiders:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

BET YOU NEVER SAW A SPIDERPHANT

bet you have either, its you mind playing tricks on you.

Warhammer wrote: »
    You think that is big? Look at that one!! :eek:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3DsaXfNgQZ4