Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What current / new car brings a smile to your face

• 29-08-2008 10:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭

What current / new car brings a smile to your face when you see one on the road.

For me it would be the new Fiat 500, I think it strikes the right balance between the old and new, and achive's something that neither the current Beetle or Mini can in style, IMO.

If I was in the market for a new supermini I would definitly give it serious consideration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭jayok

For me the Nissan Tida - I can't but help and laugh at the owner! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭WHITE_P

jayok wrote: »

LOL, wouldn't disagree with you there, but I was thinking more in terms of a car you would like to own yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭RedorDead

jayok wrote: »

I agree but sometimes i get this guilty feeling and feel sorry for them because they are all over 75 and know no better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Bandara

Bentley Continental, I fecking love them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 174 ✭✭futura123

audi tts in black but i would say that cos i own it:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

R8 - every other "supercar" driver makes me feel like screaming "C*CK!" at them as they pass by, but not R8 drivers, for some reason I just think "good for you!". :)

I also love to see the A5.

I guess the reason I love the two cars above is not because of the cars specifically, but because they represent the revitalisation of a brand I love.

The 500's definitely a contender too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Daihatsu Copen and Fiat 500 always make me happy. I also love the Volvo C30

(so much that I posted twice....)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Bandara

AudiChris wrote: »
    R8 - every other "supercar" driver makes me feel like screaming "C*CK!" at them as they pass by, but not R8 drivers, for some reason I just think "good for you!". :)

I also love to see the A5.

I guess the reason I love the two cars above is not because of the cars specifically, but because they represent the revitalisation of a brand I love.

The 500's definitely a contender too.

A touch of bias there Chris?

:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,618 ✭✭✭milltown

Ditto on the 500. Also the Punto actually. Whenever I see one I can't help thinking FIAT design great looking small cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭TheBazman

A5/S5 - I think they are some of the best looking motors on the road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

I split my hole laughing at a 107 with 5 people in it trying to take off from traffic lights this evening:D:D:D

I actually thought there were 4 people in the back the driver's head was that close to the rear seat passengers'

To like and drive:
    Mini Cooper John Cooper Works

107 only has 4 seats!

colm_mcm wrote: »
    107 only has 4 seats!

we laughed...our jaws:pac::pac::pac:. It was like watching the over 80s inter-parish soccer match on Fr. Ted watching hime pull away from the lights in front of us:D:D

Hammertime wrote: »
    A touch of bias there Chris?

:P

What gave it away?? :P:D

:D:D

WTF is the thums up button gone??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭woop

recently Im liking the c30 volvo.......expensive and not practical but its cool and not everything has to make sense or serve its function so well worth it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭victor1

softtop micra, why bother?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

The new 2 door Corsa looks great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

I practically drool when I see one of these out and about and always try to show my approval to the driver. Best in Red or Grey I think.

alfaromeo159tiks3.jpg

Agree with Chris about the R8, there is something very "honest" about it that doesn't scream flash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭frag4

VW Scirocco - its out tormorrow and I'm thinking it will be my next car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭superjosh9

+1 on the 500 and Volvo C30!

There are two cars for some bizarre reason make me feel some kind of inner lift:

Nissan Qashqai (It makes sense)
    Skoda Fabia Combi (It makes *perfect* sense)
    BMW 1-series (Because they're not in a 3-series? I don't know...)

I know, I know, but I don't know why.

superjosh9 wrote: »
    +
    Nissan Qashqai (It makes sense)

No, it's a clever marketing exercise that seems to have made Nissan a mint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

victor1 wrote: »
    softtop micra, why bother?

haha
    Going out the dual carrage way today i was overtaking one of these. My friend started tapping my arm and nearly shouted "Gary....Gary!! WTF happened that micra?????"
    I couldn't stop laughing.
    And probably the R8. There must be like four in Limerick. One of which was in the petrol station last week. Fella didn't look like he could drive it. Kept cutting it out, i think. When i was inside i thought we were being attacked. The sound of it. Beauty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

Dodge Challenger:

Concept_Dodge_Challenger_frontangle_mfr_430.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭daraghmack

Generally was never a fan of any Fiat but I really think they have done an amazing job with the new 500, its so so retro yet modern at the same time, everytime I see one I think of a cornetto ad or some old film with a 1970's 500 driving past the leaning tower of Pisa. Fiat have really hit the nail on the head moreso than VW with the beetle or BMW with the mini.

I'm with ye on the R8 .... amazing car.

Sheer amusement factor is the Pug 1007 with the eletronic sliding doors.

And when I have somewhere to store it I'm going to restore a 1983 MK I Golf GTI which will make me smile on a Sunday!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Octavia VRs TDi in Race Blue :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

ninty9er wrote: »
    I split my hole laughing at a 107 with 5 people in it trying to take off from traffic lights this evening:D:D:D

I actually thought there were 4 people in the back the driver's head was that close to the rear seat passengers'

Lol i laughed when i first read it, now i'm laughin more.
    Just outta town and infront of me was a 97c reg'd Fiat Sceinco...(the toaster) with no less that five people in it. The back wheels were like this / \ and the car was no more then an inch off the ground. Pissed myself laughing at it haha

Ps. it was pink as well :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,125 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

So many, I wouldn't know where to start. But I suppose I'll twentysecond the new 500. Cool :cool:
    every other "supercar" driver makes me feel like screaming "C*CK!" at them as they pass by

You a bit of a begrudger so, Chris? :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

My new Focus diesel, I'm still smiling as I haven't had to fill it up since I bought it over three weeks ago!

I'm still smiling as I haven't had to fill it up since I bought it over three weeks ago!

I haven't filled op my V8 petrol BMW for months ;)

I'm not smiling though...

unkel wrote: »
    I haven't filled op my V8 petrol BMW for months ;)

I'm not smiling though...

Any considerations towards keeping it Unkel?

Had another look at it there, fantastic motor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 RubberMammy

Laugh it up.

I think you'll be lucky to see an 09 on the road in five months time.

bigkev49 wrote: »
    Any considerations towards keeping it Unkel?

Tbh, I could do with the money. That said, a sale for reasonable money is looking less likely by the day. Newish development is that Mrs unkel is now very insurable on the car and it is up to me to convince her to take the 7-series for a test drive and to organise it (switch insurance). She reckons she likes her manuals. So did I before I got my first proper auto :D

Sorry for off topic!

Or an Irish sold BMW for that matter.

It sems like every BMW on the road nowdays is an Import.

Welldone Internet!

You a bit of a begrudger so, Chris? :(

I don't mean to be!

I love to see an M3, M5, Skyline, RS4, RS6, any AMG, etc. I love cars, and those machines are real feats of engineering.

For some reason though, when I see someone in a bright red Ferrari or Aston, I don't get the same feeling of admiration.

I know a Ferrari is also an amazing feat of engineering, but I can't help but get the feeling that the owner bought it for something other than it's driving prowess...

It's all down to my personal taste, but I've always preferred the stealthy performance of an RS4 to the more obvious machines like a Ferrari (not meaning to pick on it, just the first car of its ilk coming to mind).

And then, somewhere in the middle of that comes the R8 - it could be considered in the supercar league (it's certainly not stealthy), but when I see one I don't have the same negative reaction as I do with other supercars.

Although, as above, I do have a bit of a bias... :D

I can't help but get the feeling that the owner bought it for something other than it's driving prowess...

You're probably right in most cases. That said, what does it matter?

Anyways I don't care who buys new supercars. What I do care about is that people buy them and keep them on the road. Fair play to them. To all of them. To every single person who buys an extraordinary car!

It means that ordinary folk on ordinary incomes like you are me could one day own and drive a great car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

I don't mean to be!

I love to see an M3, M5, Skyline, RS4, RS6, any AMG, etc. I love cars, and those machines are real feats of engineering.

For some reason though, when I see someone in a bright red Ferrari or Aston, I don't get the same feeling of admiration.

I know a Ferrari is also an amazing feat of engineering, but I can't help but get the feeling that the owner bought it for something other than it's driving prowess...

It's all down to my personal taste, but I've always preferred the stealthy performance of an RS4 to the more obvious machines like a Ferrari (not meaning to pick on it, just the first car of its ilk coming to mind).

And then, somewhere in the middle of that comes the R8 - it could be considered in the supercar league (it's certainly not stealthy), but when I see one I don't have the same negative reaction as I do with other supercars.

I know what you're saying alright, but for me the RS's have lost appeal. I used love the RS6, no one knew what it was. Now every clown knows what an RS4 and RS6 are, as you can tell by the TDi badge brigade. Audi have become part of the default money option. You get money, you buy an Audi/BMW/Merc/Aston/Ferrari etc.
    On the other hand, if I saw someone driving a 959 I'd almost wave out of respect! Or the orginal Quattro Coupe, and max kudos to the SWB S1 drivers! There was a SWB for sale for ages on Autotrader in the UK, for 19,995 sterling. If only I had the money for it! Skyline's have fallen too far into the twincam type cult following. NSX drivers on the other hand are uber cool! They defy the "you spent HOW MUCH on a Honda???" type people.
    The F40 is the Ferrari of choice, the fact that it has no carpets instantly turns off the "I won the lotto and I want a Ferrari" crowd, leaving only the people who know what one is about.

You're probably right in most cases. That said, what does it matter?

It matters not a jot, unkel.

And if you asked those drivers what they thought of me, I'd say they'd think my opinion of them doesn't matter a hell of a lot either. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭dingding

3 Door BMW 1 Series. :D

It only clicked with me the other evening that the 123d that I saw must actually be a properly fast piece of kit. Bigg-ish engine in a teeny little car. Anyone here had a go?

And as for the 135 M Sport i'd say it's a hoot. The looks really don't appeal to me though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

My 106 GTi makes me smile every time i get in it.
    but if i cant choose my own yolk id have to say the new E92 M3, beautiful.

we hey.. 1000th post:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭the merchant

Alfa Brera .... sexy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭robbie99

There's a white E92 MSport going around my area which is probably only a 320d but it's still gorgeous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

I don't mean to be!

I'm with you 100% on both choices, in fact R8 and A5 were top of my list.
    I never had been a big fan of Audi visually, TT did very little for me, A3 made me laugh in the wrong way, A6 and A8 too much about the grill but not enough about the rest of the style.
    But both the A5 and R8 cars induce immediate desire.

And like you, the R8 comparison to a Ferrari is immediate, the moment you spot one, you are thinking Italian but you are seeing German.
    It's as if Ferrari have been trying too hard to come up with something fresh and Audi went "what about this?" But we'll do it in black.

And if you are looking for an "economical" supercar, Top Gear showed it trouncing the opposition in the mpg stakes.

In the A5, Audi seem to have gotten the real car styling just right.
    BMW on the other hand have gone a bit astray with some of their details.
    The new Citroen C5 looks like it might have taken a few style pointers fro the A5 also and fairs well from it.

The 350z catches my eye but as for the Fiat 500 this will definitely bring a smile;)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ipq7uJGytw4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Biro wrote: »
    Or the orginal Quattro Coupe, and max kudos to the SWB S1 drivers! There was a SWB for sale for ages on Autotrader in the UK, for 19,995 sterling. If only I had the money for it!
    Was that a real SWB? Sounds like very good value to me, i've always liked them too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Just did a google, I reckon yours must have been a Dialynx replica. Check this out: http://www.pistonheads.com/SALES/655677.htm

Anan1 wrote: »
    Was that a real SWB? Sounds like very good value to me, i've always liked them too.

Yep, wide arches, higher bonnet with the front vents, 395bhp...

bigkev49 wrote: »
    It only clicked with me the other evening that the 123d that I saw must actually be a properly fast piece of kit. Bigg-ish engine in a teeny little car. Anyone here had a go?

And as for the 135 M Sport i'd say it's a hoot. The looks really don't appeal to me though.

The problem with the 135 M Sport is that it looks completely shyte. Save for a bit longer and get the 335 instead!