Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gamers & Internet & RL= Airsoft?

• 29-08-2008 1:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭

I've always noticed a trend whereby lots of airsofters are/were gamers of some kind i.e Shiva, and it got me thinking.
    Does airsoft really appeal to Gamers and to them mainly?
    Is this Real Life (RL) version of Counter-strike the reason they are into it.

So with this im looking at getting a poll.
    How many of you played Quake, CS, UT, Source, BF1942 or any other FPS in a community/online fashion?

Please don't make this about what FPS is the current trend etc...

Did/Do you Game? 44 votes

Yeah, CS/Quake/UT/BF and all the other FPS's
    0% 0 votes
    Nah i loike Cars & football, stupid nerds...
    81% 36 votes
    Religion: Jedi :)
    18% 8 votes

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

nah, all that gaming stuff is for geeks!., theres too many of ya around now these days., lol :D

I always did love the clancy games though....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Feck of with CS, Source over 1.6 anyday(No its not better, you're just old!), TF2...loads of games. Anyone have steam or XBL, PM me you're account name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

not me

i've always liked forests and guns
    now i can shoot my friends and they dont die

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭Killinator

Call of Duty, Battlefield, Rainbow Six played them all online on the 360 or ps3 and they have been a factor in starting playing airsoft,
    In fact I bought the SR25 becasue I enjoyed it so much in rainbow six vegas 2:D
    That said I was in the RDF before hand and had enjoyed shooting and various training excercises

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Dr_Pepper

Poll added, jesus you guys were fast!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭Sod'o swords

Recent FPS for me.
    Didn't have broadband until recently so stuck to RTS really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Quake, Team Fortress Classic, HL-Deathmatch, CS, Day of Defeat, Planetside (MMO), Battlefield 2, Starwars Galaxies (MMO), CS: Source, DOD: Source, TF2, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭plastic_axe

ive played cod for years. buying a g36c was a direct result of using it as my main weapon in cod4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

counter strike, day of defeat and any fps game that was going

played alot of rts games too

but i think mainly the reason i got into airsoft was i was paying paintball..and it was so expensive

but i firmly believe know airsoft is much the better for the people that play it and the gear, and the team working aspect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 Rascal77

Yeah,been playing them for years and still do.Any fps with modern weapons are what I like.Cod 4,ghost recon,rainbow 6 and so on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭[--SC(+)PE--]

Played Dod since the early Beta 1.3 up untill Dod Source came out [about 6 years] :rolleyes: played CS before that and Bf2 after it which i gave up as soon as Airsoft became legal :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭kevteljeur

Used to play Quake a bit, 1, 2 and 3. And role-playing games, too, which is probably where more of my interest in airsoft comes from - in fact, it's the human interaction aspect which I enjoy most about airsoft. I only wish there was more of it, rather than running and shouting. Oh, and shooting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I play only FPS games, though I always hated CS in all its forms. Mostly play Call of Duty series, Soldier of Fortune 2. Wouldn't say it has much bearing on why I like airsoft though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

I've always wondered what the whole Computer Game Banter mixed with airsofting was
    all about. even with AI you see computer games being reviewed and I was thinking
    what the heck??

~B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,469 ✭✭✭weeder

i play fps games, i highly dislike any form of counter strike,video games have nothing to do with my starting of airsoft

weeder wrote: »
    video games have nothing to do with my starting of airsoft

You say that but clearly there is a trend there. Just look at the poll.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Dr_Pepper wrote: »
    You say that but clearly there is a trend there. Just look at the poll.

There being a trend doesn't have to mean you suddenly know his own opinion better then he does? Most males play video games, in fact there isn't a single friend of mine who doesn't own several FPS titles in their gaming library, even though who are entirely casual gamers or even dedicated gamers in other genres. But who's to say that that means that it has a direct bearing on their interest in airsoft? I know that before I old enough to develop a liking for FPS games, I was always into military history and firearms - It just so happens that I play games as well....it doesn't mean games are inherently linked to interests. Sure, probably 90% of lads play soccer, and the bulk of those again probably play Pro Evo, Fifa, etc, but it's hardly correct to say their interest in soccer came solely from playing games, is it? Just because there's a trend, it doesn't mean it necessarily represents anything whatsoever...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭Sod'o swords

Also if there is a trend that's nice.
    Nothing much about it really.
    Both contain guns so if anything this is expected really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,469 ✭✭✭weeder

genuinely fps is probabaly my least played genre,that said i can also spend months playing nothing else at the same time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,602 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Started playing Half Life DM online in 98 or 99 and continued to do so for a very long till untill the advent of Steam. Got really pissed off waiting for all the updates every time I turned it on. Being on dialup at the time.

Nothing like a couple of skilled players going head to head. Something almost...hmm...magestic about it.

CS seemed slow and clunky in comparison. Never caught the hype.

But yeah, as soon as someone makes a Tau Cannon airsoft rifle, it's mine :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭seamus-2k7

I used to play alot of games BF's and cod4 were my favorite but the more I got into airsoft the less intrested I became in gaming. Now I only game with mates.
    I don't think games is the only reason I play airsoft although I first heard about airsoft playing 360:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭OzCam

I was a SysOp on MUD in '88/89 , working in "a datacentre in North London".

Official Secrets Act applied, and still does, so I can't say where ;)

http://www.mud.co.uk/richard/incarns.htm

No hi-res graphics or 8Mb DSL in those days, you had to use your imagination. :eek:

I particularly remember two characters in the game, one the nicest most helpful guy you could play with, the other an infamous, total, utter, hateful bastard. So feared that other players used to log off when he appeared.

They were, of course, the same person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

I play video games albeit not as much as i used to, but I'm into my cars, football and beer so I'm at a loss as to what selection i should make!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

OzCam wrote: »

They were, of course, the same person.
    It was you wasn't it! Admit it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭MacAonghusa

Only play offline shooters in between nappy changes. Prefer being out and about tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Original Quake, Unreal Tournament, Tactical Ops and Day of Defeat Both sourced and unsourced :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭OzCam

zero19 wrote: »
    It was you wasn't it! Admit it :D

Sadly, no, I wasn't good enough as a player. No time to get proficient, even at 4 in the morning.

Damn good VMS SysOp, though, if I do say so myself. Some of the wizards in that game were awesome.

DoD.

Point Captured!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

lol conor haha

i can still remember all the voices form that game

Scharfutze!!!!

(sniper)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭Dread-Lock

I'll play any FPS I can get my hands on, especially if its an MMO.
    But my love of guns came at a much earlier age. Running around with cap guns...those were the days...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭Killinator

Whatever about about any link between playing games and airsofting, theres a definite link between the game types played in games and airsoft

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

FPS games sometimes leave me feeling ill...a type of motion sickness. A rollercoaster is fine, air travel is fine....but don't put me in front of a Half Life 2 game for 5 mins or I'm sick as a very sick dog.

I don't think it has anything to do with me playing airsoft though. I just wanted to shoot guns. Back when I was a kid, and under the age of criminal responsibility, I used to make crossbows. Airsoft was a natural progression from that '1st love'.

crossbows, used to do that too., a favourate of mine though was the "peg gun" lol., :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,348 ✭✭✭Rhinocharge

Crap, me too, are you guys by anychance part of the 70's generation?

No interest in gaming. Airsoft is my new mistress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

Battlefield and Flashpoint mostly.

Tried to get Armed Assault and americas Army but the connection in my house is woeful for direct downloads - how bad would it be for gaming?:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Crap, me too, are you guys by anychance part of the 70's generation?

No interest in gaming. Airsoft is my new mistress.

Yup, I'm a 70's kid, but wasn't making crossbows until the early 80's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭Judge dredd

vtec wrote: »
    crossbows, used to do that too., a favourate of mine though was the "peg gun" lol., :D

the memories come flooding back....homemade bow & arrows,crossbows,peg guns (use to make double peg ones,a personal favourite) and spud guns.

sorry went off topic ....never into gaming but have a great interest in Military history and weaponery.Airsoft for me started as a way to collect the stuff i was interested in.

the memories come flooding back....homemade bow & arrows,crossbows,peg guns (use to make double peg ones,a personal favourite) and spud guns.

haha., :D

we made quad ones with a breadboard stick and 2 pegs on top, 2 underneath, destined to be an airsofter from a really young age.,lol :D

does anyone rememer cherry poppers? the yokeys with the top half of a bottle and a finger from a rubber glove? you could use one of them in airsoft actually, all be it quite low powered but would be funny.,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭cplcummins

NERDS!!!!
    GET THAT "BURNING LUNGS" FEELING INTO YE!!!