Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How often has your property had an attempted breakin if ever?

• 28-08-2008 2:29pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭

So........me wokes up this mornin all fine and dandy ready to go when I went to let the dog out to the garden when I noticed my Conservatory door lock was broken from the outside - half the lock was taken out and the inside lock did not work. However the door was still partially locked so I was really relieved that whoever was trying to break into my home last night obviously did not succeed in getting through the first Conservatory door. Nothing was taken and there was no sign of anyone having been inside the house. Of course I was really annoyed though but in a way thankful I slept through it because of possibly doing something I would regret to someone I found in my home or trying to get in - or indeed I could have gotten hurt myself. I was really supprised I did not wake up - im always very concious of any noise at night and would normally wake up if something fell downstairs in the kitchen or whatever. This is the very first time my house has ever been, at least attempted to be broken into. Id say they were looking for car keys.

I rang the gaurds anyway and reported it and am getting the lock fixed and some extra ones.

My neighbour across the road was not so lucky though last night as, presumably, the same person(s) actually managed to get in. They got in the Conservatory door through the backgarden and 500 euro was taken out of the man's wife's purse. He heard and saw nothing either.

Pressed my nerves a bit this morning I must admit but happy they did not get in. And also that I did not find myself in a situation of having to confront someone.

Ive a feeling I might have my dog to thank! - its a small dog but its very excitable....

Anyways has your house ever been broken into? Have you ever caught people trying to break into your house? Just out of curiosity what was the guards reaction when you let them know? When I rang them they where helpful but you could tell by the tone that there was not much they could do. I can see why in my case but I wonder if they could nessacarilly do much more even if they actually succeeded in getting into the house?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 260 ✭✭adsgirl

Two weeks ago:mad::mad:
    I was only away about 15 mins, thank god the dog scared them off, good for nothing ****s, never did a days hard work in their rotten lives probably:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭larko

When I was 10, our house was broken into, there was 7 of us asleep in the house at the time and none of us heard a thing. It was a small 3 bed house.

Both our neighbours were fleeced too and they heard nothing.

The burglar even took the plug off the VCR and left it on the fireplace which drove my dad mental.

He legged it out the door and someone said they saw a fella running across the field at the back of the local school. So dad took off and he actually caught him. Lets just say he came back with all the stuff and was there was a few cuts on his knuckles and mud all over him. He became a legend in our area after that morning.:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭hottstuff

Been a while now , but twice in the past.
    Not as bad as some unfortunate people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Sarah**

Perfect topic!!! I will be here all day!!!

Ok i will start in my old house when i lived with my folks!! My parents were away and it was a sunday night myself and my sister were home and we went to bed reasonably late, around three in the morning. I woke up to my sister in my room telling me there was a man in the house. I looked at the clock, and it was half five. I would tend to think my sister is over re-acting untill she said he was in her bedroom.

Basically she woke up to her door opening. She was getting new floors in her room so it was bare wood and it creaked. The guy had a torch and immediatly shone it at the ground. She called my brothers name three times untill the guy said "its alright, im not going to hurt you im leaving now". She wasnt frozen by fear and immediatly followed him out of the room and across to my room, he was running down the stairs at this point in a black hoodie. I looked out my window where he was getting on a push bike, he looked up and waved at me and my sister.

Basically he put a huge piece of timber in the conservatory window and hit the key with it opening the door. He had been in my room and taken my wallet (which was right beside my head) and my jewellary! I wouldnt mind but i slept through all of this. He left a swiss knife on my bedroom floor (obviously he put it down while looking through things) and then went into my parents room where he got new phones and mp3(my dad alwys has high tec new stuff around) and then went to my sisters. The Gaurds were great, up to the house in seconds and detectives int he next day looking for prints. Unfortunatly, the guy who did it, is a snitch where i live to the gaurds so was never brought in!!! Fcuker!!!!! We reckon he had been watching the house and had known that there was only two girls in the house.

So now to the next one!! My parents moved from House no.1 and moved down the country to a new housing estate. Alarm in house and evrything but this night they did not set it. So my dog sleeps ont he landing and around 4am one night the dog was going bananas, my dad put it down to the security vans driving around site. and told the dog to shut it! Down the next morning they went and found the back door swinging open!! They had taken three laptops and phones, nothing else even though all car keys were on the table and cars were out in front garden!!

Now on to where i live now!! I live in a second floor apt and returning home from work one evening i went to get changed and looked out my window and right up against my window was a wooden ladder!! Panicking i checked everything and nothing was missing so the next day i was out the front of the bulding with my friend where i cut up the ladder!! Fcek that, not ricking anything!!

Well there is my 2cent!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭token56

Never, at least not that I am aware of.

Although was at a school athletics meet once and had my phone, wallet and MP3 player stolen on me, those B*****s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Our house in Johannesbury was done in 3 or 4 times, which was the reason we moved here. Each time it was when we were all inside or asleep.

Funniest was when they had obviously been trying to take the wheel barrow, and had fecked it over the wall. Unfortunately for them the barrow had got caught in the tree next to the wall, and so couldn't get it. We woke up the next morning to see our bikes gone, but we still had the trusty wheel barrow :o

Never had a house in Ireland broke into, despite the fact that I've often come home to discover I'd left the front or back door open all day. Ach well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭BKtje

Our house has been broken into a couple of times now. Never anything much taken but the last time it must have been about midday and i was actually in the house.

I never heard them breaking the glass by the front door or them walking around but the first i knew of it was when these 2 big guys came walking into my room. Was fairly shocked as you can imagine but it turned out they were plain clothed detectives. They explained that one of my neighbours had called them after watching some guy break the window by the front door.

Anyway they brought me upstairs (rooms in the basement) and there were three other cops walking around the kitchen! Long story short, the guy must have bolted when he heard the music coming from my room and thankfully nothing was taken. Break in till cops walking into my room, about 5 minutes!

Must say i was pleasantly surprised with the response time of the local guards and in force too!

Another time was when i was still in primary school., probably about 10yrs old. Came home to find that the front door was chained from the inside. After ringing the doorbell a few times i realised that my parents were still at work so no way they could have done it. Then noticed the kitchen window had been broken into. I tried to get in it but was it too small for me so tried to remove some more glass, eventually decided against it and went accross the road to some neighbours.

They called the cops and I went back to the house with them and the door was ajar. They must have bolted after i'd gone accross the road. Dunno what would have happened to me if i'd managed to get into the house with them still there!

Apparently they'd broken the glass then used a young child to open the door for them.

I've left the front door open at night a few times when coming home drunk though and nothings happened. Go figure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Never been broken into, not really. When I was a teenager, my parents started noticing odd amounts coming out of their bank account as cheques. A lot of them were for small amounts of £20-£50 and for things like petrol and takeaways - stuff that my parents would always pay cash for.
    When they checked the cheque numbers, it turns out that they were all from a chequebook which they thought they'd lost about five months beforehand. We reckoned that someone had come in our side entrance, spotted the chequebook sitting on a table, took it and legged it off. The side entrance was often wide open during the day as there were four boys constantly in and out.

We also had a couple of bikes nicked from the shed at the back which was unlocked, but we got one of them back when we found some local pikeys riding it.

In more recent times, never been burgled. Left my car open a fair few times. Once for three days. Never had it nicked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Snyper came in my back door uninvited once but he didn't take anything... except my gay cherry :o:D

Seriously though, our house was robbed at 2pm about 4 years ago. The house was empty for literally 10-12 minutes so they were either opportunistic thieves or watching the place. Mostly jewellery stolen+a minidisc player. Ignored passports and some other possibly saleable stuff. I can only assume they were junkies looking for stuff that would be very easy to sell. One thing that pissed me off was that they emptied and used my backpack to carry out the stuff they robbed.

My mam came back home just as they were leaving through the back window. I'm just glad they weren't upstairs when she came in so they didn't have to go by her.

Guards were helpful enough and came quickly but nothing was ever found and nobody caught for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

adsgirl wrote: »
    Two weeks ago:mad::mad:
    I was only away about 15 mins, thank god the dog scared them off, good for nothing ****s, never did a days hard work in their rotten lives probably:mad:
    Hey now, it's not easy being a burglar. Hard work at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭dlambirl

my friend rents out his apartment and it was broken into 3weeks ago. The tenants even has their family staying over at the time and there was 11 of them in the apartment at the time of the break in. Nobody heard anything. One girl was asleep on the sofa with her ipod earphones in her ears and the thiefs took the ipod and left her with just the earphones! They also took 2 laptops and a few digital cameras (due to family being over on holidays) and a few other bits....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭KilOit

2 years ago while still up at 3 in the morning i heard a noise outside i was in the sitting room and it faces out to the car i turned off the lights and peeped out the curtains and seen someone in the passanger seat of my dads car,
    I completely froze for 5 seconds and ran up to my sleeping parents and burst in the door i was a bit shaky but just blurted "Dad someone is in the car"
    The old man groggy as f**k didn't know what to make of it for second but when it sank in he lept up and both of us ran down the stairs him only wearing boxer shorts,
    We stood in the hall for a second thinking what way we'll do this i ran back up stairs and got my pellet gun (it looks very real :P) he got a screw driver from the kitchen, We both dashed out and stood behind the car the thieve still sitting in the car he had no where to run to we where blocking his exit he just slowly got out of the car with his hands up i could see the fear in his eyes while he was trying to play it down looking at my dad, You can't act tough to a half naked man holding a long screwdriver, The thieve just kept saying sorry man please don't stick me that he practically begged us to let him go, But we did let him go we didn't want the trouble and just thought he'd never be back anyway, The strange thing was he wasn't the scumbag type he was pretty well spoken and dressed and you wouldn't think it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Mine was a few years ago, the window was left open, 100e gone from a purse.

Two detectives came up that morning but pretty much told us there is feck all they can do.

Was in the middle of the night in the winter so I came down at around 5am to see all the downstairs lights on and the front window wide open, quite unsettling.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Brought the dog out walking last year and didnt lock the front door, the walk takes an hour so I get home to a wide open door, so I run in with the mutt, downstairs first then upstairs.. and I wouldnt live in the greatest area!

the neighbour )in her 70s)got broken into a while back while she was in bed sleeping during the day time:eek: they got 20 euro or something. She had a security company up the next kitting her house out.

Thankfully having a massive GSD in the back garden does the job of dissuading potential thieves as unless the want to start kicking the front door in there's only the back garden.

When I lived at home the neighbours house (again old woman 70's living alone) got broken into 2 euro was stolen! I know the guy that did it as he lost a finger during an attempted robbery and when the cops dusted for prints one was missing. anyway they knocked into to us to see our security.. opened the door and see the dog "you'll be fine" In saying that whenever the dog seen him when we were out walking it was obvious he didnt like him.

Having a dog no matter what size is a good detterent.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭knird evol

Remember, once you dispose of the bodie(s) properly theres no way of linking you to the mysterious disappearance / possible death of some random scumbag who went off one night telling no one where he was going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 00_katie_00

I remember one hot (40 degrees) night when i lived in Australia we have fly screen doors & windows... basically its a mesh screen that sits on the outside of your glass door frame or window frame & you can push the glass door back & the fly screen is just there no glass... so you can get a breeze...

anyway thankfully on this night my parents locked & closed the glass doors even thou it was soo hot & went upstairs to bed.. I woke up in the morning & went outside to the garage (it was remote control activated type of garage) & it was wide open.. i hadnt really woken up so just walked into garage & saw the cat was terrified & that my moms car door was open & her car was all scattered with coins etc but they hadnt touched my car... then i saw the back gate was open & all fly screen doors around the house had been flung back open and only glass door remained closed as it was locked.. the police came & took photos of "one of the biggest boot prints" they'd ever seen in the mud near the gate...

funny thing is the day after my mom insisted in putting my brothers huge hiking boots in the porch so it would "always look like theres a big man home" hehehe :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I've never been broken into, having two dogs must put the robbers off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Itsdacraic

Some fella came in the front door of our house at college once. The lock was dodgy on it (there was fcuk all there to rob anyways). I had gotten up to urinate when i heard him downstairs, grabbed my hurley and met him a flake of it across the back just as he got out the door, as I was just in my superman jocks I didnt bother chasing him.

It was probably only some drunk student clowing around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Zangetsu

My sheds been robbed about 15 times but since we got cameras people tend to aim for the neighbours...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

connundrum wrote: »
    Our house in Johannesbury was done in 3 or 4 times, which was the reason we moved here. Each time it was when we were all inside or asleep.

Funniest was when they had obviously been trying to take the wheel barrow, and had fecked it over the wall. Unfortunately for them the barrow had got caught in the tree next to the wall, and so couldn't get it. We woke up the next morning to see our bikes gone, but we still had the trusty wheel barrow :o

Never had a house in Ireland broke into, despite the fact that I've often come home to discover I'd left the front or back door open all day. Ach well.

That's on an island between the Netherlands and England, right? :)

Anyway, 106 houses in my estate and only 6 or 7 break-ins in 33 years.

My friend's neighbour spotted one of the local junkies checking my friend's car and ran him.
    He's in for a good kicking the next time he's seen.
    We don't take kindly to scum around here and that's why there have been so few burglaries.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

Terry wrote: »
    We don't take kindly to scum around here and that's why there have been so few burglaries.

Meh, I felt like that about my area too until last night:p

I think those that have pointed out about the dogs are right. Like I said in the OP ive only a small dog but her dog bowls are in the kitchen which can be seen from where these fcukers were trying to get in. I suppose they were not willing to risk it being a big dog! That and she barks alot at bad people.....dogs are the best deterrant.....agree 100%.....Id be supprised if she did not go down stairs to greet the scumbags actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Fringe

Had a bike stolen in our shed once. The bike wasn't really used at all so it was just gathering dust in the shed. One day, my mom just randomly noticed.

Another day, got this dodgy guy ringing our bell like crazy. Didn't answer it because it seemed so dodgy. I then look outside the back from upstairs and saw about 6 people trying to get into the house through an open window. They quickly saw me and casually walked out of the estate. The thing was it was at around 12 in the afternoon too so it was so unexpected.

I wouldn't be surprised though if there's been more attempts successful or not. Actually remember now how some guy was in the back again at night. My brother saw him and he legged it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,537 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Not since I left Ireland. Back home someone tried to break in once, and my great dane tried to eat them. Nice way to cut down on the dog food expense and supplement his diet.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,646 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Twice in Ireland, once in Belgium. Hasn't happened yet in the US.

Of course, in the US I can shoot burglars.

NTM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

NTM

Yeah, we do that here as well.....

I was lying on my couch one stinking hot afternoon in London with a hangover from hell when I heard noises at my front door. They sounded like like someone trying to force the lock.

I went out just wearing the boxer shorts & peeped through the spyhole in the door & saw a fella, sure enough, trying to force the lock. I popped back into the spare room called the Ole' Bill & fetched one of my handguns from the pistol cabinet, a very large .357magnum with a 6" barrel.

Sadly he was gone when I went back to the front door.... :(

This happened twice & I never got to confront them....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

It'd take a very stupid person to break into any of the houses around here..You'd be settin yourself up for a terrible beatin.

So nope, never been broken into and neither have any of the houses in my area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Itsdacraic

Twice in Ireland, once in Belgium. Hasn't happened yet in the US.

NTM

Do you have a gun?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭markos79

ClioV6 wrote: »
    It'd take a very stupid person to break into any of the houses around here..You'd be settin yourself up for a terrible beatin.

So nope, never been broken into and neither have any of the houses in my area.

what area would that be clio?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

markos79 wrote: »
    what area would that be clio?

A certain area in Carlow.

Where I'd say half of the burglars come from tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 cheeeesecake

I thought I was being broken into a few weeks ago so I hid in the dark and called my Mum who raced round. We had a look around but couldn't find anyone. It took me a couple of hours to get back to sleep!

A couple of days later, I found out from my neighbout it was a huge greyhound causing havok and it must have ran into my gate causing all the noise :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

Never been broken into but my phone was stolen out of my bag during a soccer match once. Couple other lads got done as well, fuckin gutted. Was a new phone and all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,662 ✭✭✭Trinity

Think my mothers house was tried a couple of times once for definate. think they were using a glass cutters, they had to replace the window or door or something. I didnt sleep for years after.

Dunno what they thought they would find in a council house in ballymun. Now they have a big fcuk off plasma on the wall and when curtains are not drawn everyone can see. Think they are asking for trouble although dont think they would get it through the window :rolleyes:

Never, only lock the door because one of neighbours comes in and makes himself at home if you don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭KBarry

Trinity1 wrote: »
    Dunno what they thought they would find in a council house in ballymun. Now they have a big fcuk off plasma on the wall and when curtains are not drawn everyone can see. Think they are asking for trouble although dont think they would get it through the window :rolleyes:

I'm terrified of getting burgled and spend far too much time trying to figure out how burglars minds work. Would they be thinking "Plasma TV, must be lots of smaller stuff worth nicking in there" :confused:

Touch wood, not been robbed yet but live in fear :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,264 ✭✭✭✭Alicat

I dunno how I'd react if I heard someone breakin in....never happened yet. Still live with my parents and we have two dogs but they sleep in the utility room at night so you can't really see them so I dunno whether it would deter someone.
    Edit: Just struck me that we have a massive dog house on the back patio, so I think that might be enough :rolleyes:

My thought has always been to just scream. Scream as long and loud as I can. Makes as much noise as possible and flick on as many light switches around me as possible if it's at night. Scare the sh!t out of the thieves so that they get out as quick as possible. Not a big fan of this whole "creeping downstairs to check it out". I think that could be very dangerous if you end up face to face with a burglar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭Kavkid

When I was younger, 4/5 we had our car stolen, or tried. Battery was dead, so they pushed it into the park to burn it, me da caught them though.

And a few years ago, ma and da gone away for the weekend, big brother and his GF minding us. But yeah, musta been about 4 in the morning, we were all asleep and thne the alarm went off, now this is a loud alarm, but seeing as we were knackered, all of us, we just ignored it, because I thought we had a faulty alarm, then it goes off again, and then a third time, which was when me brother came down, he heard people, or something out the back garden so he was pretty sure there were lads out the back checking to see if we were in. Thank god me brother went down.. wonder what woulda happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

When i was around 7 i was at my grandmothers house and it was just the two of us in the house. i was playing in the hall and she was in the sitting room. a guy walked up to the window of the sitting room and when he saw my grandmother he started asking her could he have a word. she asked him to come to the front door and so he went to the door and my grandmother opened the door. it was then we saw that there was another guy there waiting at the door. they asked if there was anywhere they could rent a boat :confused: (the area is miles from the coast) and left.

A few days later the guards called and told us that the house next door had been broken into. Apparently the family living there were in the front garden when one of the guys walked up to them and started talking to them. while he distracted him the other guy went into the house and stole some money and jewellery. Basically it seemed like the guy that had come up to the window was going to try and distract her while the other guy broke in, but since i was playing in the hall he couldnt do it. i guess we were lucky they werent the violent type as it was only me and my grandmother in the house.

as for the guards they showed us a few photos to see if they matched the two guys but i dont think they ever caught them:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Never happened to me but happened to my grandad when he lived in his own house. He liked to sit outside the front most days, one fella with a fancy camera (probably nicked too) came around to talk to him while buddy sneaked around the back of the house and got in there. I think they got away with some money and his World War II stuff was still safe but I'm glad he didn't get hurt because he was around 80 years old then (91 now). The names he had to call them afterwards. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

got robbed once while in the UK for college.

Our house is around the corner to the university but all the houses on the street share a common enclosed car park/garden area that you cant get into without a key.

Anyway one evening my next door neighbour is having a party so naturally the back door is open so that people can move from our place to his. it was pretty early in the evening about 7pm and I dashed back into our place to cook a toastie to keep my energy up when I heard something upstairs.

Now this was a thin house but 3 stories high with 2 bedrooms and a bathroom on each floor, so I start making my way up and the notion going through my head was *its a cat that came in through the backdoor* So I push open the doors to each room and bathroom checking them.

Slowly I went up to the top floor where it was my room and checked it.

Didnt see anything and went down to the kitchen again grabbed the slightly burnt toastie and ran out back to the party.

Next morning:

3 video cameras (was a film student, as were my 3 housemates) and 2 digital cameras were gone.

Turns out that a load of stuff from under one of my housemates beds had been pulled out, I wouldnt have noticed (his room is normally a dump) but it appears that the thief panicked when he heard me come back (like I said thin house) and pulled the stuff and hid under the bed.

Rung police etc but no luck. Though unlike everyone else here, I have to bitch about the police. the initial response was great and seeing as 3 of us were robbed they took accounts from all 3 of us. They said they'd be in touch etc and they'd try their best.

The other 2 guys got letters and phonecalls from the police quite regulary in the following months about their progress. But never a word to me, after the initial report (that I called in) I never heard from the police in any fashion. Felt quite offended for being snubbed like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭allybhoy

Brought a new car bout 3yrs ago (well it wasnt brand new, but it was new for me) in from Japan, she was fairly flashy and quick. Only got it on a Thurs, never got a chance to get an alarm on it , so I had been parking my mam's car in front of it every night and had been putting a steering lock on,plus the house had electric gates. Anyways had to collect the parents from the airport that weekend at about 3in the morning,didnt get home till 4 and was so tired didnt park my mams car in front of it as i was up for work in less than 3hours. Next morning the gardai ring the bell at half 6 in the morning, they were driving by and seen the electric gates pulled off the pillars lying on the ground and thought something might have been up. Of course the car was gone!

To make matters worse as I had only posted the insurance forms off with the log book on the friday and the insurance company hadnt received them, they were trying to get out of paying me back for it. I had to hire a solicitor and was at the verge of bringing them to court when the car was found in mint condition right on the border in Monaghan. Apparently it was going to be used in a robbery. Needless to say I installed a pricey alarm system and changed my insurance company.

To this day I have no idea how they managed to rob the car as we live on a main road and the detective said they would have had to have used either a jcb or a high powered jeep to pull the gates off the wall. Neither me, the aul pair or the two dogs heard a thing that night, so it just goes to show u if they want something badly they will take it no matter what. The gardai were brilliant in fairness through out the whole thing and went as far to say that they thought it could be an insider in the Vehicle Registration Office as a lot of newly registered cars had been targeted that month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Thankfully no.

There's been a couple of occasion we may have forgotten to put the padlock on the shed and came out the next morning to find it wide open and nothing taken. Was nothing in there worth robbing anyway, gardening tools and a BBQ mostly.

My grandmother's house was tried once, she takes sleeping tablets so never heard a thing. Woke up the next morning and there was marks all around the downstairs sitting room window from where someone tried to force it open.

One of our friends place was tried too. They have a huge alsation that normally sleeps in the shed, but sometimes if they're feeling lazy they let him sleep in the hall. So the wife hears the dog barking like mad in the hall that night and sends the husband out, as he's leaving the bedroom he hears breaking glass and someone puts their arm in the broken pane in the front door looking for the door handle. Unfortunately for the guy a couple of seconds later he has a very large dog swinging from the arm he stuck in the window. When he got free he ran off.

It was a neighbour of theirs, a bit drunk and actually went an reported their dog to the police too :rolleyes:

EDIT - Actually there was one night some little scrote robbed my windscreen wipers off my pick-up, trying to drive to work the next morning in the rain wasnt fun (to early to buy some and I didnt have spares)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

darkman2 wrote: »
    So........me wokes up this mornin all fine and dandy ready to go when I went to let the dog out to the garden when I noticed my Conservatory door lock was broken from the outside - half the lock was taken out and the inside lock did not work. However the door was still partially locked so I was really relieved that whoever was trying to break into my home last night obviously did not succeed in getting through the first Conservatory door. Nothing was taken and there was no sign of anyone having been inside the house. Of course I was really annoyed though but in a way thankful I slept through it because of possibly doing something I would regret to someone I found in my home or trying to get in - or indeed I could have gotten hurt myself. I was really supprised I did not wake up - im always very concious of any noise at night and would normally wake up if something fell downstairs in the kitchen or whatever. This is the very first time my house has ever been, at least attempted to be broken into. Id say they were looking for car keys.

I rang the gaurds anyway and reported it and am getting the lock fixed and some extra ones.

My neighbour across the road was not so lucky though last night as, presumably, the same person(s) actually managed to get in. They got in the Conservatory door through the backgarden and 500 euro was taken out of the man's wife's purse. He heard and saw nothing either.

Pressed my nerves a bit this morning I must admit but happy they did not get in. And also that I did not find myself in a situation of having to confront someone.

Ive a feeling I might have my dog to thank! - its a small dog but its very excitable....

Anyways has your house ever been broken into? Have you ever caught people trying to break into your house? Just out of curiosity what was the guards reaction when you let them know? When I rang them they where helpful but you could tell by the tone that there was not much they could do. I can see why in my case but I wonder if they could nessacarilly do much more even if they actually succeeded in getting into the house?

Have you not got an alarm on your house?
    I remember the bastards used to set mine off quite a lot during the night. I was thinking it was faulty. My next door neighbour told me that the same thing happened to him a few years ago and he ended up leaving iy off, then the house was robbed.
    So beware of that tactic.

But I reckon these low life dopes reckoned that just because my car wasn't parked in my garden (open plan front gardens) that there was no one in.

So politely, one night, God bless their cotton socks, my door bell rang. I jumped up thinking it was my lift to work, very early as usual but had I slept it out, I knocked on the light, went to the window to indicate I was up, was getting ready and was looking out again to say I'd be a sec, but this scrawny ****er is jumping into a jeep that was turning.
    I rang the police but sure what could they do. It was the sticks.

It was the last time it was attempted.

I wish it were like America though. What sort of idiotic law favors such scum!?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,646 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Itsdacraic wrote: »
    Do you have a gun?

As it happens, five.
    But I don't have a sign in front of my door saying I have any.
    Some people do.
    DSCN2317.JPG

But even if a house doesn't have any, they still receive the benefit because unless someone puts a sign out front of their house saying "We have no guns", breaking and entering is a pretty perilous activity around these parts as you never know who does, and who does not.

NTM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭Cutie18Ireland

Our house was broken into just over 4 years ago. Took a 2 day old mercedes, playstation, jewellery, cash. Also tried robbing the neighbours car but was blocked in by his wife's so they couldnt get it out. Were all asleep in bed at the time, came in through the back door used to have all the keys on the wall by the kitchen door.
    Alarm and bollards were installed after this.

Attempted robbery last christmas eve about 5am tried to pull a window open in the kitchen set the alarm off and they ran.

Also someone tried to rob my grandparents awhile ago tried to force the back door, either they couldnt or the dog scared them off. Worrying because my grandmother is deaf, and they refuse to get an alarm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Epic Tissue

darkman2 wrote: »

That's a strange way to refer to her!:P

0 attempts on my house... touch wood!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 seanofdbush

I had a break-in last week. They broke-in through a side door and ransacked the downstairs. They stole the car, cameras and other stuff. I was away myself but the wife and kids were asleep upstairs but fortunately they didn't wake up.

As an aside, I need to get the front and back door locks changed in the house. The doors are standard white PVC type - does anyone know who would do this or approximately how much it should cost. I need to give an estimate for the insurance company.

Thanks..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

I had a break-in last week. They broke-in through a side door and ransacked the downstairs. They stole the car, cameras and other stuff. I was away myself but the wife and kids were asleep upstairs but fortunately they didn't wake up.

Sorry to hear that dude.
    As an aside, I need to get the front and back door locks changed in the house. The doors are standard white PVC type - does anyone know who would do this or approximately how much it should cost. I need to give an estimate for the insurance company.

Thanks..

http://www.goldenpages.ie/search/County:Meath/Locksmiths.html

-Funk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

connundrum wrote: »

Our's in Joburg, 3 times. In Port Elizabeth, 6 times. In Ireland, none.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Silenceisbliss

We have a pretty large maison, lots of stables, and lots of horses, and lots of tack (horse stuff). we live around 4 km from kk city in the country side and at night we used to be an easy enough target,

around 15+ attempted break ins on the property at night time, only once were two rugs stolen

the fact that everything in the yard is locked down pretty tight, the doggies, and my dads pretty unbelievable reactions stopped any further progress once on the property.

then at one point (not intended for security purposes) We got an alsation and I bought a rifle in the space of a month. Not one break in since.

target practice I guess gives off the loud bang of..."careful now"

but more so, the alsation is alwasy outside ruinning around really energetic and has a very very loud an deep bark, scare the crap outta even most farmers near us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭nevaeh-2die-4

larko wrote: »
    He legged it out the door and someone said they saw a fella running across the field at the back of the local school. So dad took off and he actually caught him. Lets just say he came back with all the stuff and was there was a few cuts on his knuckles and mud all over him. He became a legend in our area after that morning.:cool:

Is that how he tells it - as far as legend is.. your ran dad ran after the robber & he slowed down and your dad caught up with him the burglar suplexed him and stripped him of his pj`s and made him wear a pair of panties and bra & had him barking like a dog thats how he got the blood on his knuckles! :):)