Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin/kerry, road to croker

• 22-08-2008 12:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭

While watching the road to croker last night, i got the impression that Dublin were playing Kerry this weekend. There seems to be an effort to paint these teams as the great rivals of the ages, but Dublin haven't beaten kerry in 30 years.
    They only gave 5mins discussion to the CK KY game.

I feel Dublin people have an inflated sense of their football worth, and these high standards burden the present players with unreal expectations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭bill_ashmount

Probably because they had Bertie presenting it.

But your right it was a complete joke, nearly all about Dublin for some unknown reason. I won't be watching it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

"Dublin people"?? Because of one show where most people in the building were not from Dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

Probably because they had Bertie presenting it.

But your right it was a complete joke, nearly all about Dublin for some unknown reason. I won't be watching it again.

It was set down in West Kerry with a whole host of ex Dublin and Kerry players there, as well as Bertie presenting it. Of course they were going to talk about the old rivalry between the two. I actually thought it was really good, particularly the interview with Jimmy Keaveney and Paddy Cullen.

It probably could have done with a bit more of a build-up to the Cork game but I'm sure they had the whole show planned for ages and just decided to go with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭mumhaabu

That programme was was probably pre scripted and I feel that Tyrone's performance on Sunday wasn't in the script!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

It was only filmed the day beforehand, with some work for a few days before that so plenty of time to work on a script taking into account the result, and there was plenty of mention of what Tyrone had done. He wasn't great as a presenter, but I think Bertie did a reasonable job. It was obviously a bit of a novelty so there was bound to be a big Dubln/Kerry aspect to it, given the presenter and the location.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

I expect nothing less from any national media outlet these days. RTE and all the national papers (especially the Indo) do the same thing every summer, it's like the English football team before a major competition.

Fact is, as long as Dublin ever have a slimmer of hope in the Championship, reporters and broadcasters will overhype the team to the extreme. It was apparant last weekend too. While the rest of the country were in awe of a stunning Tyrone performance, RTE and then the Indo the next day just focused on the Dublin perspective (the Indo's very own Dublin-only journalist Keith Barr helped see to that)

I'll never forget the day after Westmeath beat Dublin in the 2004 Leinster Championship. Here was one of the greatest results in the counties history, yet RTE and most papers completely blanked them and instead sent all guns blazing at the Dublin panel. It was ridiculous.

Like I said, tonight didnt surprise me. It reminded me of the BBC spending 30 minutes talking about Englands failures in the build-up to the World Cup final two years ago. And being honest, all it does is further emphasis why Dublin aren't the most liked team in the rest of the country. Dublin fans liking it when England lose a match will understand.

Slightly off-topic rant over :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Ah yes, but it has to be said that Dublin have 22 All-Irelands and England have none, so we deserve some of the hype.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Flukey wrote: »
    Ah yes, but it has to be said that Dublin have 22 All-Irelands and England have none, so we deserve some of the hype.:p
    Well if you count Tyrone Armagh and Down, they have a few :D (Tongue in Cheek... don't kill me :( )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,365 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Did anyone notice how Bertie's memory from the 70's regarding the DUB's was brilliant, yet in the tribunal he couldn't remember issues regarding his finances from 5-10 years ago:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

walshb wrote: »
    Did anyone notice how Bertie's memory from the 70's regarding the DUB's was brilliant, yet in the tribunal he couldn't remember issues regarding his finances from 5-10 years ago:rolleyes:

Quelle suprise! The biggest problem i had with this program was that it was presented by a perjurer, and someone who took the people of Ireland for mugs. Our taxpayers money well spent. :mad: Keavney, and Cullen were like a couple of dancing monkeys thrown in to lend some respectability to Ahern, like he was one of the lads. I found it quite disgusting, no harm to Cullen and Keavney they are nice guys and were put in an awkward position.

Yes agree the Dublin v Kerry thing is a bit of a borefest tbh. Sick of hearing about great rivalries in the 70s. They should aim the show at teams that are playing in the big fixtures on the forthcoming weekend, and discuss the previous weekends results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,113 ✭✭✭lukin

Did anyone else think it was an unbelivably arrogant comment by Jimmy Deenihan that Kerry were "unlucky not to be going for 6 in a row"?
    If memory serves me right they were well and truly trounced by Tyrone in 2005. Nothing unlucky about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

ha reminds me of after the league final in 2004 when armagh bet us out the gate, and one of the lads had a GF from kerry at the time!

she was giving us awful hardship and going on about how much kerry had won.........eventually i got pissed off and with nothing else to say shouted at her: "well how many fookin leinster hurling champs have kerry got"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

lukin wrote: »
    Did anyone else think it was an unbelivably arrogant comment by Jimmy Deenihan that Kerry were "unlucky not to be going for 6 in a row"?
    If memory serves me right they were well and truly trounced by Tyrone in 2005. Nothing unlucky about that.

Couldn't understand that one either!

PS. If Tyrone beat Wexford I'm sure Mickey Harte will be repeating that one!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Of which only 8 have been won in the last 80 odd years. 14 of them won before the 1920s when the team was composed mainly of country cousins. Galway have actually won 9 in the same period as Dublin's last 8.

Kerry have about 25 in the same period, so this Kerry-Dublin stuff is only based around the Micko-Heffo years, and even then Kerry beat Dublin in most of those games, even hammering them by 17 points one year.

Dublin should, imho, go for an outside manager this time. Jack O'Connor would be perfect but the fact he lives in Kerry might make him a non-runner. Sean Boylan maybe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 colinmatts

You see, it's carping like this that gives us Dubs an inflated sense of ourselves.No self respecting Dub would ever complain about culchies musceling their way onto the preview of a DUBS game. Bertie brought on Cullen and Keavney to boost ratings for himself. Ever the politician, he knew that there'd be few enough natives watching a preview of Cork v Kerry. So, he brought on the Dubs so we'd all watch. Ask yourself why only 35,000 turned up at Croker to watch the All-Ireland semi-final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Pappy o' daniel

Bertie brought on Cullen and Keavney so he'd have something to talk about. Berties GAA knowlegde is limited to the 70s.