Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Just got this in a msn message

• 21-08-2008 4:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,890 ✭✭✭✭

"I kissed a girl and I liked it" f**k sake what next? "I humped a cat and I liked it"
    disgraceful

I laughed but he does have a point. What a song to have playing on the radio during the day, or in your local supermarket. Im sure parents around the country must be delighted with it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭BroomBurner

Interesting "please like me, boys" video also :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Trilla wrote: »
    "I kissed a girl and I liked it" f**k sake what next? "I humped a cat and I liked it"
    disgraceful

I laughed but he does have a point. What a song to have playing on the radio during the day, or in your local supermarket. Im sure parents around the country must be delighted with it...

i'm lost here

i've kissed girls i'm not afraid to admit i like it
    what is the issue parents would should have
    ten years ago they were happilly buying the spice girls singles with 2 become one and if you wanna be my lover
    whats the diff
    is it because of the homosexual overtones?

i think of dennis leary in rescue me here , he was happier when his kid dated girls cos she couildn't get preggers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Interesting "please like me, boys" video also :rolleyes:
    Oh that video just screams of "I may have kissed a girl but I'm NOT - repeat NOT - a lesbo! Look how sexy I am in my Moulin Rouge gear that panders to a heterosexual male's notion of sexiness. And look... I wake up next to a guy!"

So it's... "I kissed a girl in order to prick-tease".

Dudess wrote: »
    So it's... "I kissed a girl in order to prick-tease".

say that again with a french accent

lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Yeah, let's stick to "dontcha wish your girlfriend was a freak like me" or "if you can baby boy we can go all night" or other more traditional depictions on song of female sexuality. The I kissed a girl song is ****e, I don't see how anyone could have a problem with the subject matter though (even here, coz it's wimmins kissing, not lads)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

Look how sexy I am in my Moulin Rouge gear that panders to a heterosexual male's notion of sexiness.

Beacuase heterosexual males notion of sexiness is so different to lesbians notion of sexiness??? I get the point you were trying to make but it's not as if she was pretending that she (and by she I of course mean the A&R guys from her record company) was trying to do anything other than turn fellas on by hinting at bi-sexuality, its SOP for young female pop and movie stars. Check any tabloid newspaper the next time Scarlett Johanson, Elisa Cutbert ect have a film out, if they don't have an interview where they ramble on about how they find girls so so sexy I'll buy ye a choc ice.

As for the "how can they play this song when kids might here it bullsh1t, thats just, well....bullsh1t. Its an unbelievably tame song and even if it wasn't I do not subscribe to the theory that kids hearing a song mentioning sex and drugs will turn them into junkie nymphomaniacs, any one who does should not be aloud outside on thier own.

I don't see how anyone could have a problem with the subject matter though (even here, coz it's wimmins kissing, not lads)

I'd like to see the East 17 version of "I Kissed a Boy and I liked it".

I'd like to see the East 17 version of I Kissed a Boy and I liked it.

....that'd be awesome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭NotMe

She has a song called "Ur so gay" aswell. Would that be a better one for the radio and supermarkets?:pac:

I'd like to see the East 17 version of "I Kissed a Boy and I liked it".

is it 1997 again ? i better go buy property

Isn't that why she released the girl-kissing one, coz she was getting so many accusations of homophobia from gay folks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,890 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Isn't that why she released the girl-kissing one, coz she was getting so many accusations of homophobia from gay folks?

probably

How come nobody batted an eyelid at that song Gay Bar? That's a class tune!

Yes, yes it is 1997.
    "Turn the lights low
    Put some music on
    Let our bodies sing
    Swing to the the soft song
    I feel ya heat
    It's turning me on
    I wanna feel ya all night long so
    Come close, as close as you can
    I surrender you're so tender and tanned
    I wanna toss I wanna tumble
    Feel and fumble, I wanna do it
    Till my belly rumbles
    So look back and
    Close your eyes and
    While I fiddle you can fantasize"

I no longer have to imagine the East 17 version...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,321 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

"I kissed a girl" - It's soooo 1995 Jill Sobule

CAUTION VIDEO MAY CONTAIN FABIO!!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

One of the lads was singing that I kissed a girl song the other day at work. 'Twas quite funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭Eglinton

She really likes stroking that pussy:P

Trilla wrote: »
    disgraceful
    A young guy acting like a 70-year-old woman... Strange.
    I can't see what's wrong with it - as I said, I don't like it cuz it's another example of that Pussycat Dolls type crap of "we're all such feisty women... but really, we just want to be sexy for the boys" but the fact that it's about a bit of girl on girl intimacy - I don't find that remotely problematic and can't see how it would be inappropriate for kids. It's actually good for them to know that not all boys kiss girls and vice versa.

I can't see what's wrong with it - as I said, I don't like it cuz it's another example of that Pussycat Dolls type crap

When the Pussycat dolls grow up, they want to be famous, have nice cars and have boobies. Things all young girls should aspire too...

A young guy acting like a 70-year-old woman... Strange.

I can't see what's wrong with it - as I said, I don't like it cuz it's another example of that Pussycat Dolls type crap of "we're all such feisty women... but really, we just want to be sexy for the boys" but the fact that it's about a bit of girl on girl intimacy - I don't find that remotely problematic and can't see how it would be inappropriate for kids. It's actually good for them to know that not all boys kiss girls and vice versa.

you forgot the [accent=french][/accent] tags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Tails142

There's something weird about her eyes or her eyebrows. Like she's giving the camera a death stare the whole time. Freaks me out, she does it in that You're so gay video linked above too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭Drift

"I kissed a girl in order to prick-tease".

Were you wearing your Maggie Gyllenhal knickers at the time Dudess? Thats all I need to complete the .... um ..... picture!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,237 ✭✭✭georgem25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

The song sucks arse, but I don't see what's wrong with the message. Though fake-bi girls like the kind the song suggests are really annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭jackbutler

i love how easily people will start talking about pop bands they used to love to hate.

just spices up my life 8]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭McSandwich

georgem25 wrote: »

It looks like she may have p*ssed herself or got over excited in that photo :o

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

How come nobody batted an eyelid at that song Gay Bar?
    Because it's actually a good song

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

I still have not heard this song!

I could always youtube it....but meh! That involves effort.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

NotMe wrote: »
    She has a song called "Ur so gay" aswell. Would that be a better one for the radio and supermarkets?:pac:

I kissed a girl is a shíte song but it's a musical masterpiece compared to that muck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

It's just another crap pop/indie song. It'll be gone soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

Is it just me or does she look like a drag queen in that Ur So Gay vid????

The ironing, as they say, is delicious!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭Curlypinkie

When the Pussycat dolls grow up, they want to be famous, have nice cars and have boobies. Things all young girls should aspire too...

Yeah, whazzup with that? DO they actually sing 'Boobies'?????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

Yeah, whazzup with that? DO they actually sing 'Boobies'?????

Indeed'n they do. Fantastic roles models for a generation of tweenies, I must say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

Honey-ec wrote: »
    Indeed'n they do. Fantastic roles models for a generation of tweenies, I must say

They're saying groupies, not boobies... I think you're hearing what you want to hear. :)

The song OP's talking about is a bit of a guilty pleasure of mine. Especially just the instrumental. Really good actual music behind it, with a really good dance beat at the chorus. Check it out. :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S-0ddDAEdYs

Yeah I think it's catchy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭suckslikeafox

Wagon wrote: »
    It's just another crap pop/indie song. It'll be gone soon.

Please please please dont taint the entire indie genre by linking it with that song! Its pop sh*te and nothing else!