Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

most over rated sport

• 20-08-2008 8:43pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 883 ✭✭✭

while i watch it when ireland are playing in the really big games , i think thee most overated sport is rugby
    the ball is out of play for the majority of the game and there is nothing on this earth as borring as a bad rugby game which is at least half of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

moe_sizlak wrote: »
    while i watch it when ireland are playing in the really big games , i think thee most overated sport is rugby
    the ball is out of play for the majority of the game and there is nothing on this earth as borring as a bad rugby game which is at least half of them

Same can be said of Soccer, the ball is out of play for over 45 minutes on average.
    The most overrated IMO is field hockey. Not because I dislike it, but because whenever I hear hockey I think ice and pucks with fists flying not a bunch of gentleman and ladies who cannot even shoulder:pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭eunified61

All sport is overated or maybe its the importance of the people who take part the managers and the pundits is overated

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 883 ✭✭✭moe_sizlak

Same can be said of Soccer, the ball is out of play for over 45 minutes on average.
    The most overrated IMO is field hockey. Not because I dislike it, but because whenever I hear hockey I think ice and pucks with fists flying not a bunch of gentleman and ladies who cannot even shoulder:pac::pac::pac::pac:

never knew hockey was rated , its a minority sport with a small m

as for your comment about the ball being out of play in soccer more than rugby , that comment is so far off the mark , i consider wating for a lineout to be staged or waiting for a throw in at the scrum to be out of play
    takes about 3 mins to take a penalty kick aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Cricket.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

bigkev49 wrote: »
    Cricket.

Cricket looks like a great game to go to. Sit around in the sun all day, drinking and occasionally getting up to cheer. Excitement level would never get so high that you'd spill you pint though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

Soccer, potentially 120 minutes with no score, even 2 x 90 minutes of no score. At least with a bad rugby game there's the potential for some big hits.

If soccer players were paid according to results, or similar, then it might get more entertaining. I haven't been able to watch a soccer match the entire way through, for a few years and I have been known to watch Curling! (I even watched a film about Curling ... But that was more for Paul Gross than anything).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,211 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

I love football, but that's probably the most over rated sport in the world. It's miles more popular than anything else, and it's not miles better to watch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

This is a silly tread? over rated? by whom? what's the standard? criteria? silly.

but to attempt to answer the question

what's the big hype about female beach volley ball? yes they are thin, tanned girls in bikinis but they're often giraffish.

the problem with soccer is that is has a massive fan support of people who nothing or next to nothing about it.

problem i have with rugby/aussie rules and gaa is these big "macho" dudes fouling each other and hitting sly digs and all this nonsense. rugby's rules are bizarre and designed to be broken. gaa doesn't seem to have consistent definition of wha'ts a foul and what isn't .

amateur boxing? what exactly are the points for? little slaps with knuckle part of your glove? pro-boxing? any chance of seeing a fairly contested fight between two evenly matched guys at a high level? rather than a semi-rigged exhibition bout for whoever controls the purse.

My love for golf and tennis has been revived recently and I think they're great sports to participate in and spectate, live and on tv.

At the end of the day MMA is the best sport. Compared to MMA they're all over rated. The athletics events are too specialised in general. Gymastics is cool though.

Soccer is easy to access, you just need a ball to play it and lets face it you don't need to be the sharpest tool in the box to understand it. That's why it's so popular.

I'm also starting to despise gaelic football. I played for years at underage level, gave it up because of all the politics and petty squabbling that went on at that level. I recently went back to keep fitness up over the summer and it's now even worse. There is no regard for the rules as far as I understood them. The four steps before you hop or solo seems to be ignored for the most part you just have to look like you're making an effort as far as I can see. I've had my eyes gouged, face scratched, pinched etc. it's vicious! And I play rugby!

At the end of the day MMA is the best sport. Compared to MMA they're all over rated. The athletics events are too specialised in general. Gymastics is cool though.

Agree with you about MMA, it is a great sport. In terms of combat sports I have never really caught the bug for K-1 kickboxing. I have seen a few fights but it is just like boxing IMO in terms of entertainment where about 20% of fights are good in both. In MMA about 75% of fights are awesome.

But the 25% of ones that are bad are reeeeeally bad :)

Amz wrote: »
    But the 25% of ones that are bad are reeeeeally bad :)

Without a doubt, they are generally lay and pray fights where a wrestler pins a guy for 15 minutes or Lyoto Machida fights.

Couldn't agree more :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭damnyanks

long distance running

they just run... and run... and run

i bet 200 years ago they didnt even run the full distnace. Just took short cuts. No helicopter flying above to prove otherwise

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 883 ✭✭✭moe_sizlak

what is mma

what is mma
    Mixed Martial Arts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭KrazeeEyezKilla

what's the big hype about female beach volley ball? yes they are thin, tanned girls in bikinis but they're often giraffish.

Thats the best comment on the whole thread. People who talk about how great it is probably never watch it.

While I like Soccer the Premier League as a compettition is massively overrated. It lasts nine months and dominates the summer with stupid transfer speculation and rumours. The top two places are easily predicted as are third and fourth and there are no real major shocks as to where teams will finish. The talk of sackings and 'mind games' gets tiresome as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭gordon_gekko

Thats the best comment on the whole thread. People who talk about how great it is probably never watch it.

While I like Soccer the Premier League as a compettition is massively overrated. It lasts nine months and dominates the summer with stupid transfer speculation and rumours. The top two places are easily predicted as are third and fourth and there are no real major shocks as to where teams will finish. The talk of sackings and 'mind games' gets tiresome as well.

while i agree that the premiership closed season is too short , the premier league is a competition , this does not make soccer any less superior , as a spectacle , its hard to top the world cup every four years or

while i agree that the premiership closed season is too short , the premier league is a competition , this does not make soccer any less superior , as a spectacle , its hard to top the world cup every four years

while i agree that the premiership closed season is too short , the premier league is a competition , this does not make soccer any less superior , as a spectacle , its hard to top the world cup every four years and euro 2008 was a classic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭dragonkin

Watching sports on TV is overrated get your fat asses off the couch and actually play something!

Beach Volleyball - Great bodies little bikinis who cares what game they're playing.

MMA - Watching a bunch of lads beating the **** out of each other, I like to think the human race has evolved since Roman times I know I have.

Rugby - Run in a straight line get tackled throw ball back run in a straight line get tackled ad infinium. Occassionally kick a ball.

Football - Can all come together but generally boring as hell and very slow.

GAA - Hurling can be good to watch but generally very repetitive. Whack ball up field run in a little circle whack ball downfield and repeat. Gaelic football combines the worst elements of football and rugby.

Aussie Rules - Not a disaster to watch very fast paced and great skills still gets boring tho.

Golf - Boring and very repetitive but a game where the tension slowly builds so I can watch it.

Tennis - Very verry repetitive but can build well.

Cricket - Enjoyed watching Ireland but couldn't watch two neutrals unless it was the final of something major.

Field Hockey - Gets boring after a while basically a much faster version of football with sticks.

If you've some kind of personal interest in a player or team doing well does it really matter what sport they play? All of the sports above can be good to watch and have their moments but generally I find most quite boring if I've no real interest in who wins or loses.

The question should be which sport is the most entertaining not which sport is the most over rated and that depends on personal taste some people like skillful play other people get excited when two big lads crash into or hit each other, some like fast paced games others like long slow drawn out games.
    Now playing the sports above that's a whole different matter. No sport is over rated if you play and enjoy it.

dragonkin wrote: »
    Watching sports on TV is overrated get your fat asses off the couch and actually play something!

Beach Volleyball - Great bodies little bikinis who cares what game they're playing.

MMA - Watching a bunch of lads beating the **** out of each other, I like to think the human race has evolved since Roman times I know I have.

Rugby - Run in a straight line get tackled throw ball back run in a straight line get tackled ad infinium. Occassionally kick a ball.

Football - Can all come together but generally boring as hell and very slow.

GAA - Hurling can be good to watch but generally very repetitive. Whack ball up field run in a little circle whack ball downfield and repeat. Gaelic football combines the worst elements of football and rugby.

Aussie Rules - Not a disaster to watch very fast paced and great skills still gets boring tho.

Golf - Boring and very repetitive but a game where the tension slowly builds so I can watch it.

Tennis - Very verry repetitive but can build well.

Cricket - Enjoyed watching Ireland but couldn't watch two neutrals unless it was the final of something major.

Field Hockey - Gets boring after a while basically a much faster version of football with sticks.

If you've some kind of personal interest in a player or team doing well does it really matter what sport they play? All of the sports above can be good to watch and have their moments but generally I find most quite boring if I've no real interest in who wins or loses.

The question should be which sport is the most entertaining not which sport is the most over rated and that depends on personal taste some people like skillful play other people get excited when two big lads crash into or hit each other, some like fast paced games others like long slow drawn out games.
    Now playing the sports above that's a whole different matter. No sport is over rated if you play and enjoy it.

Agree with you about getting out and doing sports but I disagree with your synopsis about some of the sports you mention. Regarding MMA you obviously dont know that it is a 90 year old sport and that there have been zero fatalities in sanctioned events in that time, more people have died in soccer (Mark Vivien Foe and several others), GAA and in rugby several players have been disabled and killed in spear tackles. In boxing between 1900-2000 there was over 1,000 deaths in the ring. So MMA is not dangerous and it is not some barbaric throw back to Roman times. It also may surprise you to know that in gladitorial combat in Roman times the fatality rate was below 10%, most of the time both gladiators lived.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 718 ✭✭✭thirdmantackle

McAnallen didn't die while playing.

Yeah, I know. Some people believe there is a correlation between the two though. You are right, I'll give it an edit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭HashSlinging

horse racing. Hated it as a kid, esp when it was on grandstand. Cross country running followed by midgets on ponys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

I think soccer is very over-rated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭cobweb

Oh what about synchronised swimming how is that a sport ans why is it in the Olympics

surely the most overrated sport??? ever

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭HashSlinging

where else can you get 60k people screaming at their team week in week out. And not to mention world class sportsmen. Far from over-rated IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭dragonkin

Agree with you about getting out and doing sports but I disagree with your synopsis about some of the sports you mention. Regarding MMA you obviously dont know that it is a 90 year old sport and that there have been zero fatalities in sanctioned events in that time, more people have died in soccer (Mark Vivien Foe and several others), GAA and in rugby several players have been disabled and killed in spear tackles. In boxing between 1900-2000 there was over 1,000 deaths in the ring. So MMA is not dangerous and it is not some barbaric throw back to Roman times. It also may surprise you to know that in gladitorial combat in Roman times the fatality rate was below 10%, most of the time both gladiators lived.

Fair enough if I say something bad about any sport I'll get lots of people with differing opinions who passionately support opposing views I have my personal prejudices. Soccer and rugby are dangerous sports and I never said they weren't based on this video I wouldn't say MMA's not dangerous it looks like those lads are getting a nice few digs to the face but they went into the ring so tough ****.
    I'm just saying I would like to think people have evolved beyond the primitive excitement of watching two men beating the **** out of each other in a futile effort to prove themselves to both a baying crowd and each other. I can understand the the motivations and skills behind the exhibition I could even see myself doing it I just have no interest in watching it.

Fair enough Mr.Dragon:)

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Basketball - team A gets the ball, goes down the court with it and scores. Team B take possession, runs down the court with the ball and scores. Repeat ad infinitum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Podge2k7

Zaph wrote: »
    Basketball - team A gets the ball, goes down the court with it and scores. Team B take possession, runs down the court with the ball and scores. Repeat ad infinitum.

I cant watch a basketball match its too boring!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,422 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I love all sports and this topic is just insane imo. Obviously we all have different tastes in sport, but if we all liked the same thing it would be a very boring world.
    Rather than tell you of a boring sport, how about a new one that really excites me, thats the 10k swimming that was on the last two nights at the Olympics, really great stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Golf and Horse Racing are the only two sports I can't watch. Both horrendous.

Rugby is horribly overrated. Put your head down and run into a group of heffers. Repeat until you eventually realise you're going nowehere so hoof it to the corner and hope it goes out of play correctly. Fantastic stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,422 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Golf and Horse Racing are the only two sports I can't watch. Both horrendous.

Rugby is horribly overrated. Put your head down and run into a group of heffers. Repeat until you eventually realise you're going nowehere so hoof it to the corner and hope it goes out of play correctly. Fantastic stuff.
    Have you played golf on a regular basis at any stage?
    If not then you would not understand what makes it so interesting.

Rugby again is a fantastic game, try looking at the super 14's and see what you think after that. Also the Tri-Nations. European rugby is more conservative and not as spectator friendly imo.

I don't like Horse Racing personally but its also very popular and the Grand National is a great spectacle even for me.

horse racing. Hated it as a kid, esp when it was on grandstand. Cross country running followed by midgets on ponys.

horse racing isnt really a sport ,1stly , its an exercise in genetic breeding the same as breeding quality cattle is , 2ndly , its popularity derives primarily from the betting culture that surrounds it

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Jaysus.
    Like 37 posts in and not a soul has mentioned winter olympic curling.

WORST. SPORT. EVAR.

Curling is more interesting than Golf, Horse Racing and lots of others

FACT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

eagle eye wrote: »
    Have you played golf on a regular basis at any stage?
    If not then you would not understand what makes it so interesting.

Sorry I should have said, I actually quite like playing golf, it's impossible to watch though. Really bores the arse off me. Put it this way, I'd never ever go watch a golf tournament. Play in it yes, but watch? Hell no
    Rugby again is a fantastic game, try looking at the super 14's and see what you think after that. Also the Tri-Nations. European rugby is more conservative and not as spectator friendly imo.

I've been to at least 5 or 6 Super 14 games (I try go to the Western Force games whenever possible) and very rarely do I come home satisfied. The odd game might be decided by a last minute drop goal or penalty but for the large part it is 'head down and run' stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭who007

It also may surprise you to know that in gladitorial combat in Roman times the fatality rate was below 10%, most of the time both gladiators lived.

Cos there were rarely human vs human in most colloseums.. they were animals from different continents thrown together to satisfy the audience' curiosity.

Darts?

Cos there were rarely human vs human in most colloseums.. they were animals from different continents thrown together to satisfy the audience' curiosity.

not necessarily

the gladiators were professionals. they knew how to draw blood from an opponent but not kill them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭colly10

This is a silly tread? over rated? by whom? what's the standard? criteria? silly.

+1 -talking about x sport is boring to watch - so it's overrated. A sport is a good sport if it's enjoyable to play, its not about how good it is to watch. I assume so many people watch football because so many have enjoyed playing it at some stage and can relate to it.
    I find football the most enjoyable sport to play and watch, if I never played football im sure that there would be plently of other sports id prefer to watch

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

Trampolining, Diving, Water Polo, Anything with long distance in the name and anything else that you only ever hear of at the Olympics.

Baseball aswell.Stupid game.

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Sorry I should have said, I actually quite like playing golf, it's impossible to watch though. Really bores the arse off me. Put it this way, I'd never ever go watch a golf tournament. Play in it yes, but watch? Hell no

I've been to at least 5 or 6 Super 14 games (I try go to the Western Force games whenever possible) and very rarely do I come home satisfied. The odd game might be decided by a last minute drop goal or penalty but for the large part it is 'head down and run' stuff.
    Interesting, if a sport is better to play than watch surely this means it's a good sport.maybe most sports are better to play than watch.Spectators are usually overcritical of what goes on on the field or court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,952 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Are we talking about participating in or watching a sport ?
    Participating is far more enjoyable than watching.
    I like playing soccer,golf,tennis,squash,all great participant sports.
    I'll watch nearly any sport ,every sport can be exciting in some respect.
    I'd agree that as a viewer sport Soccer is by far the most overated.
    I find it very difficult to sit down and watch a full 90 minute match nowadays,I'd much prefer to watch a hurling or tennis match.

i think hurling is over rated , hurling is also lumped in with the likes of gaelscoils in that its a must for the hibernian cosmopolitan to be heard saying they love hurling

you never hear anyone in the media say they dont care about hurling , never where as its always open season to knock soccer
    i dont mean in the sports media , im talking about the kind of **** who appear on sunday morning radio talk shows and discuss various topics

i think hurling is over rated , hurling is also lumped in with the likes of gaelscoils in that its a must for the hibernian cosmopolitan to be heard saying they love hurling

you never hear anyone in the media say they dont care about hurling , never where as its always open season to knock soccer
    i don't mean in the sports media , I'm talking about the kind of **** who appear on sunday morning radio talk shows and discuss various topics
    I know what you're saying,but we are all more critical of professional sport and sportspeople,for example if hurling suddenly turned professional do you think pundits who played ten years ago for boot money would be very sympathetic to a player, playing for the price of a DB9, if he had a bad game. You can see this every week from people like Andy Grey and Eamonn Dunphy.People generally are not knocking the sport, they are knocking the money, the lifestyle, there is definitely some jealousy involved. After all how can kicking a ball be worth 100 times being an "important journalist or radio personality"

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

CHD wrote: »
    Trampolining, Diving, Water Polo, Anything with long distance in the name and anything else that you only ever hear of at the Olympics.

Baseball aswell.Stupid game.

Baseball is infinitely improved by the live experience. But god. I could rarely watch it on TV.
    But it is still not as bad as curling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,366 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

while i agree that the premiership closed season is too short , the premier league is a competition , this does not make soccer any less superior , as a spectacle , its hard to top the world cup every four years and euro 2008 was a classic
    gordon_echo more like.

Volley ball is a great sport to watch and play, beach is even more fun.

at least curling is an old sport and has been played for centuries

not something invented for TV or to sell hotdogs at stadiums