Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Blast from the past as 'Continuity IRA' raises its ugly head

• 19-08-2008 9:22pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭

The Continuity IRA admits responsibility for rocket attack

The Continuity IRA has admitted it carried out the rocket attack on a police patrol in Fermanagh at the weekend.

A caller using a recognised codeword said the dissident terror group launched the mortar at three police officers in Lisnaskea on Saturday night.

Yesterday police revealed that Semtex had been used for the first time by dissidents in the attack.

The three officers were attacked while on patrol in Lisnaskea`s Lower Main Street.

The deputy Chief Constable, Paul Leighton, said it was the first time Dissidents have used the substance in an attack.

“It’s significant in that there was Semtex in that explosive charge. It didn’t go off, but there was Semtex in it,”he said.

None of the officers were injured, but two were treated for shock.

Security Minister Paul Goggins claims the attack was carried out by "criminals" trying to return Northern Ireland to its violent past.

He has vowed those responsible will not succeed because the Province has moved on.

Speaking at the scene, local Ulster Unionist MLA Tom Elliot demanded urgent action to curb the growing number of attacks, including a recall of the army if needed.

utv.co.uk

I get the impression things are sliding - already we have heard plans to make the border 'visible' i.e with checkpoints - now this. Why dont these dinosaurs just f**k off and leave us all alone. We had 30 years of this sort of thing. At the very start they had symphaty - no more. There is absolutely no excuse for this sort of savagry and thuggery. I also find the fact semtex was used in this attack very disturbing - thats what the Provo's use to use. We were told this was all destroyed!?

We could be talking about a very very serious situation where these bunch of beauties could have blown up 3 police officers which would plunge the North into chaos. Of course we are all the eejits who agreed to free them all from where they should be - jail.:rolleyes: That goes for the so called loyalists too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Hold on, your coming across as evening herald style sensationalist there!

A tiny minority of a tiny minority will not sway the place back to war. They have no support up the north and have great difficulty in launching attacks in that you be lucky to see more than 10 a year.
    If you had read about that semtex, the PSNI indicated it was very old. Your hardly gonna get 100% decommisioned, there will always be a small bit sliding into the worng hands and it took them at least 8 years to use it, hardly doom and gloom!

And i don't know how you know that the perpertrators were freed from jail, perhaps you should share that info with the cops? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,715 ✭✭✭marco murphy

I also find the fact semtex was used in this attack very disturbing - thats what the Provo's use to use. We were told this was all destroyed!?

No, we weren't.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

No, we weren't.

You say that like you are satisfied that we were not told it was all destroyed and your satisfied with that Supprise, supprise:rolleyes:

We were told the IRA had completely decommissioned. This group got the semtex from somewhere and it must be from old Provo stock.

In the 1960's everyone thought the IRA in all guises was finished - just like today - they were thought to be dead and gone as an organisation but in the background different factions got together and they started training and aquiring weapons again even though they had no support. How do we know this is not in fact a reorganisation in progress? They have ne it many many times in history. There have been numerous attempted attacks this year and each seems to be getting closer. They tried to blow up a bridge last week? I believe as police were crossing.

gurramok wrote: »

A tiny minority of a tiny minority will not sway the place back to war. They have no support up the north and have great difficulty in launching attacks in that you be lucky to see more than 10 a year.
    If you had read about that semtex, the PSNI indicated it was very old. Your hardly gonna get 100% decommisioned, there will always be a small bit sliding into the worng hands and it took them at least 8 years to use it, hardly doom and gloom!

And i don't know how you know that the perpertrators were freed from jail, perhaps you should share that info with the cops? :D

Whoever is telling them what to do, its reasonable to persume, is from the old Provo's and may well have been in jail considering the numbers that were let out (murderers) under the GFA.

I did not say it would 'swing the place back to war'. I mean if they succeeded the Unionists would shut down Stormont and that would bring problems - not 'war' but problems none the less. You could have repisal from Loyalist thugs for example and that would start the snowball rolling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 260 ✭✭adsgirl

Fact The IRA did decomission..
    Fact Continuity IRA did not..

The Continuity IRA have been operating since the cease fire, both by attacks ojn Security Forces and smuggling, namely cigs...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,226 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Of course it wasn't destroyed - and here's the proof.

A_pic.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

darkman2 wrote: »
    I did not say it would 'swing the place back to war'. I mean if they succeeded the Unionists would shut down Stormont and that would bring problems - not 'war' but problems none the less. You could have repisal from Loyalist thugs for example and that would start the snowball rolling.

Why would they?

The likes of SF have been vocal in support of the PSNI. A tiny splinter group is not in govt up there so no reason to bring down Stormont!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

You say that like you are satisfied that we were not told it was all destroyed and your satisfied with that Supprise, supprise:rolleyes:

Jaysus you got all that from 3 words. Do you do palms? To me it just sounded like he was (correctly) disagreeing with your question/statement about us being told all the Semtex was destroyed.
    We were told the IRA had completely decommissioned. This group got the semtex from somewhere and it must be from old Provo stock.

There are so many flavours of IRA though. They definitely did not all decommision and even if they had all attempted to decommision, I'm sure there would be some small amounts of arms+semtex that would accidentally not be destroyed for whatever reason. There would also inevitably be a few dinosaurs who would deliberately keep a little bit "in stock".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭Dogster

Cead Mile failte Osama

Oh I think they are on the road to nowhere in that the Soviet Union is pretty much dead and buried and Mr Putin for all his blustering might think messing around in Northern Ireland was a bit out of his league, given the reality of the hollowed out nature of Russian society and the fact that the Russian military is no longer anything like that of the former Soviet Union in terms of capability and as for the Yanks, people blowing up stuff that might aswell also have connections with various Arab paramilitary-organizations are not likely to prove too popular post 9/11. As for Semtex there is nothing really special about it, it was a commercial explosive and furthermore it presumably has a limited life span and if it they are using old imported stock it might be at or near the end of its usefulness, I note it failed to explode.

Best and Warm Regards
    Adrian Wainer

Why would they?

The likes of SF have been vocal in support of the PSNI. A tiny splinter group is not in govt up there so no reason to bring down Stormont!

Tiny they may be but the Police in the UK just the other day stated that they believe the Irish Republican threat is currently higher then the Muslim fundamentalist threat in the UK!

All im saying is the old IRA adage - 'we only have to be lucky once, you have to be lucky all the time' - they came up with that and it only takes a very small group of misguided people to actually do what they were doing in the 70's and 80's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Mr WibbleWobble

In the 1960's everyone thought the IRA in all guises was finished - just like today - they were thought to be dead and gone as an organisation but in the background different factions got together and they started training and aquiring weapons again even though they had no support. How do we know this is not in fact a reorganisation in progress? They have ne it many many times in history. There have been numerous attempted attacks this year and each seems to be getting closer. They tried to blow up a bridge last week? I believe as police were crossing.

I would have thought they pinched quite a bit of stuff from the provos? I think it got so bad that the provos raided about 15 houses one night and kind of said STOP! in their usual friendly manner.

Tiny they may be but the Police in the UK just the other day stated that they believe the Irish Republican threat is currently higher then the Muslim fundamentalist threat in the UK!

All im saying is the old IRA adage - 'we only have to be lucky once, you have to be lucky all the time' - they came up with that and it only takes a very small group of misguided people to actually do what they were doing in the 70's and 80's.

Watched the BBC news report on Lisnakea incident, a Police Spokesman didn't mention Muslim threat ect....
    There is only a small minority of dissadent Republicans here in the North and the Police probably know all of them, weird that the UK Police would make a statement like that.

I hope it is just remnants from the Provo's. I also think that today it would be far more difficult for them to set up a distribution network for weapons and explosives. Alot of it came from America and Libya - hardly happen today. They could get it from Eastern Europe - but I think patrols and checks are far superior now to what they were even 5 years ago. When you think about it its extremely difficult to even see them as a credible threat but like I say - just one incident is all it may take to fool everyone that they are a credible threat. An incident like this.

The 'Real IRA' did this exact thing in Omagh despite being a joke of an 'orginisation' they still caused alot of problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

It's Darkman, for fvck's sake. IU think he works for them (or the Scumday World)

Did you not read his opening forray in the foreigners thread?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

adsgirl wrote: »
    Watched the BBC news report on Lisnakea incident, a Police Spokesman didn't mention Muslim threat ect.....

That was last week I think - I will search for a report.

Dissident Northern Ireland republican threat 'higher than from Islamic extremists'

Dissident republicans from Northern Ireland are engaged in suspicious activity more than any other radical group in the UK including Islamic extremists, according to security sources.

By Aislinn Simpson
    Last Updated: 8:29AM BST 28 Jul 2008

Police at a checkpoint in County Down. Sir Hugh Orde, the PSNI Chief Constable, has confirmed the risk, calling it the highest in a decade Photo: PA
    Some claim that the Northern Irish terror threat is as significant now as it was during the time of the Omagh bombing 10 years ago and that up to 80 hardcore dissidents could be plotting attacks.

Among those they may target are Catholic police officers in a bid to deter young Catholics and nationalists from joined the Police Service of Northern Ireland (PSNI), and prison officers, the sources say.

Police Service of Northern Ireland Chief Constable Sir Hugh Orde has also confirmed the risk, saying that the threat from republicans opposed to the peace process is the highest than at any time this decade.

"It is as high as it has been in my time in the service," he said. "Significant efforts are ongoing to tackle the threat. The aim where possible, is to arrest those involved, charge them and bring them to court and to date over 30 people have been arrested this year."

Dissident republican groups such as the Continuity IRA were formed after mainstream paramilitary organisations such as the IRA declared ceasefires in the mid 1990s.

According to security sources, more than 60 per cent of all electronic information intercepted through wire taps and other covert operations related to them, and they have already claimed responsibility for murder bids on five police officers in Northern Ireland since November.

But the sources have also expressed frustration that because the police are stretched, officers with anti-terrorism experience are being transferred away from the areas where they are most needed.

One, a Dublin security official, pointed to a landmine attack on two PSNI officers in Rosslea in Co Fermanagh last month as proof that the dissident threat was returning to levels not seen since Omagh.

Jeffrey Donaldson, a Democratic Unionist minister in the Stormont Executive and a former Northern Ireland Policing Board member, said he was aware of the "very high" threat of dissident action and called for police resources to be targeted at the groups.

"It is important that the Chief Constable recognises the seriousness of this threat and the imminent dangers posed to security force and prison service members and that there's an appropriate response to deal with the threat," he said.

"We have been very fortunate that those dissident republicans have not managed to cause death but they have come very close on a number of occasions and I would be very concerned about the level of activity at the minute and the potential for further such attacks.

"Everything must be done to ensure the threat is dealt with before a life is lost."

Telegraph.co.uk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭Dogster

Oh Police Constable plod is at it again, for sure Continuinty IRA or some other "Republican" group would be able if they tried hard enough to blow up something in London or Belfast and kill lots of innocent people say fifty or so, on the other hand as much as I would have no particular regard for these pseudo Republican chancers, I can't see they would get around to detonating a nuclear warhead in London, which is more than I could say for our Islamist friends. So whilst the threat of the murder of say fifty or so people and a lot of property damaged by "Republicans" is more possible than an Islamist attack, the possibility that an Islamist attack could be a whopper that kills not tens of people but ten of thousands of people is the one that worries me.

Best and warm Regards
    Adrian Wainer

Dogster wrote: »
    So whilst the threat of murder of say fifty or so people and a lot of property damaged by "Republicans" is more possible than an Islamist attack, the possability that an Islamist attack could be a whopper that kills not tens of people but ten of thousands of people is the one that worries me.

I agree. 1 death is 1 too many no matter what it is but obviously there would be bigger consequence to an Islamic attack - they always go for 'spectaculars'.

Bloody hell Orde really went to town, sorry I was going on the news reports re weekend incident..

Well if this is the case then he obviously is aware of who planted the Omagh Bomb, perhaps he will act on that.

I doubt it tbh. Id have thought if they knew exactly they would have them all rounded up by now.

Well Hugh Orde must know , if he claims there are 80 still at large, the Omagh Bombers are amongst them, Orde hasn't the balls to arrest the Omagh Bombers, lest the peace process is rocked, so if he thinks they are a higher threat that Islam why not round them all up and be done with it..

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    It's Darkman, for fvck's sake. IU think he works for them (or the Scumday World)

Did you not read his opening forray in the foreigners thread?

Link or did'nt happen.....Im an Oirish Times reader btw, occasionally I go for the lower class Independent;) The Scumday World - certainly not - thats for the peasants.

Well Hugh Orde must know , if he claims there are 80 still at large, the Omagh Bombers are amongst them, Orde hasn't the balls to arrest the Omagh Bombers, lest the peace process is rocked, so if he thinks they are a higher threat that Islam why not round them all up and be done with it..

Well, there is a certain body of opinion that thinks the Omagh bomb was 'allowed' to happen - that the British wanted a 'watershed' moment to prevent further bombs on the 'mainland' - a moment that would turn the vast majority of Ireland against the IRA and compell people to act against them like never before at such barbarity. You see the British government (contrary to Unionist claims) does not care about the North - all they cared about was that nothing happened on their own turf. Thats just an opinion I heard floating around on a radio program. If that was the case you can see why the police might be reluctant to act in case something devastating comes out about what really might have went on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Link or did'nt happen.....Im an Oirish Times reader btw, occasionally I go for the lower class Independent;) The Scumday World - certainly not - thats for the peasants.

This one.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=56920623&postcount=1

And??? I agree with the article. So what? Alot of other posters do aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,787 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

This group got the semtex from somewhere
    it must be from old Provo stock.

These two statements do not follow on from one another as inexorably as you seem to be suggesting imo.

And??? I agree with the article. So what? Alot of other posters do aswell.

Ah, but it was the sensationalist tone of the article.

Well, there is a certain body of opinion that thinks the Omagh bomb was 'allowed' to happen - that the British wanted a 'watershed' moment to prevent further bombs on the 'mainland' - a moment that would turn the vast majority of Ireland against the IRA and compell people to act against them like never before at such barbarity. You see the British government (contrary to Unionist claims) does not care about the North - all they cared about was that nothing happened on their own turf. Thats just an opinion I heard floating around on a radio program. If that was the case you can see why the police might be reluctant to act in case something devastating comes out about what really might have went on.

Time and time again evidence has shown both the PSNI and the Guards are well aware of who planted the bomb..
    The majority of people here may not accept the bomb was allowed to be placed in Omagh, but do accept evidence was sat on..
    To allow the Peace process to continue, this is the basis for then Campaign by the Victims Families, That tosser Terry Waite even stood in Omagh at the weekend and informed those poor people they have to accept they will never see justice done.
    Pretty sickening Ordes Islam comments now...

keane2097 wrote: »
    These two statements do not follow on from one another as inexorably as you seem to be suggesting imo.

If its from old provo stock - its from old provo stock. I did not know when I started the thread. Seemed the most logical answer but not nessacarilly the correct one till another poster said it quoting police.

Ah, but it was the sensationalist tone of the article.

It's Kevin Myers - what do you expect:rolleyes: I dont agree with ALOT of what he says on other issues though. At least he gives an honest enough opinion most journalists wont.

Myers said it was old Provo stock?

What - Kevin Myers is a Provo?:eek::pac: The one journalist you have to assume the IRA dont like very much!

No, of course not, how would he know - the police said it......;)

What - Kevin Myers is a Provo:eek::pac: The one journalist you have to assume the IRA dont like very much!

No, of course not, how would he know - the police said it......;)

No Myers is a d***head, sure even the Police know that.

A bit harsh? Why is he a d***head? Sure he is provocative but does he hold opinions that rile you up that much? If he does he is doing his job perfectly. He annoys me sometimes but at the end of the day people buy papers to see controversy sometimes. Be a bit boring reading articles or opinion agreeing with you all the time. Or maybe you think he is just condescending, pompous and irritating in the way he writes rather then his actual opinions.

I can understand that.

A bit harsh? Why is he a d***head? Sure he is provocative but does he hold opinions that rile you up that much? If he does he is doing his job perfectly. He annoys me sometimes but at the end of the day people buy papers to see controversy sometimes.

OMG!!! you are Mr Myers, should have recognised the style of writing, been posting long?:cool:

There's no such thing as an honest jounalist in much the same way there's no such thing as an honest politician!

OMG!!! you are Mr Myers, should have recognised the style of writing, been posting long?:cool:

I can categorically say without any confusion that I most certainly am not Kevin Myers despite popular belief. This is not the first time someone has said this to me :confused: Is this regarded as an insult I wonder? :D

There's no such thing as an honest jounalist in much the same way there's no such thing as an honest politician!

Ah but I did not say there was - I said he gave an 'honest enough' opinion. No one is entirely honest.

Wow. You read minds aswell as make up ****e. Suprise suprise indeed.

I'm sure the IRA did fully decomission (well apart from small stock for its own security), but your attempts to link possible IRA retaining weapons and the CIRA are futile. Its pretty damn obvious the CIRA obtained some weapons and material from IRA arms dumps well before decomissioning. Duh.
    In the 1960's everyone thought the IRA in all guises was finished - just like today - they were thought to be dead and gone as an organisation but in the background different factions got together and they started training and aquiring weapons again even though they had no support. How do we know this is not in fact a reorganisation in progress? They have ne it many many times in history. There have been numerous attempted attacks this year and each seems to be getting closer.

The IRA have made it clear what direction they are taking, and its not one of armed action.
    They tried to blow up a bridge last week? I believe as police were crossing.

False.

Whoever is telling them what to do, its reasonable to persume, is from the old Provo's and may well have been in jail considering the numbers that were let out (murderers) under the GFA.

What evidence do you have for this? Talk about uninformed.

The police in the UK have stated many things. I think you need to start differenciating between Irish Republicans and Mico Irish Republican entities eager to go back to war. Irish Republicans are represented by the Republican Movement, i.e Sinn Fein.
    I hope it is just remnants from the Provo's.

It has been made very clear that the semtex was 20 odd years old. No need for your speculation anymore.
    The 'Real IRA' did this exact thing in Omagh despite being a joke of an 'orginisation' they still caused alot of problems.

I don't think that is an accurate analysis. The RIRA had a successful enough campaign since their formation. They are a more significant threat to peace than the CIRA.

Tell me darkman2, why would any attacks on the PSNI bother you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭0utpost31

utv.co.uk

Why dont these dinosaurs just f**k off and leave us all alone. We had 30 years of this sort of thing.

Add a few hundred years onto that.....

I can categorically say without any confusion that I most certainly am not Kevin Myers despite popular belief. This is not the first time someone has said this to me :confused: Is this regarded as an insult I wonder.QUOTE]

Come on Myers come forward...
    Lack of attention to facts, copious copy and paste, quoting tossers, getting huffy when challenged, you has been been outed on Boards....:cool:

I can categorically say without any confusion that I most certainly am not Kevin Myers despite popular belief. This is not the first time someone has said this to me :confused: Is this regarded as an insult I wonder.QUOTE]

Come on Myers come forward...
    Lack of attention to facts, copious copy and paste, quoting tossers, getting huffy when challenged, you has been been outed on Boards....:cool:

I dont get huffy when challenged and generally dont respond to personal attack and ignorance and answer questions like from a certain Republican poster above as I wont now. What do you mean by 'copious copy and paste'...? I think you will find I only pasted two relevant articles.;)

I dont get huffy when challenged and generally dont respond to personal attack and ignorance and answer questions like from a certain Republican poster above as I wont now. What do you mean by 'copious copy and paste'...? I think you will find I only pasted two articles.;)

Where was there a personal attack?

Copy and paste, I'd be more concerned with tampering of sources.

Continue to run away from the questions. It subtracts any credibility you have left :)

Where was there a personal attack?

Copy and paste, I'd be more concerned with tampering of sources.

Continue to run away from the questions. It subtracts any credibility you have left :)

Do you think it is Myers?? Given your tampering of sources evidence?

Wow. You read minds aswell as make up ****e.

I think you lost my attention right about here - your first sentence. You want to be a muppet and expect people to answer your questions? You put your questions in a proper manner and people will answer them. Seems fair enough.

Stop putting stupid messages in my profile aswell. *shakes head*

I think you lost my attention right about here - your first sentence. You want to be a muppet and expect people to answer your questions? You put your questions in a proper manner and people will answer them. Seems fair enough.

Did I hit a nerve? Answer whatever suits :)
    Stop putting stupid messages in my profile aswell. *shakes head*

The which?

Do you think it is Myers?? Given your tampering of sources evidence?

Yes show us all again this incriminating 'evidence'.....;)

http://www.sfgate.com/c/pictures/2004/02/22/mn_hussein.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

if you two want to flirt further, take it to thunderdome.