Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Party Poker Irish Poker Tour with €20k added

• 19-08-2008 6:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭

This is the official thread for the Irish Poker Tour. I’m setting it up as an official ambassador for the event sponsored by Party Poker in association with pokerevents.ie

Eight weekends. Eight venues. Sixteen tournaments. Some of the country’s top tour organisers and Casinos have come together to help stage these unique events and Party Poker has added €20,000 to the prize pool.

The main event at each venue is a 2 day €320 + €30 Freezeout with a 45min clock and 10k starting stack. The support event is a €200 + €20 FO with a 30min clock and 8k starting stack.

The first event was held in the Eglinton Casino Galway and was won by Dublin’s Jaye Renehan.

The next event is the Waterford leg of the tour hosted by Big Slick Events. Neill has his own thread running for that and it’s bound to be a great event. The venue for that is the Tower Hotel and it’s Aug 30th / 31st.

September 6th / 7th sees the tour roll into Dublin and the most popular card room in the country – The Fitzwilliam.

October 17th / 18th and we’re in Cork at another great venue The Macau.

We’re back in Dublin on the 8th / 9th November this time at that old Favourite City West an event which will be run by JP.

The Culchie’s aren’t left out either as the following weekend Nov 14th / 15th we’re at the Park Hotel, Kiltimagh, County Mayo. This is my home event and it will be run by Mayo Poker Tour and the mighty Muscles with Four Of A Kind and the even mightier Carlo.

Nov 28th / 29th was going to be Athlone, but this is now moving to Limerick – So bring an armour plated vest and come and join some of the very best – This event will be run by Munster Poker Tour and our very own Connie147. Venue TBC.

Finally Dec 12th / 13th we’re in beautiful Letterkenny at the Gold Club Casino. A very popular venue that always gets good numbers.

And the best news of all [If you discount the fact that I will be playing at each event.] Is that Party Poker have added €2000 to each and every main event.

At each venue league points will be accrued and credited to players who finish in the top places. The top three points finishers will share a prize pool of €8k. Four thousand of this is added by Party Poker and €500 is withheld at each of the tour stops. The winner gets €5k plus a trophy. Runner up €2k. Third €1k. Which is better than a kick in the hole.

That way the more events you play the better chance you have of taking down the title of Tour Champion.

The tour is also designed as a feeder into the January Irish Poker Championship a €2000 FO which once again will be held at the Galway Radisson Hotel and will be televised by RTE. So top prizes will include tickets.

Structure for each main event is as follows – With breaks decided at each venue according to their requirements. The TD at each venue will have the right to tweak this basic structure as some events are Saturday starts and some are Fridays. These were the structures used in Galway and are the template.

SB BB ANTE
    25 50
    50 100
    75 150

Break - hot meal

100 200
    150 300
    150 300 25
    Break

200 400 25
    300 600 50
    400 800 50

Day 2 - chip race

500 1000 100
    600 1200 100
    800 1500 200

Break

1000 2000 200
    1500 3000 300

Break - Hot meal - chip race

2000 4000 500
    3000 6000 500
    4000 8000 500

Break- chip race

5000 10000 1000
    6000 12000 1000
    8000 15000 2000

Break

10000 20000 2000
    15000 30000 3000
    20000 40000 4000 FROZEN.

Structure for support event is as follows – With breaks decided at each venue according to their requirements.

SB BB Ante
    25 50
    50 100
    75 150
    100 200
    150 300
    150 300 25
    200 400 25
    300 600 50
    400 800 50
    500 1000 100
    1000 2000 200
    1500 3000 300
    2000 4000 400
    3000 6000 500
    4000 8000 500
    5000 10000 1000
    7000 15000 1000
    10000 20000 2000
    15000 30000 3000

I think this is a great event for players to support - Padraig Parkinson, Scott Gray, Rory Liffey, Thomas Bomber Nolan and our own "nicnic" Nicky Power as well as myself have committed to participation in the tour.

There is no doubt that if this year it goes well next year there will be more stops and who knows – maybe even more added money too.

Any questions I’ll do my best to answer them.

partypokeripc.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

I have not been to many festivals in ireland but after the weekend in the macou i would not be too encouraged.
    Saturday night and there was no omaha game a stream of people were looking for a game and none was forthcoming.
    No waiting lists for cash games railing loses its bloody appeal fairly quickly.
    My point being if one gets knocked out of the tournament early and having feck all options to tilt your chips away whats the point?
    Im sure youll get agood following regardless and good luck with it ill definitely play the dublin legs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Fatboydim

Obviously you'd have to ask the Macau about why that was. I didn't notice because I was in the tournament for the two days. Galway was lively enough with cash games. I'm sure Waterford will be. The Dublin legs of course will be and Letterkenny and Mayo I'd vouch for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

Fatboydim wrote: »
    Obviously you'd have to ask the Macau about why that was. I didn't notice because I was in the tournament for the two days. Galway was lively enough with cash games. I'm sure Waterford will be. The Dublin legs of course will be and Letterkenny and Mayo I'd vouch for.

letterkenny arguably has the best cash games of all the venues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

letterkenny arguably has the best cash games of all the venues.

Can you elaborate Joe, seeing as i spend half my time up there these days!

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I was interested in this until I read the part about tickets being given away as part of the prize fund.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

I see as Dom pointed out tickets will be given out as prizes so what we have here really is a glorified super sat.
    Its a bit much to expect people to trapze around the country to play satellites.
    I personally dislike tournies which give tickets or tournament credits like the fitz does instead of cash so wont bother playing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 218 ✭✭CelticPhantom

Would defo have played this if there was a leg in the midlands.

Why is it the edges of the country have all the goodies?

sickpuppy wrote: »
    I see as Dom pointed out tickets will be given out as prizes so what we have here really is a glorified super sat.
    Its a bit much to expect people to trapze around the country to play satellites.
    I personally dislike tournies which give tickets or tournament credits like the fitz does instead of cash so wont bother playing.

Tickets are only given out as part of the prize. So in Galway for example it was only top two. And I think it was 1st got 8k and second got 5k cash. Whereas a supersat would only generate tickets. The IPC is only *€2k - so lets face it it's not really a big issue, as if anyone is lucky enough to finish high up in the money they will easily be able to sell their ticket on, and at most only lose one or two hundred off the price of the ticket - and if you're canny you'd take a percentage of the player you sell it to. [At least that's what I'd do] Also because each event has €2k added t is compensating for anyone who sells the ticket on. So say top five get a ticket - that's €400 extra to each player contributed by Party Poker. If you can't sell a €2k ticket for €1600 then something is wrong. As far as I understand it [and this would depend on numbers] There are no plans to give out tickets beyond 5th place and as stated, in Galway it was only top two.

So I think the worry of it being just a sat is a little overstated.

The Dublin legs should get good numbers.

Would defo have played this if there was a leg in the midlands.

Why is it the edges of the country have all the goodies?

Athlone was originally on the schedule but was withdrawn and replaced by Limerick. Hopefully next year the tour will be more extensive.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Tickets are only given out as part of the prize. So in Galway for example it was only top two. And I think it was 1st got 8k and second got 5k cash. Whereas a supersat would only generate tickets. The IPC is only *€2k - so lets face it it's not really a big issue, as if anyone is lucky enough to finish high up in the money they will easily be able to sell their ticket on, and at most only lose one or two hundred off the price of the ticket - and if you're canny you'd take a percentage of the player you sell it to. [At least that's what I'd do] Also because each event has €2k added t is compensating for anyone who sells the ticket on. So say top five get a ticket - that's €400 extra to each player contributed by Party Poker. If you can't sell a €2k ticket for €1600 then something is wrong. As far as I understand it [and this would depend on numbers] There are no plans to give out tickets beyond 5th place and as stated, in Galway it was only top two.

So I think the worry of it being just a sat is a little overstated.

The Dublin legs should get good numbers.

It should definitely be pointed out in advance how many tickets will be given out and fairly prominently on any posters produced imo. It scould also make the almost inevitable deal more unlikely if 3 or 4 handed if cash couldn't be given instead of tickets if at least 2 of the players didn't want a ticket.

5starpool wrote: »
    It should definitely be pointed out in advance how many tickets will be given out and fairly prominently on any posters produced imo. It scould also make the almost inevitable deal more unlikely if 3 or 4 handed if cash couldn't be given instead of tickets if at least 2 of the players didn't want a ticket.

I'll pass that on Do. I think it's a good idea it's on posters too. - However what I would say is that it's unlikely that the organisers would know how many tickets would be given away until the number of entrants are known. It's why only two tickets were given out at Galway. Given that the events are in association with folks like Neill and Jp and Connie we all understand the issues involved and I'm sure the right decisions will be made at each venue according to the discretion of the organisers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭DEEP THROAT

The IPC is only *€2k - so lets face it it's not really a big issue, as if anyone is lucky enough to finish high up in the money they will easily be able to sell their ticket on, and at most only lose one or two hundred off the price of the ticket

And what if the ticket is never used? You of course will give a full refund as it was never used, registration did not take place and the € did not end up in the prizepool..

Well apparently if you buy a lotto ticket on a Monday - you are statistically more likely to be dead by the Saturday than to win it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,317 ✭✭✭The Clamper

Well apparently if you buy a lotto ticket on a Monday - you are statistically more likely to be dead by the Saturday than to win it.

thats it, now i am definitely not buying any more lotto tickets

Ah Yes Derek ... But you can also say that it is statistically more likely that Gráinne Seoige will dump her husband and start a mad passionate affair with your good self than win the lottery.

Truely an answer a politician would be proud of.......

LOL - Well to be honest I thought the answer to the question was obvious :)

If the ticket is never used one would assume something untoward has happened to the person intending to use it. Maybe something like the events in Madrid. So is the concern that this money would not make it in to the prize pool?

If that's the case I'm sure it's covered. All tickets I've ever won for events are numbered and/ or names taken.

It's often said that tickets are non-transferable and non-refundable. But in genuine cases of course refunds and transfers are made. As far as I'm aware there is nothing to stop anyone selling the ticket on [in fact at the IO two years ago that's exactly what was happening for a profit]

Therefore if a ticket were not to be used the money would still go into the prizepool as that ticket is already accounted for.

If there were a genuine reason why a person could not attend last minute before the tournament I'm sure it would be looked upon as the circumstances dictate. For example Roy Brindley was telling me how he managed to get his WSOP stake back just minutes before the ME tournament started. Because he had to fly back to be with his missus who was being induced and about to give birth. However had he been a minute or two later - and the tournament started he would not have got his money back. This is standard for any show, concert, sporting event etc etc.

So if these things really concern you there's no need to panic, and of course no one is being forced to play.

The idea of this thread is to make sure that all concerns / questions / issues are dealt with.

In fact having already discussed posters and leaflets with the organisers a name change for the tournaments has been mooted.

Party Poker Irish Poker Championship Tour - So it becomes the IPCT - Feeder tournaments to the IPC.

So that's being discussed and if posters leaflets can be changed they will be. [Though I suspect they've already been printed.] If we can improve things we will.

LOL - Well to be honest I thought the answer to the question was obvious :)

If the ticket is never used one would assume something untoward has happened to the person intending to use it. Maybe something like the events in Madrid. So is the concern that this money would not make it in to the prize pool?

If that's the case I'm sure it's covered. All tickets I've ever won for events are numbered and/ or names taken.

It's often said that tickets are non-transferable and non-refundable. But in genuine cases of course refunds and transfers are made. As far as I'm aware there is nothing to stop anyone selling the ticket on [in fact at the IO two years ago that's exactly what was happening for a profit]

Therefore if a ticket were not to be used the money would still go into the prizepool as that ticket is already accounted for.

If there were a genuine reason why a person could not attend last minute before the tournament I'm sure it would be looked upon as the circumstances dictate. For example Roy Brindley was telling me how he managed to get his WSOP stake back just minutes before the ME tournament started. Because he had to fly back to be with his missus who was being induced and about to give birth. However had he been a minute or two later - and the tournament started he would not have got his money back. This is standard for any show, concert, sporting event etc etc.

So if these things really concern you there's no need to panic, and of course no one is being forced to play.

The idea of this thread is to make sure that all concerns / questions / issues are dealt with.

In fact having already discussed posters and leaflets with the organisers a name change for the tournaments has been mooted.

Party Poker Irish Poker Championship Tour - So it becomes the IPCT - Feeder tournaments to the IPC.

So that's being discussed and if posters leaflets can be changed they will be. [Though I suspect they've already been printed.] If we can improve things we will.

For fear of seeming a bit dim ( every pun intended ) are you saying

1. I have a ticket and arrive at the desk in Galway 2 minutes b4 kickoff I would get a full refund for the face value of the ticket? ( Most organizers seem at best a bit vague on this matter hence you get alot of panic selling on the day of main events up and down the country )

2. Each ticket is automatically registered into the prize fund as it is issued and a name is associated with it at a later stage?

3. Do your tickets come with the reg fee included in the €2k?

1] if you had a good enough reason I'm sure you would be refunded. If it's just because you don't fancy playing - of course not. again this is exactly the same as any service / event. Would you expect to get your money back from MUFC at Old Trafford if you had a spare ticket for the game? As with everything it would involve discretion. If for example you were at the venue and got a call to say a loved one had been involved in an accident it wouldn't look very good if the organisers didn't refund you. But don't do this:

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/soccer-star-sorry-for-granny-lie-1080994.html

It's common sense really.

2] Yes - but usually it's a number so that it can be transferred to another player.

3] Yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Macau Cork

sickpuppy wrote: »
    I have not been to many festivals in ireland but after the weekend in the macou i would not be too encouraged.
    Saturday night and there was no omaha game a stream of people were looking for a game and none was forthcoming.
    No waiting lists for cash games railing loses its bloody appeal fairly quickly.
    My point being if one gets knocked out of the tournament early and having feck all options to tilt your chips away whats the point?
    Im sure youll get agood following regardless and good luck with it ill definitely play the dublin legs.

There was a dealer and table opened for Omaha but for 20 mins nobody would leave the 3 5,5 nl texas hold'em cash games

And was announced 4 times on the MC.

Simply people looked for the game but didn't want to leave cashgames they were seated on.

1] if you had a good enough reason I'm sure you would be refunded. If it's just because you don't fancy playing - of course not. again this is exactly the same as any service / event. Would you expect to get your money back from MUFC at Old Trafford if you had a spare ticket for the game? As with everything it would involve discretion. If for example you were at the venue and got a call to say a loved one had been involved in an accident it wouldn't look very good if the organisers didn't refund you. But don't do this:

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/soccer-star-sorry-for-granny-lie-1080994.html

It's common sense really.

2] Yes - but usually it's a number so that it can be transferred to another player.

3] Yes

Would a quick phone call on the morning with a "my car died and I won't make it in time" story be "Good Enough", or would you look for a death certificate? :rolleyes:

Bear in mind most men consider the car as a loved one

Would a quick phone call on the morning with a "my car died and I won't make it in time" story be "Good Enough", or would you look for a death certificate? :rolleyes:

Bear in mind most men consider the car as a loved one

A note from the mechanic would suffice :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

Len, any idea when the main event is on this year? I'm guessing the 2nd Jan will be day 1. Any ideas as I need to sort time off and knowing in December is far to late.

Spot on Ollie. Jan 2nd 19.00hrs. €2000 - 9% withheld.

Support events are a €750 + €75 Jan 3rd 17.00hrs. €500 + €50 Jan 4th 15.00hrs, and a €300 €30 Charity event runs at 21.00hrs on the 4th as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭corkie123

len i see ye have the macou down for 17th and 18th oct thats the same time the boyles tourie on in dublin bad timing i think

Hard not to clash with something I suppose - You'll have to take that one up with Ken :)

Good to catch up with you last week.

The next leg of this is at The Fitz this Saturday. I'm actually not sure what time it's starting however - anyone know. or structures and buy ins see the front of this post.

I'll be traveling down and should be a few from Galway too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,952 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

think i saw the time being 4ish

That's what it was in Waterford so that would make sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

Ah Yes Derek ... But you can also say that it is statistically more likely that Gráinne Seoige will dump her husband and start a mad passionate affair with your good self than win the lottery.

hang on a good second.....

are u telling me that clamper has a chance....?

or

are you saying that graiine is a serial adulterer sponsored by the lotto?

how do u know she even buys a quickpick? :mad:

Derek is a fine handsome man - What woman wouldn't be interested? Oh no... Hang on... I'm confusing Derek with Brad Pitt... No... Maybe Derek winning the lottery is a better bet.

You playing over the weekend Des? If not I'm liable to be knocked out early and there's dinner and a pint or two on the cards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

away len but i'll pm u the games i'm in over the next couple of months so i can give those westlife cds back to you. (cough)

next one is the game for Console on Sept 13th in Fitz at 4pm, i'll be there from 6pm.

good luck with the partypoker stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

Myself and Martin will be in,
    See you there Len.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭kakak1

The next leg of this is at The Fitz this Saturday. I'm actually not sure what time it's starting however - anyone know. or structures and buy ins see the front of this post.

I'll be traveling down and should be a few from Galway too.

Len if this was on Sunday I could guarantee 20,000 + lads up from Waterford

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Jayminator

5starpool wrote: »
    I was interested in this until I read the part about tickets being given away as part of the prize fund.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Jayminator

graiine is a serial adulterer sponsored by the lotto:

This is good news I believe.

Is Friday Night at the Fitz still the normal Scalps tourney or will they be doing any sats into the Saturday game anyone know?

sats are on thursday nite - there was a thread somewhere about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭VI_BEAR

anybody know roughly how many runners are expected for this?

i'm playin anyway just wonderin?

in da words of scotty nyugen "148 entrants 147 losers........."

my lamborgini license plate says tyap "thank you all players"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭BIGMICKG

any1 know what time this starts at?

4pm

Anyone playing in this tomorrow -
    The satellite last night generated 4 tickets,

Moi,

Stewy (who kindly knocked out everyone at final table while mumbling "I really shouldn't be playing so many hands:rolleyes::rolleyes:)

Ze General, (automate fold to the ticket)

Joe Giblon...

what time does day 2 start @?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 487 ✭✭Theeglinton

Hey guys,

Live updates on the IPCT in the Fitz can be found on the pokerevents.ie forum. There will be updates on both tournaments over the two days.

http://www.pokerevents.ie/Forum/tabid/54/forumid/1/scope/threads/Default.aspx

Caroline

Dim Jr is having a great run in this. Gtd *€1k now. Not bad considering he didn't want to play the €40 sat that got him into the tourney.

C'mon Tom!

Dim Jr is having a great run in this. Gtd *€1k now. Not bad considering he didn't want to play the €40 sat that got him into the tourney.

C'mon Tom!

looks like the sponsors got the wrong family member. Gl Tom

Ollie... They could have picked Mrs Dim, Dim Jnr, Baby Dim, Babe Dim or even The Bird [My Mum] They would have all been better than me.:D

Good to see you yesterday.

When you're up west next do not hesitate. You're wasting away and need a good meal :)

Tom finished 5th for ***€1.4k.

Not bad for ********€40

Tom finished 5th for ***€1.4k.

Not bad for ********€40

Wp Tom, nice result for a student,, what percentage for the old man!!!!

Good to see you yesterday too Len, sure we'll see you at Citywest next month.

BigMickG takes it down - well done Mick....

http://www.pokerevents.ie/Forum/tabid/54/forumid/1/threadid/383/scope/posts/threadpage/3/Default.aspx

hmm pokerstars jacket...