Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

That chocolate bar ad

• 18-08-2008 11:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭

I was delighted to hear whoever is standing in for Tom Dunne, along with the Pet Sounds producer, tearing strips off that horrible, cringey chocolate bar ad. It's supposed to depict typical "wacky" office horseplay... and there's even the shaky camera to give it that authentic look. Oh god, it's insulting. I'm talking about the one where the guy is trying to eat his chocolate and his "hilarious" colleagues play some sort of game to tease him and end up taking all his chocolate. Those ads have been doing the rounds for a while now - they're not funny, not clever, just embarrassing and irritating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

The snack ads? I hate them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Yeah. It's supposed to be be like Dawn and Tim annoying Gareth in The Office.

Really lame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

My Mam saw that ad the other day and said that yer man was being bullied and intimidated by the other two. She said someone should write and complain about it! :rolleyes:

My Dad likes those ads though. I'm utterly indifferent to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,169 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

Really lame.

I never even realised that. Indeed, shite ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

That one is pure genius compared to most of the other ads out there. It's still crap, though. I couldn't really care less about it. I zone out during ads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Jesus Christ. Haven't you liberal hippies got anything better to do than complain about a 30 second advertising slot?

The "Snack in the Mouth" campaign has been successful across a broad range of demographics including office mothers, single workers and voters. The fact that it was talked about during drive time radio and that you started a thread about it only proves how good the campaign has been.

Maybe in la-la land tasty, portable chocolate treats sell themselves but in the real world we like to use that old fashioned thing called marketing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Kur4mA

If either of them tried to take my chocolate it'd be a swift kick to the gash for her and a loaf on the nose for himself. TBFH!

Also, the ads do suck.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Really lame.

You mean Jim and Pam annoying Dwight dont you?

These people get paid thousands to make these adds and this is the best they can do. I think I need to change jobs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

Earthhorse wrote: »
    Jesus Christ. Haven't you liberal hippies got anything better to do than complain about a 30 second advertising slot?

The "Snack in the Mouth" campaign has been successful across a broad range of demographics including office mothers, single workers and voters. The fact that it was talked about during drive time radio and that you started a thread about it only proves how good the campaign has been.

Maybe in la-la land tasty, portable chocolate treats sell themselves but in the real world we like to use that old fashioned thing called marketing.

Did you by any chance Direct this add? :D

Just because the add is a success doesn't mean its any good as the OP only mentioned how much it annoyed him, the worst add in any form being "Daft Dave" from right price tiles increased sales by something like 30%, it doesn't make it any less annoying.

BTW like said above i'm fairly indifferent to it, there are other ones that simply make me want to die a little when i see them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Love the snack ads! - albeit purely for the chubbie Nordie blonde chick in them. She can chomp on my snack anytime (she doesn't need to play games to get it either).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Good friends deserve a snatch in the mouth?

ziedth wrote: »
    Did you by any chance Direct this add? :D

Unfortunately, I cannot lay claim to that honour. However, I can recognise good direction and a fresh, witty script when I see one.
    Just because the add is a success doesn't mean its any good as the OP only mentioned how much it annoyed him...

The OP is a communist basically (this can be deduced from the fact that she is moderator of "Alternative & Indie"). If she had her way everyone would live within their means and buy only things they wanted and not what they were told to.

Is that the world you really want to live in, ziedth, a world without products and Chris Tarrant?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

I will criticise the ads if I feel like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Earthhorse, you're gonna have to start sticking winky smilies in your posts. There is some major lack of irony detection where your posts are concerned of late... :)
    Good friends deserve a snatch in the mouth?
    Damn my running out of thanks already! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

As someone said, it's taking off Tim and Dawn in the Office. In an incredibly subtle move the guy who is the butt of all the jokes is overweight and has a very ridiciulous haircut. I guess he is supposed to be the office loser?

It's like something that students throw together in Junior Cert English for media studies. Fair City is wittier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,529 ✭✭✭Im_No_Superman

Some brilliant comments in this thread, hillarious stuff! :D

At least something good came out of those crap adds! :)

Dudess wrote: »
    Earthhorse, you're gonna have to start sticking winky smilies in your posts. There is some major lack of irony detection where your posts are concerned of late... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

:eek: Bitch!

Sorry, I thought you said wanky smilies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

a world without products and Chris Tarrant?

Such a world could not exist surely :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

The boss in these ads is terrible-I sem to recall he tolerates the bullying and thieving that those two thugs inflict on poor Tom. :eek:

Funnily enought the only place I ever see snacks being eaten are in pubs not in offices. They obviously have a poor understanding of their own customers. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

If I was Tom I'd be filing harrasment charges and gettin the fcuk out of there...Wait for the dollas to roll in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,334 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Just because the add is a success doesn't mean its any good as the OP only mentioned how much it annoyed him, the worst add in any form being "Daft Dave" from right price tiles increased sales by something like 30%, it doesn't make it any less annoying.
    "No, but the monkey loves them!"

I love that ad.

The snack ads are terrible. I mute them, those and the Vodafone roaming ones which butchered Jamming.

Although, I like the Ballyfree and Donegal Catch ads. They're both hilarious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

DarkJager wrote: »
    If I was Tom I'd be filing harrasment charges and gettin the fcuk out of there...Wait for the dollas to roll in

If I was Tom I'd hit the gym and then get a haircut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

I for one refuse to consume a snack bar until these ads stop.