Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Yearly earnings for poker players

• 15-08-2008 8:09am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭

They are talking about this over on the MSNL forum on 2+2, interesting topic I think. I'll add in 2 other categories because I would imagine that every few people are making over the 100k mark.

A <0
    B) 0-10k
    C) 10-40k/yr
    D) 40k-100k/yr
    E) 100k-200k/yr
    F) 200k-500k/yr
    G) 500k-1M/yr
    H) 1M-2M/yr
    I) 2M+/yr

I would imagine there are a lot of players falling into A + B, lots of SSNL and MSNL players would be in these and also quite a few in C, but after C it probably goes way way down. I think you should include basically everything people do in poker, SNGS, NLHE, LHE, PLO, tourneys etc. I will take a guess at the following:

A) 500k
    B) 20k
    C) 10k
    D) 4k
    E) 1k
    F) 500
    G) 100
    H) 20
    I) 5

Good point about the less than $0, would be terrible to forget about 95% of online players

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

why is there no <0 choice?

serious question

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Glowingmind

why is there no <0 choice?

serious question

Because all poker players who post on online forums are winning players.
    Weren't you at that meeting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

Could you define medium stakes?

Because all poker players who post on online forums are winning players.
    Weren't you at that meeting?

exsqueeze me, I am a winning playa and also a balla (whatever that is :confused:)

HU4ROLLZ sir, you have offended my honour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭digiman

careca wrote: »
    Could you define medium stakes?

Just going by what 2+2 use in their forums:

Micro is less than 50nl and under
    Small is 100nl and 200nl
    Medium stakes 400nl - 1knl
    High stakes is greater than 2knl

exsqueeze me, I am a winning playa and also a balla (whatever that is :confused:)

HU4ROLLZ sir, you have offended my honour

The way my roll's been going in the past few months, even if i beat you Hu, i'd still probably owe you money.

I'm neither winning nor balla atm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Made over 500k live in the last few months,
    my secret, always quote earning in Yen!

I usually quote my net worth in Zim dollars

impresses the peasants no end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭kpnuts

This week's earnings: -€3,600

kpnuts wrote: »

pah, add a zero and I might raise an eyebrow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Jayminator

This is a thread I have always been interested in reading if it was ever posted. For a number of reasons, principally I ve often wonderd how honest our pro poker players would be if they answered the OP questions......... Anyhow here is my 2 pence worth..

My net poker winnings from playing part time in 2007 were just under €40K. This was because of a few very nice live tourny final table chops etc in 2007 and playing a lot of cash. However I was -€11000 for online play for the same time frame in 2007 due to ridiculous BR management and playing too high staked cash games online for my BR. But i was up around €50K from playing live.

Along comes baby at Christmas which has obviously hugely curtailed my live poker playing this year. I set aside a €10,000 BR for poker for 2008 and I am currently down €-9,800 approx. €5,100 of it from fkn online. I dont win online as I believe I dont give it the number of hands it may require nor do I take it seriously enough.

I should stop playing online which I have done to a huge degree. Aint played in months up to this week when I deposited €400 onto GJP which currently stands at about $500.... See, I never learn........

All I can say is thank fk I ve a real job and only play poker part time and for fun. There ys go. Thats me being honest about my poker career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

digiman wrote: »
    They are talking about this over on the MSNL forum on 2+2, interesting topic I think. I'll add in 2 other categories because I would imagine that every few people are making over the 100k mark.

A <0
    B) 0-10k
    C) 10-40k/yr
    D) 40k-100k/yr
    E) 100k-200k/yr
    F) 200k-500k/yr
    G) 500k-1M/yr
    H) 1M-2M/yr
    I) 2M+/yr

I would imagine there are a lot of players falling into A + B, lots of SSNL and MSNL players would be in these and also quite a few in C, but after C it probably goes way way down.

loads of ssnl players will be in d, some hardcore grinders will be in e, and any serious 2/4+ player that plays 30k+hands a month will easily be making 100k+, imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

I would fall into the B category.

Jayminator wrote: »
    All I can say is thank fk I ve a real job and only play poker part time and for fun. There ys go. Thats me being honest about my poker career.

well said sir

C btw (but only just)

kpnuts wrote: »

typo

well said sir

C btw (but only just)

I should edit my post to just say C and add in the ''part time'' bit. Where have you been hiding btw.

South Africa mainly. Another baby en route too so poker outings have been somewhat discouraged :o

No way you got some south African chick preggers... Wow Mrs EL would not be impressed.

Now back on topic. I would love to read some replies to the OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

I will likely be c unless I go on a downswing or actually play some hands and run reasonably

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭Mighty Ducks22

started playing seriously around March this year. up about 6k since then. id be happy to be in the B bracket over the course of a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭pocketdooz

started playing seriously around March this year. up about 6k since then. id be happy to be in the B bracket over the course of a year.

That's a very good run, particularly remembering this http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055321496

Was most of this €6000 won online or tourneys ? Live or online ?

Basically, playing breakeven poker myself online over about 14,000 hands and would like to improve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Headspace

I am currently in A and hope to be at the high end of c at the end of the year. When I have a losing session I ofteh move up to book a winning session, am + 2 buy ins at 5/10 for the month. I could make a v healthy living at 1/2 but am indisciplined, if's and but's I know but I believe in my poker ability

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭a-k-47

big gap in that c bracket. C bracket last year, A this year :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭Mighty Ducks22

pocketdooz wrote: »
    That's a very good run, particularly remembering this http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055321496

Was most of this €6000 won online or tourneys ? Live or online ?

Basically, playing breakeven poker myself online over about 14,000 hands and would like to improve.

live and the odd online tourney.. i seem play cash very differently and very badly at that. trying to improve at it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

4 years D,C,A(GHEY07) and D bordering E for this year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Ramiriquez

B...just. Started from stakeaments tho without a deposit so just happy to still be playing away lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭dannydiamond

Headspace wrote: »
    I am currently in A and hope to be at the high end of c at the end of the year. When I have a losing session I ofteh move up to book a winning session, am + 2 buy ins at 5/10 for the month. I could make a v healthy living at 1/2 but am indisciplined, if's and but's I know but I believe in my poker ability

Your post is jampacked with contradictions and self delusion.

not really i can play but am a tilt monkey hence i am not a much of a winner that is all

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭a-k-47

lolz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

for the whole of last year, B, this year so far in the B/c bracket, however I've spent every penny of profit these last two months and will be spending more the 1st week in Sept, a weeks golfing in the sun.....:) (would ya look out da windas today, Ill be drowned in croker)

I dont think i'll ever move out of the A B bracket as I'm happy to just play and spend now.......I admire the bankroll nits more than anyone on here,
    cant do it myself, too many goodies out there....

Its a pity this thread has not gotten more responses from the pro's who often post here. I know it is very personal but the brackets are set pretty wide. Would be interested in the likes of HectorJ, Ianmc Valor and a few others just to see if there are many making a good living from playing poker full time.

It may help others who are contemplating playing full time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭Macspower

Its a pity this thread has not gotten more responses from the pro's who often post here. I know it is very personal but the brackets are set pretty wide. Would be interested in the likes of HectorJ, Ianmc Valor and a few others just to see if there are many making a good living from playing poker full time.

no category high enough???

I missed this thread.... I fall in the C category including rakeback at the high end of it..... no quite in the next category..... Prob down a bit from live poker but dont keep any record of that although I prob should...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

I was playing the FT main event yesterday and I look up the stats of each player on poker database. I was shock to see how much some players had won, but still not profitable players. I came across at least 5 players who had won 300k plus but negative profit and 1 player with 650k and no profit.

Knowing a lot of good online MTT players, winning 40k a year is good thats why a lot try to play live as the money is bigger, but so are the buy-ins. The top MTT players earn about 500k a year and 1 player this year broke the million mark, but that doesn't equal profit.

As for cash. I think a lot of players are around 40-50k mark and maybe less. Than the top players are making 100k a year, about 5 of them I would guess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

Don't want/need to reveal how much I'm making but I will be in E) by the end of the year

we should bring this thread back up at the end of the year, some one will prob start another 1 anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

I was just past E in my first year playing full time and have already passed last eyrs profits after 4th months of my 2nd year (100k or so hands played).

I have very little time to play these days as Im currently travelling with 4 mates for a year around Asia and Australia/NZ.

I'm sure If I was able to play more regularly I could make the top end of the F bracket/bottom end of the G bracket. I expect to be comfortably in the F bracket this year in spite of playing less than 20 hours per month right now.

ianmc38 wrote: »
    I was just past E in my first year playing full time and have already passed last eyrs profits after 4th months of my 2nd year (100k or so hands played).

I have very little time to play these days as Im currently travelling with 4 mates for a year around Asia and Australia/NZ.

I'm sure If I was able to play more regularly I could make the top end of the F bracket/bottom end of the G bracket. I expect to be comfortably in the F bracket this year in spite of playing less than 20 hours per month right now.

mods, can we please ban ianmc for causing serious jealousy as I sit here dripping at my desk?

it's a long way from fleecing the drunks in the SE game Ian! fair play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭digiman

Ollieboy wrote: »
    As for cash. I think a lot of players are around 40-50k mark and maybe less. Than the top players are making 100k a year, about 5 of them I would guess

I presume you mean boards.ie players by this bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭Hosef

In C for the past 12 months, playing 20 - 25 hrs per month 100 NL 6 max online (including rakeback)

Moving into D will require me to stop cashing out so often!

Hosef wrote: »
    In C for the past 12 months, playing 20 - 25 hrs per month 100 NL 6 max online (including rakeback)

Moving into D will require me to stop cashing out so often!

The questions was earnings not current bankroll. Even money you took out counts towards it.
    Although if your earning greater then 40k then you should be higher then 100nl!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭Hosef

cooker3 wrote: »
    The questions was earnings not current bankroll. Even money you took out counts towards it.
    Although if your earning greater then 40k then you should be higher then 100nl!

Post was referring to earnings, although BR would be nice!

What I meant was regular cashouts are preventing me from moving up levels which would be necessary to get over 40K

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

I'm mid C for the year to date, was high B last year, low B in 2006 and in A for a grand or so in 2005 - made a profit of a few hundred in 2004 when I first started playing.

I won't break into D this year, not unless I get a big tournament score, and won't slip down into B either (knock on wood!). It's great to have a hobby that pays for itself and great to see the professionals here are having such great years, keep 'er lit lads! :)

Will be delighted with a B again this year. Had hoped for a C this year based on how well i had been doing at the end of last year, but despite a really good Jan and Feb a C is pretty unlikely atm.

ianmc38 wrote: »

Now thats impressive Ian WP.

Don't want/need to reveal how much I'm making but I will be in E) by the end of the year

Lol sir but you just revealed it i.e the category. WP too. Very impressive.

Can you broaden this Reggie to levels, tables, hours etc if you wanted too of course?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭TripleAce

6k € up for the year playing only MTT Live (50€ to 150€ range, although I feel ready for my first "big one" soon) - all standard 1k to 2k wins - miss a big win for more than 2k live!

Breaking even online - although I still think there is a lot of value online and I started to play more online lately and less live.
    Online I have made the FT probably 50 times this year (playing mainly 50$ and 100$ tourney with the occasional 200$ at weekends) and always got busted in 6th to 10th position.....damn top heavy Prizepools! With flatter prizepool I would be loaded :p ....ready to try again tonight :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

Lol sir but you just revealed it i.e the category. WP too. Very impressive.

Can you broaden this Reggie to levels, tables, hours etc if you wanted too of course?

Well im not gonna say me exact figures now am i? Lol anyway i play 3-4 hours per day, 5 days a week. Anywhere between 8 and 12 tables

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Lloyd I think you could easily be a winner online. You have a good understanding of theory, I think your main issue is a mental barrier. If you actually gave it proper concentration an felt motivated to do it properly then I see no reason why you couldn't beat 1-2/2-4 consistently.