Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

help!!!

• 14-08-2008 3:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 42

I want to buy my boyf a guitar and i havent a clue would really appreciate some help with this. thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

amom wrote: »
    I want to buy my boyf a guitar and i havent a clue would really appreciate some help with this. thanks

You can't go wrong with a Daisy Rock guitar, all the cool guys are playing them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 amom

You can't go wrong with a Daisy Rock guitar, all the cool guys are playing them.

okay sounds good where can i get one??:)

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

amom, please start a new thread when you want to ask a question.

The guitar Voodoo_child suggested is one of these:

daisy_artist.gif

I don't think he was serious...

okay sounds good where can i get one??:)

Er yes, I was just kidding, and you were in the wrong thread and with no real information :pac: Sorry ;)

Tell us more about budget, acoustic/electric, bands he likes, all that kind of stuff, and we might be able to help. The more info the better :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭b0bsquish

Get the awesome blue...cause its awesome.

Buy him one of these and he'll love you long time http://www.gretschguitars.com/gear/index.php?product=G6128TDS-R&cat1=&cat2=&q=&st=1

If you dont have that much love (or cash) in your heart check out thomann.de but it might be an idea to give us more of an idea of his experience, music tastes, budget, shoe size, etc

edit: beaten to it by voodoo.

Sorry my mistake i hope i've got it right this time.
    Budget: €1000.00
    Electric
    bands carcass, at the gates, cannibal corpse, arch enemy etc
    i'm sure you get the drift.

thanks in advance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭NoQuarter

http://www.thomann.de/ie/ibanez_rg2550z_gw.htm

By the way you are a GREAT girlfirend!!!! :)

I would have said something like this:

http://www.thomann.de/ie/esp_ltd_ec1000_bk.htm

That's a lot of money, is that a mistake? €100?

Does he play guitar already? Has he got any guitars? If so, what kind?, if you don't know the names, maybe take a picture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Demeyes

Sorry my mistake i hope i've got it right this time.
    Budget: €1000.00
    Electric
    bands carcass, at the gates, cannibal corpse, arch enemy etc
    i'm sure you get the drift.

thanks in advance.

If your boyfriend plays already then it might be no harm to ask him. You'll ruin the surprise but I know I'd be fairly disappointed if I had someone go to that much bother and they bought my a guitar I had no time for. Some people are pretty picky when it comes to guitars so going on other peolpe opinions might not be the best idea.

no €1000.00 is about right maybe even a bit more if it was really nice. yeh he has a guitar he's been playing for years i really dont want to have to ask him i'd hate to ruin the surprise but thats a fair point if i mess it up id hate him to be disapointed. he plays a jackson?? but its old and second hand and i know he wont buy himself a new one.

king-stew wrote: »
    http://www.thomann.de/ie/ibanez_rg2550z_gw.htm

By the way you are a GREAT girlfirend!!!! :)

Thanks!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 427 ✭✭pyure

your best bet here is a gift voucher of some kind for the amount...since he already plays he probally knows exactly what he likes or has a dream guitar in mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,658 ✭✭✭Patricide

Get him a caparison, would be perfect for him!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

feylya wrote: »
    I would have said something like this:

http://www.thomann.de/ie/esp_ltd_ec1000_bk.htm

I agree. The Jackson is most likely a super strat type or a V.
    A LP type like the EC1000 would be good for a different sound and look. :)

I want a girlfriend that buys me guitars... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

i would ask him, i know it will spoil the surprise but that's a lot of money to blow on something he may not like.

could any of his friends help out in finding out what he likes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭DeadSkin

If your gonna spend a grand, the best bet is to let him decide what guitar.
    It might ruin the surprise, but he will be well chuffed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭kranog

As he's into the heavier bands...I'd recommend somethign with active pickups....such as EMG's and the likes...
    Fey got a custom guitar built especially for him from a european crowd called RAN guitars (www.ranguitars.com) that'd be in or around your budget!
    The other options are stuff like LTD's and Ibanez....possibly a Schecter...these are good heavy sounding guitars!
    If ya need any help with the Ran site....just give us a shout sure! :)
    Chris

A Ran is gonna be over budget more than likely. And I'd imagine would be a bit of a nightmare trying to figure out what her boyfriend likes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭DeadSkin

Whatever the purchase maybe, we demand pics for the advice offered :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭kranog

feylya wrote: »
    A Ran is gonna be over budget more than likely. And I'd imagine would be a bit of a nightmare trying to figure out what her boyfriend likes.

Really?
    I got quoted 1200 for the one I wanted...someday I'll get it too! :)
    Les Paul shape made from mahogany to a Gibson width and size with a matt black finish and blood red racing stripes running down the body just above the pickups...which are EMG's 81 & 86.
    No neck inlays at all only red dots on the top of the fingerboard. 2 vol, 2 tone, toggle switch on the top right where it should be, all black hardware.
    It will be mine...oh yes....it will be mine! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Ok, this is an extremely hard question to answer, and as awesome a girlfriend you are to buy a guitar for him, I would strongly suggest that you ask him first. Failing that, perhaps he posts on some internet forums? If so, then you could search his posts and see if he expressed a fondness for a certain guitar.

Now, if I was to make a suggestion, someone else had mentioned Caparison, and I would agree there. Terrific guitars, and spot on for the kind of music he plays, so something like a Christopher Amott signiature (Guitarist from Arch Enemy) would be a good bet.

I think that buying the signiature model of a guitarist he really likes would be the absolute safest bet for something he'll be happy with. So for example, if you want to buy a guitar for someone who loves Joe Satriani, get an Ibanez JS1000. Not everyone is the same, but a lot of guitarists go for the same guitars that their favourite players go for. I'd still say ask him, but if you're not going to, then I would consider this the safest route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭-=al=-

i like joe satriani, get me a js pls :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭Quattroste

Despite what everyone else is recommending I'd say do not ask him! You have been given advise on the type of guitar that would most likely appeal to someone with that sort of musical taste. However, when purchasing the guitar it would be helpful to have someone with you who knows about guitars so you don't get bul****ted by the salesperson. Make sure you can get a full refund should your boyfriend have the nerve to say he doesn't like it, so at least he can change it.

Having said that if your boyfriend does seem dissappointed with a €1000 guitar then dump him fast as there are many lads out there who would cherish a girl willing not only to put up with him constantly playing guitar but to also buy a quality guitar as a present.

We ALL love you, good luck ;)

I love you more Quattroste

I always thought you were a bit unbalanced Al. :pac:

Just like a see saw :pac: :o

Now if either -=al=- or Quattroste can explain to me what the last three posts have to do with the thread and the OP's request, then I won't infract you both.

It's Friday Feylya. Is there any harm in having a bit of a joke. I don't think it detracts from the post. I posted a reply, Al posted a joke reply, I told him I thought he was unbalanced and he posted that he is.

Why the heavy handed approach?

Posting off topic posts is covered in the Charter. And I'm interested to know why -=al=- thinks he can ignore my warnings.

This has actually given me an idea...

Thank you for all the replies its been really helpful now i need to know what guitar does chuck schneider(dont kill me if ive spelt it wrong!!) from Death play(sorry totally inappropriate did he play!) i had a quick chat the weekend with said boyfriend and i think if i could get something similar it might be the way to go! i know a lot of you think the best thing i could do would be to ask him or get him a voucher but we've been together awhile and i would love to do something really romantic and picking it out myself is definitly the way to go!

If ya need any help with the Ran site....just give us a shout sure! :)
    Chris[/quote]

Thanks your really sweet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Vim Fuego

Thank you for all the replies its been really helpful now i need to know what guitar does chuck schneider(dont kill me if ive spelt it wrong!!) from Death play(sorry totally inappropriate did he play!) i had a quick chat the weekend with said boyfriend and i think if i could get something similar it might be the way to go! i know a lot of you think the best thing i could do would be to ask him or get him a voucher but we've been together awhile and i would love to do something really romantic and picking it out myself is definitly the way to go!

http://www.bcrich.com/stealth.html

http://www.thomann.de/ie/bc_rich_stealth_chuck_schuldiner.htm

on the last website you sent me stupid question but which model would i be better with?? st t etc??

sorry ignore above doesnt even make any sense to me anyway thank you i found what i was looking for on the last website you sent me and i am now the proud purchaser of one Chuck memorial guitar!!! thanks to all for the help you were all awesome(nearly all!!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Excellent choice ! I know i'd be pretty damn happy with that !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Nice one. :D

That'd be one sick present.

Nice one. :D

That'd be one sick present.
    In my day, sick was a bad thing..:confused:

You crazy jive-talking kids :rolleyes::pac:

i never got the "sick" thing either...

its just like the "phat" thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Vim Fuego

Now I think of it, get your boyfriend to post a review when he gets it.

ill get him to post however if he hates it he is so f***ing dumped!!!:D thanks again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,110 ✭✭✭sei046

Dodgy stuff. I would hate the missus to get me a guitar, I hate putting myself through deciding which one, never mind her!

Fair play to you all the same