Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Airsoft Beers - Celebrating 2 Years of Airsoft in Ireland

• 13-08-2008 6:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭

Right lads, as per this thread, I suggested a bit of a meet up and a few drinks in honour of 2 years since the wonderful change in Irish law which allowed us all to spent ridiculous amounts of money on toy guns :)

After a bit of discussion in the other thread I've gone ahead and booked Messrs. Maguire on Burgh Quay for 8pm on the 23rd August. It's booked for 30 at the moment and if needed we can also order platters of food up to the day before. (Platters are 35-50euro)

Please vote in the poll to say if you can make it, this will give a good idea of numbers and if necessary I can phone them to adjust it up/down accordingly.

Oh, and just so there is no confusion: Do not turn up in BDU's or camo of any variety and it should go without saying dont bring any airsoft guns with you

Will you be there? 22 votes

Yes
    0%
    No
    100%
    ShivaSkatedudesenordingdongCheeky monkeykdouglasTheDocgerrowadatkiwi84000o1s1nThe MasterStercus AcciditHivemind187MasadaRC car fanatichawkeye1000Dr_PepperIRISH RAILjinkokevteljeurTommyboy71 22 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Skatedude

No
    Voted yes and should be able to go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Bollocks will be at a wedding. Ah well, I'm sure I will get another chance to freak you guys out. You aint never seen dancing till you've seen Cuddles dancing.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,321 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

No
    Will be there ,
    Should be good craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Dar

Sounds like a plan, will be there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭DisasterIRL

I WANT TO GO!

But I'm afraid I will be half way too France by then, I was thinking of not going but after the recent monsoons I can't turn it down:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭kevteljeur

No
    I'll be there. Hopefully no scheduling conflicts appearing before then (suspect there might be a friend's birthday do about then, but I'll juggle). Be great to see you all there swith your clothes on, as they say in swimming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

No
    Just something I wanted to clarify;

We're (I'm) not attempting to "exclude" any under 18s here, but it is a beers event, Boards Beers have been around for years and are a regular boards.ie event, some seperate fora run their own Beers event every now and again too, we could organise a 2 year celebration skirmish, but there's enough special skirmish events going on at the moment and this event is not meant to be that, it's just a bunch of people meeting up for a few drinks. So nothing personal against the under 18's folk on here :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭OzCam

No
    "Do not turn up in BDU's or camo of any variety and it should go without saying don't bring any airsoft guns with you"

The Airsoft Extreme shop in Santa Clara (great shop, top staff) has a big sign on the door...
    "No Gun Bag
    No Common Sense
    No Service"

ie: anyone bringing an airsoft into the shop without it being in a case will be ejected from the premises. And possibly given a smack across the head, though it doesn't actually say that.

Ahh, "common" sense. If only it were...

B.

No
    Indeed; Common Sense, not actually all that common....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

No
    Just wait, I bet atleast one person will arrive in Splitter camo.
    You'll see him arguining with a bouncer while you put your head down and walk past him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭jinko

No
    well any excuse for drink and debauchry :) see you all there.

No
    Bump.....

Any more takers?

Also, as above, I can order food platters up to a day in advance, but dont wanna be stuck paying for all the foods myself....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

No
    I'm in for food

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

im in ,il throw some cash towards a platter of grub too

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

No
    Is this tomorrow keith? i should be there., if ya wanna book a plater there i'll give 40quid for the first one.,
    c yas there lads., :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,602 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

No
    vtec wrote: »
    Is this tomorrow keith?)

Eh? it's saturday, at eight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭hawkeye1000

No
    ill be there. ill throw some money 4 food as well.

No
    o1s1n wrote: »
    Eh? it's saturday, at eight!

I suspect he meant the pre-booking of the fuds. I'll be there at 8 myself, and leaving at 9, and if anyone wants to meet there earlier, PM me. Is anyone going to be anal about who comes? Because I'm likely to drag my girlfriend along for that brief period, or not come at all, because we're heading somewhere together afterwards.

I could just pretend she's been playing airsoft all along, since a lot of you won't recognise each other in normal clothes anyway.

No
    *** resists urge to make anal sex joke ***

:p Nah, bring the girlfriend if you like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭IRISH RAIL

No
    I just love sausages ill go for food aswell

No
    kdouglas wrote: »
    *** resists urge to make anal sex joke ***

:p Nah, bring the girlfriend if you like.

Oh dear, oh dear. Well, we can move to The George later on, if you prefer? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

No
    ill be there

and kev i would offer to bring my misses along to keep yours company, but the bitch is going carlow on a hen night

Id also like to suggest that after 5-6 pints, if anyone wants to run a scenario, that we all go carlow and keep sketch on her, i dont trust carlow boys, ive saeen that ad in the cinema.

But looking foward to drinking myself into oblivion

And for anyone whose going to say" Hey guys take it easy on the drink we dont want neglegant discharge"

Get sie boat, i havnt had a good session in yonks, and there could be an ND on someones chest...notice how im not specifically noting a girl...cause a funny opportunity may appear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

No
    Get sie boat, i havnt had a good session in yonks, and there could be an ND on someones chest...notice how im not specifically noting a girl...cause a funny opportunity may appear

Sweet jesus.

No
    HAhaha., :D

I refuse to work with him anymore.,

No
    Doc: were/are you drunk writing that post?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

No
    vtec wrote: »
    HAhaha., :D

I refuse to work with him anymore.,

Well done dude...I didn't think you could even spell that word......

No
    Shiva wrote: »
    Well done dude...I didn't think you could even spell that word......

Hey!, you should be directing that at him., :p

No
    Lads, Shiva just very kindly offered to provide 4 platters of food for this Saturday night. Big thanks to him as always.

No
    <snip/ >

and kev i would offer to bring my misses along to keep yours company, but the bitch is going carlow on a hen night

Id also like to suggest that after 5-6 pints, if anyone wants to run a scenario, that we all go carlow and keep sketch on her, i dont trust carlow boys, ive saeen that ad in the cinema.

<snip/ >

On reading that whole section, I experienced so many conflicting emotions, but a practical point here: there are far more women than men in Carlow. Many of them students. It could work out for you.

But I like the idea of you trying to get all your airsoft buddies to go to Carlow on our night out to stalk your girlfriend on her night out, that seems like a good use of our Saturday night out. It would be like that movie in the cinema, although I think we could probably talk our way out of jail time by all blaming you for the idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

No
    ill be there

But do you trust her ?

Request move to Personal Issues.....Obviously needs discussion... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 913 ✭✭✭fayer

No
    Id also like to suggest that after 5-6 pints, if anyone wants to run a scenario, that we all go carlow and keep sketch on her

Sorry DOC, just called the pub, boiled bunny is not on the platters so you will have to bring your own !

No
    fayer wrote: »
    Sorry DOC, just called the pub, boiled bunny is not on the platters so you will have to bring your own !

ROFL!

No
    LOL., no boils bunny but DOCs certainly getting grilled in here.., :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,602 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

No
    Lads, Shiva just very kindly offered to provide 4 platters of food for this Saturday night. Big thanks to him as always.

Cheers Tony! I take it that's one each for the moderators? ;)

No
    no more posting after 11 for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 913 ✭✭✭fayer

No
    no more posting after 11 for me

Its alright Doc, it must be hard to type a post while your hiding in a bush holding a pair of binoculars stalking your bird!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Dr_Pepper

No
    Will we get to start drinking early in HRTA on sat? :p

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,321 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

No
    Looks like I'll be heading back to Cardiff this Saturday:(
    Have a good one boys

No
    Dr_Pepper wrote: »
    Will we get to start drinking early in HRTA on sat? :p

Yes, and then we'll be driven back to town by the designated non-drinking driver, which would be you (I can't see anyone prying your hands from your steering wheel). Great idea :D

The Master wrote: »
    Looks like I'll be heading back to Cardiff this Saturday:(
    Have a good one boys

As in, for good?

No
    kevteljeur wrote: »
    Cardiff , As in, for good?

Dear God no , don't wish that evil upon me:D
    Just for a few days to do some work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭Jamseylad

Fair play to you. Great idea, sorry i couldnt make it, wife's birthday.
    will make the next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

No

Ah **** off.
    Can't be doing that.

I'll throw some money in too.

Doc, I'm all for road trips but not if they involve hiding in a bush with you while you ride the hand off yourself.

No
    Doc, I'm all for road trips but not if they involve hiding in a bush with you while you ride the hand off yourself.

:D lol

No
    LOLOLOLOL

this should be good looking foward to it

I wanna see what verbal bashing i get face to face.

No
    LOLOLOLOL

this should be good looking foward to it

I wanna see what verbal bashing i get face to face.

Jeez ya'd think you'd have enough after a normal days work.....

:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Gizmodeon

I might turn up :D
    only for a few mins though :P

No
    Only a few mins, is that all the time we deserve for you to grace us with your presence? :p

No
    so what are numbers looking like?

richie wanted to know since he is designated driver and on coke all night :P

No
    On coke all night., haha., ya make it sound like a night out with katie french.,

Docs trying to crack a good joke to take the attention away from the slaggings hes been getting all through this thread., :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭NakedDex

Coke and hookers?