Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Neighbour Dumps Rubbish in our Bin

• 12-08-2008 5:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,679 ✭✭✭

Ok this forum may not be the rightful place but recently it has come to the attention of myself that neighbour of mine whom of which does not own a wheelie bin has been dumping her rubbish every Monday morning after I go to work in my bin.

My mate informed me of this as he saw her do this now on 4 occasions over the past few weeks. Now with our bin service its charged by the weight, my question is in what do I tackle this person in order to inform them not to continue placing her rubbish in my bin.

Is what she doing even legal , dumping rubbish in our bin, I am sorry if I sound like an absolute aSS but I pay for my rubbish to be collected , why should others not pay?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭BroomBurner

Take it back out and leave it on her doorstep. One of our neighbours left a bag full of rubbish in our bin, I just took it out and left it beside their door. Hasn't happened since.

Or just talk to her and explain that if she wants to use the bin, she can pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Gardai - call them, if you want the less controversial way leave your neighbours a message/note telling them to stop it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭dcukhunter

Tell her you know she is dumping her rubbish in your bin and if she continues that you will contact the council abbout her. It is illegal to dump rubbish in someone elses bin without permission.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

stick a lock on your bin, or else use a hidden camera and when you catch her doing it dump it on her front door that night. She'll get the message
    Van Zuylen wrote: »
    Ok this forum may not be the rightful place but recently it has come to the attention of myself that neighbour of mine whom of which does not own a wheelie bin has been dumping her rubbish every Monday morning after I go to work in my bin.

My mate informed me of this as he saw her do this now on 4 occasions over the past few weeks. Now with our bin service its charged by the weight, my question is in what do I tackle this person in order to inform them not to continue placing her rubbish in my bin.

Is what she doing even legal , dumping rubbish in our bin, I am sorry if I sound like an absolute aSS but I pay for my rubbish to be collected , why should others not pay?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Spore

cant you buy one of them pad locks for your bin? Its all the rage down the country apparantly with them shanty-town mentalities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Procasinator

Might be fun to catch her in the act. You could just put all the rubbish she puts in your bin onto her front step or something similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

R0ot wrote: »
    Gardai - call them, if you want the less controversial way leave your neighbours a message/note telling them to stop it.

yes id probably leave a note, otherwise if it continues, have a camera ready to document whats going on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

this happened with me a few times. luckily for me a quick and level headed word with my neighbour worked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭datk

I am sorry if I sound like an absolute aSS but I pay for my rubbish to be collected , why should others not pay?

I wouldn't let that go - if you're happy that whoever told you she's doing it and are comfortable confronting her I'd do that, firmly but politely telling her that as it's by the weight she is costing your money - she might think it's by the bin like some areas.

Other than that - but a sign on the bin saying - feck off get your own bin - or take a binday off work and catch her.

Don't know whether it's illegal but it's downright ignorant in my opinion. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

magick wrote: »
    yes id probably leave a note, otherwise if it continues, have a camera ready to document whats going on.

Leaving a note? Remember, this class of charecter equate niceness with weakness.

Just leave the rubbish on her doorstep. Similar happened to me and once I did this it never happened again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

Get out a dustsheet and rubber gloves, find whatever old bills you can or anything with their details on them and look towards the option of identity fraud, they will be sorry!:D
    Or failing that, show them to her and ask how they magically ended up in your bin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

Take a dump in her porch late at night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,679 ✭✭✭Chong

Thanks all, I just wanted to see what ye all reckoned, I am going to challenge her this evening when she comes home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭Drag00n79

...or early in the morning. :cool:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I say kill her, and put the body in the bin.

That'll learn her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭maki

MooseJam wrote: »
    Take a dump in her porch late at night
    And don't forget to set it on fire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

Thanks all, I just wanted to see what ye all reckoned, I am going to challenge her this evening when she comes home.

smack in the face with gauntlets would work on me too :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭Scawgeen

Put a large notice inside the lid......'Smile you're on camera, wave up at the tree to your left' it might work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

sweet, let us know how you get on after confronting her. Any chance of taping the conversation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

Best thing to do is hide in the bin...them bam!! pop out and frighten the life out of her :eek::eek::eek:

http://images.wikia.com/muppet/images/c/c9/OG-p0002-ST.jpg

Hahaha recording the conversation ;).

I have just spoke with another neighbour apparently she was doing it to her bin also until she stuck a notice on her bin, but has not challenged her over it as she is afraid to, I on the other hand am not ;).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭Scawgeen

Don't be too hasty, all you've got is your other neighbours word for it, you need to see this happeneing with your own eyes to feel confident of accusing her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

You can get special locks that prevent anyone opening the bin normally, but have a gravity operated pin inside them which unlocks when the bin is tipped up on it's end by the bin lorry.

http://www.dlrcoco.ie/env/gravitylocks.htm

http://www.ecostore.ie/acatalog/Gravity_Lock__.html

That one think I neglected to mention, my bro saw her one morning but didnt say anything until I brought it up last night, he knows i blow up over stuff like this and didnt want me to go over to her about this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

Gather an army and invade her house....its happened for less.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

What a filthy pikey you have for a neighbour.

Be sure to mention it to all your other neighbours so they can be on teh lookout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,962 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

I suppose I wouldnt have issue if they also put a bin out but the fact is they dont put one out is what irks me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭NotMe

Get a fake arm covered in blood and have it sticking out of a black bag near the top of the bin.

Dancor wrote:
    Best thing to do is hide in the bin...them bam!! pop out and frighten the life out of her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Simple solution there mate.

Take out her rubbish and dump it on her lawn along with about 3 days month of your own collected poop.

When she comes to the door if she is that dumb.. explain to her that is her rubbish.. when she says.. that **** there is not mine.. you say, woops sorry my mistake.. but the rest of it is.

Now fcuk off you theiving cnut and get ur own bin.. kthanxbi?

snyper wrote: »
    Simple solution there mate.

Take out her rubbish and dump it on her lawn along with about 3 days of your own collected poop.

When she comes to the door if she is that dumb.. explain to her that is her rubbish.. when she says.. that **** there is not mine.. you say, woops sorry my mistake.. but the rest of it is.

Now fcuk off you theiving cnut and get ur own bin.. kthanxbi?
    :D Legend Snyper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭greatgoal

did you get it sorted yet?

Nope still waiting for her to come home :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭jhegarty

take the bags, make sure they are bills in it , dump in grounds of garda station at 3am...

rinse and repeat at will...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

jhegarty wrote: »
    take the bags, make sure they are bills in it , dump in grounds of garda station at 3am...

rinse and repeat at will...

Some great suggestions but this is the best by far

Respect, jhegarty :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

micmclo wrote: »
    Some great suggestions but this is the best by far

Respect, jhegarty :cool:

yes, because garda stations dont have cctv, plus you would be the one illegal dumping then.

So then hahahahaha I have been over , sometimes people are absolutely despicable.

I said to her I would like her please to refrain from placing her rubbish in our bin, she then became highly indignified at this point, she insisted that she does not put any rubbish in our bin, and has never done so. At this point I had become quite angry lol, not only have other neighbours seen you put rubbish in our bin, you have been seen doing so by my brother also. She then went in home brought her supposed bin bags out, saying this what she uses. She was highly ignorant about the whole situation and continually called us liars saying she does not put rubbish in anyone else's bins.

Now I know my brother is not lying and to have it be confirmed by two other people only goes to confirm it.

Seriously what can you do with people like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

or take out all the rubbish, hide in the bin, wait for her to put something in it then jump out with a mask on, and tell her to "f*ck off"

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

lol at calling the gards, yeah they'll send the ERU straight over :rolleyes:

If talking to her doesn't work, you need proof it's her. Anything with her name and address on it (steal her post one day?:D) and then rat her out to the litter warden at your local CoCo, they love this kinda thing and will either give her a bollocking for you or else take her to court if it's a persistent offence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

The guards will piss themselves laughting at you. :)Hide behind the hedge or wall and wait until she leaves the house some morning and then WHAM, clothesline and leg it! :pac: Buy a lock and put it on your bin as mentioned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 759 ✭✭✭gixerfixer

Go buy a couple of rats and chuck them in her letterbox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Call Me Old-Fashioned but what's the big deal about going over to her, ask her why she's doing it and telling her you have to pay for it and that she has to stop. Tell her if she wants to use the bin she will have to pay.

What's all this "write a note" crap and the gardai?? Jesus, lads.

Call Me Old-Fashioned but what's the big deal about going over to her, ask her why she's doing it and telling her you have to pay for it and that she has to stop. Tell her if she wants to use the bin she will have to pay.

What's all this "write a note" crap and the gardai?? Jesus, lads.
    Already have as per below post.
    So then hahahahaha I have been over , sometimes people are absolutely despicable.

I said to her I would like her please to refrain from placing her rubbish in our bin, she then became highly indignified at this point, she insisted that she does not put any rubbish in our bin, and has never done so. At this point I had become quite angry lol, not only have other neighbours seen you put rubbish in our bin, you have been seen doing so by my brother also. She then went in home brought her supposed bin bags out, saying this what she uses. She was highly ignorant about the whole situation and continually called us liars saying she does not put rubbish in anyone else's bins.

Now I know my brother is not lying and to have it be confirmed by two other people only goes to confirm it.

Seriously what can you do with people like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Well there ye go. I only read a couple of posts at the start, they were so outrageous I had to reply immediately!

Now I doubt she'll do it again after knowing that she's been caught. But if you really want to get the bitch, just set up a camera somewhere at a window or something and when ye come home from work bring it with you over to hers, hook it up to her tv and have a little movie premier in her sitting room.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Jimbo

At least you've probably put a stop to it now. She wouldn't have the nerve to do it again after that, would she?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Just put a damn gravity lock on it as per my previous post, and you'll never have to worry about her, or any other low-life using your bin ever again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

i didn't read the whole thread so this might have already been suggested.......but i hope not

have a friend dress in your clothes and wear and hat to disguise his identity. Have him leave the bin out and then drive your car around the corner for the rest of the day. When your neighbour goes to put the rubbish in, you will of course be hiding in the bin with a hockey mask and chainsaw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Jimbo

Sam Vimes wrote: »
    i didn't read the whole thread so this might have already been suggested.......but i hope not

have a friend dress in your clothes and wear and hat to disguise his identity. Have him leave the bin out and then drive your car around the corner for the rest of the day. When your neighbour goes to put the rubbish in, you will of course be hiding in the bin with a hockey mask and chainsaw

Yea, the hockey mask and chainsw suggestion came up a few times already

magick wrote: »
    or take out all the rubbish, hide in the bin, wait for her to put something in it then jump out with a mask on, and tell her to "f*ck off"

i see it has :(

minus the chainsaw and elaborate plan of course

ok here's a better one. Nail bomb in the bin. You might want to warn the bin men