Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is November ever going to get here???

• 12-08-2008 8:53am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭

Christ its taking forever to get here so it is. i was out walking the dog on some stubble fields yesterday evening gearing the setter up for the season, but it just seems like its never going to get here. I cant wait for the frosty mornings of winter aswell. (although i think they are a thing of the past!)

at least when the ducks begin in september i can start walking the banks with the dog and the gun.

Are ye lads getting looking forward to it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭whitser

im taking my hounds out this evening to run them through some bogs and coverts. wont start sunday hunting til oct, and im horny for it.
    a few evenings after fox will have my new young hound ready and able for full days hunting. was supposed to go for first lamp of the year last night but was rained off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman

whitser wrote: »
    im taking my hounds out this evening to run them through some bogs and coverts. wont start sunday hunting til oct, and im horny for early it.
    a few evenings after fox will have my new young hound ready and able for full days hunting. was supposed to go for first lamp of the year last night but was rained off.

Do your hounds generally run down the fox or how do they do it? id love to see them in action so i would. what breed of hounds are they?

i've 3 hound bitches, all harriers, one of them is half welsh foxhound. they usually flush them to lurchers or run them to ground. or just get a good hunt of a fox til he looses them. im hoping they'll take a couple on the sod this year, they are only a young pack. "special" and "velvet" this will be their second full season and "ginger" this will be her first. they only a small pack so its harder for them to run a fox down. came close a few times last season, pushed some foxes very hard.
    im hoping for a real good season now cos i've got an extra hound my self and my mate has a beagle x to join. so we'll have 4 running as a pack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman

whitser wrote: »
    i've 3 hound bitches, all harriers, one of them is half welsh foxhound. they usually flush them to lurchers or run them to ground. or just get a good hunt of a fox til he looses them. im hoping they'll take a couple on the sod this year, they are only a young pack. "special" and "velvet" this will be their second full season and "ginger" this will be her first. they only a small pack so its harder for them to run a fox down. came close a few times last season, pushed some foxes very hard.
    im hoping for a real good season now cos i've got an extra hound my self and my mate has a beagle x to join. so we'll have 4 running as a pack.

sounds like your gonna have some real good fun. how are the bitches manners coming on. Im currently training mine on the sportdog 400 yard eletric collar and i have to say that although many people are very quick to dismiss these devices, the results i am getting with my bitch are excellent. she has her basic obedience training done with me, but with the collar now she turns instantly to return with too peeps of the whisle, drops and stays when told and i can walk up to forty yards away from her while she is on command to stay, so its good if im sneaking up to a river banks after ducks. i also have her retreving from water, although getting her to retreive to hand is taking a lot of work, but its all patience.

Im strongly thinking of looking for a retired setter or pointer now thats looking to retire and has one last season in him/her, so she can back it up for the season and then let it retire in my back garden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Feck November, September is only around the corner

I live right beside lough derg though so bring on some goose and duck. The shooting there is always great. I miss way way way more than i shoot but just getting shots is fun (to a point, missing 10 duck in a row does get a bit disheartening)

I love the 1st of september, up in the dark, gear into the car, packed from the night before. Stuff the pockets with sweets (emeralds and moo mints) drive to our favourite spot. Walk down in the dark, set up, decoys out and wait.

Its hard to beat the sound of wings cutting through the air in near darkness to get me excited.

Also we bought a fully trained lab this year, Jasper, and this will be our first time out doing the real deal. He is an awesome dog and I am tempted to bring a video camera instead of a gun to show him working.

Home for breakfast at around half 9, big fry up, even looking forward to that.

Usually we follw this with a little power nap and then a good hike up the mountains for sign of deer. We don't expect to meet them at that time of the day but its a great walk with lovely scenery.

Home then for lunch/dinner an another power nap. Pretty wrecked then at that stage.

Finally if the weather is right we go for a night flight at a pond.

1st of September is a great day at my house. Absolutely love it.

sept is the start of most lads official season. most terrier,lurcher and hound men will start back around sept. i find sept is normally still a bit warm for a full days hunting so i wait til end os sept start of oct. either way its nearly here thank god.

stevoman wrote: »
    sounds like your gonna have some real good fun. how are the bitches manners coming on. Im currently training mine on the sportdog 400 yard eletric collar and i have to say that although many people are very quick to dismiss these devices, the results i am getting with my bitch are excellent. she has her basic obedience training done with me, but with the collar now she turns instantly to return with too peeps of the whisle, drops and stays when told and i can walk up to forty yards away from her while she is on command to stay, so its good if im sneaking up to a river banks after ducks. i also have her retreving from water, although getting her to retreive to hand is taking a lot of work, but its all patience.

Im strongly thinking of looking for a retired setter or pointer now thats looking to retire and has one last season in him/her, so she can back it up for the season and then let it retire in my back garden.
    i find bitches better to hunt, but thats just me. with hounds all they need really is to be stock broken and come back in when called(though if mine are on a hunt forget it) other then that,they do whats comes naturally. you dont need to control their hunting instinct like a gundogs.