Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Young Guns Day - HRTA 22nd August - 14-18yrs

• 11-08-2008 12:06am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭

Young Guns Day at HRTA, Ballyboughal

Ok, I've looked at this and mentioned this a few times before, but thought we needed more players so it never happened. Now it is. Before the whole routine of school and work starts back again lets have a day for us. 14 up to and including 18 year olds only. No older superego players getting in the way. The Jackals, The White Skulls and The Part-Time Pirates will all be in attendance and if you play well you might just get an invite to join one of them.

Get there for 10:00 AM, 10:30 at the latest. A map is available at www.hrta.ie . If you cant get a lift several Dublin Bus routes service swords from town, noteably the 33 from Lower Abbey street. A full list is located here: http://www.dublinbus.ie/your_journey/viewer.asp?placeName=Swords . Rember, keep AEGs out of sight the whole time while in public. From Swords a you can get a taxi(think its €9) to the site which is 10 mins away. Paul, the site owner, reccomends Cab2000.

If we get enough we can get a minibus from town for ~10 return. If we do that though we need to 100% that those who take the bus are coming.

Ok, normal fees apply, if you dont know them, here they are:
    Walk on - 25 Full Day, 15 Half Day, 20 Full Day Team Discount.
    Walk on - 45 Full Day, 25 Half Day(Rental Includes: Gun, Mask, And a mag of ammo). More ammo is extra.

If this is your first time you must vist www.hrta.ie and download and print the waiver, sign it and get a parent to do the same.

I'm open to any suggestions for games to play for the day. As we agree on game-types I'll make a list below here.

Ok, I will be doing burgers at lunch for a €3 donation to Habitat for Humanity(We're building houses with them and must raise €32K!). Some confectionaries will also be available for a small donation.

If you can go, please post below so we can get an idea of numbers to predict and thus how many burgers ect to bring.

Some of the more experienced players will be marshalling the day so dont even bother trying to cheat, cheaters will be shot.

If you dont have a boards.ie account you can register or simply leave a comment on www.bebo.com/irishairsoft and I'll add you to the list.

Also, and this is cheeky of me, but if any of the retailers would like to donate prize(s) to Habitat for Humanity(http://www.habitat.org/eca/) we will hold a raffle with the proceeds all going to fund the habitat team.

I think thats it, I'll add more if I think of it.
    Simon(Part-Time Pirates Team Captain) and Co.

UPDATES:

Gametypes:
    Kamikaze - Bomb in a building. Press to detonate switch. Terrorists have infinite lives and 3-6mins to complete. Rent-A Cops have to stop them, if hit are eliminated. When finished reverse.

Traitor Games - Teams are competeing for teritory ect. Each has a traitor in the enemies ranks. The traitor must "knife kill" as many enemies as possible without detection. If killed by trator you are eliminated imediately. The team whose traitor kills the most wins.

Ammo and time limit defence - The name says it all.

Abush as suggested below - Ammo limit, possible VIPs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 982 ✭✭✭RC car fanatic

I'm in but I dont have a lift,anyone care to offer?I'm also not on a team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Players(Minus 3 above teams):
    RC car fanatic
    Penguin-07

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Arcto

No older superego players getting in the way

Yes because their are only two types of airsoft player: Old super ego types and young immature types.

Good call.

Arcto wrote: »
    Yes because their are only two types of airsoft player: Old super ego types and young immature types.

Good call.

Ahh, you again. You spammed the last YG thread, oisin wanred you. Please dont do it again.

And I'm not saying all of ye have superegos, just a handfull who I wont mention. We all know who I'm talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭daz801

hey im up for this havn't played hrta yet but have bin to fingal airfsoft a few times

daz801 wrote: »
    hey im up for this havn't played hrta yet but have bin to fingal airfsoft a few times

Its just down the road. It'll be a nice change I'd say, HRTA and Fingal are very defferent sites.

Are you one of the lads I've player with(I'm the dude withe the UMP/Pistol charges). You lads all got gear in eirsoft right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭MonkeyGuy

Damn, too young this year so PLEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAASE do it again ext year!!!

Me and my friend would definitely get up there somehow!!!:D

Its just down the road. It'll be a nice change I'd say, HRTA and Fingal are very defferent sites.

Are you one of the lads I've player with(I'm the dude withe the UMP/Pistol charges). You lads all got gear in eirsoft right?

dont think ive played with you before ye i got my gear in eirsoft i got a jg g36c

Right. If you are talking to any of the lads from fingal please tell them about this.

Ahh, you again. You spammed the last YG thread, oisin wanred you. Please dont do it again.

And I'm not saying all of ye have superegos, just a handfull who I wont mention. We all know who I'm talking about.

I take offense at that. The reason i "spammed" as you call it, the last thread was because you obviously have a problem with players who are older than you.

The way your first post was worded seems to implie that all older players have superego's. Perhaps you should review this, lest you cause offense to people over 18, or Adults, as we are generally called.

Unfortunatly not all people over 18 posses a higher maturity level (alas, nor do i) but i do not have a superego.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

On topic please gentlemen before I take out the ban hammer.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,321 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

Best of luck with this LB.
    I'm sure you'll recruit loads of new young guns
    who will end up owning my ass next time I'm at HRTA:p

The Master wrote: »
    Best of luck with this LB.
    I'm sure you'll recruit loads of new young guns
    who will end up owning my ass next time I'm at HRTA:p

Its a pitty Richie doesnt drink(least I think he said he didnt) or I'd get him to sign Karl over to us while he "wasnt himself":p

But this is OT. Sorry KD.

Looking at getting more from the bebo now. Also working on an IED and 2 gametypes to play, more soon.

Arcto, will re-phrase the OP in a sec.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭Oglon93

I will definataly be able to go. For a game i think an ambush in the lane except there is ammo restrictions so nobody can just spray hedges and trees.Claymores and other explodie things would be good. re-gen for the attackers and none for the ambushers. Just a suggestion:)

Oglon93 wrote: »
    I will definataly be able to go. For a game i think an ambush in the lane except there is ammo restrictions so nobody can just spray hedges and trees.Claymores and other explodie things would be good. re-gen for the attackers and none for the ambushers. Just a suggestion:)

Good one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭Sod'o swords

myself and 6 other lads should be there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

i'll be there with some mates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Evolute

Sorry lads wont be able to make it.
    Have to get to lough dan for a friends 21st.
    Woulda loved to go but not only going to the 21st is a problem both my AEGs are out of order.
    Anyways hope it turns out well

Super Sod'o swords and shblob.

Ive got another problem....no gun:(:(:(

rent one, ha!

Ive got another problem....no gun:(:(:(

I have to confirm with paul but you should be able to rent, or pepending, I may be able to lend you something, but dont hold me to it.

also, some of my mates don't have guns and can't really afford them, do the have to book rentals or will they have them if they just go in and ask?

shblob wrote: »
    also, some of my mates don't have guns and can't really afford them, do the have to book rentals or will they have them if they just go in and ask?

Lemme get back to you.

UPDATE: Yeah, you can all rent, I'll check rental numbers with paul if we have a load renting but if you give me a list of names for rentals I'll make a list of reserved gear. Send me a PM would be best.

Thanks,
    Simon

I have to confirm with paul but you should be able to rent, or pepending, I may be able to lend you something, but dont hold me to it.

Ill see if I can buy one this week...My bloody star m4 broke and the gearbox is shattered.

Would it not be better and more economical just to get the star fixed? Richie could probably do it in a few minutes whatever the problem is and I doubt it would cost that much, especially compared to a new gun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

My bloody star m4 broke and the gearbox is shattered.

what on earth did you do to the poor thing, even ozzie has not managed to break the gearbox in his yet :D

Would it not be better and more economical just to get the star fixed? Richie could probably do it in a few minutes whatever the problem is and I doubt it would cost that much, especially compared to a new gun.

I kind of cut the wires to get the gearbox out and then took it apart but didn't put it back together again and i dismantled the receivers.A bad choice and €250 down the drain.

Vital question. Do you still have all the parts? Wiring is an easy thing. According to the lads all we need is some 15-40W cable, thats easy. Are you saying the gearbox is in pieces? If you have the parts even I can put it back together, its only a couple of minutes work.

If you dont, a new GB is probably gonna be well under 100(Its star so I'm not sure of a price). I'll check in a sec.

Vital question. Do you still have all the parts? Wiring is an easy thing. According to the lads all we need is some 15-40W cable, thats easy. Are you saying the gearbox is in pieces? If you have the parts even I can put it back together, its only a couple of minutes work.

If you dont, a new GB is probably gonna be well under 100(Its star so I'm not sure of a price). I'll check in a sec.

I still have all the pieces but a few shims are missing and I've no way of giving it to someone.If someone could fix it that would be great..Id pay for the parts that are missing too.

Atually the selector plate is gone and so is its spring,theres a few bits missing.

when removing the star gearbox on the star m4 you need to remove the delta ring , this would allow you to move the wiring

the chances of finding a replacement star gearbox is about 0 no idea how a normal v2 will fit in

I still have all the pieces but a few shims are missing and I've no way of giving it to someone.If someone could fix it that would be great..Id pay for the parts that are missing too.

Atually the selector plate is gone and so is its spring,theres a few bits missing.

You're in Templeogue. Thats only a couple if minutes on the bike away from me. If you have the parts I'm confident I'll get the gearbox back in working order. If you still have the wiring I can bring the solder, wire strippers and electrical tape and thats that sorted. The receiver should be straight foward to reasseble, its just a casing really.

That would be great but I'm missing a few parts,I just realised it there.The wiring is in the bin aswell.

Puding wrote: »
    when removing the star gearbox on the star m4 you need to remove the delta ring , this would allow you to move the wiring

the chances of finding a replacement star gearbox is about 0 no idea how a normal v2 will fit in

Well i could have avoided this problem if I knew that before.Thank for that anyway.

well any questions on the star m4/m16 they are a little different to your normal aegs in a few ways, well sounds like the gearbox just needs to be put back together, someone with basic soldering skills can rewire a gearbox without to many problems, i have a stock pile or connectors wire and heat shrink for just such jobs :)

but this should really be taken to troubleshooting or pms as a bit off topic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭unit88

myself and 2 others would be intested as we have not had the chance to play all summer due to work and other complications so i will get back to you if we can make it :D

Gametypes:
    Kamikaze - Bomb in a building. Press to detonate switch. Terrorists have infinite lives and 3-6mins to complete. Rent-A Cops have to stop them, if hit are eliminated. When finished reverse.

Traitor Games - Teams are competeing for teritory ect. Each has a traitor in the enemies ranks. The traitor must "knife kill" as many enemies as possible without detection. If killed by trator you are eliminated imediately. The team whose traitor kills the most wins.

Ammo and time limit defence - The name says it all.

Abush as suggested below - Ammo limit, possible VIPs.

these sound pretty goodd you should make it into some type of milsim link all the games together with the objectives altering the next game

Sounds good. Script it up if you like.

i have no experience with this but will give it my two cents

have it based in iraq the us secatary of defence is visiting to give the troops a moral talk on the way to the airport he/she is captured in an ambush!!! she/he is been held ransom. the kidnappers want all american and british troops out of iraq within two weeks or they will exacute the secetary of defence.

the games will take place the day after the secatary of defence is kidnapped!! one team will be the kidnapper and one will be an elite force of us marines sent in to rescue him/her.

i dont what way you could use games in this but it sounds generaly like a good storyline

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Glaukos

how many spaces left on the bus?

so how many are goin now

Over 20. More coming.

i have no experience with this but will give it my two cents

have it based in iraq the us secatary of defence is visiting to give the troops a moral talk on the way to the airport he/she is captured in an ambush!!! she/he is been held ransom. the kidnappers want all american and british troops out of iraq within two weeks or they will exacute the secetary of defence.

the games will take place the day after the secatary of defence is kidnapped!! one team will be the kidnapper and one will be an elite force of us marines sent in to rescue him/her.

i dont what way you could use games in this but it sounds generaly like a good storyline

Sounds like a pretty good VIP mission. More peramitors (spell?) could be added. Since its HRTA and theres loads of houses/kill boxes why not let the marines have to nominate which 2 they elect to "search" first. If they guess right which one the terrorists have chosen to hide the VIP in then they are awarded more time to complete the game. If they guess wrong then knock 5 or 10 mins off the time limit for them.

NOTE: the houses are never actually searched before the game. Just get the terrors to tell the marshall which house they pick and then get the marines to chose one or two. Or something along those lines. Make it a bit different.
    Or not. BUH!

Sounds like a pretty good VIP mission. More peramitors (spell?) could be added. Since its HRTA and theres loads of houses/kill boxes why not let the marines have to nominate which 2 they elect to "search" first. If they guess right which one the terrorists have chosen to hide the VIP in then they are awarded more time to complete the game. If they guess wrong then knock 5 or 10 mins off the time limit for them.

NOTE: the houses are never actually searched before the game. Just get the terrors to tell the marshall which house they pick and then get the marines to chose one or two. Or something along those lines. Make it a bit different.
    Or not. BUH!

I like it. Cheers Arcto.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭seamus-2k7

i think ile try make it out

Or not. BUH!
    ye theres loads of game opertunities for unique(spell?) game play
    maybe have a small team of rouge(spell?) forces just to mix things up a bit
    maybe we should have to possible routes to go maby we should actually do the ambush and if they succeed to get the v.i.p we go down the road weve been talking about and if they fail to do it think of an alternative
    just an idea
    anyone have an idea for a name for the operation

Leathal which side are we on?

Glaukos wrote: »
    Leathal which side are we on?

Whatever side suits. We'll probably mix the teams up for balance and do most games twice, reversing the sides for the second game.

got it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 CoolBreeze

i hope 2 b der count me in!!:D