Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

any ambidextrous here?

• 10-08-2008 10:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭

or dare i say it.... sinister lefties?

i got a mad crush injury today and im mad anaesssss.... locked... and typing with my left hand.. its taking ages, im also eating/weeing etc with the sciteog ...... how do u say lft hand in gaelic? i think im managing ok so far... apart from the bastard pain... i think i might bge semi ambi!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

I'm a lefty, semi ambi. Was a lefty thread a while back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 324 ✭✭Joe Cool

flanum wrote: »
    how do u say lft hand in gaelic?

Leamh clé?

I'm both handed but I'm not ambidextrous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

Joe Cool wrote: »
    Leamh clé?

I'm both handed but I'm not ambidextrous.

so whats scitog... ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

Citeog = lefthanded person. (You asked "lft hand")

As for original post: kinda for want of a better explanation/description: "I, too, am both-handed".
    New question: Are lefties the cause of txtspk? Can we blame these deviltypists?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

not ambidextrous but use both left and right. eg i write right handed but would throw something left handed. kick a ball with either foot. switch hands playing squash

flanum wrote: »
    or dare i say it.... sinister lefties?

i got a mad crush injury today and im mad anaesssss.... locked... and typing with my left hand.. its taking ages, im also eating/weeing etc with the sciteog ...... how do u say lft hand in gaelic? i think im managing ok so far... apart from the bastard pain... i think i might bge semi ambi!!!

You usually type with your right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭Drift

You think it's awkward hurting your good hand now. Wait for a few hours/days until mr happy needs to be seen to. Not at all easy with the Palmela left and her 5 virginal sisters!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

i beg to differ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭Drift

Had you the sense to practice when you were young?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Phlann

I write left handed but I do everything else right-handed.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Lady

I typed this using both hands....I'm skilled I am :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

I have bits of ambidexterity.. I play snooker and pool both handed, have a break of 57 with my left and 145 with my right, I know you can't really compare the two but my right feels more natural. But I could beat any average or slightly above average player with my left hand also. Play table tennis/badminton etc left handed. Write with my right, play soccer with right mainly but good with both.
    My mother can write cursive both handed at the same time, i.e. her name, left hand goes cursive backwards, right hand goes normal. At the same time and looks identical, it's really cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

It depends.

I touch type, so being restricted to either hand would be tiresome for me.

I can't write with my left, and when I was kickboxing I fought orthodox. But I can fight Judo on my left or right.

Also due to many years in the gym I don't have a weak sider either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭bythewoods

I'm ambidextrous. :cool:

Not only has it made me and my magical hands highly popular but it's also ridiculously useful...
    For example,
    I can write perfectly (or equally badly in any case) with both hands- during exams or what not I can switch from left to right gracefully... which limits wrist spasming somewhat.

I do tend to use my right hand more than my left, but fundamentally I'm an outcast, walking practically alone through this cold harsh world of people who can't use both hands in the amazing way i can. The righties don't want me for betraying them with my leftie.. and let's be honest, I'm too good for the lefties. My superiority's suppressing me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Ambidextruous is being really good at **** with either hand, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

So I always thought. Tis a skill in itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Xavi6 wrote: »
    So I always thought. Tis a skill in itself.

i was forced to learn to be ambidextrous for that reason. It's so massive that one hand just couldn't do the job properly

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Dave147 wrote: »
    I have bits of ambidexterity.. I play snooker and pool both handed, have a break of 57 with my left and 145 with my right, I know you can't really compare the two but my right feels more natural. But I could beat any average or slightly above average player with my left hand also. Play table tennis/badminton etc left handed. Write with my right, play soccer with right mainly but good with both.
    My mother can write cursive both handed at the same time, i.e. her name, left hand goes cursive backwards, right hand goes normal. At the same time and looks identical, it's really cool.
    You had a break of 145?
    Jaysus
    Misspent youth. My highest ever break was in the fifties.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,321 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

I can change web pages with one hand
    and fap with the other,
    does that count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

TBH ye're penis should be confiscated if ye can't... that **** is BASIC OPERATION - page 1 of the manual. It's right before "not getting it caught in your zip" and well before "pissing despite the horn".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

I'm bulemic
    Is that the same thing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭rstans

I'd give my right arm to be ambidextrous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 324 ✭✭Joe Cool

I thought it was doing it with two hands, at once like.
    One on top of the other?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

Yes, i can do most things like write(but not as well), throw, swing a bat or leftie golf club, shoot, amid other things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭mawk

always sounded sooo handy.
    man, id give my right hand to be ambidextrous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

i got the leftiness bet out of me in school :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Mirto

taidghbaby wrote: »
    i got the leftiness bet out of me in school :(

Same but I found God and he showed me a light that one cannot imagine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

rstans wrote: »
    I'd give my right arm to be ambidextrous.

Godammit you beat me to that one :D

Im right handed but i open bottles with my left cos my right hand is too much of a wimp...also i use my knife and fork arseways.....

and i use my other 2 arms to make contact with the spaceship from my planet :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

I can't write with my left hand but my left arm is stronger than my right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭maki

All I can do with my left hand is open rickety wooden doors and give you a floppy punch in the face that you probably wouldn't even notice. Useless it is. All I need is good old righty.

I am, this means though that I can't distinguish left from right.
    I am every taximans worst nightmare.