Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork vs Kilkenny.

• 08-08-2008 10:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭

Doesn't seem to be a thread for the match yet, so this is here for debate and predictions before, during and after the match.

Kilkenny:

P.J. Ryan
    Michael Kavanagh
    Noel Hickey
    Jackie Tyrrell
    Tommy Walsh
    Brian Hogan
    J.J. Delaney
    James “Cha” Fitzpatrick
    Derek Lyng
    Eddie Brennan
    Martin Comerford
    Eoin Larkin
    Richie Power
    Henry Shefflin
    Aidan Fogarty

Cork:

Donal Og Cusack
    Shane O'Neill
    Diarmuid O'Sullivan
    Brian Murphy
    John Gardiner
    Ronan Curran
    Sean Og O'hAilpin
    Tom Kenny
    Jerry O'Connor
    Ben O'Connor
    Niall McCarthy
    Patrick Cronin
    Cathal Naughton
    Joe Deane
    Patrick Horgan

Not sure what to say, a difficult game to predict. Many are putting the whole game down to how well Diarmuid does, seemingly up against Shefflin. However, I'm sure Sully will see this as his last chance to prove he is up to playing for Cork, will come out all guns blazing and do better then he has against Gilligan and Canning. Ultimately, Sully's fate will be dictated by how well the Cork middle third - out strongest area - does in limiting the quantity and quality of the ball into the Kilkenny full forward line.

I honestly see little difference in terms of skill and physicality between both teams, and I expect it to be a relatively low scoring, tight and physical game where both teams mainly cancel each other and with both center back lines on top. Because of Cork's seeming inability to play consistently strong over the 70 and Kilkenny's greater goal threat I expect Kilkenny to get a one or two point win.

Regardless, I hope its a cracking game, and I'm sure the Cork hurlers will do their county proud as they always do. ;)

Cork vs Kilkenny - who will win? 50 votes

Cork
    0% 0 votes
    Kilkenny
    18% 9 votes
    Draw
    82% 41 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭jprender

cork to trail by 10 points at half time and win the game by 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Nah that kind of thing never happens...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭jprender

u can read about it on the carlsberg website right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

I don't think I've ever looked forward to a non-Waterford hurling match as much as this one. If both teams play to their potential it'll be an amazing match to watch. I'll be rooting for Cork myself but if I was a Rebel I'd worry about the momentary lapses of concentrations that's plagued them from time to time this year, like that 10 minute period in the 2nd half of the Munster semi against Tipp or practically all the 1st half against Clare.

Lets face it, against Kilkenny that's the equivalent of hurling suicide. If Cork want to have any chance of victory they can't afford to let KK pull more than 3-4 points clear, and thats a very difficult thing to do. A positive start is essential, and they have to take the game to the Cats from the off. If KK ever sense that Cork are there for the taking, they'll punish them like no team in the country ever could.

Cork have made great strides since the Tipp match, no doubt about that, but I feel that Kilkenny might just be a step too far for them. I'll go for Cork to be there or thereabouts up to the 55-60 minute mark, and then KK to pull away and take the game by a goal or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,845 ✭✭✭2Scoops

I'd be surprised if Kilkenny don't win by at least 5 or 6 points. A step too far is right. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭noaces

deise59 wrote: »
    I don't think I've ever looked forward to a non-Waterford hurling match as much as this one. If both teams play to their potential it'll be an amazing match to watch. I'll be rooting for Cork myself but if I was a Rebel I'd worry about the momentary lapses of concentrations that's plagued them from time to time this year, like that 10 minute period in the 2nd half of the Munster semi against Tipp or practically all the 1st half against Clare.

Lets face it, against Kilkenny that's the equivalent of hurling suicide. If Cork want to have any chance of victory they can't afford to let KK pull more than 3-4 points clear, and thats a very difficult thing to do. A positive start is essential, and they have to take the game to the Cats from the off. If KK ever sense that Cork are there for the taking, they'll punish them like no team in the country ever could.

Cork have made great strides since the Tipp match, no doubt about that, but I feel that Kilkenny might just be a step too far for them. I'll go for Cork to be there or thereabouts up to the 55-60 minute mark, and then KK to pull away and take the game by a goal or two.

Completely disagree with you here. If the game is tight going into the last ten minutes Cork will win. They know how to wear a team down. Alternatively Killkenny could have the game wrapped up at this stage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

This has potential to the game of the season. I would agree with that if its a really tight game coming into the last few minutes Cork may well win it. Kilkenny rarely get it put up to them. I voted for Kilkenny because they are Kilkenny! We've hardly seen them break out of 2nd gear so far this year. They just have quality all over the pitch though and i expect that to show on Sunday.

I think its a mistake for Cork to play 'The Rock' at full back. He certainly was a weak link against Clare, and up against Shefflin is hardly going to get any easier for him. Personally i would put Gardiner in the 3 shirt right from the start. It could be too late if they leave it until the 2nd half to make that switch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

Shefflin is not really the biggest concern as he isn't firing on all cylinders after his injury...more worried about others like Brennan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,181 ✭✭✭DenMan

What is the experience of being at a Hurling match like? Never been to one before and am really enjoying watching it as of late. A uncle of mine runs a company in Cork and said a few of the players visited his plant recently. There has been a huge amount of interest in this game. That team Kilkenny are something else aren't they? If every Hurling team played like them it would be an awesome game, far better than football. A draw and a reply would be a terrific result (not to mention great for the GAA). Can it happen or does it have to be decided on the day? I would say a reply (hopefully). I hate to see a team lose by one point and when they are level a reply is a brilliant result.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭mbren

With all due respect Orizio, how can you think the physicality of the two teams is similar?? From what I can see, Kilkenny are 10 times more physical than Cork. They are the hardest hitting team in the country, where as Cork, in my eyes, have more small, cute players who create space which makes up for their lack of physical presence.

That's just my opinion, feel free to debate it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

DenMan wrote: »
    What is the experience of being at a Hurling match like?

Its the best field game in the world. The fastest, most exciting, most action you will ever see at a live sporting event. You should try and get to any game you can, its a day very well spent!

mbren wrote: »
    With all due respect Orizio, how can you think the physicality of the two teams is similar?? From what I can see, Kilkenny are 10 times more physical than Cork. They are the hardest hitting team in the country, where as Cork, in my eyes, have more small, cute players who create space which makes up for their lack of physical presence.

That's just my opinion, feel free to debate it...

Beyond, the O' Connors and Deane, the Cork team is pretty much 6 foot plus or close enough to it, and people like Kavanagh and Walsh aren't exactly huge themselves.

Neither team would have won all-Irelands if the bulk of their teams weren't physically strong, tall and fit. Going by past games between the teams I personally saw both teams pretty much the same in terms of physique.

DenMan wrote: »
    What is the experience of being at a Hurling match like? Never been to one before and am really enjoying watching it as of late. A uncle of mine runs a company in Cork and said a few of the players visited his plant recently. There has been a huge amount of interest in this game. That team Kilkenny are something else aren't they? If every Hurling team played like them it would be an awesome game, far better than football. A draw and a reply would be a terrific result (not to mention great for the GAA). Can it happen or does it have to be decided on the day? I would say a reply (hopefully). I hate to see a team lose by one point and when they are level a reply is a brilliant result.

Its good fun, maybe you could go to the Tipp/Deise game?

Probably the best thing you could do is get your kids (if you have any), girls and boys, playing GAA, it will do great things for them socially and physically. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭corcaighcailin9

The Rebels to silence the doubters and win by 4 points. Sully for man of the match. You heard it here first :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Tazdedub

I have to admire the Cork supporters confidence but I cant see anything other than a win for the Cats. For Cork to win this game they have to play out of their skins for the 70 minutes, at no stage can they afford to drop their level of play against the Cats as the Cats have the ability and the power to put them away and not let them back into the game. Also the rock at full back is a major gamble and could backfire. The Cats to win by 5 or 6.

Tazdedub wrote: »
    I have to admire the Cork supporters confidence but I cant see anything other than a win for the Cats. For Cork to win this game they have to play out of their skins for the 70 minutes, at no stage can they afford to drop their level of play against the Cats as the Cats have the ability and the power to put them away and not let them back into the game. Also the rock at full back is a major gamble and could backfire. The Cats to win by 5 or 6.

Sure we know this and we also know we can't comtemplate staging a comeback - the Cats are just too good.

And let's not open The Rock debate again. Suffice to say he knows what he has to do tomorrow or it's the end of the road for him. I'm giving him the benefit here and backing him to play a stormer tomorrow.

Rebels abu!!

Thanks for the reply guys. I don't have any kids and to be honest I am happy being an uncle. Definitely going to go and see a Hurling game for myself.

So which team do people think will be helped by the damp and heavy underfoot conditions tomorrow?

Hard to say, don't think either side will make too much of the conditions they'll just get on with it. There'll be basic ball handling errors on both sides and it'll be damn hard for the players to stay on their feet. By the time the hurling comes around after the 2 games before it, I'd say the pitch will be in a right state.
    Am drooling with the excitment of the double header. Have the strepsils ready as my vocal chords will be severely tested tomorrow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

jprender wrote: »
    cork to trail by 10 points at half time and win the game by 2

If Cork are down by 10 points at half-time, its likely that Kilkenny will win by more than that at full-time. KK will not let Cork come back at them like Clare and Galway did. I'd also expect KK to stick Martin Comerford or Shefflin in on the Rock and test him with a few high balls. He was beaten badly by Gilligan and Canning the last 2 days.

I'd expect that Neil Ronan and Timmy McCarthy will be used as impact subs again tomorrow, but Cathal Naughton wont be given the freedom he has been afford thus far this year, I'd say that Cody will deploy a specific man-marker onto him so as to curtail his influence around the middle of the field.

KK to win by 5+ points.

Do Cork tend to start badly in games and come back very strongly? As somebody new to the game and trying to understand it, is that what has been happening recently with them? Kilkenny look like an awesome team and wouldn't give Cork any time to come back and pick scores off. The are brilliant in all departments (my limited knowledge) and may try and go after Cork because they have so many players who can score and defend well, when they need to. Hope I got that right. Cork will be up for it, there is no doubt about that, but are Kilkenny just too strong for them in all departments?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

Anyone want to call it? Cork look marginally sharper and KK don't like the running play. Rock seems in better form.

Main danger from the KK side is that Shefflin looks on form.

I say Cork though, by one or two.

Edit: pffff... could I have been more wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

fricatus wrote: »
    Anyone want to call it? Cork look marginally sharper and KK don't like the running play. Rock seems in better form.

Main danger from the KK side is that Shefflin looks on form.

I say Cork though, by one or two.

cracking game of hurling so far. kilkenny coming more and more into it.

the optimist in me says cork at this point, the realist says kilkenny by 2 or 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭derby7

I thought it was going to be score for score, maybe even a draw at full time, but it looks like Cork will have to sit/kneel down at half time and pray for that miracle AGAIN...... !!
    Great game though, football doesn't even come close to the speed and skill of a good hurling game :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Kilkenny are getting away with absolute murder out there.
    Non stop cynical fouling going unpunished by the referee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

Two points from play in the first half from Cork :eek:

Kilkenny won't be reeled in in the second half - too many good forwards and their defence to remain on top

A few points:

1) I don't see how any can say this has been a great game so far. There's great passion and tenasity yes, but both teams (KK in particular) are just over-physical. There's been no real flow to it and its just gotten really scrappy from time to time.

2) Kilkenny are an amazing side, but they're still the dirtiest team in the country. To them, it's player first, sliotar second. It's really horrible to watch.

3) It's game over. Kilkenny will never leave an 8 point lead pass them by.

Cork doing well to hang in there. But they really need a goal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Tanabe

Kilkenny just know how to play the game so well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭BOHSBOHS

so much time wasting by kilkenny ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Jesus how did no official see that, awful thing to see someone using a hurl for that, hopefully the GAA will use Video evidence and ban that cork player for a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

Villain wrote: »
    Jesus how did no official see that, awful thing to see someone using a hurl for that, hopefully the GAA will use Video evidence and ban that cork player for a long time.

Sickening Kenny should get a year for that because giving him 6 months means feck all at this time except for club matches. Dispicable act, hope he's ok and am glad Kilkenny won for that incident alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

Handy enough win for Kilkenny. Seems hard to see anyone stopping them now!

BOHSBOHS wrote: »
    so much time wasting by kilkenny ,

Do you believe everything Ger Canning tells you? Wouldn't trust him meself since he doesn't seem to know half the players or the rules of hurling.

2) Kilkenny are an amazing side, but they're still the dirtiest team in the country. To them, it's player first, sliotar second. It's really horrible to watch.

They're tough but they play within the rules. I saw plenty more dirt from Cork tbh. Hope Cha is ok after that sickening blow from Kenny. If he did that on the street, he'd be in jail. :mad:

I dont think anyone honestly expected a 10 point victory for the Cats. That 10 minute period at the end of the 1st half turned the game on its head, and they'll be huge favourites in the final whoever they face.

They still get away with murder when it comes to their physicality though,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

tommy walshe is developing into quite an angry young man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 277 ✭✭Harpie

right in the nuts :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 718 ✭✭✭thirdmantackle

oh, I don't know. Was a good game. Cork were out muscled for much of it

Kilkenny seem to use their hurleys a lot on their opponents. And the giving out to the referee went unpunished

Still, they have some hurlers when they cut out the silly stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

2Scoops wrote: »
    They're tough but they play within the rules. I saw plenty more dirt from Cork tbh. Hope Cha is ok after that sickening blow from Kenny. If he did that on the street, he'd be in jail. :mad:

That was nasty alright. I bet he'll get away with it. Same as Sean Óg got away with hurl in the face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭NickDrake

Ah be jasus lads!!! What happened Cork at all??? Long road home now for ye goys! Hopefully the traffic and floods wont be too bad.

Better luck next time. Maybe some proper fitness coaching and staying off the sauce may be the answer!

They're tough but they play within the rules.

They certainly do not play within the rules.
    They are absolutely filthy .
    They are masters of the cynical ,sly foul.
    Grabbing a hurl,grabbing a mans arm,hurley around the neck,hurley between the legs,grabbing a jersey,pushing in the back,knee in the back,etc etc.
    Its become a joke now that this sort of cheating isnt being punished .
    It wouldnt be tolerated in any other sport.

They certainly do not play within the rules.
    They are absolutely filthy .
    They are masters of the cynical ,sly foul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

NickDrake wrote: »
    Ah be jasus lads!!! What happened Cork at all??? Long road home now for ye goys! Hopefully the traffic and floods wont be too bad.

Better luck next time. Maybe some proper fitness coaching and staying off the sauce may be the answer!
    can i have some of what your smoking??

killkenny to me seem so determined to win that they will leave no stone unturned in their pursuit of titles! maybe thats why they're so good!

Now I know why that stupid smiley was banned in the first place :mad:

In fairness, rolleyes was fully justified in that situation. The comment was clearly a hysterical overreaction. Busting people for perpetuating glib truisms with little evidence is what rolleyes was invented for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

Back on topic boy and Girls discuss the match not eachother...

The comment was clearly a hysterical overreaction.

Was it now ?
    Who are you to judge .
    Hysterical .Overreaction.
    No.
    I'll say it again ,Kilkenny are a dirty and unsporting team .
    They have alot of good hurlers but their cynical and unsporting play is over the top .
    Ever since Nicky Brennan became president of the GAA ,Kilkenny have been allowed get away with murder.
    I admire good skill but I despise cheating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

Last warning...

Stay on topic, no abuse towards players or posters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

Was it now ?
    Who are you to judge .
    Hysterical .Overreaction.
    No.
    I'll say it again ,Kilkenny are a dirty and unsporting team .
    They have alot of good hurlers but their cynical and unsporting play is over the top .

Jesus, you did see all the Cork fouls too didn't you? What a load of rubbish your coming out with.