Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

APAT European Amateur Team Championship

• 08-08-2008 2:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭

I've been asked by APAT to Captain the Irish team for this event to be Held in Brighton Nov 1st / 2nd. Info here:

http://www.apat.com/forum/index.php?topic=1777.0

I will not be playing myself but would like to hear from APAT members who would like to be considered for the four man team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 313 ✭✭pierce hard

I would play this.
    Ive played the APAT in dublin and luton. I had the indignity of being knocked out of the dublin one by donal (Ace 2007) :)

Do you want reasons/stats/ proof of previous results etc as to why we should be considered for the team?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Fatboydim

That would be great. I would encourage those interested to post on the appropriate thread at the APAT forum so as not to clog up Boards.

http://www.apat.com/forum/index.php?topic=1828.0

MODS - wasn't sure if this should be in Tournament section instead. Please move if you feel that is more appropriate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,951 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

I would play this.
    Ive played the APAT in dublin and luton. I had the indignity of being knocked out of the dublin one by donal (Ace 2007) :)

Do you want reasons/stats/ proof of previous results etc as to why we should be considered for the team?

indignity?? you got out played in that hand if i recall.....check ur pm's btw,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭Gholimoli

i would love to play this Len.
    i have no idea what you need to quilify though .

APAT membership is free at the moment - So I would say that's the first thing. It's up to the Captains to pick the teams but there is an APAT tournament leaderboard which includes points for their online tournaments. However as most of their live events take place in the UK I think it would be unfair to rule out players on the basis of points alone. Which is why the Captains have the ability to pick the teams as they see fit. On that basis you would certainly be in my thoughts Gholi.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

All expenses paid I assume Len?

I wish Dom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭HoLLLLLaments

I would like to play. I have a 50% itm in live tournaments. I can also do multiple chip tricks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

I'd like to play but I'm terrified of applause I'd be scarlet...:o

how come only the men applaud when you are knocked out from what I could .remember.(this is like something goodlucktome would attach so warning...DANGER WILL ROBINSON)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0V2VLiTMl8I&feature=related

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

What are the buy-ins, prizepools, field sizes for these events?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,901 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

I'd consider it Len, depending on trav & accom
    Throw me a pm/text with detail if you get a chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭valor

Cromwell wants to be on your team

Okay I see from the Hendon mob calendar that this is a £75 tournament with only 32 runners.

What's the incentive for anyone to travel to the UK for this?

Most of the details are over on the APAT site and on the link posted above.

I've already asked about sponsorhip and apparently team shirts are provided but caps can be by other sponsors. So I'll approach Paddy Power and or Boyles when I know more details about logo sizes etc to see if they are interested in some form of sponsorship.

The buy in is £75 per player. We would have to pay the buy in. Plus our own travel and accommodation. I believe APAT are trying to get some deals put together. As a non-playing captain I also have to cover my own expenses. It will of course get great exposure. Not sure if it is going to be filmed or not, but that may well be a possibility.

I would already have a hard task picking from just the people who have posted on here - But I will have to wait until I am supplied with more details from APAT on their league and they have their festival on at the Vic in August. [Which BTW looks very good with a £50 Razz event / Omaha and Stud]

As I have stated previously joining APAT is free and it would be great if all interested would join and post on the appropriate thread.

http://www.apat.com/forum/index.php?topic=1828.0

I'll post more details in this thread as and when I get to learn more.

NickyOD wrote: »
    Okay I see from the Hendon mob calendar that this is a £75 tournament with only 32 runners.

What's the incentive for anyone to travel to the UK for this?

It's Amateur Nicky - hence the low buy in. Prestige is the answer. Players are coming from Germany , Italy, France and Hungary as well. I would imagine that it may grow next year. - Side action would of course be guaranteed. Also, just based on my experience of playing for Ireland in the heads up Team event over in Scarborough, it will just be great Craic.

Actually it looks as if the buy in has been increased:

"At the moment APAT is looking to charge an entry fee of £100 per player, with no registration fee. In addition, Blue Square will add £2,000 to the prize pool, so in total there will be over £5,000 to play for and the Championship Cup and Medals for the top three teams."

Fatboydim wrote: »
    It's Amateur Nicky

So I'm ineligible to play right? :confused:

That depends Nicky. i think there is an argument that poker is not your sole income as you write for a living as well. I think there are many players who earn a significant income from poker but would still be defined as amateur in so far as they have no sponsorship deals etc. It's up to yourself how you wish to declare yourself, but I made enquiries before I joined APAT and they were happy enough that I am an amateur. [But maybe they thought I meant ****e.] :D

could i be considered an amateur?

From APAT's terms and conditions:

15. Membership of APAT is subject to a player certifying their player status as Amateur. An amateur is defined as someone who does not earn their sole income playing poker. Failure to abide by this rule may lead to disqualification from an event and forfeiture of a player’s entry fee and any prize money won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,951 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

NickyOD wrote: »
    So I'm ineligible to play right? :confused:

probably just as well.... god only knows someone in timbuktu might see ur results on the internet... :)

From APAT's terms and conditions:

15. Membership of APAT is subject to a player certifying their player status as Amateur. An amateur is defined as someone who does not earn their sole income playing poker. Failure to abide by this rule may lead to disqualification from an event and forfeiture of a player’s entry fee and any prize money won.
    im an amateur

Well I didn't want to say that but.... :D

so im on the team........ nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,901 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

So, as its only £100, is it likely that you could take down first place and only cover flights and accom??

hu any stakes

Mellor wrote: »
    So, as its only £100, is it likely that you could take down first place and only cover flights and accom??

That's why I'm looking for some sponsorship. I would imagine that 1st placed team would get 3k / 4players = £750 / 2nd place 2k = £500pp / 3rd 1k = £250

But bear in mind it's like an eight player SnG in that respect and as you'll never beat the Irish we're almost guaranteed 1st place :D

Seriously though, that's why I'm looking for some sponsorship. If we got £1500 we could probably get the Flights and accommodation for that.

i was joking. u werent? are u mad at me? didnt we use to be cool? did i do something? i dont really have an ego. more like anger issues.

Ace2007 wrote: »
    probably just as well.... god only knows someone in timbuktu might see ur results on the internet... :)

lol! Those damn Malians. There all over my STTs these days.

Anyway, My sole income isn't from poker and I have the invoices to prove it.

Good news - PPP are sponsoring the Irish team for travel and accommodation. A big thank you to Noel, Mike and Eric.
    Which I think is fantastic for an amateur event as all the player has to worry about is his / her entry fee. It will probably mean I'll have more of a headache than I already have in terms of picking the team - but is a real boost.

Good news - PPP are sponsoring the Irish team for travel and accommodation. A big thank you to Noel, Mike and Eric.
    Which I think is fantastic for an amateur event as all the player has to worry about is his / her entry fee. It will probably mean I'll have more of a headache than I already have in terms of picking the team - but is a real boost.

cool, a free night in the YMCA and some big macs, count me in Dim, pick doc too he is a real amateur

Oh no - not that good. Petrol for the car -we'll squeeze five in. A tent from Argos sleeps six [One of the lads might get lucky.] And I'm applying to Tayto to get the meal situation sorted. :D

just to clarify as I have been asked - You do have to have an Irish passport for this event. That includes the Captain if anyone was wondering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

YULETIRED wrote: »
    cool, a free night in the YMCA and some big macs, count me in Dim, pick doc too he is a real amateur

and proud of it willie!, makes the near grand i won on Saturday night in the Fitz all the sweeter....

and I'm sure all the boys at the YMCA can't wait to see you back!
    its fun to stay at the...

btw free beers on me if anyone on this thread is playing in the Console game on Sat 13th Sept in the Fitz.

and proud of it willie!, makes the near grand i won on Saturday night in the Fitz all the sweeter....

and I'm sure all the boys at the YMCA can't wait to see you back!
    its fun to stay at the...

btw free beers on me if anyone on this thread is playing in the Console game on Sat 13th Sept in the Fitz.

Is this the charity game?, yeah you can buy me beer elder chmp..

they wouldnt let me into the YMCA becuase I'm hobophobic

just to clarify as I have been asked - You do have to have an Irish passport for this event. That includes the Captain if anyone was wondering.

so Dim what is the criterea for entry....I've got excel graphs which show my drug intake is coming down, my T cells are clear and I've never folded KK preflop to a known nit......as an aside, is this event drug tested?

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I see in your post on the apat forum len that you said you will be picking with close regard to the leaderboard thingy. How many Irish played in more events than the dublin leg?

Also, when are the flights over to there and are they direct? I'm sure you probably have 43 better candidates, but if you need to up the beer belly quota or cut down on the hair quota, I have played one APAT event in the past and am most definitely an amateur.

This will be the issue Dom. I know of only one Irish player so far who is up there on the leaderboard and he will be an automatic choice if he's the top performer. He's on 39 points. APAT have their festival next week in the UK which may change things. However it looks at the moment like I will be picking at least two players based on results outside of APAT.

Your hat is in the ring Dom.

valor wrote: »
    Cromwell wants to be on your team

LOL don't know how I missed this. Is he broke again?

Just a reminder about this. Paddy Power Poker are Sponsoring the Irish team for this event so flights and accomodation will be covered. I'll be picking the team hopefully by the end of next week - If not it will be the week after. So anyone who is interested who hasn't yet expressed an interest do so now. If you're not a member of APAT it's free to join - though obviously it helps if you are already a member.

Thanks once again to both PPP and APAT - It will be a great event.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭playable_hand

so, this mean that im not allowed to play for the irish team?

I would have thought you'd be in a better position to answer that than I would :D

Of course it is possible that someone might be Irish, born and bred - Having never gone to anywhere but Bundoran for their holliers - If that were the case then a birth cert would do.

But I'd be unlikely to pick that person as the culture shock of visiting another country might be too much for them. :)