Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Give the Brits a county!

• 06-08-2008 3:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,308 ✭✭✭✭

Hypothetical question here.

If the British Government decided that in an effort to keep peace and unity in Ireland they would give us back the six ulster counties but in return they wanted one county in return and that the nation of Ireland could choose which one. Which county would ya give them?

Which county do ya think we could do without and would rather not have part of our new found united country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Carlow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

Dublin

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

taidghbaby wrote: »
    cork

Cork being a part of England, hahahaha

You should be carefull posting stuff like that. It could break the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Zangetsu

Take the 6 then beat them out of the one we gave them :D

Probably Laoise :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,081 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

taidghbaby wrote: »
    cork

I'd love to give away Cork, but it has its uses.

One of the loser midlands counties like Laois!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

leitrim, if it exists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭eden_my_ass

Surely the west british republic of Dublin is a natural choice. At least then the rest of this country might get a look in when it comes to national development :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Cark.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Dublin.

Shower of West Brits.

Arrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

Only joking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Another vote for Cork.

Might give them a real reason to be rebels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,679 ✭✭✭Chong

Longford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

Carlow deserves to be kept if even just for the women.

Go with Louth after a few weeks listening to the accent we would get the other five counties back if we took Louth back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

Dunlaoghaire-Rathdown - most of them are West Brits anyway....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Somewhere on the west coast just to be difficult. Or donegal just to be mean :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

leitrim, if it exists

Its only a makey up spot. Like Atlantis, Tir na Nog, or Tuam.

Des wrote: »
    Cark.

But then you'd lose away fixtures at Turners Cross.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭CountingCrows

One county? I've got a better idea....

"Here are Ireland's terms. Lower your flags and march straight back to England, stopping by every home along the way to beg forgiveness for a hundred years of theft, rape, and murder. Do that, and your men shall live. Do it not, and every one of you will die today."

"I'm not finished. Before we let you leave, your Queen must cross that field, present herself before this army, put her head between his legs, and kiss her own arse."

Eire 32

But then you'd lose away fixtures at Turners Cross.

We don't play in that division.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

Cork. The Corkonians would be sooo pissed off, the uprising would be ROFLMAO.

Des wrote: »
    We don't play in that division.

Have you no ambition Des?!!!!

I've no ambition to go to Cark, no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Dublin <throw in cringeworthy full of 'West Brits' comment> :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭dee8839

Longford, because I can honestly say in all my years (all 20 of them :D) I have yet to be there, hear any major news from there, or even meet someone from there. I'm not sure where it is on a map, I don't know their GAA colours or if they even play GAA, heck, I don't even know what province they're in.

So would I really miss them if they're gone??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Im not sure England even wants NI. If the people up there decided to not be part of the UK any more i think they would breath a sigh of relief to be honest :D
    However since the majority of people who live there want to be part of the UK then its not even worth joking about.
    All is well the way things are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,755 ✭✭✭elmyra

Donegal. Highest unemployment (or used to be anyway). Donegal made the economy recess....get them!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Cork. Espeically if the black and tans were brought back in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭junior_apollo

The Dubs already have the flag waving down... And im sure with enough con-saws we cud just cut around the border and float it off over to them... :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭allybhoy

elmyra wrote: »
    Donegal. Highest unemployment (or used to be anyway). Donegal made the economy recess....get them!!!

Great fishing though........

I would personally give offaly, in fact id give it even if they didnt trade us a county. Its a whole. People up all night looking at huge diggers driving by their houses "I never thought the human mind could be capable of such a thing..."

And give them Tullamore Dew? NEVER

Saruman wrote: »
    And give them Tullamore Dew? NEVER

+1 +1 +1!!!

Donegal has to stay if only for the Banana drink and Football Special.

Nyom nyom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

actually, how about we give them nothing and they give us 6

Or the opposite... how bout we give them the whole ting... recession and all.. let them deal with it... while we feck off and buy a little tropical island and live there until we ruin that one too! :D

I think they own most of the tropical Islands too... well them, the US and the French.

We could swap for the UK virgin islands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

Dublin. If the British think they have a bad chav problem now, just wait 'til they have to deal with Anto, Deco, Damo and all their tracksuited, heroin-addled chums. It'll be bleedin' deadly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Saruman wrote: »
    virgin islands.

Sounds like they need some missionary action. Wink wink. Nudge nudge.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

"OC" (Orange County)

**Bad B!ue runs!**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

testicle wrote: »
    south east Brits actually ;)
    One county? I've got a better idea....

"Here are Ireland's terms. Lower your flags and march straight back to England, stopping by every home along the way to beg forgiveness for a hundred years of theft, rape, and murder. Do that, and your men shall live. Do it not, and every one of you will die today."

"I'm not finished. Before we let you leave, your Queen must cross that field, present herself before this army, put her head between his legs, and kiss her own arse."

Eire 32

aaahhh, did someone steal your potatos? never mind. I think you'll find most of them come from Scotland actually, not England.

GSTQ:D

Can we not choose which county to have, I'd personally go for Cavan, just to piss them off.

Look, if we have to give them a county... lets make Lough Neigh a county and give them that :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭V9

Carlow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Roscommon. Everybody knows it doesn't really exist anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Give them Limerick - after a few days they'll just give it back and run away.
    Then we're left with 32. Problem solved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Best answer yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 rainbowchild

junior apollo wins

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

'Give the Brits a county'

nah....even though I dont like Cork people I think that would be too cruel on the Brits. Give them Muff - its in North Donegal somewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 598 ✭✭✭IronMan

It would have to be Roscommon. In fact the entire midlands could be sold off to the highest bidder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ass

TBH, I wouldn't give up any Irish County for any of those rubbish Northie Counties. They all talk funny up there, even more so than they do in Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

testicle wrote: »
    :rolleyes: That's in county Dublin last time I checked