Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kildare looking to postspone next weekends Cork match

• 05-08-2008 9:10am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭

Kildare looking to postspone next weekends Cork match because of having played four successive weekends. Methinks another reason could be because both Cork hurlers and footballers are playing and Cork support will be even more than normal so Kildare could be looking to eliminate the crowd advantage by postsponing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

no that would be a nice advantage but I would say Kildare are knackered.. 4 weekends in a row is serious stuff. and Geezer knows that Kildares only chance to win that game will require his best 15 to have the ability to compete for 70 mins. not going to happen as things stand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭twenty8

Amazing how the GAA are putting Corks fans ahead of the Kildare players welfare. This game should be moved. 4 championship games in 20 days is ridiculous. This is only Cork's third Cham game this year!!

yeah ...and no... Cork have had a nice rest because they are Munster Champions. Dublin will be well rested too.... as will Galway and Armagh. Sometimes the qualifier serves to sharpen the other teams some times it knackers them out. Kildare are paying the price for loosing to wicklow. Thats the cost !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭eigrod

Tickets are now on sale on Ticketmaster for a double header, so it must have got the go ahead.

Alany wrote: »
    Kildare are paying the price for loosing to wicklow. Thats the cost !

Sorry - but that is crap. These are amateur players who have to work like you and me. Kildare are the only team that have to play 4 games - Tyrone (as the only other early qualifier left) have an extra week.

The 'cost' is that Kildare have to play an extra game (if you are a Leinster team). Sure - why don't we introduce a handicap system where teams that come through the qualifiers are 3 points down at the start. It should be a level playing pitch - none of this 'cost'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Stealdo

Can't see how they could consider this at all to be honest. This is the way that the fixtures were set out from the beginning for this year. Any team making it to the 1/4 finals from the first round of the qualifiers was going to have played 4 weeks in a row, Kildare happen to be the only team that did this, but there was never likely to be more than one of them, so this is exactly as it was planned. I can understand them being a little annoyed that Tyrone are going to get an extra week, but that doesn't affect the Cork v Kildare game and if they were to win it gives them an extra week before the semi final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭CyberDave

twenty8 wrote: »
    Sorry - but that is crap. These are amateur players who have to work like you and me. Kildare are the only team that have to play 4 games - Tyrone (as the only other early qualifier left) have an extra week.

The 'cost' is that Kildare have to play an extra game (if you are a Leinster team). Sure - why don't we introduce a handicap system where teams that come through the qualifiers are 3 points down at the start. It should be a level playing pitch - none of this 'cost'.

I think this a a very biased opinion. It's not as if the GAA set out to make sure Kildare had 4 games in a row so they would be at a disadvantage in the quarter final. It's simply a flaw of the qualifier system which has happened before this and unless changed will happen again. I agree Kildare should get the extra week off and would love to see them beat Cork.

CyberDave wrote: »
    I think this a a very biased opinion. .

<Ahem> yes - but this does not make it incorrect

Yeah If I were Kildare I would request an extra week.. but I would also be mindful of the fact that they are very lucky to be given a second chance at the All Ireland in the first place. Wicklow were not so lucky..

In my opinion Kildare have been involved in some of the worst games of the C'ship this season, and its a credit to the qualifer system that they have been given a chance to right that ... but they have to accept as a team beaten by Wicklow in the first round they are not affored the same luxurys as others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭CyberDave

<Ahem> yes - but this does not make it incorrect

Suggesting giving the other team a 3 point advantage is ridiculous IMO, unless they had earned it from aggregate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

Amazing how the GAA are putting Corks fans ahead of the Kildare players welfare. This game should be moved. 4 championship games in 20 days is ridiculous. This is only Cork's third Cham game this year!!

cork fans were put out last year when they played the minor hurling on a friday, senior football on the sat & senior hurling on the sunday. I was ok as I only travelled in from Naas but it was a bit unfair for the Cork fans travelling up to Dublin to support the teams.

the decision was made for the double header before the draw so its not like they had thought about Kildares welfare at that stage....

The only gripe I'd have as a football fan of Kildare is having to pay semi final prices for a 1/4 final but we got stuck with that last year aswell.

I'm hoping for a cracking day...lets hope the Cork fans are well up for it by the time the hurlers get out

CyberDave wrote: »
    so Kildare could be looking to eliminate the crowd advantage by postsponing?

don't hear Kilkenny complaining...!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Well we won our province champ, Kildare didn't.

However, if I was a Kildare I'd be more then a little pissed off as well.

Lex Luthor wrote: »
    don't hear Kilkenny complaining...!!!!!!!

No but great teams generally don't whine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

is this actually true? i honestly dont think they would do so, and if they did, its 100% not going to happen.

see, thats the dangers of loosing your first game. everyteam knew this was a possibility. fermanagh wudda been in the same boat. they had 2 finals to add in there. have no sympathy for kildare it happens to some team every year, its an open draw, thats the way things happen. it may actually suit them, they will be battled hardened and should hit the ground running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

Wicklow would have been delighted to have the same predicament...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭robo

I am a Kildare supporter and would be of the thinking that this is the price you pay for the qualifiers. It is great that they picked themselves up after that loss to Wicklow but they are now in the quarter finals and should have the stamina. If the win this match, they will have a few weeks break until the semis...I hope :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭Tristram

RuggieBear wrote: »
    Wicklow would have been delighted to have the same predicament...

Many counties must envy Kildare's position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

I really don't buy into the postponement of the Kildare-Cork match at all.Remember,Tyrone had to play 10 matches to win the 2005 All-Ireland Championship and I feel this was the perfect catalyst for them to go on and win it.I don't remember them complaining about it either.

What Kildare need to do is take this as a challenge or further incentive to do better and by God do they need it.I think another weeks break would actually suit Cork better.Kildare have had 3 games in the last 3 weeks and 4 in total so far this summer.Cork have only had 2 games in which their last game was 5 weeks ago.I think if Kildare had the rest,they may lose the momentum they have built up and Cork won't get any rustier.

Kildare should strike while the iron is hot and then maybe if everything goes right for them and everything wrong for Cork,they may turn them over like Meath did Tyrone last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭robo

Tristram wrote: »
    Many counties must envy Kildare's position.

Totally agree with you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Cats_Toon_Rower

Kildare, by taking the qualifier route, submitted themselves to a harder process of getting to the quarter finals. They knew their options from the start. This should be an extra incentive for teams to value provincial championships. It is not unfair (other counties have done it) nor unreasonable (they did lose to Wicklow).
    The GAA have enough counties to accommodate as it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭eigrod

Kildare, by taking the qualifier route, submitted themselves to a harder process of getting to the quarter finals. They knew their options from the start. This should be an extra incentive for teams to value provincial championships. It is not unfair (other counties have done it) nor unreasonable (they did lose to Wicklow).
    The GAA have enough counties to accommodate as it is.

In a nutshell.

No sympathy for Kildare at all. The biggest danger to Kildare of requesting this deferral is that it'll convince the players themselves that they are tired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Come Sunday Kildare will either win because of their match practice or lose because of fatigue and Cork will either win because of their freshness or lose because of their lack of match practice. All possibilities, explanations and excuses are already established. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭corcaighcailin9

Ah you've forgotten to mention should Kildare lose to us having gotten their week off it'll be down to a loss of momentum :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭dedon

Lads the standard of the Kildare match at the weekend was awful! What did ye think of it??

It was one of the worst games I have seen on National TV. I expect Cork to hammer these boys.

Did ye see the attempt at the penalty?

I'd almost give Kildare a chance, if only because we have picked a weakened team and because the Cork footballers have a habit of playing at their oppositions level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 modus

The issue of Kildare playing so many matches in a row just goes to show that the All-Ireland system is broken beyond repair. It's an unholy hotch-potch at this stage.

A good sporting competition ensures that every team has to play the same amount of matches in order to qualify for every round.(Allowing for replays of course). Kildare's plight is designed-in to the qualifier system.

Tyrone of course get an extra week so an extra full-gate can be got at Croke Park. If Kildare had drawn Dublin, there would be no problem about an extra week. But the All-Ireland isn't about sport or fair competition. It's about revenue and organising games between Dublin, Kerry, Tyrone,Cork and Armagh. The other teams are just a distraction. The qualifier system guarantees that the All-Ireland will be won by one of the big guns. If they slip up early on,they'll get back in, probably stronger.

And then there's the issue of top class players from Limerick, Leitrim, Roscommon, Tipperary etc. who are almost guaranteed never to really compete for an All-Ireland medal.

I'm a Dub myself, and I love seeing Dublin do well. But this competition is a sporting disaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭raven136

everyone is going on abou the standard of the game last week,heres me thinking matches lasted 70 minutes.
    Yeah sh##e first half but they scored 11 points,missed a penalty and hit the post/crossbar 3 times.Exactly whats wrong with 11 points in a game?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭dedon

did you see the standard? It was disgraceful stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

modus wrote: »
    The issue of Kildare playing so many matches in a row just goes to show that the All-Ireland system is broken beyond repair. It's an unholy hotch-potch at this stage.

A good sporting competition ensures that every team has to play the same amount of matches in order to qualify for every round.(Allowing for replays of course). Kildare's plight is designed-in to the qualifier system.

Tyrone of course get an extra week so an extra full-gate can be got at Croke Park. If Kildare had drawn Dublin, there would be no problem about an extra week. But the All-Ireland isn't about sport or fair competition. It's about revenue and organising games between Dublin, Kerry, Tyrone,Cork and Armagh. The other teams are just a distraction. The qualifier system guarantees that the All-Ireland will be won by one of the big guns. If they slip up early on,they'll get back in, probably stronger.

And then there's the issue of top class players from Limerick, Leitrim, Roscommon, Tipperary etc. who are almost guaranteed never to really compete for an All-Ireland medal.

I'm a Dub myself, and I love seeing Dublin do well. But this competition is a sporting disaster.

Get over yourself would you. Limerick, Westmeath, Fermanagh, Wexford & Laois these are all teams that have come on in leaps and bounds since the qualifiers came in. Kildare are playing the number of matches they are playing because they lost their first match, and when you lose your first match that is what you have to do. They made their own bed! All the other teams you mentioned have had their matches spread out because they lasted longer in their provinces. In fact before the qualifier system, Armagh and Tyrone were not considered to be big guns.

As regards the moving of the Tyrone Dublin game, this is only common sense, if you have two options and one doubles your Revenue, you would need to be an idiot to go with the option that doesnt.

In any sport you are going to have decent to good players playing on average teams who will not have a chance of winning anything. Matt Le Tissier at Southampton for example in soccer. This is nearly inevitable in sport and is not just exclusive to GAA. In fact as there is not really a transfer system (as in other sports) in GAA it is more safeguarded as Kerry cannot (strictly speaking) go out and buy players to improve their team every season.

People seem to expect too much from the GAA, they have a lot of constraints concerning match schedules, underage and club games need to be played, every county wants to try and get an upper hand, the All-Ireland finals have to be played in Sept etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Orizio wrote: »
    People seem to expect too much from the GAA, they have a lot of constraints concerning match schedules, underage and club games need to be played, every county wants to try and get an upper hand, the All-Ireland finals have to be played in Sept etc.

Too right Orizio, its very easy to just slag off the GAA at every opportunity, the simple fact is whatever schedule they came up with for the quarter finals someone was going to be slightly agrieved, and due to the fact that kildare were already beaten by Wicklow and then put the rest of the country through what could only be described as absolute torture last weekend i for one have no sympathy at all for them.

Interesting article in today's Indedendent which probably crystalises all the (reasonable) comments on this thread.

Fixture chaos and the elephant in the room
    By Martin Breheny
    Wednesday August 06 2008

KILDARE are right -- their schedule is unprecedented. However, it can't have come as a shock as it has been known for NINE months.

The Irish Independent first reported the demanding programme facing this year's successful qualifier counties on November 15 last and highlighted it again three weeks ago as a stark reminder of what lay ahead for some teams.

Having reached the quarter-finals, Kildare face their fourth game in 22 days against Cork next Sunday. None of the other seven quarter-finalists have such a compressed programme, although Tyrone can thank Armagh and Galway for that.

If it hadn't been for the outrage expressed by the Ulster and Connacht champions over a proposal to play their quarter-finals outside Croke Park, Tyrone would have been playing their fourth game in 21 days against Dublin next Saturday.

It has been re-fixed for Saturday week which will come as a relief to Tyrone who have 13 days to recover. Not so Kildare, whose deferral request was rejected.

That is unfair, claim Kildare. "All we are trying to do is give ourselves the best chance. The fact that we are the only county in this situation puts us as a disadvantage," said County Chairman, Syl Merrins.

Indeed it does. But did Kildare not spot the potential for this sort of logjam when the ludicrously condensed programme was first published last November? Did they bring the matter to Central Council, pound the table and shout: "This is not fair on anybody?"

They will contend that it would have been foolish to query what, back then, was a hypothetical situation. After all, it wasn't until last Sunday that they knew they would be in the last eight.

True, but did they not regard the plan to expose players to the possibility of playing four crucial championship games in such a short space of time as fundamentally unfair right from the start? Kildare didn't have sole responsibility to challenge the schedule so the rest of the counties are just as culpable.

However, Kildare are now the only ones directly affected. It highlights, once again, how counties are often party to decisions which they all know will be bad for somebody, while ignoring the possibility that it might actually be them. It happened in October 2006 with weaker counties who voted in support of excluding Division 4 teams from the football qualifiers from last year on. They soon discovered that it was a bad call and led a successful campaign to have the system overhauled for next year. Still, it raises the obvious and still unanswered question -- why did they support it in the first place?

This year's tight qualifier/All-Ireland quarter-final schedule was designed to create more room for club championships, but in many cases that simply hasn't happened. For instance, Kildare, who are at the centre of this latest fixtures' row, have played just one round of senior club championship football so far.

This, despite the fact that they had only one senior inter-county championship game up to the middle of July. Again, Kildare are not alone in leaving much of the summer largely free of club championship games. Indeed, those who didn't are in a minority.

For all that, my sympathies are with Kieran McGeeney and the Kildare squad on the quarter-final row. Having revived what looked like a disastrous season after they were relegated from Division 1 and lost to Wicklow in the Leinster championship, Kildare are now in the All-Ireland quarter-finals for the first time, but unfortunately for them, their chances of advancing have been reduced by a defective format.

Their supporters are also taking a hit as they will have to pay semi-final rather than quarter-final prices for tickets because the game is being played with the Cork-Kilkenny hurling game.

There was a way out, of course. Why not play Kildare v Cork alongside Dublin v Tyrone on Saturday week? That would result in fewer tickets for the four counties but ultimately consideration for players and equality for all should outweigh all other considerations.

So as Kildare press on with a very tough schedule, the moral of the story for all counties is simple. Next time a decision is reached that could have serious implications many months hence, don't assume that it won't impact on you directly.

Kildare did and are now facing the consequences.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

modus wrote: »

Of course the GAA is about revenue ALONG with sport and fair competition. The GAA is a business with overheads like any other so why would they turn down the chance to have a full house and stay financially sound where to be honest they could probably sell it out 3 times over instead of having a mad scramble for tickets and making half the profit?? Do you think the old way before the qualifiers was better? Not even half as many matches in a year? I much prefer this way, even if we end up going out to a qualifier.

What do you propose they do about top class players from weaker counties? Bring in a transfer system like in soccer? In fact why shouldnt these top class players be on €50,000 a week also? That isnt a problem that the GAA have made, it always has and always will be the case for some players.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 HeatLoad

I wonder if Cork were in Kildares position and they applied to have the match postponed (as I'm sure they would have) would their application have been successful? When they were on strike last year they were given the ultimatum that if they failed to play a league match they would not play in the championship but this was not followed through by the G.A.A. and if you take the under 21 munster hurling final last week, would the referee have given those frees against Tipp. or are the stronger counties getting it all their own way? If this is the case I can't see how the smaller 'weaker' counties are ever going to progress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

HeatLoad wrote: »
    I wonder if Cork were in Kildares position and they applied to have the match postponed (as I'm sure they would have) would their application have been successful? When they were on strike last year they were given the ultimatum that if they failed to play a league match they would not play in the championship but this was not followed through by the G.A.A. and if you take the under 21 munster hurling final last week, would the referee have given those frees against Tipp. or are the stronger counties getting it all their own way? If this is the case I can't see how the smaller 'weaker' counties are ever going to progress.

I feel you have a point there, IMO Cork being such a stronger power in GAA that yes, they may have more of a pull in matters like this, sure they wanted the double header with the hurling this weekend and got it...anyway I feel I am going to get a backlash from the corkies for saying this:rolleyes:

Maybe Kildare should go on strike!

I feel you have a point there, IMO Cork being such a stronger power in GAA that yes, they may have more of a pull in matters like this, sure they wanted the double header with the hurling this weekend and got it...anyway I feel I am going to get a backlash from the corkies for saying this:rolleyes:

Maybe Kildare should go on strike!

Excellent idea, give us a bye straight into the semi. :D

See - Cork are already worried - trying to find ways to get a bye!!!:D

Come on the Lillies!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Damo.Smith

i dont think anyone in cork really wants a bye agianst kildare in fairness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 HeatLoad

On the stronger counties theme ..... I forgot to mention Paul Galvin being let off to play in the All Ireland Final. Should we really be giving out about china?

Back to the match, seemingly Nic Murphy is out and Canty a big doubt for Sunday, so thats our two best midfielders out. The team was announced tonight to the players in training, so expect it to be different then what was announced on Tuesday.

Assuming both are out, expect an O' Neill/A O' Connor with Cussen in full and Donnacha O' Connor on the wing. Possibly Fintan Goold the other replacement. More scoring options but a weaker midfield and probably a lot less possession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭baztard

Back to the match, seemingly Nic Murphy is out and Canty a big doubt for Sunday, so thats our two best midfielders out. The team was announced tonight to the players in training, so expect it to be different then what was announced on Tuesday.

Assuming both are out, expect an O' Neill/A O' Connor with Cussen in full and Donnacha O' Connor on the wing. Possibly Fintan Goold the other replacement. More scoring options but a weaker midfield and probably a lot less possession.

Thats a shame about the injuries. Its a little ironic that Cork who haven't played in 6 weeks or so have injuries, and Kildare who have played 3 weeks in a row have none.

Kildares midfield performances so far have reflected the teams over all performance. When Early and Brennan/Flynn are on fire, the team are on fire.

A depleted Cork midfield means advantage Kildare. :)

I don't think it matters, cork asked lat year for a double header and were refused so you can't say they have a bigger pull.

baztard wrote: »
    Thats a shame about the injuries. Its a little ironic that Cork who haven't played in 6 weeks or so have injuries, and Kildare who have played 3 weeks in a row have none.

Kildares midfield performances so far have reflected the teams over all performance. When Early and Brennan/Flynn are on fire, the team are on fire.

A depleted Cork midfield means advantage Kildare. :)

I doubt it really. Still fancy Cork by a few. It also means Cussen will start, so it may be a blessing in disguise.

I think it will be more than a few....I'm predicting a slow start by Cork where Kildare might go 3-4 points up and then about 30 mins Cork step up a gear or 2 and by the end it will probably be damage limitations for Kildare. At least a 10-12 point victory with Cork scoring about 3 goals

Lex Luthor wrote: »
    I think it will be more than a few....I'm predicting a slow start by Cork where Kildare might go 3-4 points up and then about 30 mins Cork step up a gear or 2 and by the end it will probably be damage limitations for Kildare. At least a 10-12 point victory with Cork scoring about 3 goals

I think your expecting too much Lex, I have a feeling we will struggle for possession without Canty and Murphy in the middle third even if they move Cussen out there. Plus Cork have played one good half, but three pretty average ones this year. That second half against might just have been a one off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭corcaighcailin9

Well no matter how bad some of our halves have been, the Kildare v Fermanagh first half takes the biscuit. If we have serious ambitions at going one better than last year, Kildare are a team we should really be expecting to beat I think.