Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TV Awards - ** The Results Are In! **

• 01-08-2008 9:43am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭

OK, the results are in for the TV Awards 2008. Thanks to everyone who voted!

What follows are the winners and runners up. If you want to see the percentages etc. (and see why the show you voted for didn't win!), you can get detailed results at the following link:

http://url.ie/kms (Flash Required)

Without further ado, here we go....

Best Drama

Winner: Lost
    Runner Up: The Wire

Best New Show

Joint Winners: Californication / Big Bang Theory
    Runner Up: Chuck

Best Reality Show

Winner: Apprentice UK
    Runner Up: Survivor

Best Comedy

Winner: The Office
    Joint Runners Up: My Name Is Earl / South Park

Best Overall Show

Runner Up: The Wire

Most Memorable Scene

Winner: Lost (Desmond and Penny's Phonecall)
    Runner Up: Dexter S1 (Killing Ice Truck Killer)

Best Overall Character

Winner: Ben Linus (Lost)
    Joint Runners Up: Ari Gold (Entourage) / Omar Little (The Wire) / Gregory House (House)

Best Actor / Actress

Winner: Michael Emerson (Ben Linus - Lost)
    Runner Up: Michael C. Hall (Dexter Morgan - Dexter)

Best New Character

Winner: Dexter Morgan (Dexter)
    Runner Up: Daniel Faraday (Lost)

Best Season Finale

Winner: Lost Season 4
    Runner Up: The Office

Biggest Shark Jumper

Winner: Prison Break
    Runner Up: Family Guy

Most Underrated Show

Winner: The Wire
    Runner Up: The Office

Character You Love To Hate The Most

Winner: Ben Linus (Lost)
    Runner-Up: Theodore "T-Bag" Bagwell (Prison Break)

Best Twist

Joint Winners: My Name is Earl (Earl in Prison) / Prison Break (Sucre's Fate) / The Wire (Omar's Fate)
    Runner Up: House (Amber Necklace)

Show That Should Have Been Cancelled

Winner: Late Late Show
    Runner Up: Prison Break

Show That Shouldn't Have Been Cancelled

Winner: Jericho
    Runner Up: Journeyman

Best Storyline / Story Arc

Winner: Lost (Flash Forwards)
    Joint Runner Ups: Dexter (Ice Truck Killer) / My Name Is Earl (Earl in Prison)

Most Improved Show

Runner Up: Shameless

Best Chat Show

Winner: Friday Night With Jonathan Ross
    Runner Up: The Panel

Best Home Produced Show

Winner: Champions League Shows
    Runner Up: The Panel

Show Most Affected By Strike

Winner: Heroes
    Runner Up: Bones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Dear readers of this board - Lost is crap. That is all ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

No comments or discussion?

No "how the frak did that show/person win that award?"

(Apart from Lost.) :)

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

I enjoy "Lost" and all but winning over "The Wire"? It's the Emmys all over again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭KerranJast

What do ye expect? Lost is shown on Prime Time telly on RTE2 whereas The Wire has been buried on weird time slots on TG4. Since all the buzz started to reached Irish people who haven't downloaded the show or bought the DVDs, its being shown from the start on Channel6 which a lot of the country can't receive.
    This is the reason panels of critics and people who watch nearly every film/tv show shown are better placed to judge these kind of things rather than Joe Public. Just look at the difference in quality between the Oscars (yes they make the odd bizarre political choice) and the MTV Movie Awards. The Oscar for Best Film 2008 went to No Country for Old Men. The MTV Best Film award went to Transformers. :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

ixoy wrote: »
    I enjoy "Lost" and all but winning over "The Wire"? It's the Emmys all over again...

Was thinking the same thing myself.

I enjoyed lost this year but the Wire was better.

Thats why most awards shows are a load of ****e, they usually pick what is the most popular and easily digested by the masses. If the show is any way deep and requires you to think, it doesnt stand a chance of winning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭PullMyFinger!

Didnt even hear about these to vote :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

House > Lost by a mile

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Helluva lot > Lost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

As much as I like Lost, I wouldn't have minded seeing the wealth spread a little. Although I'm glad it got Most Improved Show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Zizou

Dont see "Entourage" on this poll tut tut ! great show its probably on way past yer bed times.:pac:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Xavi6 wrote: »
    House Lost by a mile

Certainly did.
    What the hell is this crap? I have seen childrens awards shows with more cop on than this.
    :mad:

Now now, bollocko... everything was above board here. Nominees were picked by boardsies and voting was only open to boards users.

Why didn't you vote yourself?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Mr E wrote: »
    Now now, bollocko... everything was above board here. Nominees were picked by boardsies and voting was only open to boards users.

Why didn't you vote yourself?

I was not aware of its existance and am now shocked that it survived without my input.

Gee, thanks. :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Gee, thanks. :)

I appreciated it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭silvine

The Wire wins most under-rated show and then fails to win anything else? How apt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭KerranJast

silvine wrote: »
    The Wire wins most under-rated show and then fails to win anything else? How apt.
    I predict it would win a load next year due to the huge jump in DVD sales of the show but it won't be eligible for it then. Laaaaaaaaaaaag. :D

I've tried to get into The Wire a few times now, but I'm struggling. Its just not pulling me in. I've seen that opening scene with poor Snot so many times now, its ridiculous.

Going on hols in a few weeks, and Season 1 will be loaded on my Media player.
    I will finish it, dammit.

I've tried to get into The Wire a few times now, but I'm struggling. Its just not pulling me in. I've seen that opening scene with poor Snot so many times now, its ridiculous.

Going on hols in a few weeks, and Season 1 will be loaded on my Media player.
    I will finish it, dammit.

Thats bad. I found that watching Heros like that runied it for me. I've seen the pilot of heros about 40 times but havent been able to sit down and get into it. Pity. Heroes is meant to be good

I thought the pilot for Heroes was particularly weak, actually. It really takes 3 or 4 episodes to suck you in.

I'm hoping The Wire is the same.... I think I've seen as far as Episode 3.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

first few episodes of The Wire didnt convince me although i could see it was well made but if you keep watching at some point and you might not even notice the change but you wonty want to stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Well that was an immense waste of time.

Pigman II wrote: »
    Well that was an immense waste of time.

WHat was?