Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards.ie vs Farmhouse Tues - Friendly

• 30-07-2008 3:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭

Just thought off an idea there..........our team farmhouse will be looking to get a few games under our belt before the season starts in sept........wonder could boards round up 8 players to play us in a friendly?

Our team would be pretty average standard..........most games go 30+ darts.

It would be a bit of a laugh.

Im sure kingp35, rented mule and a few others would be up for it? if interested reply to this thread.

Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 weeman009

mbc if ye were interested in comin 2 tipp i could organise a challenge match 4 ur team as the pub i play out of has 4 teams and im sure 1 of these would be interested in a challenge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

MBC wrote: »
    Just thought off an idea there..........our team farmhouse will be looking to get a few games under our belt before the season starts in sept........wonder could boards round up 8 players to play us in a friendly?

Our team would be pretty average standard..........most games go 30+ darts.

It would be a bit of a laugh.

Im sure kingp35, rented mule and a few others would be up for it? if interested reply to this thread.

Cheers

Sounds great. I think Phil'ios would be a fine addition to the boards.ie team as well.

If yuou give me enough notice on a date, I can see what i can do.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Yeah sounds good to me too. Need a heads up but should be good for this.

You do realise that Boards team will be far too good for your team to handle MBC! :cool:

Kingp35 wrote: »
    You do realise that Boards team will be far too good for your team to handle MBC! :cool:

I think that goes without saying .....but I am glad that you said it. lol

This sounds like a good day/night out. Anytime we can get a bunch of people together to throw some darts, it should be fun.

I am not sure which day they want to do this, but if it could be done on a Saturday, I know that I should be able to make it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭MBC

Excellent lads.........okay so i'll throw 2 dates at yis...........between yourselves organise the 8 members, if short you can bring some friends along or we will even lend a player or 2.

Okay so say either Tuesday 2nd September kick off for say 8pm (earlier than usual but if rented mule and others need to get back into town, they would probably need to catch the last bus).

OR

Saturday 6th September..........i'll have to talk to the lads & bar manager to make sure there is no partai's on that day........will prob be around 3 o'clock.

If these days/times don't suit..........organise amongst yourselves the best day/time and we will work from there.

BTW Weeman cheers for the offer.........we have our annual trip to cork this year in october so id imagine tipp would be off this year. But cheers mate. Likewise if you guys are in dublin.......let me know and sure we will organise a game with yis.

Excellent lads.........okay so i'll throw 2 dates at yis...........between yourselves organise the 8 members, if short you can bring some friends along or we will even lend a player or 2.

Okay so say either Tuesday 2nd September kick off for say 8pm (earlier than usual but if rented mule and others need to get back into town, they would probably need to catch the last bus).

OR

Saturday 6th September..........i'll have to talk to the lads & bar manager to make sure there is no partai's on that day........will prob be around 3 o'clock.

If these days/times don't suit..........organise amongst yourselves the best day/time and we will work from there.

I like the 6th as a provisional date for now. My work is transferring me to Leixlip, so weeknights are going to be rough for me for the very near future. If ti comes down to this being the only day for others, then I can try and work around everyone else's schedule.

I have also PM'd a few people in the forum to let them know of this threads existence and drum up some interest.

*MBC throws Kingp35 the captains armband and Rented Mule the Vice Captains armband whilst shouting "YOUR GOING DOWN MOTHER TUCKERS":D

Excellent stuff RM, hopefully you get the interest. BTW if more than 8 players sign up thats no probs as we have about 13/14 players signed so we will make sure everyone of you guys gets a game.

*MBC throws Kingp35 the captains armband and Rented Mule the Vice Captains armband whilst shouting "YOUR GOING DOWN MOTHER TUCKERS":D

Being a huge Frank Zappa fan, I think we may be able to use the name Mothers somehow in our teamname.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭S.T.D Ste

am i able to play for the boards team both me and clivebaby

i need more practise i want to be getting loxwer then an 18 dart finish

No yous are barred:D of course if kingp35 and rented mule will have yis then we will have no probs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Healio

love to play in this myself......

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Woohoo I get to be captain of the winning team!

Yeah course you can mate, especially if your able to finish in 18 darts! Would be mad not to let you play.
    Healio wrote: »
    love to play in this myself......

Good stuff, your in :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,151 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Move the game down to the Midlands and I can play.. :) up in Dublin this weekend actually, anyone fancy a game around the city center maybe drop me a PM will see if we an meet for a game..

I counted that yis have 5 already lads........this could be a runner.

So any word on the date lads?

I am hoping for the first Saturday in September (6th).

Any updates form anyone in regards to this Friendly ??

Was talking to our lads and they would be well up for it.......and 99% sure the saturday is okay with them.

Just waiting on you guys now...........come on you's baxtards we are gonna whoop some mother thucking boardie asses:D

Was talking to our lads and they would be well up for it.......and 99% sure the saturday is okay with them.

Just waiting on you guys now...........come on you's baxtards we are gonna whoop some mother thucking boardie asses:D

If this is a confirmation of the date, then I am definitely there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭adhoc

maybe able to play for boards team on 6th if yous are stuck dont play much this time of year season strarts october but i would be touching county standard when fully tune up let me no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 phil'ios

so there be a little bit of darts on the 6 of sept, i would happily oblige the boards team as a member, i'll try get me bro to come down but he always bottles it. so count me in fellas. phil'ios

I'm back in work wednesday so i'll get the 6th booked off (hopefully).

phil'ios wrote: »
    so there be a little bit of darts on the 6 of sept, i would happily oblige the boards team as a member, i'll try get me bro to come down but he always bottles it. so count me in fellas. phil'ios

It's about time you popped your head up. lol I nearly ran you down crossing the Merrion road a few weeks back.

The Mothers are slowly starting to come together !!

Alright, let's see where we are with this so far.

Saturday 6th Semptember 2008 at the Farmhouse.

The Boards Team (or the Mothers as I like to call them)

KingP35 - confirmed
    Rented Mule -confirmed
    Phil'ios - confirmed
    Healio
    farmhousefdc - confirmed
    adhoc - confirmed
    clivebaby - confirmed

Can we get a confirmation from everyone that they are still interested (and will attend).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭S.T.D Ste

i'll be there defo and so will clivebaby so thats 2 defo plus yourself rented mule

what time of day are we playing this match day knight

Dont see any reason why I won't be there!

adhoc wrote: »
    what time of day are we playing this match day knight

I am going to guess that it would be an afternoon match ?

if its afternoon im there

adhoc wrote: »
    if its afternoon im there

MBC can we get a final confirmation from your end as well ??

yes ill be there darts and all

Say 3pm would that suit everyone?

3:00pm suits me just fine.

What about everyone else....any issues with this time ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,182 ✭✭✭dionsiseire

sounds like this is going to be a cracking afternoon

i hope the pub has internet for match by match updates!

3pm suits me grand

Unfortunately, I am unable to play due to work :(

3:00pm

KingP35 - confirmed
    Rented Mule -confirmed
    Phil'ios - confirmed
    Healio - cannot attend
    farmhousefdc - confirmed
    adhoc - confirmed
    clivebaby - confirmed

Can we get a confirmation from everyone that they are still interested (and will attend).

Do you think we need more players or can we get by with six ?

Yeah 6 will do..........any excuse for a piss up.

If anyone else wants to come along in the meantime just add yourself.

few things our captin needs to no standard of our players and theres who likes to play early or late with afew points or not if he knows these things might give us a better chance its a bit of crack but we still want to win

We are now two weeks away from this epic showdown !!

MBC ...could you post the format for the day's activities ?

Yep no probs:

Around 3pm or when everyone arrives ya know us irish:rolleyes: the board will be open for anyone to throw a few shots. Then we will stick our 1st 5 names up on the board of who is playing..........you guys stick your 1st 5 names up aswell. Then the 1st game kicks off and away we go. After the 1st 5 games are finished we will stick our 6th on the board........then you guys do likewise.

When all the games are over.........our captain gives a quick speech and then your capt does likewise.

After all this we may have a monster game of killers or something of the sort.

lads not going to be able to make the match i just found out sorry about that but if theres another match soon count me in can even get another man if we need

KingP35 - confirmed
    Rented Mule -confirmed
    Phil'ios - confirmed
    Healio
    farmhousefdc - confirmed
    adhoc - cancelled
    clivebaby - confirmed

Ok ....so we have five confirmed and one still waiting to hear from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,182 ✭✭✭dionsiseire

Healio wrote: »
    Unfortunately, I am unable to play due to work :(

if your waiting on Healio his responce was above :D

Ok ....so we have five confirmed and one still waiting to hear from.

We should have about 10 or so............we'll lend a few......but it'll cost ya:D also the place should be quite enough maybe one of the barmen or a local may play for yis.

We'll all play twice.

Just to make it fair.

Just a friendly reminder for this sat.........don't get scared now :D

We were wondering if you were going to show your face around here again. LOL

I can't speak for everyone else, but I am really looking forward to getting out and throwin' some darts on Saturday.

Slight problem lads, im moving apartment this weekend so I won't be able to make it. I have to move in this weekend because of the lease so no getting out of it. I'm letting the Boards team down :(

Make sure to post the results up here!!

Sorry lads

I'll make a phone call and try and bring in a friend of mine who was at the last Boards tourney.