Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SE Asia Advise

• 29-07-2008 3:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭

Hi again

Last part of trip is 2 months in SE Asia we have a plan as follows

Fly to Bankok then head down to Phuket / Ko Sumui for a few weeks maybe 3 to relax in cheap accomidation.

Then we want to Hit Malaysia maybe Pinang and KL Vietnam for a few days and maybe Cambodia and then we have to end up in Bankok for flights home.

What route should we take and how is the transport between countries?
    Would we have to fly?
    (we will need proof of leaving Thailand if we arnt going to get a visa)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭TonyD79

You need a visa if your staying in Thailand beyond 30 days. You still need it despite having an outward ticket. Where are you gonna be if you apply for it as you have to send your passport off to get it stamped for the visa aswell! Not sure about visas for the other places think theres less hassle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

You don't need a visa if you're not staying in the country more than 30 days.

And if you're going to be there for 34, 35 days, you can get away with paying a small "fine" for each of the extra 4/5 days. Something like 10 euro a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭preddy

TonyD79 wrote: »
    You need a visa if your staying in Thailand beyond 30 days. You still need it despite having an outward ticket. Where are you gonna be if you apply for it as you have to send your passport off to get it stamped for the visa aswell! Not sure about visas for the other places think theres less hassle

Will i still need proof of onward travel even with the visa?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

preddy wrote: »
    Will i still need proof of onward travel even with the visa?

You need a visa for Thailand either way. If you are flying in and out within 30 days you get a visa upon arrival but must have proof of an onward journey out of the country. I'd say if you get a visa for a longer stay you will still need proof of onward travel.

You might get a bit bored in Phuket/Samui in 3 weeks. I'd spend about 2 there and then head into Malaysia. Foods better and people are friendlier and don't hassle you as much as the Thais.

Decide on where you want to go in Vietnam. Flights in Vietnam are quite expensive for an Asian country as Vietnam Airlines is the only dosmetic airline so they charge what they like. If you've only a few days, I'd suggest doing Saigon and the Mekong Delta (do the 3 day trip, brilliant!) and then head either by bus or fly to Cambodia. Hit Siem Reap, I'd avoid Phnom Pehn as there's not much to do there and a very confusing city.

Have a look at this website for cheap airlines in Asia

http://www.attitudetravel.com/lowcostairlines/asia/

Air Asia is the biggy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

Larianne wrote: »
    You need a visa for Thailand either way. If you are flying in and out within 30 days you get a visa upon arrival but must have proof of an onward journey out of the country. I'd say if you get a visa for a longer stay you will still need proof of onward travel.

You might get a bit bored in Phuket/Samui in 3 weeks. I'd spend about 2 there and then head into Malaysia. Foods better and people are friendlier and don't hassle you as much as the Thais.

Decide on where you want to go in Vietnam. Flights in Vietnam are quite expensive for an Asian country as Vietnam Airlines is the only dosmetic airline so they charge what they like. If you've only a few days, I'd suggest doing Saigon and the Mekong Delta (do the 3 day trip, brilliant!) and then head either by bus or fly to Cambodia. Hit Siem Reap, I'd avoid Phnom Pehn as there's not much to do there and a very confusing city.

Have a look at this website for cheap airlines in Asia

http://www.attitudetravel.com/lowcostairlines/asia/

Air Asia is the biggy.
    You don't need a Visa for Thailand either way. When you arrive into Thailand without a Visa (which is what most people do) you get a Visa-Exempt stamp that allows you to stay for up to 30 days. It's usually the airline that enforces the onward flight rule so I wouldn't worry about it tbh.

The main advantage of this is you don't have to pay a penny unlike most other Asian countries where you pay about $25 for each visa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

S.M.B. wrote: »
    You don't need a Visa for Thailand either way. When you arrive into Thailand without a Visa (which is what most people do) you get a Visa-Exempt stamp that allows you to stay for up to 30 days. It's usually the airline that enforces the onward flight rule so I wouldn't worry about it tbh.

The main advantage of this is you don't have to pay a penny unlike most other Asian countries where you pay about $25 for each visa.

sorry thats what i meant visa stamp thingy on arrival..............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭Doubs

3 weeks is a lot just for 2 islands - if you like your parties and are into having a good time Koh Phangan is must for the Full Moon Party, great craic Happens once a month and is off the charts altogether. Also Koh Phi Phi is absolutely stunning, nice and relaxed, its a must (wheras Phangan is bit more hectic around the FMP).

You can get a bus down to the islands from Bankok, its about 12 hours. Myself and my mates spent about 6 weeks in SE Asia, flew in and out of Bankok and bussed it everywhere. Buses within the countries themselves are grand, if your travelling between countries they can be a bit dodgey.

We did Thailand - Cambodia - Vietnam - Laos. Don't get the bus between Thailand (BKK) and Siem Reap in Cambodia (either way) as 1.) There's a lot of scamming involved, and 2.) the road between the border and Siem Reap is the worst road in the world. The town where the border crossing itself is is a right sh*thole, avoid if you can. So my advise here would be to fly, or if you have a keen sense of adventure, make your own way. We were 4 lads so it was grand, if there are any girls in your group or your by yourself though fly, like I said the border crossing can be an intimidating place.

The crossing between Cambodia and Vietnam was fine for us, no problem (got Visa for Vietnam in Vietnamese Embassy in Phnom Pehn). Crossing between Vietnam and Laos is dodgey, most operators use 2 buses for the trip so you'll make it half way comfortably, get dropped off in the middle of nowhere and get collected by another (overcrowded) bus for the rest of the trip. By overcrowded I mean you'll robably be sitting in the isle. You can get a visa on the border, just make sure you have ID photo's (worth your while to carry a ball of these). Buses in Laos were suprisingly very good, no complaints. We headed back to BKK from Vietienne in an overnighter VIP, massive seats, slept the whole way, cheap enough too.

Hope it helps, SE Asia is amazing you'll love it.

Doubs wrote: »
    3 weeks is a lot just for 2 islands - if you like your parties and are into having a good time Koh Phangan is must for the Full Moon Party, great craic Happens once a month and is off the charts altogether. Also Koh Phi Phi is absolutely stunning, nice and relaxed, its a must (wheras Phangan is bit more hectic around the FMP).

You can get a bus down to the islands from Bankok, its about 12 hours. Myself and my mates spent about 6 weeks in SE Asia, flew in and out of Bankok and bussed it everywhere. Buses within the countries themselves are grand, if your travelling between countries they can be a bit dodgey.

We did Thailand - Cambodia - Vietnam - Laos. Don't get the bus between Thailand (BKK) and Siem Reap in Cambodia (either way) as 1.) There's a lot of scamming involved, and 2.) the road between the border and Siem Reap is the worst road in the world. The town where the border crossing itself is is a right sh*thole, avoid if you can. So my advise here would be to fly, or if you have a keen sense of adventure, make your own way. We were 4 lads so it was grand, if there are any girls in your group or your by yourself though fly, like I said the border crossing can be an intimidating place.

The crossing between Cambodia and Vietnam was fine for us, no problem (got Visa for Vietnam in Vietnamese Embassy in Phnom Pehn). Crossing between Vietnam and Laos is dodgey, most operators use 2 buses for the trip so you'll make it half way comfortably, get dropped off in the middle of nowhere and get collected by another (overcrowded) bus for the rest of the trip. By overcrowded I mean you'll robably be sitting in the isle. You can get a visa on the border, just make sure you have ID photo's (worth your while to carry a ball of these). Buses in Laos were suprisingly very good, no complaints. We headed back to BKK from Vietienne in an overnighter VIP, massive seats, slept the whole way, cheap enough too.

Hope it helps, SE Asia is amazing you'll love it.

Cool thanks man, since its just me and GF i think we will fly saves time, cheap and safer by all accounts...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭Doubs

Yeah its probably best and easiest being 4 lads we just roughed it all the way, some good tales.

If its just you and the missus, definately look into Phi Phi, the place is going to be honeymoon central in years to come, stunning.

OK now we pulled a map out with a view of train routes and we are now looking like changing our route.
    http://www.seat61.com/Map-SEAsia.htm

Anyone started in Hanoi then Train down to HCM fly to Phnom Penn or (train?)

then fly to Kuala Lumpar and train up to Pennang and the Islands of Thailand.

THought it be better to finish our rtw trip on a beach then a sight seeing tour :)