Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cooking dinner for a man..

• 29-07-2008 2:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭

Okay, seeing a new fella for the past 2 months, all going well, am going to surprise him with a home cooked meal...am useless at cooking but am going to give it a shot :D - am going to do the whole starters, main course, dessert - any recommendations from you lads what I should serve up that will impress him

Thanks guys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

I wouldn't aim for anything fancy. But just the basics done well. By that I mean I'd rather have melon balls than a very badly made horrible tasting crab cakes.

You can't go wrong with steaks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

Yeah, I'd go with steaks also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

Starters: Something tasty but light.
    Main: Steak and chips, with some fried onions too. Easy to cook, and damn tasty :D
    Afters: Chocolate sauce and a wink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,324 ✭✭✭✭Cathmandooo

+1 for steak, chips, onions, mushrooms and pepper sauce! Hmmmmmm Make sure you know how he likes his steak, although sure you can ask him at the time as you wont be cooking it til he's there!

Starters, emm stick to something simple if you're not used to cooking, garlic bread maybe? keep it light and simple.

Dessert, I'll leave that to your imagination.

I'd love a steak now

Don't forget the wine

Edit: LOL Damo, almost the same!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

a nice push up bra and pants set coupled with an apron, then chances are what ever you cook him will go down a treat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

starter: thinly sliced spuds, grilled! (throw some garlic butter on to add more flavour)

main: steak, baked spud, pepper sauce (from a pouch ;))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

Wear an apron and nothing else, he won't care what you cook and it will be a sucess, just be careful trout doesn't show up though!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

I was about to post something along the lines of Brother's Salad and Slow, so I will only add that you can take the apron off as soon as all cooking and serving is done as there'll be no more danger and that's when you surprise him with desert of chocolate covered body parts ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

Your a keeper!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭Vertigo100

Steak and a blow job! If its good enough to have its own day its good enough for me :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭TheBrig

So I'm guessing steak so :D

And the bra & panties under an apron and nothing else was already planned ;)

Thanks a mill for all the replies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,082 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Steaks are easy enough to cook.

Couple it with some pepper sauce. (you can get packet of stuff that's not hard to make)

Boiled potatoes and carrots are easy veg to make, just keep on testing the potatoes to make sure that they don't get overcooked and go hard.

Forget a starter. He'll be happy enough with just dinner and desert and if he isn't, dump his ungrateful ass.

Bannoffee Pie for desert. No man can resist. Might be hard to make, so just buy one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,044 ✭✭✭Gaspode

TheBrig wrote: »
    Okay, seeing a new fella for the past 2 months, all going well, am going to surprise him with a home cooked meal...

2 months and you havent cooked for him yet?
    Pffft, not going too well for him then is it? ;)

Seriously though, ribs for starters, Steak for the main dish, and something with lots of cream for dessert. Try to fits rashers in somewhere. Serve with cold beer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,957 ✭✭✭trout

What deswalsh said above + apron == You are almost guaranteed Keeper status

pls post pic of apron.

Good luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Bannoffee Pie for desert. No man can resist. Might be hard to make, so just buy one.

It's not hard to make, as far as I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

If you want to do a banoffee pie - get a can of condensed milk, boil the can for 2 hours, get a pastry case, slice a few bananas - pour the toffee-ified condensed milk onto the pastry case, slice the banana across the toffee, and dump a load of whipped cream on top.

Om nom nom nom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

Order him a kebab and chips and have a few beers chilled in the fridge. He will love you dearly and will know you're a keeper.

If you want to do a banoffee pie - get a can of condensed milk, boil the can for 2 hours, get a pastry case, slice a few bananas - pour the toffee-ified condensed milk onto the pastry case, slice the banana across the toffee, and dump a load of whipped cream on top.

Om nom nom nom.

A feckin pastry case? jahsus.

What ya need for the base is crushed digestive biscuits!!

Ok, so boil the can of Condensed milk for the recommended time.
    Crush the digestive biscuits up and mix with some butter so that they stick together. Get a baking cake tray thing and put the biscuits along the base of it.
    Slice some banana's and cover the base (crushed biscuits).
    Poor the toffee from the condensed milk can onto the banana's carefully and spread evenly.
    Put more banana's on top of that.
    Whip up some cream, I prefer double cream cos I like things to be that extra nicer. Put it along the top layer of banana's.
    Get a Cadbury's flake and sprinkle it over the cream.
    Stick it in the fridge for a while and kablamo!!! You've just made a banoffi pie.

Nyum nyum nyum, its delicious.

Can I come too?

*banoffi pie recipe provided to you by an amateur baker dude guy*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,082 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Crush the digestive biscuits up and mix with some butter so that they stick together. Get a baking cake tray thing and put the biscuits along the base of it.
    Poor the toffee from the condensed milk can onto the banana's carefully and spread evenly.
    Whip up some cream, I prefer double cream cos I like things to be that extra nicer. Put it along the top layer of banana's.
    Stick it in the fridge for a while and kablamo!!! You've just made a banoffi pie.

Can I come too?

You sir are a true hero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Fillet steak, marinate them in garlic,soya sauce and black pepper for 4-5 hours.

Carrots and parsnips mashed together with real butter, t spoon of honey and black pepper....... scoop them out with ice cream scoop onto tray and place in the oven for 30min, Mashed potato, garden peas,

Fry the steak in really hot olive oil for 3min each side.....

now if your man does not like that tell him to go home to his ma's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

For anyone that doesn't like banana, a Pineoffee is also delish, just swap small pineapple chunks for the banana slices!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭LostinBlanch

Jaysus lads, there's more recipies in this thread than in TLL! :eek: :D

I'm sure if the OP is just ready wearing the apron and undies he won't care what food is on the table. Of course she could always cheat on the dessert and just use some whipped cream and her imagination ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭ruthiedv

Can I come too?

When you're making the base, melt the butter, otherwise it'll be like the inside of a shaken lunchbox

ruthiedv wrote: »
    When you're making the base, melt the butter, otherwise it'll be like the inside of a shaken lunchbox

lol, thought it would be obvious you have to do that :P.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Sorry, I'm lost. can someone point me in the direction of the BGRH board, I seem to have stumbled upon the australian housewives chat room :D

Chilli dip with pitta bread/crisps/nachos and a few beers is plenty for a starter followed by Steak and a Marks and Spencers Banoffi pie. forget about making one waaay too much hassle.

Make him an Irish coffee as well, it shows sophistication, guys like that.

followed by a good BJ and he'll stay until the morning, gauranteed :D

(Could you have a word with my wife while you're at it as well:D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

The only time there should be discussion of melted butter on this forum is if it is as a result of being rubbed into the cleavage of a hot chick.

As to the original question, the lady should attire herself in nothing more than an apron and stilettos. Food should consist of noting fancy, steak is the best bet. Followed by, well, I am sure you can work out the rest. ;)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

And women complain that we're hard to please!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Tom Dunne wrote: »
    The only time there should be discussion of melted butter on this forum is if it is as a result of being rubbed into the cleavage of a hot chick.

As to the original question, the lady should attire herself in nothing more than an apron and stilettos. Food should consist of noting fancy, steak is the best bet. Followed by, well, I am sure you can work out the rest. ;)

unless she's a size 16 and above, don't want to put the guy off his dinner now do we :D

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Splinter

Tom Dunne wrote: »

tom, we should branch out bgrh escorts with womens that will provide this dinner service..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

some good stuff here http://www.esquire.com/features/recipes-for-men/foodformen

not that I've made any of it. just read through some, realise I'm starving and order a curry.

hey, why don't u order a curry?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

splinter wrote: »
    tom, we should branch out bgrh escorts with womens that will provide this dinner service..

I like it.

Wimmins and food - the perfect combination.