Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

shooting rights

• 28-07-2008 2:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 28

hi all, further to my thread on new applications,
    can someone tell me, for shooting permision on land, is there a minimum acreage, and if so what is it thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman

carlyboy wrote: »
    hi all, further to my thread on new applications,
    can someone tell me, for shooting permision on land, is there a minimum acreage, and if so what is it thanks
    60acres i think or be in a gun club. (dont hold me to that though)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

I don't know that there's anything actually written down anywhere, but something in the 50-60 acres appears to be acceptable most places; once again, this is at the discretion of your local Superintendent. Your FO/local Garda who deals with licences will be able to give more specific guidance.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭IRLConor

I don't think there's a minimum in law. Your local Gardai may have their own rule of thumb though, your local Firearms Officer should be able to fill you in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

You don't even need a flowerpot. If you join the likes of Hilltop or Courtlough or Midlands or any other established shooting ground you have sufficient reason for having a shotgun in the eyes of most Supers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 carlyboy

i realise that, but i wanna shoot on open land, going by what im reading, min of 2 rights to shoot,have them now anyway, well over 50 each,
    happy daze,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

That'll do you so, and before long word will go around the area and you'll get the nod from a few adjoining farmers as well. Usually happens that way. I started of with roughly about two patches of 100 acre each and at this stage I reckon I've gotten the nod for about 800 acre in the area. None of that exclusive mind you but I couldn't give damn about that. Most of the other lads shooting in the area are club members anyway or at least you'd be on a "How's it going ?" kinda footing with them anyway.
    On top of that I joined the local gunclub., always handy for insurance and as happens the local club is a bunch of sound lads and always up for a bit of craic. It should all come with a health warning though : shooting and hunting is highly addictive.