Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Some football this week

• 27-07-2008 10:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭

Well, I haven't posted images in a while, so here goes.

Others are also welcome to post some of their football picts from this weeks games.

Holding Up the ball

2706417490_4e8280766f.jpg

Tough header

2706411426_34f84d82ac.jpg

Running with the ball

2702633682_cc53e6c255.jpg

Holding off unwanted attention.

2702622456_ddca02cf5c.jpg

Hopefully a few more games to cover this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭whyulittle

We was robbed I tell ya. :mad:

Didn't get any myself at the weekend, but we have Waterford at home on Tuesday night.

Good work as always.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

Nice shots Paul, great job in number 3 blurring the background. I would lose number 4, might be just me but the background of empty seats (I know its not your fault) really takes away from the shot whereas in number 3 it is done really well. My two cents anyway..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭City-Exile

Nice work, Paul.

Here are some of mine.

2708520838_dd4ee4deef_o.jpg

2708521286_aea310258c_o.jpg

2708521824_4593057a6f_o.jpg

2708520466_d6bbd85517_o.jpg

1 and 4 are excellent Peadar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,067 ✭✭✭AnimalRights

Great result for Boh's that draw between Cork and Pat's. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

I really like #1 and #3 there. Not the best result for Cork, but they're still in with a good shout.

I know what you mean about the background. Damn LOI games, shame they can't fill all the stands. :confused:

Now I just have to see if I can get access to the Drogheda V Dynamo Kiev game tomorrow. Another Sporting Fingal game tonight. Should be a busy week.

Paulw wrote: »
    Now I just have to see if I can get access to the Drogheda V Dynamo Kiev game tomorrow.
    You mean you don't want to pay in! :D
    Why I've missed the last few games at Boh's, it's a rip of 20 euros for LOI footy.
    Off to the Cricket at Clontarf today, 10 Euros for the whole day, read up over the weekend and am refreshed and raring to go to improve on Saturdays shooting!

It's not that I don't want to pay in, it's that I want to get in to take photos.

I've a real photography bug right now, and enjoy getting out with the camera. :D And the more I get out and take picts, I hope the more I'm learning. Practice, practice, practice.

Cricket to me would just be too boring. But, for photography, I would think it should be relatively fine, since the main characters have action at fairly set points - the batter is hitting at the wickets, and the bowler throws the ball right at the other end. The hardest part would be photographing someone catching the ball.

Damn LOI games, shame they can't fill all the stands. :confused:

Some of us can fill a few stands! :p

2708519828_c3d607aea0_o.jpg

City-Exile wrote: »
    Some of us can fill a few stands! :p

Have you a panoramic showing the other stands??? :D

I know, some clubs are very well supported and can fill 2-3 sides for a big game.

No, Paul. No panoramic. :p
    This is a section of the "Shed" end though.

2707699981_7999cd9181_o.jpg

Nice crowd shots.

Hopefully there will be good crowds for the Drogheda V Dynamo Kiev game tomorrow (just had my accreditation approved). I'm looking forward to that game now. There should be plenty of passion for it, since it's a very big game.

Always nice seeing Irish teams progress. Shame Bohs were knocked out of the InterToTo Cup.

If there's a crowd, it will be eL neutrals.
    drogs bandwagon is up on blocks since last December.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,200 ✭✭✭kensutz

I applied for a last minute accreditation for the Dinamo Kiev game. Off work tomorrow so I might take a trip up.

I only applied yesterday and was approved today. It will hopefully be a good game. It's live on TV too.

Applied at 11:58 and approved at 12:03 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭Balfey1972

nice shots guys. love the colours, very vibrant.

It's not that I don't want to pay in, it's that I want to get in to take photos.

Cricket to me would just be too boring. But, for photography, I would think it should be relatively fine, since the main characters have action at fairly set points - the batter is hitting at the wickets, and the bowler throws the ball right at the other end. The hardest part would be photographing someone catching the ball.

1) Pulling your leg, jaysus!

2) I actually like Cricket, it's my 2nd favourite sport after Soccer and Cricket is not as easy as I assumed it would be to photograph.

1) Pulling your leg, jaysus!

2) I actually like Cricket, it's my 2nd favourite sport after Soccer and Cricket is not as easy as I assumed it would be to photograph.

LOL, don't worry, I didn't take offence.

I just find cricket boring, personal choice.

99% of the Irish do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭whiz

Hi Guys, as a bohs fan, how do u get accreditation for LOI games, do you through the FAI ?

Well, I'm accredited with the FAI, so have access to LOI games.

Some from Cobh v Sunderland tonight.

2712268216_6e8d240d36.jpg

2711455193_a35882c1c0.jpg

2711450569_c9e2a830c2.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭shepthedog

Looks like Andy Reid isnt feeling the full brunt of pre season yet.. Thats quite the gut he is hauling around there..Good pics

Andy certainly has put on a few extra pounds.

Here's a few of mine from last night, Sporting Fingal 2-0 Limerick 37.

Handed off
    2711290731_a33d6025ed.jpg

Turning inside
    2712097664_c86257d31c.jpg

Some close attention
    2711280729_f6f0eb3a2c.jpg

5 wins in a row now for Sporting Fingal, bringing them to 2nd place in the league and just 2 points behind Dundalk.

And mine from last night, there was a similar pic to the one of Daryl Murphy celebrating which appeared in the newspapers today. Mine is better though :p

2713653716_a48bf872a4.jpg

2713643412_b3f1a48d01.jpg

2712824139_b0ae0ea449.jpg

2713641086_946534a9b5.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭mehfesto2

Some great shots all round here, lads.
    Is anyone here making money as a sports photographer, here?

mehfesto2 wrote: »
    Is anyone here making money as a sports photographer, here?

I get a few quid every now & then, which goes straight back into photography.

Same here. Paid by the newspaper I do regular shoots for every 3 months and the rest every week.

Full time for me, no soccer yet though.

Ken,

Does one of your players go around Flickr marking photos of himself as favourites!? :)

You noticed that too? I wonder if it is him.

Him or his proud mother for sure. Strange!

At a wild guess *not!* is it Fitzy?

shepthedog wrote: »
    Looks like Andy Reid isnt feeling the full brunt of pre season yet.. Thats quite the gut he is hauling around there..Good pics

Has he ever? i thought Keano would get into shape this season. Imagine what a player he'd be with a stone or more off him!!

No idea Ken. They have you listed as their only friend, no photos of their own, and a bunch of favourites of the same player!

Better actually post some photos before I get kicked off this thread. A few from last night's game between Athlone Town and Waterford United. Heart wasn't really in it when it started to rain 5 minutes before kick off. It was dull, wet and just generally miserable.

2717195667_999494db19.jpg

2718009210_099dc08675.jpg

2718013480_5bef2b2c93.jpg

2717994786_dd0a63cdbf.jpg

They're excellent photographs.

Complaining about the weather? And this is our summer.

Really like the 1st and 3rd images.

I must post some from the Drogheda V Dynamo Kiev game later.

nice photos ray.

The shot of Vinny chasing the ball is a good 'un.

Just a few from the Drogheda V Dynamo Kiev game.

2718208176_f4ec693735.jpg

2717383939_7566eb7984.jpg

2718196692_b825446861.jpg

2716925198_024687bebc.jpg

One more just to rub in the fact that Waterford have only taken three points off us all season. :)

Last one is great Paul. Like an ad for a certain sports drink.

2717444857_008d0f3fc7.jpg

""Last one is great Paul. Like an ad for a certain sports drink.""

Mt thoughts exactly. nice shots paul. dreadful night for photographers but nice one for a greasy pitch and some decent football.

Nice work, guys.
    Hard to believe the rain we're getting in July.

It's mad. Mid summer, shooting ISO 800-1600. Very dark evenings, and it's as wet as winter.

It would be so depressing, if there wasn't sport to keep us entertained.

At least in the winter you expect dark nights and floodlights.

I shot in TX on Sunday & Monday evening. The difference in the light was unreal!
    Floodlights on at 20:00 on Monday.
    Some of the pros were shooting at 3200 ISO on their D3s.

I can well believe it.

I was shooting 1/320 with ISO 1600, at f/2.8.

Roll on winter.