Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A holiday for a brother

• 24-07-2008 9:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭

Looking to book a holiday for end of Sept. start of Oct. Prob go for 2 or 3 weeks. Now the problem is trying to get a compromise with herself. So I need to get some suggestions, trying to avoid beaches at all costs. Don't understand how people can enjoy lying out on them getting burned :confused: but for some reason she likes them. All we've agreed on is somewhere warm but not too hot so under 35 degrees would be ideal! She's already ruled out Vegas and the Orient Epress on me!

So any ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

I was in Madrid in May last year, and while it was nicely hot (30-36ish) it wasn't too bad, had a nice atmosphere to it, no beaches in sight, and the trip to the Estadio Santiago Bernabeu was pretty cool (and I'm not even into football!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

thailand and malaysia

edit: to hungover to explain choices though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

She was in Madrid a few weeks ago plus she's not too pushed on Asia. She was in China and Japan earlier in the year so she wants to go somewhere else, that's why the Orient Express got ruled out. Her suggestions are Hawaii or somewhere in South America. Hawaii has beach written all over it to me, I'd rather go to the Galapagos!! But maybe there is something there to appeal to a brother?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

jester77 wrote: »
    But maybe there is something there to appeal to a brother?!

Here's a hint...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,602 ✭✭✭ShayK1

forget the sun, go on a snow holiday!! Try Skiing or snowboarding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Ye know what?

Slovenia. That's what.

Fantastic place, friendly people, good looking women, and most importantly, cheap good beer :)

You've got good weather, skiing, and is generally a good place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭oblivious

Ah lads... Come on..
    A holiday for a Brother at the end of Sept. start of Oct?

There is only one destination fit for a Brother at this time....

Here's a hint:

Oktobergurls.jpg

you could start with above festival then get the train to Salzburg, which has probably one on the best beer garden ever, Augustiner, Salzburg. an them get the train to hallstatt/innsbruck and on the vienna.

Did it a few yeast go very good and there are lake to the whole sunbathing thing if that wanted

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

jsb wrote: »
    thailand and malaysia

edit: to hungover to explain choices though

Malaysia FTW

the place is amazing,

when i went we spent 5 days on a troipcal island and then went to KL for 5 days, i hate the beach.

you could do the fire fly boat trip, is amazing and there is some much to do in KL.

Do it seriously, you have to do it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭big b

irishbird wrote: »
    Malaysia FTW

the place is amazing,

when i went we spent 5 days on a troipcal island and then went to KL for 5 days, i hate the beach.

you could do the fire fly boat trip, is amazing and there is some much to do in KL.

Do it seriously, you have to do it

Langkawi, IB? Fabulous island. I was there for a few days, hopped over from Penang, which was good too, but Langkawi was much more unspoilt.
    I loved Malaysia too, much more than Thailand. KL was fab for bargains once you knew where to look.

Oh yeah - since your lady's not keen on the far east, how about Egypt?

It'll still be hot in September, but it's a real dry heat there, not as uncomfortable as many of the more humid places like Malaysia, Thailand etc.

Luxor is a fascinating place, has great hotels - I can heartily recommend the Jolie on Crocodile Island. You could aslo fly up to Cairo for a few days, pyramid & museum spotting.

Only a 6 hour flight, and cheap as chips when you get there.

big b wrote: »
    Langkawi, IB? Fabulous island. I was there for a few days, hopped over from Penang, which was good too, but Langkawi was much more unspoilt.
    I loved Malaysia too, much more than Thailand. KL was fab for bargains once you knew where to look.

yeah Langkawi

it was amazing :D

were you in the place that you have to lock the windows to stop the monkeys coming in & trashing the place? :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

were you in the place that you have to lock the windows to stop the monkeys coming in & trashing the place? :D:D

err......no but i did arrive there the day after tsunami

irishbird wrote: »
    err......no but i did arrive there the day after tsunami

Jebus. That must've been strange.

Met a girl in Samui last year, she had moved there from Phuket (I think) after most of her family & friends were wiped out.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

I was thinking more along the lines of the couch, 24 Dutch Gold and something "comfortable" for herself. ;)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Cape Town and the Garden Route. Private hotels with private beaches in low 20s temperature and 5-star hotels waiting hand on foot where above all else, food and beer is extremely cheap. :cool:

Or equally what Brother Tom said..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

south america:

argentina for the steaks

rio for the views ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭fredzer

Ah lads... Come on..
    A holiday for a Brother at the end of Sept. start of Oct?

There is only one destination fit for a Brother at this time....

Here's a hint:

Oktobergurls.jpg

Off topic but is that blonde at the front not the sexiest woman in the world?

On topic make up an elaborate excuse and ditch the missus, sounds like she’s traveled enough for this year, go find that blonde bar wench pictured above!

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

dfx- wrote: »
    Cape Town and the Garden Route. Private hotels with private beaches in low 20s temperature and 5-star hotels waiting hand on foot where above all else, food and beer is extremely cheap. :cool:

+1 for this. Amazing country, so much to see and do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

You don't have to lie on a beach all day if you don't want to.

what sort of things do you intend doing? nothing too strenuous I presume.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I don't get going on holiday to lie on a beach the whole time. If you can both ride horses I would recommend this www.ranchamerica.co.uk

You don't have to lie on a beach all day if you don't want to.

what sort of things do you intend doing? nothing too strenuous I presume.

Good point there. I'm not sure what I want to do, like you said nothing strenuous but I don't want to spend the day in bed or the day roasting on a beach. Somewhere with a bar in the pool would be ideal :D

take up diving. you need to be near the sea so it will keep the missus happy and it is great fun and not too physical.

Your options are endless when you do that. You can get direct flights with Falcon to the Red sea, or closer to home you have Malta which is excellent.

Money well spent in my opinion.

I presume you would have to be able to swim to dive?

Last time I tried anything in the water was surfing off the west coast, had to be rescued :o In hindsight it was not such a good idea when I can't swim!

jester77 wrote: »
    I presume you would have to be able to swim to dive?

Last time I tried anything in the water was surfing off the west coast, had to be rescued :o In hindsight it was not such a good idea when I can't swim!

yeah, not being able to swim would be a major drawback I guess, presuming you want to come back up again:D