Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Which Gun?

• 22-07-2008 5:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,571 ✭✭✭✭

Hey, bought this the other day in the gadget shop in the square for 20 euro.
    Obviously I know its not great but they were having a closing down sale and just thought id get it for the craic.

http://www.mainirishairsoft.com/scripts/prodView.asp?idproduct=365

It was the only one they had and looked semi decent. I've never skirmished jsut like to plink away the odd time.
    However after having bought this Im thinking of getting into skirmishing and picking myself up and AEG and a decent backup.

The backup's I was looking at are either the
    Tokyo Marui Desert Eagle .50 Hardkick

http://www.eirsoft.ie/store/product_info.php?cPath=33&products_id=270

OR

The R-357

http://www.mainirishairsoft.com/scripts/prodView.asp?idproduct=296

(Id really like the Colt Python but not bothered going through the hassle of trying to source one... :o )

I'll be getting the pistol first as dont want to spend too much too quick... :p

So basically I just want to know,
    Which Would you go with? And why?
    Any personal experisnces would be awesome..

Cheers

Which One? 11 votes

Desert Eagle
    0% 0 votes
    R-357
    100% 11 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

If you plan to skirmish, I'd recommend an AEG first, using a shotgun will leave you considerably out-gunned. The JG G36 should be within your budget based on the price of the Desert Eagle you're looking at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭whydave

agree with Mr douglas good great start off aeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

That magnum linked to is a bit of fun, but not much use in a scirmish, one of the lads had one at galway and it got alot of attention, but its a very basic gun, only the trigger and hammer are the external moving parts, no moving cylinder.

The desert eagle would be the more impressive gun, with blowback action and some simulated recoil, its also more powerful and would have a greater range.

Edit: AEG wise, think of a gun you like in real life, from films or games whatever, and you will probably find an airsoft version, or more likely, a selection of variants from many manufacturers.
    mp5's, ak's, m4/16's more modern guns like hk416 scar etc.
    You'll probably find what you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

Definitely invest in an AEG, it's not that you can't play with that shotgun it's just you'll find it hard going up against guys with M249s with 5000round box mags etc! As far as those hadguns go, i'd go for the DE myself having owned both at some stage, the 357 aint great really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Motosam wrote: »
    That magnum linked to is a bit of fun, but not much use in a scirmish, one of the lads had one at galway and it got alot of attention, but its a very basic gun, only the trigger and hammer are the external moving parts, no moving cylinder.

The desert eagle would be the more impressive gun, with blowback action and some simulated recoil, its also more powerful and would have a greater range.

Edit: AEG wise, think of a gun you like in real life, from films or games whatever, and you will probably find an airsoft version, or more likely, a selection of variants from many manufacturers.
    mp5's, ak's, m4/16's more modern guns like hk416 scar etc.
    You'll probably find what you want.

my tm colt 357 python has a revolving cylinder and fires at 320

http://www.airsofteire.com/index.php?page=shop.product_details&flypage=shop.flypage&product_id=47&category_id=22&manufacturer_id=0&option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=26

but yes a g36c is staple to a starter

i

He's not referring to the TM version, it's the ASG version he's posted the link to :)

zero19 wrote: »
    He's not referring to the TM version, it's the ASG version he's posted the link to :)

he mentioned the python

i've stuck in a link

Good stuff, they any way skirmishable? I need a new revolver...

The revolver with the non moving cylinder is the one the op linked to, I was just letting him know.

What revolver have you got zero?

I'm getting the bell m10, tacked it onto an order for the fun of it.

Good stuff, they any way skirmishable? I need a new revolver...

if and its a big if the seals hold out they are brilliand (i'm running it on green it says not to but it gives around 305 on an 0.2g )
    only about 300 rounds so far and its quick to reload witha speedloader
    efficient and silent and with green the hop up is right for 0.3g s so nice

(see kd's theories on heavyier bbs in pistols)

I had an M10 actually as it happens, sold it to my cousin...Wasn't great but sure i suppose you get what you pay for! I'm interested in these new Tanaka gas shell revolvers, rumour has it there's gonna be a Colt Single action army version, i love those...

I heard that too, and its going to be a reasonable price too I hear, would certainly like one of those.

Well the bell will be a bit of fun, have looked into chroming it and all :D

You know you'll need two of em chromed for your big pimping loadout lol :)

Best step correct fool!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭Kentar

http://www.wolfarmouries.co.uk has some interesting revolvers but unfortunately they dont give any joule rating so I wouldn't be sure they fall under the 1J mark.

I bought the 357 for a bit of fun, its pretty solid and plastic but nearly its 100% plastic and I havent used it for any large amount of time.

I'd advise the DE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,571 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Tigger wrote: »

Yeah this is what I was looking for over the R-357 really
    Would be between that and the DE...

If Im getting an AEG it will be this id say:

http://www.eirsoft.ie/store/product_info.php?cPath=22_31&products_id=17

Like the look of it and not overly pricey...

Just looking around now and wondering.

Which of these would be better?

http://www.eirsoft.ie/store/product_info.php?cPath=33&products_id=270

The TM DE for 150.00

http://www.mainirishairsoft.com/scripts/prodView.asp?idproduct=460

The HFC DE for 110.00

hfc yoke seems good value and is probably more powerful

http://www.arniesairsoft.co.uk/reviewpost/showproduct.php/product/289/cat/17

Yeah will prob go for the HFC then so.
    Cheers everyone :D