Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Smoking at concerts

• 18-07-2008 4:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭

Was at <snip> this year, cracking concert but one consitstent annoyance I had was people smoking during acts. Its happened to me at open air gigs here before too. I mean, if you are lazing at the back or whatever, smoke away, but I was fairly close to the front and the crowd was quite dense, makes the whole thing a bit unpleasant. Tried asking them (numerous people on different occasions) to put it out but got met with increasingly hostile responses. Does this piss everyone off or am I just a dry ****e?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭flyingoutside

It's annoying lads going mental while holding fags and burning people around them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

I'll smoke at open air gigs, but not if I'm stuffed in at the front. It's just too awkward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭el_tiddlero

am I just a dry ****e?

yep.... its outdoors.. indoors, it's all yours.. but in the wild we may be the chimneys we long to be unhindered...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

What do you expect them to do, trawl through a packed crowd to somewhere less dense, light up, and go back in with little or no chance of finding their mates that stayed behind? It's open air, i.e. extremely well ventilated. Get over it

Btw, I don't smoke

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

If its an outdoors gig, you're a dry shíte(and Im currently struggling to give the buggers up so....). Jesus people have some fierce sensitive lungs and noses these days. It's not so long ago you could have a ciggie on the bus, pub, cinema, even in hospital and you wouldn't get the eejits with their baby weak lungs coughing not so discretely and irritatingly like moany dowagers about the foul vapours in the air. :rolleyes: Hell of a lot less people with asthma and inhalers too.

I was hiking across the dublin mountains a year ago. Stopped to take in the view. Decided to light up a fag(rollup so no litter) and relax in the great out doors and a pair of bobble hatted merlot faced ramblers in their 30's sat down beside me and proceeded to make little coughing noises(bear in mind they had the whole fúcking mountain to pick a place to sit but ooooh no). He sat there going harrumph. She finally(as she wore the balls) asked me "could you please put that out you're polluting "our" air". I pollluted the air alright, with profanities. I told him and her to please get their pasty faces and fat arses out of my sight as it they were polluting my enjoyment of the verdant vista before me. Needless to say her balls shrank and he never had any so....

Not getting at you mate it's just people must have it easy to get so easily irritated.....(and I see the irony)

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭DemocAnarchis

What do you expect them to do, trawl through a packed crowd to somewhere less dense, light up, and go back in with little or no chance of finding their mates that stayed behind? It's open air, i.e. extremely well ventilated. Get over it

Btw, I don't smoke

Im talking about in or around the pit, when you are pressed together like sardines, and the smoke is being blown in your face. The air gets pretty heavy anyway even without the smoke. They could just not smoke for an hour?

Btw Wibbs, i would have no problems whatsoever with someone lighting up on a bus or in a pub etc, as long as they arent 10 inches from my face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭latenia

Concerts are for smokers just like pubs were. If you don't like it then find something else to amuse yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭Claire121

If its an outdoors gig, you're a dry shíte(and Im currently struggling to give the buggers up so....). Jesus people have some fierce sensitive lungs and noses these days. It's not so long ago you could have a ciggie on the bus, pub, cinema, even in hospital and you wouldn't get the eejits with their baby weak lungs coughing not so discretely and irritatingly like moany dowagers about the foul vapours in the air. rolleyes.gif Hell of a lot less people with asthma and inhalers too.

Yes, how dare we expect to breathe clean air? :rolleyes: I should just put up with the watery eyes, tickly nose and horrible smell so you can have a smoke. The selfish attitude is why I'm losing patience with smokers, I used to be so easygoing and wouldn't mind standing in the smoking areas to chat, but this 'we have a right to inconvience others with our bad habit' attitude gets my back up.

Smoking in a packed crowd is practically the same as smoking indoors, everyone ends up breathing in the smoke and it's easy to get burned by the cig. It's a nuisance, why should we put up with it? If you want to smoke, go stand at the back. You wouldn't be able to inflict any other habit on everyone around you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

If you don't want people smoking at OA gigs go shove a banana up your rear end and take it out when the Moon knocks Mars outta the solar system.

But, this really pisses me off, at Letrik towards the end you always have people lighting up. It's a clustered indoor gig for **** sake,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭el_tiddlero

Claire121 wrote: »
    how dare we expect to breathe clean air?

indeed.. bet you're always down the quays protesting at all those motor cars/buses/trucks that drive by.. right??

You wouldn't be able to inflict any other habit on everyone around you.

hmm... never seen a drunk at a concert then? or the leavings of junkies on the bus? or the especially delightful regurgitated fast food that populates many a corner of a morning??

to conclude: its outdoors - there's no law against it - we're already barred from the indoors - get over it..

Yes, how dare we expect to breathe clean air? :rolleyes: I should just put up with the watery eyes, tickly nose and horrible smell so you can have a smoke. The selfish attitude is why I'm losing patience with smokers, I used to be so easygoing and wouldn't mind standing in the smoking areas to chat, but this 'we have a right to inconvience others with our bad habit' attitude gets my back up.

Smoking in a packed crowd is practically the same as smoking indoors, everyone ends up breathing in the smoke and it's easy to get burned by the cig. It's a nuisance, why should we put up with it? If you want to smoke, go stand at the back. You wouldn't be able to inflict any other habit on everyone around you.

It's a music festival ffs. Smokers were there first before the whingers so, yes, we do have the right to 'inconvenience' you. What would Hendrix, Morrison, Joplin et al. make of this nonsense?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭StickyMcGinty

Smoking in a packed crowd is practically the same as smoking indoors,

no, its not.
    why should we put up with it?

you dont. if you've such a big problem with it, you move. how many times have you had drink spilled on you at a concert? everyone puts up with a certain amount of sh1te at a concert, its inevitable when there's 10-15,000 people packed close together.
    I used to be so easygoing and wouldn't mind standing in the smoking areas to chat, but this 'we have a right to inconvience others with our bad habit' attitude gets my back up.

why are you standing specifically in the smoking area and then giving out about it? do you book a smoking room in a hotel just so you can annoy yourself?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Yes, how dare we expect to breathe clean air? :rolleyes: I should just put up with the watery eyes, tickly nose and horrible smell so you can have a smoke.
    Ah bless. As I said terribly sensitive ickle nose and ickle lungs these days. The amount of BO, not to mention farts in clubs and pubs these days is a bit nose twitching but you know you just accept it.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

jesus i'm only an occasional smoker and i think he's being a dry ****e. and anyway, if you're gonna subject yourself to the utter misery that is being up the front at a gig (i learned my lesson at megadeth in 95) then the added smoke shouldnt matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

Occasional cigar smoker myself. OP sounds like a dry sh*te to me as well. It's outdoors ffs. What exactly do you expect? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭4Xcut

am I just a dry ****e?

Yes, you are a dry-styte.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

jesus i'm only an occasional smoker and i think he's being a dry ****e. and anyway, if you're gonna subject yourself to the utter misery that is being up the front at a gig (i learned my lesson at megadeth in 95) then the added smoke shouldnt matter.

Man go and start a thread about that gig, I want to hear! I saw 'em in '05, they were still incredible!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,962 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

Was at T in the Park this year, cracking concert but one consitstent annoyance I had was people smoking during acts. Its happened to me at open air gigs here before too. I mean, if you are lazing at the back or whatever, smoke away, but I was fairly close to the front and the crowd was quite dense, makes the whole thing a bit unpleasant. Tried asking them (numerous people on different occasions) to put it out but got met with increasingly hostile responses. Does this piss everyone off or am I just a dry ****e?

Something rang a bell with me just there so I had a quick check to see if I was right and hey-I was. Welcome to Bansville. Let this be your lesson to never cross the smokers again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Wibbs wrote: »
    If its an outdoors gig, you're a dry shíte(and Im currently struggling to give the buggers up so....). Jesus people have some fierce sensitive lungs and noses these days. It's not so long ago you could have a ciggie on the bus, pub, cinema, even in hospital and you wouldn't get the eejits with their baby weak lungs coughing not so discretely and irritatingly like moany dowagers about the foul vapours in the air. :rolleyes: Hell of a lot less people with asthma and inhalers too.

I was hiking across the dublin mountains a year ago. Stopped to take in the view. Decided to light up a fag(rollup so no litter) and relax in the great out doors and a pair of bobble hatted merlot faced ramblers in their 30's sat down beside me and proceeded to make little coughing noises(bear in mind they had the whole fúcking mountain to pick a place to sit but ooooh no). He sat there going harrumph. She finally(as she wore the balls) asked me "could you please put that out you're polluting "our" air". I pollluted the air alright, with profanities. I told him and her to please get their pasty faces and fat arses out of my sight as it they were polluting my enjoyment of the verdant vista before me. Needless to say her balls shrank and he never had any so....

Not getting at you mate it's just people must have it easy to get so easily irritated.....(and I see the irony)

Christ you'd almost be tempted to stub it out on their foreheads. What a pair of tossers.

As a smoker, I will smoke wherever and whenever outside that I like (and where it is safe to do so). Non-smokers have gotten to be such whiney fckers since the smoking ban came in.

If you don't like people smoking at outdoor gigs, then don't go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 605 ✭✭✭j1smithy

I'd have to agree with the OP. He's paid good money to see the acts so why should he have to put up someones foul habit ruining his experience. When you're deep in a crowd, it is the exact same as being inside. You're sheltered on all four sides, so wind cannot disperse the smoke and heat. Thats why you have to go up for air.

I know off topic but TBH I'd like to see smoking completely banned. There is nothing more pointless than this habit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

I'm pretty damn sure you'd move if someone kept fartiing in front of you, so bloody move if the smoke annoys you!!!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

If someone ever complains about me smoking at a concert I paid 4 grand to get to and another 2 grand for parking and another 6 million quid for a hotel I will stuff pound coins up their arse until they die or give me a mars bar.

j1smithy wrote: »
    I know off topic but TBH I'd like to see smoking completely banned. There is nothing more pointless than this habit.

This is lulz. How about we ban everything? Drinking is a pointless habit which has destroyed thousands upon thousands of lives and families, yet I bet you're not calling for that to be banned are you? No, I'm sure not as you probably enjoy a few pints at the weekend, right? Lets ban that!

How about having sex without the intention of reproducing? Absolutely pointless really, I mean people get pleasure from it as most smokers get pleasure from their cigs, but as you said it's pointless really so why not ban that too?! Yeah that sounds great :rolleyes:

Lol, have a think before posting such tripe in the future.

Spot on. We have every right to smoke outdoors and I said above, if you're so against people smoking around you at a gig, then just don't go.

I don't like going to a gig and having people spill drinks on me, but I go knowing it might happen and accept it. If I wasn't a smoker, I'd expect there to be smoking there and would probably still go (as many, many others do).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

I'd have to agree with the OP. He's paid good money to see the acts so why should he have to put up someones foul habit ruining his experience. When you're deep in a crowd, it is the exact same as being inside. You're sheltered on all four sides, so wind cannot disperse the smoke and heat. Thats why you have to go up for air.

Will you be banning alcohol at the same time?

And to be honest, people can man up a little. Buses are too cold, some people smell bad, I don't like hearing crap music, some people are just loud and won't shut up.

Life is full of little things that are a complete pain in the hole. However, they're all legal, and people are perfectly entitled to do them, so I can't do anything about it. However, the self-righteous nonsense of "I paid to be here so why should I put up with your 'foul habit' (nice snobby judgement call by the way" has the obvious response from the smoker in "I paid to be here too, so why should I be bothered suffering nicotine cravings to the detriment of my concert experience to protect your delicate little sensibilities when it's perfectly legal for me to smoke?"

To be honest, this is not something you need to get your back up over. Relax. And for the record, I neither smoke nor drink, so not like I'm defending something I do, I just think people should shut up more.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

fitz0 and master of nothing banned for 2 weeks. Any one else mentions an mcd gig and they'll be getting the same. That includes saying something like "That gig that we can't mention blah, blah, blah".

You've been warned.

Rb wrote: »
    This is lulz. How about we ban everything? Drinking is a pointless habit which has destroyed thousands upon thousands of lives and families, yet I bet you're not calling for that to be banned are you? No, I'm sure not as you probably enjoy a few pints at the weekend, right? Lets ban that!

Lol, have a think before posting such tripe in the future.

Perhaps it wouldn't be so bad to put an end to this drinking nonsense. Very rarely I would go out and have a pint, so it wouldn't bother me in the slightest if I never had alcohol again. It wouldn't be a bad thing if we as a society drank less, or even banned it (hypothetically anyway as in reality a ban wouldn't work, people could brew their own if they wanted it that badly)

But back on topic, when I'm up the front at a concert, I do not like being burned in the back of the head. I'm afraid the "I'm sorry" from the smoker doesn't cut it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I don't smoke, but i was in Toronto last wednesday for a Rush Concert, and there were so many people smoking Dope, actually quite enjoyed it.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭BroomBurner

There's an awful lot of pro-smoking going on here. If you smoke, it's your choice. I don't smoke, and I'm not about to breathe in your manky mix of chemicals in a confined, indoor place. Thankfully, legislation agrees with me. I've regularly asked people to not smoke at an indoor concert, and they've regularly put them out or moved further back. Maybe it's cause I'm a girl that I don't get the hostile response. Or my off-putting facial tick.

If it was outdoors, I wouldn't mind as much, though I would move myself in case I got singed by a stray fag, it's been known to happen...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

You people whinging about people smoking next to you outdoors...why don't you do what the shemale did in Wibb's story and complain to them instead of making a big song and dance about it on a forum? Oh yeah, I know why...because you'd be told to f*ck off and rightly so...
    I suppose you all wear particulate filter masks when walking Dublin's streets too, yeah?

*ex-smoker*

You make a good point, smokers tend to be very protective of their habit, shouting down others who it affects. Who would want to challenge a smoker when they're going to be told to f*uck off? Smokers should be more considerate of those who dont. That is by not standing upwind of groups of people or by smoking in tightly packed crowds. Why should the needs of many (poeple have to breathe!) be disrupted by the want of one single person?

What would you say does you more damage, a smoker standing near you and you receiving a very light hint of cigarette smoke highly mixed with air, or a car driving past you whilst you're stood on the side of the pavement nearest the road?

What about a bus? Or a lorry?

You do realise how much unhealthy crap fills the air in a city centre, right?

Though, I don't think you do...if you do then you really are just trolling with the above tripe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

What would you say does you more damage, a smoker standing near you and you receiving a very light hint of cigarette smoke highly mixed with air, or a car driving past you whilst you're stood on the side of the pavement nearest the road?

Though, I don't think you do...if you do then you really are just trolling with the above tripe.

The man's a traffic engineer...I'm sure he's well aware of the dangers of urban pollution, but it's a wee bit harder to go about criticising people in their diesel vehicle on the city street...you don't just get told to f*ck off, you run the additional risk of being run over too...besides the green party says that diesels are great for the environment and have changed our motor tax laws to prove it.

I know exactly what the air quality in Dublin city is like. In general PM10 falls within WHO guidelines except when the weather is very calm and the pollution doesn't disperse. This happened earlier in the year and low and behold, there was an increase in people complaining about respiratory illnesses.

Yes it would be great if we all used non polluting vehicles, however the economic realities of modern life insist we use them.

The difference with smoking, is that its entirely optional, a lifestyle choice if you will. Someone elses lifestyle choice should not ever impinge on me directly or indirectly, whether that be on the air that I breathe at a concert or the increased taxes I pay.

Technically I would have no problem with people smoking if it just affected themselves. However this doesn't happen...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

So just because one thing might be worse than another, people can't complain about the smaller issue? That seems a bit silly.

The fact is a lot of smokers are really inconsiderate about their habit. However as someone said earlier (think it was actually you Rb) if you go to an outdoor gig, you have to expect to encounter smokers there and be prepared to put up with it.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

I know exactly what the air quality in Dublin city is like. In general PM10 falls within WHO guidelines except when the weather is very calm and the pollution doesn't disperse. This happened earlier in the year and low and behold, there was an increase in people complaining about respiratory illnesses.

Yes it would be great if we all used non polluting vehicles, however the economic realities of modern life insist we use them.

The difference with smoking, is that its entirely optional, a lifestyle choice if you will. Someone elses lifestyle choice should not ever impinge on me directly or indirectly, whether that be on the air that I breathe at a concert or the increased taxes I pay.

Technically I would have no problem with people smoking if it just affected themselves. However this doesn't happen...

Was this post written by a transition year D4 girl for some sort of school project?
    Or is the smug in it a natural by-product of non-smoking.
    Either way it offends me. Indoors or outdoors.

Wertz wrote: »
    The man's a traffic engineer...I'm sure he's well aware of the dangers of urban pollution,

Ah so he probably is just trying to get a rise out of the smokers here (i.e trolling)
    Wertz wrote:
    but it's a wee bit harder to go about criticising people in their diesel vehicle on the city street...you don't just get told to f*ck off, you run the additional risk of being run over too...besides the green party says that diesels are great for the environment and have changed our motor tax laws to prove it.

Indeed.

Smokers are an easy target, particularly online where you don't have to deal with reprocussions of being told outright to f*ck off and mind your own business etc. Particularly because smokers are so numerous and our "habit" affects people more often (though it doesn't actually affect them, more they get a little smell they're not too fond of).

There's much, much bigger problems in society which the same people aren't so quick to criticise. Alcohol related crime is soaring, yet people, even if it directly affects them, do f*ck all about it.

I

The same could very easily be said about drivers in big cities or towns and the affects of the pollution from drivers not only affects us on personal level, it also affects us in a national and worldwide level.

javaboy wrote:
    The fact is a lot of smokers are really inconsiderate about their habit.

This has all just came about since the smoking ban though. Pre-ban, very, very few non-smokers complained about smoking.

Then we get a ban brought in to defend those poor, poor bar workers who just had to work in smoke filled environments. The poor people obviously had no idea what a pub environment was like before taking the job :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

This has all just came about since the smoking ban though. Pre-ban, very, very few non-smokers complained about smoking.

I think they did but as has been pointed out on this thread already by smokers, smokers often tell people to f*** off when they are complained to. When they had the legal right to smoke in the pre-ban days, people would obviously be even more reluctant to complain.

Then we get a ban brought in to defend those poor, poor bar workers who just had to work in smoke filled environments. The poor people obviously had no idea what a pub environment was like before taking the job :rolleyes:

I agree with you here though. "I'll be firing loud guns close to my ears in the army? I never expected that! :eek:"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

Someone elses lifestyle choice should not ever impinge on me directly or indirectly,

Welcome to the real world, it doesn't revolve around you. Get used to it.

javaboy wrote: »
    I think they did but as has been pointed out on this thread already by smokers, smokers often tell people to f*** off when they are complained to. When they had the legal right to smoke in the pre-ban days, people would obviously be even more reluctant to complain.

Yeah exactly but the right to smoke outdoors/at outdoor events/etc still exists so as I said (which you agreed with), if you're going to an outdoors event that there's going to be a load of people at then expect there to be smoking. Or in the case of Wibbs thing, if you're on a mountain and someones smoking, take 5 steps to the left/right and you'll be fine. I mean you're on a mountain in the pretty much fresh air! Who the fck cares if one person is smoking, as long as they put it out properly to avoid starting a fire?
    javaboy wrote:
    I agree with you here though. "I'll be firing loud guns close to my ears in the army? I never expected that! :eek:"

heh yeah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Mackman

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dD8bsfggCuo

^^ Legend :pac:

Im a smoker, and i do realise that my smoking bothers people. So i try my best to not let it annoy people, i.e., make sure it doesnt blow in they're faces, exhale away from people, make sure not to burn them.
    But really, cop the f**k on, if ye go to an outdoor concert, ya have to expect that. we're not allowed smoke inside, let us have outside for christs sake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

I'd ban it if I could. I despise people smoking near me and having to breath second hand smoke or getting on my clothes. Always have, always will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Don't like it? Don't go to the concert.

Want it banned altogether?
    Whining here won't get it done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

Terry wrote: »

Are you suggesting we go out and shoot every filthy smoking bastard in the world?
    I'm game. I'll ban you for inciting violence*, but I'm game.

*soon. ¬_¬

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

That's exactly what I'm suggesting, but only because you can't ban me...

Yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Terry wrote: »
    Don't like it? Don't go to the concert.

I don't go to concerts too much. If only it was just at concerts. That would be nice.

Write my local TD should I? Hopefully the habit will die in time like gingers.