Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Diary of a Circumcision

• 16-07-2008 8:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 707 ✭✭✭

Day One: Got circumcised today and as promised in a previous thread I'll be keeping a diary for anybody interested in the topic. If anyone wants to know why I chose to have it done you can find out here:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055319297

Anyway, I was booked in at 1 today, showed up at a quarter to. I was seen to pretty quickly by the admin staff who took details and showed me to my bed where I was left to sweat it out for about an hour and a half. I was taken down to the operating theatre shortly before 3, given a local anaesthetic and woke up again at about a quarter to five. Had something to eat at about half six and was let out at half seven.

Had a look down at my bits shortly after coming round but there's not much to see. Just a penis shaped bandage really. I was told to take a bath tomorrow and unwrap the bandage so I'll get to see what kind of damage is done then.

I haven't felt any pain yet as they injected me with some nerve blocker while I was under. It lasts for about 6-8 hours, after which I'll be on a cocktail of difene, paracetamol and codeine.

All in all, I'm delighted to have got it out of the way. Its been hanging over me for a while now so fingers crossed it works and looks good when its finished.

If anybody has any questions, don't hesitate to ask or PM me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

jeepers101 wrote: »
    I'll be on a cocktail of difene, paracetamol and codeine.

Fun. keep a sketchpad and Pen handy. My brother drew the craziest stuff when he was on codeine for a molar removal.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Good stuff man, looking forward to hearing how the recovery goes. Subscribed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

One question for ya.
    Did you get referred from a GP?
    And how much did it cost ya overall?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

hay jeepers word of advise !
    if you need to go pee make sure and get some warm wet tissue and gently wipe around the head or you will be in for a hell of a backlogg if theres any blood dried up .... i speak from experience !:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,565 ✭✭✭quad_red

Oh, the memories.

No regrets at all but walking like John Wayne for a while was not fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 tin_can_ted

When I got mine done they made me go to the toilet before I left the hospital.

You were allowed to go home without doing that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,565 ✭✭✭quad_red

Yeah, now that you say it, they insisted on the same thing with me. To make sure the pipes were 'clear', so as to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭Rayven199

Hope the recovery is as easy as possible for ye! Will be keeping an eye on this to see how you're getting on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 465 ✭✭snellers

as the saying goes....

'doctor,can you take away the pain and leave the swelling please! :-)

hope all goes well!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 707 ✭✭✭jeepers101

The bandage came off last night so I got my first look at it. It came off covered in blood and made me feel a bit faint. Had to lie down and broke out in a cold sweat. Not usually one to be squemish at the sight of blood, being a regular blood donor but its one thing coming from your arm and another coming from your bits. I wrapped it back up best I could in a new bandage but had to take it off again at about 3am to go for a pee. I've been without a bandage since.

I was up three times during the night. I set my alarm for three to get up and pee to try and avoid the morning glory. Ended up waking at 1, 3 and half four anyway. Didn't work. Morning glory came right on schedule. Wasn't nearly as bad as some of the other posters were making it out to be. It was more the panic than anything else. I've been getting a bit of wood all day, its not bothering me much. I was told to take painkillers regularly and not to wait for pain to start taking them. Its working so far. Still no pain to complain about, just minor discomfort walking around or rolling over in the bed. I don't have much of an issue with sensitivity either as I walked around a good bit with the head exposed before the op.

Had a bath today, as instructed by the hospital. The doc said to add a tablespoon of salt but a handout they gave me said to add a cupful. I rang the nurse today to verify and she said to add half a cupful, that that's the same as a tablespoon. Maths mustn't be their forté.
    cost? wrote: »
    One question for ya.
    Did you get referred from a GP?
    And how much did it cost ya overall?

Yeah, I got a referrel from a GP and as far as I know its the only way to do it in this country. The whole encounter lasted less than two minutes. Told him what was up, he asked for a look, collected the referrel letter the next day. Don't know how much it cost, was covered by VHI, I think its in the region of 1600 for private but you can get it done for nothing if you go public.

Yeah that was the last thing I did before I left. The nurse brought me to the toilet and wouldn't let me lock the door in case I fainted. I got a bit of stage fright then cause she was standing right behind me. I told her I couldn't go and she went off to get me a drink. When she went off another nurse told me it happens all the time and to go quickly and lock the door before the other nurse came back. I was able to go straight away so I packed up my bag and said my farewells.

Just a quick thanks to everyone for their words of encouragement and again, if anyone's any questions feel free to ask.

How long was it from the referral to the Op?

Very quick, about 8 weeks.

I have officially declared today Pants-free Friday. The last two days were a bit too cushy. Should have known things would change. Its not terribly painful, as long as it doesn't touch anything. So, I've been walking around the house all evening in just a t-shirt and sitting on the edge of chairs so my bits hang over. Much better.

The wound looks a lot angrier today. There's a good bit of swelling but still not as much as I expected. The area around the frenulum is black and blue. Looks pretty bad. Counted the stitches today... well the ones I can see anyway - 30.

Think I'm in for a rough night. Can't get comfortable lying down. We'll see what happens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,131 ✭✭✭MissHoneyBun

Sorry for pokin my head in here to the web version of the men's jacks but can I just say, *gawwwwwd* that sounds sore :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

I have officially declared today Pants-free Friday. The last two days were a bit too cushy. Should have known things would change. Its not terribly painful, as long as it doesn't touch anything. So, I've been walking around the house all evening in just a t-shirt and sitting on the edge of chairs so my bits hang over. Much better.

The wound looks a lot angrier today. There's a good bit of swelling but still not as much as I expected. The area around the frenulum is black and blue. Looks pretty bad. Counted the stitches today... well the ones I can see anyway - 30.

Think I'm in for a rough night. Can't get comfortable lying down. We'll see what happens.

don't get discouraged at the rate of healing - it seems like nothing happens for a couple of days, and then it heals 90% overnight - must be shock or something :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Had it done at age six (no, I'm not Jewish). Stung like a mofo when peeing for the first time after but was fine after that. Good luck to ya, it's not as bad as they make out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

When they say wait at least 3 weeks before "stimulation" TAKE THEIR ADVICE :pac:

Confab wrote: »
    Had it done at age six (no, I'm not Jewish). Stung like a mofo when peeing for the first time after but was fine after that. Good luck to ya, it's not as bad as they make out.
    Out of curiosity, why did your parents deem it necessary to have it done at 6?

Sorry for going off topic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

It wasn't a parental decision, it was a necessity due to a prebirth defect which was sorted by the circ.

Tut tut for making assumptions ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Surely the "morning effect" would tear the stitches no? Thats what I would be the most worried about.

Jumpy wrote: »
    Surely the "morning effect" would tear the stitches no? Thats what I would be the most worried about.

That was one of my biggest worries after reading some other related threads, turned out it wasn't a problem, didn't even feel the strain. Suppose it depends on what type of circ you get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

30 stitches?
    that seems like an insane amount

why do they need so many - sorry for going into detail, curious!

chump wrote: »
    30 stitches?

Don't know is the honest answer, I've no medical experience. I've never had stitches before either so I've nothing to compare it to. Maybe its to hold it together during times of wood.

chump wrote: »
    30 stitches?

maybe he's hung like a horse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

MagicMarker On topic please.

dudara

maybe he's hung like a horse?

:p

30 Stitches seems a bit extreme though. I think I only had 4.

I was young enough when I got mine done (about 10) and I can't remember the effect of getting wood. I think I might have been so scared to get one, that I just never did. I dunno, can't quiet remember. Good news for you though, that it's not hurting.

And the peeing thing. Yeah, I couldn't go either. I had to get the door locked and the tap running water for a good few minutes before I went. I was just scared that it would hurt, I guess.

Ah, I remember that the whole operation was scary at the time, but now I don't think about it all anymore.

Good luck with your recovery and enjoy your nakedness while you can! At least you have an excuse :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭Alice1

Jeepers, keep up the salty baths - they will help to keep the wound clean and promote healing. (You don't need a full bath, just a bowl to dunk your bits in)

In case you are wondering how I know 'bout the salty baths, ladies sometimes have salty baths after childbirth.

Came off the painkillers yesterday morning, well the codeine based ones anyway, I have a pretty addictive personality and I've heard too many codeine horror stories. Didn't notice any change when I came off them. Still on one Difene per day for pain and swelling and took two paracetamol last night before bed. Nothing today so far.

Don't think the swelling has got much worse, the area around the frenulum is about twice its normal size and still looks like its been through a war. There's one spot right where the frenulum is stitched back to the shaft thats giving me the most trouble with regards to pain. I don't know if its just cause its the frenulum or the way its stitched but it causes me to wince every time it knocks off something.

I left the house today for the first time since the op. Gf drove me to the local shopping centre. Couldn't bare the feeling cotton boxers (More so because the stitches were getting caught in them than the whole sensitivity issue) so went out commando in a pair of tracksuit bottoms.

Bumped into one of my mates and was telling him about the op. Got the feeling he was a bit weirded out by the whole thing. I think I'm the first person he's come accross thats been circumcised. My (adult) brothers were the same now that I think about it, couldn't really understand why i was doing it, one of them even started begging me (half joking but half serious) not to. I got a bit of the same attitude in the other thread I started, after sepecifically requesting the contrary. Can anyone else who's been circumcised let me know if they're open about it or if they hide it and what kind of reaction they get when they tell others. I know people aren't going to care really but its the initial reaction I'm talking about. Just curious.

Just want to say another thanks for all the questions, PM's and helpful comments and again, keep them coming.

This is good stuff dude... It will really put minds at ease for people considering this..Myself included. It doesn't really sound half as painful as you'd think. I'm back in Ireland at the end of September and will probably consult a doctor to see if i need to get it done.

More questions!!

How long does it need to be bandaged up for? Just for the first day or so?
    When do you have to go back to the hospital (or GP?) for them to see everythings going ok?
    And, you say that before the OP you walked around with the foreskin retracted to lessen the sensitivity, how was that and how long did it take to get used to it as i'm sure that will also be a important aspect that would put many off, myself included:)

And... any regrets?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Can anyone else who's been circumcised let me know if they're open about it or if they hide it and what kind of reaction they get when they tell others. I know people aren't going to care really but its the initial reaction I'm talking about. Just curious.

Hi, I'm not circumcised, but my cousin was done a few months ago. I didn't know about it at the time, but he just out and told me one day, as nonchalant as you like. I was asking him why he'd had it done, and I'm telling you, your recovery sounds like a walk in the park compared to this dude. He had some kind of foreskin problem, plus a urinary tract issue, so he had a pipe stuck up his penis after the circumcision and he was urinating into a bag for a while after.

As far as I was concerned, when he told me he'd had it done, I wasn't shocked or anything, it was a normal conversation as if we were talking about last night's football or whatever.

Des wrote: »
    Hi, I'm not circumcised, but my cousin was done a few months ago. I didn't know about it at the time, but he just out and told me one day, as nonchalant as you like. I was asking him why he'd had it done, and I'm telling you, your recovery sounds like a walk in the park compared to this dude. He had some kind of foreskin problem, plus a urinary tract issue, so he had a pipe stuck up his penis after the circumcision and he was urinating into a bag for a while after.

As far as I was concerned, when he told me he'd had it done, I wasn't shocked or anything, it was a normal conversation as if we were talking about last night's football or whatever.
    Did he know about those problems before the OP? Or did they only arise during?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Did he know about those problems before the OP? Or did they only arise during?

Oh, it was all part of the same issue.

The worrying part is that he told me he'd been having pain for MONTHS before he said it to his fiancée, and she had to beg him to go to the doc :eek::eek:

Bumped into one of my mates and was telling him about the op. Got the feeling he was a bit weirded out by the whole thing. I think I'm the first person he's come accross thats been circumcised. My (adult) brothers were the same now that I think about it, couldn't really understand why i was doing it, one of them even started begging me (half joking but half serious) not to. I got a bit of the same attitude in the other thread I started, after sepecifically requesting the contrary. Can anyone else who's been circumcised let me know if they're open about it or if they hide it and what kind of reaction they get when they tell others. I know people aren't going to care really but its the initial reaction I'm talking about. Just curious.

When I told my two best mates they were just interested more than anything. They asked to see it one night when kinda drunk (which was kinda weird) and they thought it looked a bit weird. :pac:

Screw it. Just tell people that all the Porn Stars have it done. They'll be cool about it then :)

How long does it need to be bandaged up for? Just for the first day or so?

I was told to keep it bandaged for the first night and take it off in the bath the next day although the handout they gave me said its okay if it falls off before then.
    When do you have to go back to the hospital (or GP?) for them to see everythings going ok?

They told me to make an appointment for six weeks after the op.
    And, you say that before the OP you walked around with the foreskin retracted to lessen the sensitivity, how was that and how long did it take to get used to it as i'm sure that will also be a important aspect that would put many off, myself included

I started off just trying to sleep with it retracted, which I must admit was difficult. I usually woke up after a couple of hours and had to put it back. I'd say after about a week to ten days of doing this and you'd be sleeping through and able to walk around okay.

And... any regrets?
    Too early to answer this one I think. So far, no. There's still the issue of the style of circ I was given, I'll have to wait for the swelling to go down to see it more clearly. I had a quick consultation with the doc just before the operation and told him that I was doing a bit of research on the net and I wanted a 'high and tight' circumcision. His response was "It wasn't a medical page you saw that on was it". He then drew me a picture of what he was going to do and told me not to worry, it'd be a "work of art". To be fair if it turns out the way it looks like its going to turn out I'll be very very happy. Time will tell.

Got it done last August. I remember the panic of seeing it for the first time afterwards. I thought it was going to fall off. I didnt go back to the hospital and just saw the doctor again a few days later. I went through torture when I was back at work as I kept getting aroused while I was walking lol. It took about 4 weeks before I could comfortably use it again. Definitely good having it done. Oral sex was on the menu and very much enjoyed. I definitely think I look better with it done. Shaving that region has become routine as well.

Thought I was on the straight and narrow but had a bit of a rough night last night. With the gf out of the house I was changing my daughter's nappy and she kicked me in the worst possible place and opened up the wound again right at the frenulum. Had to contend with her crying for her bottle and blood dripping down my leg at the same time. Got the situation under control, put the baby to bed went to bed myself. Woke up with my penis stuck to the sheets. Thought I stopped the bleeding but it must have started again during the night. That was pretty painful getting them separated and woke up a bit later with my penis stuck to my leg. Lovely. And then to top it off, my gf elbowed me in the eye for the first time in the three years we've been living together.

Hasn't been too bad today although I haven't been exerting myself. Back to work tomorrow. Don't know how thats going to go. I'm a carpenter by trade and its been taxing enough getting in and out of the car at a reasonable pace never mind hanging kitchen cabinets. I could probably do with more time off but the boss is paying me full wages so don't want to be seen to be taking the p1ss.

I'm starting to miss the little things now like sleeping on my stomach or taking a leak standing up. I should probably be thankful though after reading some other posts and PMs, doesn't seem like I'm having too bad a time.
    circed wrote: »
    I went through torture when I was back at work as I kept getting aroused while I was walking lol.

Just curious as to what type of work you were doing, how long you waited before going back and how long you were back before it felt okay.

Thought I was on the straight and narrow but had a bit of a rough night last night. With the gf out of the house I was changing my daughter's nappy and she kicked me in the worst possible place and opened up the wound again right at the frenulum. Had to contend with her crying for her bottle and blood dripping down my leg at the same time. Got the situation under control, put the baby to bed went to bed myself. Woke up with my penis stuck to the sheets. Thought I stopped the bleeding but it must have started again during the night. That was pretty painful getting them separated and woke up a bit later with my penis stuck to my leg. Lovely. And then to top it off, my gf elbowed me in the eye for the first time in the three years we've been living together.

Hasn't been too bad today although I haven't been exerting myself. Back to work tomorrow. Don't know how thats going to go. I'm a carpenter by trade and its been taxing enough getting in and out of the car at a reasonable pace never mind hanging kitchen cabinets. I could probably do with more time off but the boss is paying me full wages so don't want to be seen to be taking the p1ss.

I'm starting to miss the little things now like sleeping on my stomach or taking a leak standing up. I should probably be thankful though after reading some other posts and PMs, doesn't seem like I'm having too bad a time.

Just curious as to what type of work you were doing, how long you waited before going back and how long you were back before it felt okay.
    I work in IT. Of course, its much easier than being a carpenter in those conditions but you'll get over it quicker if you are more active as you will become desensitised quicker. Wear tight y-fronts and you'll be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭Alice1

Poor Jeepers, you did have a bad night! Hope things get better for you soon. Keep dunking in the salty water.

Can anyone else who's been circumcised let me know if they're open about it or if they hide it and what kind of reaction they get when they tell others. .

:) why would you tell anyone? I wouldn't deny it if someone asked me, but I don't exactly volunteer the info either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

It doesnt make great coffee table conversation, to be honest, but in general I find you Irish to be a lot more reserved about the entire idea of circumcision: most who arent familiar with the subject find it purely a willy-mutilation.

tbh wrote: »
    :) why would you tell anyone? I wouldn't deny it if someone asked me, but I don't exactly volunteer the info either.

I don't mean walking around with a sign on my back but I know it will come up in conversation as it has in the past, usually from the point of view described in Overheal's post. When it comes up again I'll have the advantage of being more experienced on the topic and I'll have no problem telling said people. I've nothing to hide or be ashamed of, I'm just wondering what kind of reaction I'm in for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭lily lou

Hi Jeepers, I've always found arnica tablets really good for healing after surgery, I never saw your other thread but you can actually take them before surgery too and I did this on 2 occasions, first when I had all 4 wisdom teeth taken out (1 impacted) and 2nd when I had an operation on my hand, I had no pain after either surgery. You can get arnica in chemist or health food shop, it's homeopathic but just check in shop it's safe to take with your painkillers, it helps with swelling, bruising and healing. Hope this helps:)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Overheal wrote: »
    It doesnt make great coffee table conversation, to be honest, but in general I find you Irish to be a lot more reserved about the entire idea of circumcision: most who arent familiar with the subject find it purely a willy-mutilation.
    I'd say it's more the automatic circumcision of newborns for no good reason that happens in places like America that gets the bad reaction, rather than having it done for purely medical reasons later on. I would agree with that viewpoint too TBH.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Enigma365

Can anyone else who's been circumcised let me know if they're open about it or if they hide it and what kind of reaction they get when they tell others. I know people aren't going to care really but its the initial reaction I'm talking about. Just curious.

I was circumcised when I was about 10, for medical reasons. To answer your question, nobody I know who Ive told(on the occasion the topic has come up) has ever been particularly weirded out about it. Some people are a bit surprised and think its unusual but nothing more. Dont forget that about 10% of Irish men are circumcised, as are the majority of Americans are so its not especially uncommon.

Mind you I wouldnt just tell people out of the blue as many people might think it a private matter and an inappropriate thing to discuss. It would be kinda like talking about having your period (if you were a girl). You might discuss it your close friends but you wouldnt bring it up with your boss or your in laws. Just my opinion though, some people are much more open about these kind of things than others...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

Had to contend with her crying for her bottle and blood dripping down my leg at the same time. Got the situation under control, put the baby to bed went to bed myself.

Fair play!:eek:

. I've nothing to hide or be ashamed of, I'm just wondering what kind of reaction I'm in for.

You've nothing to hide or be ashamed of - that's exactly the reaction you'll get tbh. Any of the mates I've told have been "oh really? was it sore?" before the conversation moves on. It's not really a big deal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭Kaldorn

i had it done 6 years ago and i wore y fronts packed with tissues and it was grand just changed the tissues every few hours,now i would never change it for the world i think i was in discomfort for maybe a week and then i was grand,i scored a month after the op and did it with the lucky girl even tho the doc said to wait 2 months,i was drunk n horny but it was grand and i have no regrets

Back to work today. Time couldn't have gone any slower... and neither could I for that matter. Everything except standing still was a challenge. I've been used to prancing around the house naked or wearing baggy tracksuit bottoms so boxers and snickers were a bit of a shock. Must have gone to the toilet about a dozen times thinking I'd ripped stitches again but it was just the wound weeping. I should really take the y-front advice on board, seems to be the easier option.

it's uncomfortable very briefly (did you see what I did there?) but certainly helps.

Work on Thursday was a killer, went with the tight underwear suggestion on Friday and wrapped my penis up in toilet paper. Much better. There's been a lot of discharge from the wound this week. The doc said I would probably have a puss-like discharge but its all been a clear liquid with spots of blood. Its mostly coming from the frenulum. While I'm on the frenulum topic, the bruising has completely gone now and I'm getting a better look at it. Can't say I'm thrilled. It looks bigger than I remember and really out of place. I'm hoping its just swolen but I don't know if the frenulum itself swells up. Sorry for the gorey details but if anyone had a similar issue maybe they could let me know.

I think I maybe should have taken a bit more time off work. Maybe another week. I don't think all the bashing around this week did it any good. I actually gave myself a friction burn on the penis head on Thursday. It's scabbed over now but I think it'll be an additional scar. Some of the wound looks like its struggling to close neatly, when compared to the other side.

Still taking a salt bath every day and doing a good bit of naked strolling when I can. Sleeping has got a bit easier, only waking a couple of times a night, rather than on the hour. Completely off all the meds now, didn't notice any difference when I stopped taking them. I think thats all for now, I'll post again next week if everything goes to plan.

Again thanks for all the comments and PMs and keep them coming.